توجه نحو الغاء التمييز القائم على الجندر في قوانين الجنسية

يمثل التمييز القائم على الجندر عنصراً لا يستهان فيه في توليد وتأبيد حالة انعدام الجنسية، ولا تزال هناك حاجة ملحة لمعالجة هذا النوع من التمييز ضمن قوانين الجنسية.

تُعطل قوانين الجنسية التمييزية حياة الناس بعدة طرق. فالنساء يختارون عدم إنجاب الأطفال خوفاً من المشاكل التي سيواجهها هؤلاء الأطفال. في حين أنَّ الشباب الأكفياء غير قادرين على العثور على زوجة خوفاً من تبعات انعدام الجنسية على أسرهم، ليس أقلها انتقال انعدام الجنسية إلى أطفالهم. وكذلك الأزواج الذين جمعتهم المحبة يخضعون إلى ضغوط تدفعهم للطلاق أملاً في أن يفتح هذا لهم باباً للحصول على الجنسية، ومستقبلاً أكثر أماناً لأطفالهم. وأطفال معدومي الجنسية لا يستطيعون إكمال تعليمهم، أو الحصول على الرعاية الصحية، أو العثور على وظيفة لائقة عندما يكبرون، ولا يستطيعون الحصول على ميراثهم من الممتلكات، أو السفر أو التصويت في الانتخابات. ولا تتعدى هذه الآثار في كونها آثاراً غير مقصودة لقوانين الجنسية التي تسمح للرجال، دون النساء، منح جنسيتهم لأطفالهم. وحقيقة الأمر غير ذلك تماماً: فمنذ القدم كان القصد من الأنظمة، التي بموجبها تكون جنسية الأب حاسمة بالنسبة لأبنائه، تحقيق الوحدة والاستقرار للأسر. ومع ذلك، ففي الواقع، يكون الأثر أكثر قسوةً[i] عندما يكون الطفل غير قادرٍ على الحصول على جنسية أمه بسبب القوانين التمييزية. وتحديداً، قد يُترك الطفل دون جنسية إذا كان الأب عديم الجنسية أو غير معروف أو مُتوفى أو غير قادر أو راغب في منح جنسيته لأبنائه.

ولا يحتاج الأمر سوى تشريع يُقر بإمكانية انتقال تلك الجنسية، سواءً جنسية الأب أم الأم، إلى الطفل. ويكون ذلك بإضافة بسيطة ولكنها فعالة تشمل كلمتين، هما- "أو الأم"- وهنا تكمن واحدة من قصص نجاح مكافحة انعدام الجنسية. ويزداد الوعي بأهمية قواعد الجنسية المحايدة لكلا الجنسين، ومن خلال ذلك تتوافر جهود التعبئة لهذه القضية. وتتزايد الضغوط الآن على تلك الدول التي لا تزال تطبق التشريعات التمييزية.

وهناك العديد من الدول التي يعيش فيها عدد كبير من السكان عديمي الجنسية، لا تزال تطبق القوانين التمييزية. فمثلاً، في الكويت وسوريا وماليزيا يرث الأطفال لآباء عديمي الجنسية حالة انعدام الجنسية تلك والمشاكل المتعلقة بها، حتى لو كانت أمهاتهم يتمتعن بالجنسية؛ أما إذا كان والد الطفل يتمتع بالجنسية فسوف يكون بمنأى عن هذه المشكلات حتى لو كانت أمه معدومة الجنسية. وهناك 27 بلداً يصعُب أو يستحيل فيها على الطفل أنْ يكتسب جنسية الأم[ii]. ولو أنهم ولدوا وعاشوا في تلك البلد على الدوام، فهم عرضة لخطر الترحيل، ويفتقرون إلى إمكانية الحصول على الخدمات التي تمولها الحكومة، مثل الرعاية الصحية والتعليم، ويُمتنع عليهم حق امتلاك العقارات أو ممارسة بعض المهن. وقد يؤدي استثنائهم من الحصول على جنسية الأم أيضاً إلى معاناتهم من مشاكل نفسية كبيرة تتعلق بتشكيل هويتهم وانتمائهم.

وتلقى اليوم فكرة أنَّ الرجال والنساء متساوون أمام القانون القبول عموماً في جميع أنحاء العالم-  حتى أنها محمية بموجب دساتير العديد من الدول. ولكن هذا ليس سوى تطور حديث نسبياً، ولا يزال هناك عمل ينبغي الاضطلاع به لضمان أن يُترجم مبدأ المساواة بين الجنسين على مستوى القوانين والممارسات والسياسات التي لا تميز بين رعايا الدولة على أساس الجندر. وقبل إقرار اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة عام 1979، كانت العشرات من الدول لا تراعي التكافؤ في حقوق الجنسية بين النساء والرجال. فالمرأة التي تحمل جنسية هولندا أو باكستان أو تايلاند أو ساحل العاج لم يحق لها منح تلك الجنسية إلى أطفالها على قدم المساواة مع الرجال وذلك حتى الأعوام 1985، 1987، 1992، 1998 على التوالي.

منذ ذلك الحين، سقطت قوانين الجنسية القائمة على التحيز إلى جنس معين في جميع أنحاء العالم تباعاً كأحجار الدومينو، فظهرت موجات من الإصلاح في أكثر من عشرين بلد منذ عام 2000. وكانت السنغال من أواخر الدول التي حذت حذو تلك الدول بتعديل قانون الجنسية في يونيو/حزيران 2013. وهناك عدد من الدول الأخرى تناقش بالفعل تغيير قوانينها.

النقاط العالقة

يبدو أنَّ القضية في دول أخرى لا تحظى بذلك القدر من الاهتمام. فرغم الأمثلة على الإصلاح في جميع أنحاء العالم، لم يُلغَ التمييز القائم على الجندر تماماً في قوانين الجنسية لديها. والإجابة على السؤال "لمَ لا؟" يختلف حتماً من دولة إلى أخرى، ولكن يبدو أنَّ هناك بعض العوامل المشتركة التي تعترض طريق التغيير. وتتمثل إحدى الحُجج التي تقدمها الدول مراراً وتكراراً في سعيها لتسويغ الإبقاء على القوانين التمييزية فيها أنَّ السماح  للنساء لمنح جنسيتها لأبنائها مخالف لمنع تلك الدولة مواطنيها من إزدواجية الجنسية: وحقيقةً، يستطيع الأطفال في بعض الحالات الحصول على جنسيتين عند الولادة. ومع ذلك، فالحال نفسه يمكن أن ينطبق على الرجل المواطن عندما يتزوج بامرأة أجنبية. والعديد من الدول تستخدم وسائل أخرى لضمان أنَّ الأطفال يحتفظون في نهاية المطاف بجنسية واحدة فقط.

وتتمثل إحدى الطرق في تجاوز العقبات التي تحول دون تحقيق الإصلاح القانوني في فهم العملية التي بموجبها تحقق ذلك الإصلاح في مكان آخر. ولغايات مواجهة مقاومة الدول للتغيير، يبدو أنَّ هناك حاجة إلى إيجاد جهود ضغط موحدة، كما الحال بالنسبة لمصر (انظر الصندوق النصي). ومع ذلك، لم تتبلور جهود مبادرات المناصرة في بعض الدول بالقدر نفسه. وقد يعود السبب في ذلك إلى انعدام الوعي لدى أوساط المجتمع المدني ووسائل الإعلام والجمهور بأنَّ القوانين التمييزية الخاصة بالجنسية قد تجعل الأطفال عديمي الجنسية وغير قادرين على ممارسة العديد من الحقوق الأساسية. وتمثل هذه الفجوة المعرفية تحدياً، وتحول دون المشاركة الإيجابية للجمهور في بعض الدول المستمرة في التمييز- على وجه الخصوص، عندما يعزف الخطاب السياسي على نغمة المخاوف الأمنية أو العوامل الديموغرافية.

ورغم اهتمام المجتمع المدني وجهود التعبئة، لا يشمل هذا الاهتمام دائماً الجهود الرامية إلى إشراك عديمي الجنسية أنفسهم في مثل هذه الجهود، وتركهم يعانون من مرارة شعور أنهم محرومون. ومثال على هكذا حالة، عندما يركز المجتمع المدني على هذا الموضوع حصراً على أنه لا يتعدى أن يكون من قضايا حقوق المرأة، في حين أنَّ النساء اللواتي يعنيهنَّ الأمر يشعرون في الغالب بالقلق إزاء حياة أطفالهم، ذكوراً وإناثاً على حدٍّ سواء. وقد تعود الأسباب المؤدية إلى عدم مشاركة السكان المتضررين من خوفهم من أن تتعرف عليهم السلطات المسؤولة التي قد تمارس ضدهم بعض أنواع المضايقات الرسمية.

الطريق إلى الإصلاح في مصر

أوردت مصر قديماً في قانونها لمنح الجنسية أن يكون ذلك فقط من الأب إلى أولاده. وتمثل تسويغ الحكومة لهذا التمييز في منع "اكتساب الطفل لجنسيتين حيث يكون أبواه يحملان جنسيتين مختلفتين، وهذا الأمر سيؤدي إلى الإضرار بمستقبله [و] أنَّ اكتساب الطفل لجنسية أبيه هو الإجراء الأمثل للطفل[iii]". وجاء التغيير في عام 2004، عندما أدرجت مصر تعديلاً بإضافة عبارة "أو والدة" في البند الذي يُنظم عملية اكتساب الجنسية عن طريق النسب[iv]. وكان هذا تتويجاً لحملة المناصرة الناجحة التي قادها المجتمع المدني.

وفي عام 1998، تشكل ائتلاف وطني عملت المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بحقوق المرأة من خلاله على تجميع "تقرير الظل" للمجتمع المدني وتقديمه للجنة القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة التابعة للأمم المتحدة حول التقدم الذي تحرزه الحكومة بما يتعلق بتنفيذ التزاماتها بموجب تلك الاتفاقية؛ وقد أرست عملية إجراء البحوث المشتركة وجهود المناصرة العاملة تحت مظلة هذا التحالف الأسس لمزيد من التعاون في هذه القضية[v]. وبحلول عام 2002، شرعت العديد من منظمات حقوق المرأة بحملة "يسقط قانون الجنسية" داعين مجموعة من منظمات حقوق الإنسان، لا سيما الجهات الفاعلة في مجال حقوق الطفل، لدعم القضية. وأقامت هذه المجموعات الاحتجاجات العامة واستخدمت وسائل الإعلام لتسليط الضوء على قضيتهم. وتزعمت مجموعة الابحاث والتدريب للعمل التنموي، وهي منظمة مقرها لبنان، حملات حقوق المرأة بما يخص هذه القضية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. ونشرت تقريراً وثقت من خلاله بعضاً من مشاكل حقوق الإنسان التي نجمت عن قوانين الجنسية التمييزية في مصر. وأثارت هذه الأدلة الحملة، في حين واصلت المنظمات في الوقت نفسه القول بأن القانون غير دستوري، لأنه بموجب الدستور المصري الرجال والنساء متساوون.

وبعد انقضاء عام على تنظيم الحملة، أكدت الحكومة أنها ستدرس هذه القضية، وأعلنت في وقت لاحق رغم أنَّ الحكومة ستتوقف مؤقتاً عن منح الجنسية للأطفال المولودين لأمهات مصريات، إلا أنَّ الحكومة ستمنحهم حقوقا مماثلة لتلك التي يتمتع بها المواطنون. إلا انَّ منظمات حقوق المرأة لم تكن راضية عن هذا الإجراء غير المكتمل، واستمرت بالضغط على الحكومة. وبعد فترة وجيزة، أقرت الحكومة بالحاجة إلى الإصلاح. وفي عام 2004 عُدِّل القانون بأثر رجعي، ويحق بموجبه لأي طفل وُلد لأم مصرية، قبل أو بعد تاريخ سريان التعديل، الحصول على الجنسية المصرية.

وفي الوقت الذي تبرز فيه أهمية تحديد العقبات والإقرار بها كعائق لإلغاء قوانين الجنسية القائمة على التمييز على أساس الجندر، لا يمكن إنكار تنامي الزخم الداعي إلى القضاء على التمييز القائم على الجندر في حق منح جنسية الأم إلى طفلها. وهناك بالفعل عدد من الدول التي تعهدت بإصلاح قوانينها أو تناقش حالياً آليات الإصلاح. ومن المرجح أن يتناقص عدد الدول التي لا تزال تطبق القوانين الإشكالية ​​إلى أقل من عشرين دولة في المستقبل المنظور. ومن المتوقع أن يرسل هذا الأمر بحد ذاته رسالة قوية إلى تلك الحكومات التي لم تلتزم بإحداث التغيير.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تتوسع عملية إشراك المجتمع المدني جغرافياً وتتنامى على نحو متزايد ومعقد. وتُغذي جهود الضغط الوطنية والإقليمية حملة مناصرة عالمية ناشئة لإنهاء جميع أشكال التمييز في قوانين الجنسية. وتتضافر قوى المنظمات المعنية بدعم حقوق المرأة ومحاربة التمييز وطرح قضية انعدام الجنسية لتحقيق الهدف المشترك المتمثل في رفع مستوى الوعي بأثر قوانين الجنسية القائمة على التمييز بين الجنسين، والدفع بإلغائها عالمياً[vi]. وأصبحت الآن أصوات النساء وأسرهن المتأثرين بهذه القوانين مسموعة في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويجري العمل على استخلاص الدروس المستفادة من النجاحات التي تحققت حتى الآن، كما انَّ جدول أعمال التغيير قد أصبح واضحاً.

 

زهراء البرازي Z.Albarazi@uvt.nl  باحثة في برنامج انعدام الجنسية ولورا فان فاس Laura.vanWaas@uvt.nl باحث أول ومديرة برنامج انعدام الجنسية، كلية الحقوق، جامعة تيلبورغ. www.tilburguniversity.edu/about/schools/law

 



[i]  انظر، مثلاً المفوضية العليا لشؤون اللاجئين ومجموعة الأبحاث والتدريب للعمل التنموي، "الحوار الإقليمي بشأن المساواة بين الجنسين والجنسية وانعدام الجنسية: نظرة عامة والنتائج الرئيسية (2012) www.refworld.org/docid/4f267ec72.html  (بالإنجليزية فقط)؛

(A Regional Dialogue on Gender Equality, Nationality and Statelessness: Overview and Key Findings)

وحملة "المساواة الآن" (2013)، حملة للقضاء على التمييز بين الجنسين في قوانين الجنسية والمواطنة. اللجنة النسائية للاجئين وجامعة تيلبورغ (2013) وطن أمي، بلدي. التمييز بين الجنسين وانعدام الجنسية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4f267ec72.html  (باللغة الإنجليزية فقط).

(Equality Now: Campaign to End Gender Discrimination in Nationality and Citizenship Laws)باللغة العربية: www.equalitynow.org/sites/default/files/NationalityReport_AR.pdf

جامعة تيلبورغ (2013): وطننا الأم. بلدنا. التمييز القائم على الجندر وانعدام الجنسية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا (باللغة الإنجليزية فقط)  www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4f267ec72.html   

(Our Motherland, Our Country. Gender Discrimination and Statelessness in the Middle East and North Africa)

 

[ii]  جزر البهاما، والبحرين، وبربادوس، وبروناي ودار السلام، وبوروندي، وإيران، والعراق، والأردن، والكويت، ولبنان، وليبيريا، وليبيا، ومدغشقر، وماليزيا، وموريتانيا، ونيبال، وعُمان، وقطر، والمملكة العربية السعودية، وسيراليون، والصومال، والسودان، وسورينام، وسوازيلاند وسوريا وتوغو والإمارات العربية المتحدة. مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين (2014) ملحوظة خلفية بشأن المساواة بين الجنسين، وقوانين الجنسية وقوانين انعدام الجنسية www.refworld.org/docid/532075964.html

(Background Note on Gender Equality, Nationality Laws and Statelessness)

[iii]  شعبة الأمم المتحدة للنهوض بالمرأة www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/reservations.htm

[iv]  المادة 1، الفقرة 3أ

[v]  ماكاي. ك. (2012) استكشاف أثر حملة إصلاح قانون الجنسية لعام 2004 بشأن المساواة بين الجنسين في مصر

(Exploring the Impact of the 2004 Nationality Law Reform Campaign on Gender Equality in Egypt)

https://dar.aucegypt.edu/bitstream/handle/10526/3087/C.MacKay%20Thesis%20Final%20Draft.pdf?sequence=3

 

[vi]  تعمل اللجنة النسائية للاجئين، ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين، وحركة المساواة الآن، ومؤسسة الحقوق المتساوية وبرنامج انعدام الجنسية في جامعة تيلبورغ معاً لوضع الأسس لحملة عالمية للقضاء على التمييز القائم على الجندر في قانون الجنسية. وستطلق الحملة في منتصف عام 2014.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Towards the abolition of gender discrimination in nationality laws

The contribution of gender discrimination to generating and perpetuating statelessness is considerable, and there continues to be a need to address such discrimination in nationality laws.

Discriminatory nationality laws disrupt people’s lives in many ways. Women choosing not to have children for fear of the problems those children will face. Young, eligible men unable to find a wife because their statelessness would affect the whole family, including by being passed on to their children. Loving couples under pressure to divorce in the hope that this may open up a pathway to nationality and a more secure future for their children. Children who cannot complete their schooling, access health care, find a decent job when they grow up, inherit property, travel or vote. These are not the intended effects of nationality laws that permit men, but not women, to transmit nationality to their children. Quite the reverse: the historic purpose of systems under which the father’s nationality is decisive for that of his children was to bring unity and stability to families. Yet, in reality, where a child is not able to access its mother’s nationality due to discriminatory laws, the impact can be harsh.[i] In particular, if the father is stateless, unknown, deceased or unable or unwilling to pass on his own nationality, a child may be left without any nationality.

Legislating so that nationality can be transmitted from either father or mother to the child is all it takes. In the simple but effective addition of two words – “or mother” – lies one of the emerging success stories in the fight against statelessness. Awareness of the importance of gender-neutral nationality rules is increasing and, with it, mobilisation behind the cause. Pressure is now mounting on those states which retain discriminatory legislation.

Several countries with large stateless populations are among those where discriminatory laws are still in place. For example, in Kuwait, Syria and Malaysia, children of stateless fathers are inheriting this statelessness and related problems, even if their mothers enjoy nationality; conversely, those whose mothers are stateless and whose fathers hold nationality are rescued from this fate. There are 27 countries in which it is difficult or impossible for a child to acquire his or her mother’s nationality.[ii] Even if they were born in and have always lived in that country, they may be at risk of deportation, lack access to government-funded services such as health care or education, and be prevented from owning property or practising certain professions. Exclusion from their mother’s nationality can also cause significant psychological problems around identity formation and belonging.

Today, the notion that men and women should be equal before the law is generally accepted around the world – and even protected under the Constitutions of many countries. But this is only a relatively recent development and there is still work to be done to ensure that the principle of gender equality is translated into gender-neutral law, policy and practice. Prior to the passing of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) in 1979, dozens of states did not grant equal nationality rights to women and men. A woman holding the nationality of the Netherlands, Pakistan, Thailand or Ivory Coast was not entitled to pass her nationality on to her children on the same terms as men until 1985, 1987, 1992 and 1998 respectively.

Since then gender-biased nationality laws have toppled like dominoes around the globe, with more than twenty reforms since the year 2000. Senegal was the most recent of these, amending its nationality law in June 2013, and a number of other countries are already discussing change.

Sticking points

Elsewhere though, the issue seems to have gained little traction. Despite examples of reform worldwide, gender discrimination has not yet been entirely abolished in nationality laws. The answer to the question of why not inevitably varies from one state to another but there appear to be some common factors that stand in the way of change. One argument repeatedly made by states seeking to justify the retention of discriminatory laws is that allowing women to transfer their nationality to their children would violate the state’s prohibition of dual nationality: the children could in some circumstances acquire two nationalities at birth. Yet, the same could apply when a national man marries a foreign woman, and plenty of countries use other methods to ensure that the children ultimately retain only one nationality.

One way to break down the barriers to legal reform is to understand the process under which it was achieved elsewhere. In order to counteract states’ resistance to change it seems that there needs to be a unified lobbying effort, as was seen in Egypt (see Box). However, in some states advocacy initiatives have not developed to the same extent. One reason for this is that there may be little awareness amongst civil society, the media and the public that discriminatory nationality laws may leave children stateless and unable to exercise many fundamental rights. This gap in knowledge presents a challenge and obstructs positive public engagement in some countries that retain discrimination – especially when political rhetoric plays on fears surrounding security or demographics.

Where there is civil society interest and mobilisation, this does not always include efforts to involve stateless people themselves, leaving them feeling disenfranchised. An example of this is where civil society focuses purely on the subject as a women’s rights issue, whereas the women involved are predominantly concerned about the lives of their children, both male and female. Lack of participation by the affected population can also stem from fear of being identified and subjected to some form of official harassment.  

 

Egypt’s road to reform

Egypt has historically provided in its law for the conferral of nationality only from a father to his child. The government’s justification for this discrimination was that it prevented the “child’s acquisition of two nationalities where his parents are of different nationalities, since this may be prejudicial to his future [and] the child’s acquisition of his father’s nationality is the procedure most suitable for the child”.[iii] Change came in 2004, when an amendment inserted the words “or a mother” in the clause regulating acquisition of nationality by descent.[iv] This marked the culmination of a successful civil society-led advocacy campaign.

In 1998 a national coalition was formed through which many women’s rights NGOs worked to compile a collective civil society ‘shadow report’ for the UN CEDAW Committee on the government’s progress towards implementing its obligations under the Convention; the process of undertaking joint research and advocacy under the umbrella of this coalition laid the foundations for further collaboration on the issue.[v] By 2002 several women’s rights organisations had initiated the ‘Down with the Nationality Law’ campaign, drawing in a range of human rights organisations, especially children’s rights actors, to support the cause. These groups held public protests and used the media to highlight their cause. The Collective for Research and Training and Development Action (CRTDA), an organisation based in Lebanon that has been at the forefront of women’s rights campaigning on this issue in the Middle East and North Africa, published a report that documented some of the human rights problems that were caused by the discriminatory nationality laws in Egypt. This evidence fuelled the campaign while at the same time the organisations continued to argue that the law was unconstitutional, because under the Egyptian Constitution men and women enjoy equality.

After a year of campaigning the government confirmed that it would study the issue and subsequently declared that although it would stop short of granting citizenship to children born to Egyptian mothers, it would give these children rights similar to those enjoyed by citizens. However, the women’s rights organisations were not satisfied with this half-measure and continued their lobbying and, soon after, the government conceded that reform was needed. In 2004 the law was reformed with retroactive effect and any child of an Egyptian mother born before or after the date of entry into force of the amendment became entitled to Egyptian nationality.

 

While it is important to identify and acknowledge the obstacles that remain to the abolition of gendered nationality laws, undeniably momentum is building for the eradication of gender discrimination in the transmission of nationality from parent to child. Many countries have already pledged to reform their laws or are currently discussing the mechanics of reform. The number of states where problematic laws are still in place is likely to drop below twenty in the foreseeable future and this in itself is likely to send a strong message to those governments that have yet to commit to change.

Meanwhile, civil society engagement is expanding geographically and growing increasingly sophisticated. National and regional lobbying efforts are feeding an emerging global advocacy campaign to end all discrimination in nationality laws. Organisations concerned with promoting women’s rights, fighting discrimination and addressing statelessness are joining forces to pursue the common goal of raising awareness of the impact of gendered nationality laws and pushing for their universal abolition.[vi] The women and their families who are affected by these laws worldwide are now being heard. Lessons are being drawn from the successes achieved to date and the agenda for change is clear.

 

Zahra Albarazi Z.Albarazi@uvt.nl  is Researcher and Laura van Waas Laura.vanWaas@uvt.nl  is Senior Researcher and Manager of the Statelessness Programme, Tilburg University Law School. www.tilbur

 

[i] See, for instance, UNHCR and CRTDA (2012) A Regional Dialogue on Gender Equality, Nationality and Statelessness: Overview and Key Findings www.refworld.org/docid/4f267ec72.html; Equality Now (2013) Campaign to End Gender Discrimination in Nationality and Citizenship Laws www.equalitynow.org/sites/default/files/NationalityReport_EN.pdf; Women’s Refugee Commission and Tilburg University (2013) Our Motherland, Our Country. Gender Discrimination and Statelessness in the Middle East and North Africa www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4f267ec72.html

[ii] Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritania, Nepal, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Togo and United Arab Emirates. UNHCR (2014) Background Note on Gender Equality, Nationality Laws and Statelessness www.refworld.org/docid/532075964.html

[iii] UN Division for the Advancement of Women www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/cedaw/reservations.htm

[iv] Article 1, paragraph 3a

[v] Mackay C (2012) Exploring the Impact of the 2004 Nationality Law Reform Campaign on Gender Equality in Egypt https://dar.aucegypt.edu/bitstream/handle/10526/3087/C.MacKay%20Thesis%20Final%20Draft.pdf?sequence=3

[vi] The Women’s Refugee Commission, UNHCR, Equality Now, Equal Rights Trust and Tilburg University Statelessness Programme are working together to lay the foundations for a global campaign to end gender discrimination in nationality law. The campaign is being launched in mid 2014.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview