لمحات عن فاقدي الجنسية في أوروبا

هناك كثير من الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية في أوروبا ممن تتعرض حقوقهم الإنسانية إلى الانتهاك يومياً بدءاً بالعوز في الشوارع وانتهاءً بمكوثهم مدداً طويلة في أماكن احتجاز المهاجرين. هذه القصص تأتي من الشبكة الأوروبية حول انعدام الجنسية.

القصص التالية[i] ترويها الشبكة الأوروبية لفاقدي الجنسية وهي تحالف بين منظمات المجتمع المدني تضم حالياً 35 عضواً في 33 بلداً. وتعمل الشبكة على جمع دراسات الحالة من أجل حملة تسعى إلى إضفاء الطابع الإنساني على فقدان الجنسية وإظهار الأسباب الداعية لتحسين حماية فاقدي الجنسية. وتنظم الحملة عريضة (متاحة على الإنترنت بدءاً بتاريخ 28 مايو/أيار 2014) تدعو القادة الأوروبيين إلى الانضمام إلى اتفاقية عام 1954 المتعلقة بوضع الأشخاص فاقدي الجنسية (في البلدان التي لم تنضم بعد) والالتزام بتأسيس إجراء لتحديد صفة انعدام الجنسية. www.statelessness.eu

هناك كثير من الأشخاص فاقدي الجنسية في أوروبا ممن يواجهون انتهاكات في حقوقهم الإنسانية كل يوم بدءاً بالفقر والعوز في الشارع إلى إطالة مدد الاحتجاز في مراكز الهجرة. ومع ذلك، ما زال الحل بسيطاً للغاية وهو لا يزيد على تأسيس اجراء فاعل لتحديد وضع انعدام الجنسية.

عيسى

وُلد عيسى في كوسوفو وهرب إلى صربيا بعد نزاع عام 1999 لكنه لم يكن يملك أي أوراق ثبوتية شخصية ولم يتسجل على أنه نازح. ولم يذهب إلى المدرسة ولم يتمكن من الحصول على تأمين صحي. والدليل الوحيد على إقامته كان إفادات زوجته التي تزوجها عرفياً وجيرانه. وكانت أول شهادة ميلاد له صدرت عام 2013 عندما كان عمره 29 عاماً، وما كان ذلك ممكناً لولا إدخال إجراء جديد عام.

ومع أنه تمكن من تسجيل ولادته، بقي دون جنسية. فلا يستطيع أن "يرث" جنسية أبيه (لأن أبيه أيضاً لا يمتلك أي جنسية) ولا جنسية أمه (التي غادرت الأسرة عندما كان عمره أسبوعين ولا يعرف إذا كانت أمه تحمل جنسية أم لا وقت ولادته). ودون جنسية، يبقى عيسى محروماً من الحقوق والخدمات.

"لا أستطيع الزواج، ولا أستطيع إثبات أبوتي لأطفالي، ولا أستطيع زيارة أسرتي في كوسوفو. ولا أستطيع العمل بطريقة قانونية، ولا أستطيع تلقي المساعدة في الرفاه الاجتماعي ولا التسجل في التأمين الصحي. الناس يعاملوني كأنني غير موجود أو كأنني مجرم."

لا يوجد حالياً في صربيا أي إجراء للاعتراف بفاقدي الجنسية وتنظيم وضع عيسى ما يترك خياراً وحيداً لعيسى وهو الحصول على الجنسية الصربية من خلال التجنيس. لكنَّ عيسى لا يمكنه لسوء حظه أن يقدم دليلاً خطياً على إقامته، فإثبات الإقامة من أهم المتطلبات القانونية. وهذا ما يجعله عالقاً في فراغ النسيان.

سارة

وُلدت سارة وترعرعت في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية لأب رواندي وأم كونغولية. وفي عام 2011، خلال النزاع بين البلدين المتجاورين، اعتُقل والدا سارة التي وجدت نفسها وحيدة في سن الخامسة عشرة. وبعد عام من حبس والديها، قررت الفرار إلى هولندا.

عندما وصلت سارة إلى هولندا، تقدمت بطلب للحصول على إذن بالإقامة على اعتبارها طالبة لجوء قاصر غير مصحوبة ببالغ لكن طلبها قوبل بالرفض وبدأت إجراءات إعادتها إلى بلادها. ومع ذلك، قبل يومين من موعد إعادتها إلى جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، صرحت السلطات الهولندية أنَّ وثيقة السفر التي منتحتها السلطات الكونغولية للفتاة قد سُحبت ودون تلك الوثيقة لا يمكن ترحليها. ومن هنا، توقفت عملية الترحيل وسُمح لسارة بالبقاء. ثم تقدمت سارة بطلب الحصول على "إذن بالإقامة  لسبب خارج عن إرادة صاحب الطلب" لدى السلطات الهولندية لغايات تنظيم وضعها، وهذا الإذن يبقى ساري المفعول سنة كاملة لمن لا يستطيع مغادرة هولندا لأسباب لا تتعلق به. وفي هذه اللحظة، كان على سارة أن تتقدم بإثبات للشخصية من السلطات الكونغولية، وهنا تبين لسارة للمرة الأولى أنها فاقدة للجنسية.

لقد أبلغتها السفارة الكونغولية في هولندا أنها فقدت الجنسية الكونغولية تلقائياً فور وصولها لسن الثامنة عشر نظراً لأن القانون يفرض على مزدوجي الجنسية أن يختاروا جنسية واحدة فقط. ولم تكن سارة تعلم بذلك، أما السفارة الرواندية فأخبرتها إنه لا يمكن اعتبارها رواندية لأنها لم تولَد في رواندا ولا صلة قائمة لها بالبلاد.

ومر اثنا عشر عاماً، وبقيت سارة عاجزة عن الحصول على وثائق شخصية من الكونغو أو رواندا، وبما أنَّ هولندا لا تمتلك إجراء للاعتراف بصفة فاقدي الجنسية لم يكن لدى سارة أي حل منظور لمشكلتها.

"أثناء تقدمي لطلب الإقامة، كان لي على أقل تقدير فرصة في الدراسة وإقامة الصداقات. أما الآن، فأشعر بالعزلة في البيت يومياً. أتمنى أن أكوّن أسرة لكنني لا أستطيع بالنظر إلى وضعي هذا."

لوكا

"كل ما أريد هو العمل. لماذا لا يمنحوني إذن الإقامة للسماح لي بالعمل؟ إنهم يجبروني على العمل بطريقة غير قانونية. لقد تعبت."

ولد لوكا في أوكرانيا عندما كانت جزءاً من الاتحاد السوفييتي. وترعرع في دار الأيتام ثم انتقل إلى سلوفاكيا عام 1991 حين كان يبلغ من العمر 15 عاماً. ولم يكن لوكا يحمل أي أوراق من الحكومة الأوكرانية تثبت جنسيته.

وتعرض لوكا للاحتجاز عدة مرات في سلوفاكيا كان آخرها عام 2012 عندما قضى في مركز الاحتجاز 14 شهراً. ثم أطلق سراحه بعد أن قررت المحكمة أن طرده من سلوفاكيا لم يكن ممكناً ومُنح إذناً بالبقاء المتسامح به. وسجلت السلطات السلوفاكية جنسيته بعبارة "غير محددة" مع أن جميع الإثباتات تفيد أنه بالفعل فاقد للجنسية. وعندما حاول لوكا التقدم بطلب لتمديد الإقامة، طلب إليه أن يقدم وثائق جديدة يؤكد فيها عدم قبول السفارة الأوكرانية منحه وثيقة سفر بديلة. ومع أنَّ الشرطة كان لديها إثبات أنَّ أوكرانيا لن تقبل لوكا على أنه مواطن أوكراني، فقد رفضت طلبه وأصدرت بحقه غرامة مقدارها 80 يورو بسبب جنحة الإقامة غير القانونية. وبعد أسبوع حررت بحقه غرامة أخرى بمقدار 160 يورو.

لقد عاش لوكا أكثر من 20 عاماً في سلوفاكيا، وبعد هذه المدة ما زالت السلطات لم تعترف به على أنه فاقد للجنسية ولا يتيح له نوع الإقامة الممنوحة له العمل ولا الحصول على التأمين الاجتماعي. ولا يستطيع الزواج من شريكة حياته وهي أم ابنه البالغ من العمر 8 سنوات الذي حصل على الجنسية السلوفاكية ويعيش معه ومع أمه.

"لا يُعترف رسمياً بأبوتي لابني. اسمي ليس موجوداً على شهادة ميلاد ابني. لقد رفضوا أن يكتبوه في الشهادة لأنني لا أمتلك أي مستندات تثبت هويتي."

[i]  جميع الأسماء بُدِّلت في هذه المقالة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Snapshots of stateless people in Europe

There are many stateless people in Europe who face human rights abuses every day, from destitution on the streets to long periods of immigration detention. These stories come from the European Network on Statelessness.

These stories[1] come from the European Network on Statelessness – a civil society alliance currently with 53 member organisations in 33 countries – which is gathering case-studies for a campaign that seeks to put a human face on statelessness and demonstrate why further policy action is needed to improve the protection of stateless people. The campaign is organising a petition (available online from 28 May 2014) calling on European leaders to accede to the 1954 Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons (in those countries which have yet to do so) and to commit to establishing a statelessness determination procedure. www.statelessness.eu

There are many stateless people in Europe who face human rights abuses every day, from destitution on the streets to long periods of immigration detention. However, the solution is simple: set up a functioning statelessness determination procedure.

Isa

Isa was born in Kosovo and fled to Serbia following the 1999 conflict but because he did not have any identity papers he was never registered as an internally displaced person. He did not attend school, nor did he have health insurance and the only evidence for his residence are the statements of his common-law spouse and his neighbours. His very first document, his birth certificate, was issued in 2013 when he was 29; this was only possible due to a new procedure introduced in 2012.

However, despite managing to register his birth, Isa remains without a nationality. He cannot ‘inherit’ his father’s nationality (since he too does not have one) or his mother’s (she left when he was only two weeks old and Isa does not know if she held any nationality at the time of his birth). Without nationality, Isa remains deprived of rights and services.

“I cannot get married, be recognised as my children’s father, visit my family in Kosovo. I cannot work legally, receive social welfare assistance or register for health insurance. People treat me as if I do not exist or am a criminal.

Serbia currently lacks a procedure to recognise statelessness and regularise Isa’s status. The only option open to Isa is to try to acquire Serbian nationality through naturalisation but unfortunately Isa cannot provide written proof of his residence, which is one of the legal requirements. So he remains stuck in limbo.

Sarah

Sarah was born and raised in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) with a Rwandan father and a Congolese mother. In 2001, during the conflict between the two neighbouring countries, Sarah’s parents were arrested and at the age of 15 Sarah was left on her own. A year after her parents were put in jail, she decided to flee to the Netherlands.

On arrival she applied for a residence permit as an unaccompanied minor asylum seeker but her application was rejected and the process of repatriation commenced. However, two days prior to her return to DRC the Dutch authorities said that the Laissez-Passer needed for her deportation and previously granted by the Congolese authorities had been withdrawn. This suspended the deportation process and Sarah was allowed to stay. In order to regularise her status Sarah applied for a Dutch ‘no-fault residence permit’, a one-year permit for those who cannot leave the Netherlands through no fault of their own. As part of her application she had to acquire proof of identity documentation from the Congolese authorities and it was at this point Sarah for the first time realised that she was stateless.

The Congolese Embassy in the Netherlands stated that she automatically lost her Congolese nationality at the age of 18, as people with dual nationality are obliged to opt for one nationality when they turn 18. Sarah was not aware of this. The Rwandan Embassy told her that she cannot be recognised as Rwandan because she was not born in Rwanda, and has no close links to the country.

Twelve years on, Sarah is still unable to (re)acquire her Congolese or Rwandan identity documents and because the Netherlands currently has no procedure to recognise or regularise stateless persons, Sarah has no solution in sight.

“When I was in the process of applying for a residence permit, at least I had the chance to study and make friends. Right now I feel isolated. I stay at home every day. I wish I could start a family but I cannot, looking at my situation.”

Luka

“I only want to work. Why do they not give me a residence permit so I am allowed to work? They force me to work illegally. I am tired.”

Luka was born in Ukraine when it was still part of the Soviet Union. He grew up in an orphanage and moved to Slovakia in 1991 when he was 15 years old. Luka never had any documents from the Ukrainian state confirming his nationality.

Luka has been repeatedly detained in Slovakia, the last time in 2010 when he spent 14 months in a detention centre. He was released after a court decision that his expulsion from Slovakia was not possible and was granted tolerated stay. The Slovak authorities simply recorded his citizenship as “undetermined”; all the evidence, however, suggests that he is indeed stateless. When Luka tried to submit an application for extension of his tolerated stay, he was asked to submit new documents confirming that the Ukrainian embassy refused to issue him with replacement travel document. Although the police already had proof that Ukraine did not accept Luka as a citizen they still refused to accept his application. Instead they issued Luka with a fine of €80 for the misdemeanour of illegal stay. One week later he was given another fine, this time of €160.

After living in Slovakia for over 20 years, Luka is still not recognised as being stateless and his tolerated stay status still does not allow him to work or to have health insurance. He cannot marry his partner, the mother of his 8-year-old son who is a Slovak citizen and who lives with him and his mother.

“I am not recognised officially as the father of my son. My name is not on his birth certificate. They refused to write it there because I don’t have any documents proving my identity.”

 

 

[1] All names have been changed.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview