وجهة نظر من الشتات الأفغاني

لقد عشت أغلب حياتي في كندا، لكنَّ أفغانستان تبقى وطن عائلتي، وتجاه ذلك الوطن، أتمسك وغيري من الكنديين بالالتزام بدعم استشفائه.

خلال الحرب السوفيتية الممتدة ما بين عامي 1979 وا1989 في أفغانستان، فرَّ أكثر من خمسة ملايين أفغاني بمن فيهم عائلتي المباشرة إلى خارج البلاد. واستقر والداي في كندا عام 1989، ولكن مثل غيرهم، حاولوا قدر المستطاع الإبقاء على الروابط الاجتماعية والأسرية في أفغانستان.

وإننا ممتنون لاكتسابنا الجنسية الكندية ولحصولنا على الفرص والحريات في هذا البلد ولكننا سنبقى نناشد بالحرية لوطننا فلربما نحظى بحق العودة والاستمرار في تحقيق أحلامنا التي توقفت. وفي حين أن الوضع المتقلب الحالي يجعل العودة إلى الوطن أمراً غير عملي، فهناك تدابير أقل تعقيداً يشارك كثير من أهالي الشتات فيها وتُظهر الالتزام الجماعي بالإصلاح والاستشفاء والحفاظ على الأمن وتحقيق الازدهار في أفغانستان. ومع ذكرياتنا التي حملناها وإخلاصنا إلى الوطن فإنَّ أفغانستان في نظرنا ليست مجتمعاً قاحلاً مزقته الحرب بل هو مجتمع مهمل يحتاج للإصلاح.

فعلى سبيل المثال، تزور عائلتنا سنوياً أفغانستان وتستمر الزيارة الواحدة غالباً عدة أشهرٍ متواصلة. فوالدي مير أحمد أكسير شينواري طبيب مختص في مجال الأمراض المعدية وعمل سابقاً في مخيمات اللاجئين في باكستان، وكان اهتمامه يتركز على الحفاظ على صحة المرضى وسلامتهم في قرية أجدادنا والقرى المجاورة وتقديم الاستشارات الطبية المجانية للمرضى من عيادته الصغيرة التي أنشأها قبل سنوات عدة. وتُمثل والدتي أمبارا  أيضاً دوراً مهماً من خلال تمكين النساء الريفيات من الحصول على الرعاية الطبية مرافقةً والدي في الزيارات المنزلية أو مساعدته في العمل داخل العيادة لضمان وجود العنصر النسائي مما يطمئن النساء المحافِظَات اللواتي لا يرتحن من الاقتراب من رجل لا تربطهن علاقة به. وطبيعة الرعاية الصحية المقدمة في هذه العيادة أساسية جداً ولكنها مميزة للسكان المحليين، وللبعض فإنها المرة الأولى التي كان يكشف عليهم طبيب فيها. والعاطفة الصادقة التي تعمل بها العيادة التي يديرها مغتربان تذكير دائم بالرغبات والآمال التي تجتاح كثيراً من الأفغانيين في الخارج لوطنهم.

ويعبر كثير من الأفغانيين الذين عرفتهم في بلاد الغرب عن مدى رغبتهم بالعودة إلى وطن أجدادهم  لكنهم لن يتمكنوا من ذلك ما لم يكن بيدهم شيء "يقدموه لوطنهم" أو "يساهمون به". وتعد الحوالات، بالإضافة إلى عودة اللاجئين إلى وطنهم بهدف بناء القدرات والحصول على التأييد الدولي، من الطرق الأكثر وضوحاً التي "يقدم بها الأفغانيون في الغرب المساعدات لوطنهم". ومن الصعب إجراء تقدير دقيق لحجم الحوالات بسبب الطبيعة غير الرسمية لمثل هذه الأنظمة. لكنَّ البنك الدولي يقدِّر أن الحوالات من الخارج تقدم الدعم لما تصل نسبته 15% من الأسر الأفغانية الريفية وتغطي ما يقارب 20% من المصاريف الأسرية اليومية. أما الصندوق الدولي للتنمية الزراعية فقدَّر في تقريره عام 2007 أن الحوالات إلى أفغانستان ساهمت بـ29.6% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للبلاد.[i]

تصادم الأحلام بالواقع

لقد عشت أنا وأشقائي أغلب حياتنا في كندا ولم نعرف سوى القليل عن وطننا الذي فررنا منه قبل عقود عدة. ولذلك فإن فكرة "رد الجميل للوطن" عن طريق المساهمة في مشروع خاص خلال إجازاتنا في أفغانستان كانت بالفعل رائعة جداً. فأول مرة زرت بها أفغانستان كانت في عام 2003 حين أخذنا أنا وأشقائي لوازم التدريس لدعم التعليم للفتيات في أفغانستان. لكن، بعد مدة قصيرة من وصولنا إلى القرية، أصبح من الواضح أنَّ كثيراً من المشكلات التي كانت تحول دون حصول الفتيات الريفيات على التعليم كانت تتعلق بالعامل اللوجستي المتمثل في: انعدام الأمن في الطرق المؤدية للمدارس والألغام الخفية والغرف الصفية غير الأمنه دون وجود جدار أو حتى أسوار تحيطها (ستارة لحجب الفتيات) إضافة إلى وجود مثيري الشغب المحليين. ومع أن الثقافة المحافظة جداً تردع بعضهم من الالتحاق بالمدارس، مازال كثير من الطلاب يتلقون الدعم من والديهم ويستطيعون الالتحاق بالمدارس إذا بُذلت الجهود للحد من المخاطر التي ذكرت سابقاً. وبداية، عولجت مشكلة غياب الستائر من خلال نصب سياج فولاذي لواحدة من المدارس المحلية ومن ثمَّ التبرع بجزء من الأراضي الموروثة بموافقة والدينا لإنشاء مدرسة جديدة للإناث. وفي حين كانت فكرة استخدام قرطاسيتنا وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة المستعملة كانت أمراً عملياً. أصبحت المشاكل مرتبطة بحد ذاتها بالبنية التحتية والسلامة.

عندما استرجع إلى تلك التجربة، أشعر أن الرحلة الأولى أكسبتنا خبرة مثيرة للاهتمام. وبصفتنا جزءٌ من الشتات الأفغاني، كنّا نفترض أننا نعلم جميع الإجابات. فقد اتخذنا موقف الغريب حَسن الاطلاع أو سيء الاطلاع (بحسن نية) وكانت لدينا رغبة بإحداث التغيير والتمكين. فمن الضروري للأفغان داخل الشتات وغير الأفغان ممن لديهم الشغف والحماس للعمل على خدمة الأهداف الإنسانية أن ينظروا إلى آفاق أوسع من مجرد البحث عن الحلول الإصلاحية السريعة واستخدام منهج أكثر دقة وتركيزاً لإيجاد حلول طويلة الأمد.

ماذا بعد عام 2014؟

لم يكن للمرحلة الانتقالية الحالية بجميع مدلولاتها السياسية والأمنية والتمويل الدولي تأثيرٌ على مخططات أو توقعات عائلتي. فالمجال الذي نشارك به في الغالب (مقاطعة رودات في ولاية ننكرهار) حافظ على درجة من الحيادية خلال السنوات العشر الماضية. ورغم آثار الحرب في المقاطعة والإقليم لكنها لم تكن تشكل عقبة أو تهديداً لعائلتنا. أما العائلات الأفغانية الأخرى في الشتات فربما تختلف مشاعرها باختلاف البيئة السياسية التي تحيط بديارهم الأصلية.

واعتماداً على البحث النوعي الذي أجري مع النساء الأفغانيات الشابات في كندا[ii] أرى أن عودتهن غير مرهونة بالسلام لكنها تعتمد أكثر على ما يمكن لهن "تقديمه عند العودة". وتمتلك هاتينَ النساء الشابات المفعمات بالحيوية والدافعية في أراضي الشتات الحماس والشغف لدعم جهود إعادة الإعمار، لكنهّن يبقين مورداً لم تستغله بعد الوكالات الإنسانية الدولية وهيئات الإنماء.

تبسُّم أكسيرt.akseer@queensu.ca طالبة مرشحة للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في برنامج الدراسات الثقافية في جامعة كوينز في كنغيستن-أونتاريو. www.queensu.ca/
 



الشتات الأفغاني

استضافت كل من باكستان وإيران معاً حوالي 2.5 مليون لاجئ أفغاني مسجل إضافة إلى أعداد مساوية من اللاجئين غير المسجلين المتوقع وجودهم في كلا الدولتين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، من المتوقع أن يكون هناك حوالي 300.000 ألف لاجئ استقروا في الولايات المتحدة و150.000 ألف على الأقل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة وربما 125.000 في ألمانيا وأعداد أقل في كندا وأستراليا وأنحاء أوروبا. وفي حين أن كثيراً من اللاجئين في الإمارات العربية المتحدة هم عمال وافدون يعملون لمدة مؤقتة، استقرت الغالبية الأخرى استقراراً دائماً وغالبيتهم متعلمون و ماهرون. وتشير التوقعات إلى أنحوالي 10.000 لاجئ أفغاني في الهند يستقرون في مدينة دلهي بمن فيهم كثير من الهندوس والسيخ. وتفوق الأهمية الاقتصادية والسياسية للشتات أهميتها العدديةبإرسال الحوالات إلى ديارهم على نطاق واسع بما يدعم الأسر والمجتمعات المحليةفي أفغانستان (ومخيمات اللاجئين)،وتُستثمَر هذه الحوالات في أفغانستان وقد ساهمت مساهمةكبيرةفي العمليات السياسية خلال الأعوام الإثني عشرة الماضية.

مستخرج من مقالة: تايلور دي ’ إعادة تأطير الحلول للاجئين الأفغانيين: دور المنظمات الإنسانية غير الحكومية في ص .ص 18-21

(Reframing solutions for Afghan refugees: the role of humanitarian NGOs’)

وكوسير ك. (2014) "المرحلة الانتقالية والأزمة والتنقل في أفغانستان: البلاغة والواقع السياسي"، المنظمة الدولية للهجرة،

(Mobility in Afghanistan: Rhetoric and Reality)

www.iom.int/files/live/sites/iom/files/Country/docs/Transition-Crisis-and-Mobility-in-Afghanistan-2014.pdf



[1] Siegel M (2013) ‘Understanding Afghan migration’, Debating Development blog http://blog.qeh.ox.ac.uk/?p=147

[2] Akseer T (2011) Identity Formation and Negotiation of Afghan Female Youth in Ontario (Unpublished Masters of Education thesis), Brock University, St Catharines, Canada. 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A view from the Afghan diaspora

Although I have lived most of my life in Canada, Afghanistan is my family’s homeland and, along with other Canadians, we are committed to supporting its restoration.

During the Soviet war in Afghanistan from 1979 until 1989, over five million Afghans – including my immediate family – fled abroad. My parents settled in Canada in 1989 but, like many others, our family returns as regularly as possible to maintain our ties with our community and family back in Afghanistan.

We are thankful for our status as Canadian citizens and for the opportunities and freedoms we are afforded, yet we desire our homeland to return to peace so that we may eventually repatriate and continue living out our interrupted dreams. While the current volatile situation makes it impractical to repatriate, there are smaller measures that many within the diaspora participate in – measures that show a collective commitment to the maintenance, restoration, safety and prosperity of Afghanistan. For us, with our memories and our allegiances, Afghanistan is not as a barren, war-torn society but rather one that has been neglected and is in need of repair.

For example, our family makes annual trips, often for months at a time, to Afghanistan. For my father, Mir Ahmad Akseer Shinwari, a doctor specialising in communicable diseases who used to work in the refugee camps in Pakistan, his focus has been the health and well-being of those in our ancestral village and nearby, providing free medical consultations from a small clinic he built years ago. My mother Ambara also plays an important role, enabling rural women access to medical care; she either accompanies my father on house calls or sits alongside him in the clinic, providing a female presence to reassure conservative women who are uncomfortable in such close proximity to a non-related male. The type of health care provided in this clinic is very basic, yet for locals it is significant and for some it is the first time they have been seen by a doctor. The passion with which the clinic is operated by two expatriates is a constant reminder of the desires and hopes that many Afghans abroad have for Afghanistan.

Many Afghans I have known in the West express their desire to return to their ancestral homeland – but only once they have something to ‘give back’ or ‘contribute’. Remittances, along with repatriation for the purposes of capacity building and international advocacy, are some of the more obvious ways  in which Afghans in the West ‘give back’. It is difficult to make an accurate assessment of remittances because of the informal nature of such systems but the World Bank estimates that remittances from abroad provide support for 15% of rural Afghan households, covering roughly 20% of a family’s daily expenditure. A report by the International Fund for Agricultural Development in 2007 estimated remittances to Afghanistan to contribute 29.6% of Afghanistan’s total GDP.[1]

Dreams versus reality

My siblings and I had spent most of our lives in Canada and knew little about the country we had escaped decades previously. Thus, the concept of ‘giving back’ by contributing to a special project during our Afghan vacations was, admittedly, romanticised. The first time I visited Afghanistan, in 2003, my siblings and I took with us teaching supplies to support Afghan girls’ education. Soon after we reached the village, however, it became clear that many of the problems preventing rural girls’ access to education were logistical: unsafe school routes, hidden landmines, unsafe classrooms without walls or fences (hindering purdah for females) and even local hooligans. Though a deeply conservative culture also deterred some from attending school, many had support from their parents and would be able to attend school if the aforementioned risks could be mitigated. The lack of purdah was addressed initially by erecting a steel fence for one of the local schools and later, with the consent of our parents, by donating some ancestral land for a new all-girls school. While our stationery and second-hand laptops were a practical idea, realistically the problems are more intrinsically connected to infrastructure and safety.

In retrospect, that first trip was an interesting experience. As members of the Afghan diaspora, we had assumed we knew all the answers. We assumed a position of the (mis)informed (though well-intentioned) outsider with our desire to bring change and offer strength. It is important that Afghans within the diaspora – and non-Afghans with the passion and zeal for humanitarian goals – look beyond the immediate, quick-fix solutions and rather use an approach that is more nuanced and focused on long-term solutions.

And beyond 2014?

The current transition, with all the political, security and international funding implications, has not to date had an impact on my own family’s plans or expectations. The area which we are mostly involved with (Rodat district in Nangarhar) has maintained a degree of neutrality over the past ten years and though there are reminders of war throughout the district and province, for our family it has not posed any hindrance or threats. Depending on the political climate within their respective home areas, other families within the Afghan diaspora may feel differently.

Drawing on qualitative research conducted with young Afghan women in Canada,[2] my opinion is that their return is not contingent on peace but rather on having ‘something to offer’. These active, vocal and motivated young women in the diaspora have a zeal and passion for aiding the reconstruction efforts but are a resource not yet tapped by international humanitarian and development agencies.

 

Tabasum Akseer t.akseer@queensu.ca is currently a doctoral candidate in the Cultural Studies Program at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. www.queensu.ca/

Afghan diaspora

Pakistan and Iran together host some 2.5 million Afghan registered refugees, with equivalent numbers of unregistered refugees also expected to be present in both host countries. In addition, it is estimated that there are some 300,000 settled in the United States, at least 150,000 in the United Arab Emirates, perhaps 125,000 in Germany, and smaller numbers in Canada, Australia and across Europe. While many of those in the UAE are temporary labour migrants, the majority elsewhere are settled permanently and often educated and skilled. It is estimated that there are about 10,000 Afghan refugees in India, mostly settled in Delhi, including many Hindus and Sikhs. The economic and political significance of the diaspora outweighs its numerical significance. It sends home remittances on a significant scale that support households and communities in Afghanistan (and in refugee camps), it invests in Afghanistan, and has contributed significantly to political processes over the past 12 years.

Extracted from: Tyler D ‘Reframing solutions for Afghan refugees: the role of humanitarian NGOs’ on p18-21; and Koser K (2014) Transition, Crisis and Mobility in Afghanistan: Rhetoric and Reality, International Organization for Migration. www.iom.int/files/live/sites/iom/files/Country/docs/Transition-Crisis-and-Mobility-in-Afghanistan-2014.pdf

 

[1] Siegel M (2013) ‘Understanding Afghan migration’, Debating Development blog http://blog.qeh.ox.ac.uk/?p=147

[2] Akseer T (2011) Identity Formation and Negotiation of Afghan Female Youth in Ontario (Unpublished Masters of Education thesis), Brock University, St Catharines, Canada. 

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview