العنف وحالات الاستضعاف: الأفغان في باكستان

بما أنه من غير المرجح على معظم الأفغان الذين يعيشون في باكستان اليوم العودة الى أفغانستان فلا بد من بذل مزيد من الجهود لمعالجة نقاط استضعافهم ولحمايتهم من المضايقات والعنف .

هناك ما يقدر عدده بـ 1.6مليون لاجئ أفغاني مسجل بالإضافة إلى ما بين مليون ومليوني أفغاني غير حامل للوثائق في باكستان. وبعد عام 2001، لم تعد الحكومة الباكستانية تعترف بالأفغان الداخلين الى بلادها على أنهم لاجئون، وبذلك أصبح الأفغان غير الحاملين للوثائق الثبوتية محرومين من الحماية القانونية. ويعيش الغالبية العظمى من الأفغان في باكستان في إقليمي خيبر باختونخوا وبلوشستان، مع أن عدداً كبيراً منهم استقر في كراتشي وإسلام أباد ومختلف المناطق الحضرية في البنجاب. ويعيش كثير من الأفغان المسجلين في مخيمات للاجئين في خيبر باختونخوا وبلوشستان، لكنَّ غالبية الافغان يعيشون في مساكن مستأجرة أو مساكن يشترونها بطريقة غير رسمية في المناطق الخاضعة للتنظيم وأخرى غير خاضعة للتنظيم الحضري (أي بوضع اليد).

لقد وصل غالبية اللاجئين الأفغان الى باكستان للمرة الأولى في ثمانينيات القرن العشرين وأوائل تسعينيات القرن ذاته، وأسسوا هنالك سبل حياتهم تأسيساً راسخاً، وساهم كثير منهم في النمو الاقتصادي في المناطق الريفية والحضرية، وأقاموا علاقات اجتماعية وطيدة مع الباكستانيين من خلال شبكات الصداقة والزواج ومن خلال الشراكات التجارية والعيش في الأحياء المشتركة بينهم. ومع كل ذلك، ازداد العداء تجاه الأفغان زيادة ملحوظة في السنوات الأخيرة الماضية بسبب عدة عوامل منها إنهاك المجتمعات المضيفة والتوترات القومية.

وهناك صورة نمطية سلبية يزداد التمسك بها حول الأفغان في كل من الخطاب العام ووسائل الأعلام. فمع أنَّه كان يُنظر للأفغان نظرة الأبطال المجاهدين في يوم من الأيام فقد أصبحوا الآن في باكستان رمزاً لحركة طالبان المخرِّبة بنظرهم وهذا ما زاد من العداء تجاههم. وكان لكل ذلك آثار سلبية عدة على الأفغان، منها: المخاطر المحدقة بالنواحي الأمنية لإسكان الأفغان في باكستان سواء أكان ذلك في قرى المخيمات أم في مناطق الإسكان غير الرسمية أو المساكن المُستأجرة. وحدث هناك ارتفاع حاد ومفاجئ أيضاً في أجور السكن، أما توفير الخدمات الأساسية فلا يمكن العول عليه، وهناك بعض المنظمات غير الحكومية التي لا ترغب في الاستثمار في المناطق التي يسكنها الأفغان خشية إغلاق تلك الأماكن في يوم ما. أما الاعتقالات الروتينية والمضايقة والاحتجاز التعسفي وترحيل الأفغان أيضاً فقد أصبح كل ذلك من الأمور الشائعة. ونظراً لارتفاع التهديدات اليومية أصبح من الشائع رؤية نقاط التفتيش الأمنية في الحياة اليومية وذلك يتطلب إبراز الهوية الشخصية التي يفتقر إليها كثير من الأفغان. وفضلا عن ذلك، يُستهدف الأفغان بطريقة مُمنهجة وينظر كثير من الناس إلى ذلك على انه استراتيجية" لتشجيع" عودة اللاجئين الى بلادهم .

"لم تعد باكستان ملاذا آمنا لنا فالدولة هنا لا تريد إلا أن نرحل عنها ولهذا السبب يضايقوننا " (لاجئ أفغاني باختوني يعيش في باكستان منذ عام 1982).

التوصيات لعام 2014 وما وراءه

يعيش كثير من الأفغان في باكستان حياة انتقالية فيتنقلون بين أفغانستان وباكستان، وهناك غيرهم ممن لا ينوون كثيراً العودة الى أفغانستان سواء أكان ذلك بسبب استمرار الصراع في أفغانستان أم بسبب تحسّن وضعهم الاجتماعي في باكستان. وعليه، يجب على الحكومة الباكستانية والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية منها والمحلية أن ترسم خططها وأن تتصرف وفقاً لذلك الواقع.

وينبغي بذل مزيد من الجهود لدعم الأفغان المستضعفين الذين لا يتاح لهم الحصول سوى على قدر محدود من الخدمات الصحية والماء والإصحاح وينبغي تشجيع الفاعلين المحليين من المنظمات غير الحكومية على المساعدة في تحقيق ذلك الهدف. أما المقيمون في قرى المخيمات فغالباً ما يرغبون في الوصول إلى مرحلة الاكتفاء الذاتي ويمتلكون لجاناً منظمة للتعامل مع القضايا الحرجة، مثل: الحصول على المياه النظيفة. وبهذا الإطار، يمكن من خلال تحسين التنسيق وقنوات الاتصال بين المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والمجتمعات الأفغانية دعم هذه المجتمعات في تحسين بيئتها.

ولا بد أيضا من إيجاد فضاءً أكبر لخطاب إيجابي حول الطرق التي يمكن فيها للأفغان أن يساهموا مساهمة فاعلة في المجتمع الأفغاني. ومثال ذلك مشروع الأرشيف الخاص بالمواطنين في كراتشي الذي يسجل التواريخ المنقولة شفويا للمهاجرين في باكستان، وبما أنَّ هذا المشروع لا يركز حاليا إلا على الهجرات التي وقعت خلال مرحلة انفصال الباكستان عن الهند واستقلالها، يمكن تشجيع مشروع يتيح بتدوين التواريخ الشفوية الأفغانية.[i]

ويجب على الحكومة الباكستانية ومفوضية الامم المتحدة السامية للاجئين تشجيع استمرار تثقيف الفاعلين الحكوميين (بمن فيهم المحاكم المحلية) والفاعلين في المجتمع المدني والشرطة الباكستانية وقوى الأمن حول الحقوق الأفغانية في باكستان، ولا بد من الاستمرار في تعزيز مفوضية الامم المتحدة السامية للاجئين للعون القانوني المقدم للأفغان، ولا بد من أن يستمر الشركاء المنفذون لمفوضية الامم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في توفير العون القانوني للأفغان في المناطق التي تشهد كثافة سكانية أفغانية عالية.

وعلى المدى البعيد، يجب تشجيع الحكومة الباكستانية على الاعتراف بما هو قائم على أرض الواقع في باكستان اليوم وهو وجود ملايين من الاشخاص غير المواطنين وأن هؤلاء الأشخاص جزء لا يتجزأ من الباكستان. ونظرا لوجود أغلبية من الأفغان في باكستان اليوم مع عدم ترجيح عودتهم الى بلادهم فينبغي للحكومة أن تنظر في توفير خطة للعفو تتيح من خلالها بأن يصبح الأفغان مواطنين شرعيين للدولة وأن تسمح للدولة بتحسين مستوى حكمها وبسط نفوذها على فئة سكانية لا يستهان بحجمها والتي تشكل بحكم الأمر الواقع جزءاً من الدولة. ولا بد لها من ذلك لكي توفر لهذه الفئة السكانية كامل الحقوق والحماية، واذا لم يكن ذلك متاحاً فعلى أقل تقدير ينبغي منح الأفغان أذوناً للعمل و/أو الإقامة بعيدة الأمد بحيث لا تكون على أساس مؤقت أو غير متنبأ به كما الحال بالنسبة لبطاقة تسجيل الأفغان الحالية التي تتطلب التجديد المتكرر لها والتي لا تضمن ذلك وغالبا ما يؤخر إصدارها. وخلاصة الأمر أن الأفغان جزء لا يتجزأ من باكستان ويجب الاعتراف بذلك في القانون .

 

سناء أليميا sa113@soas.ac.uk زميلة تعليم رئيسية في كلية الدراسات الشرقية والافريقية ، لندن www.soas.ac.uk

 

بنيت هذه المقالة على عمل ميداني أجري في كراتشي وبشاور منذ عام 2010

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Violence and vulnerabilities: Afghans in Pakistan

Given that the majority of Afghans who live in Pakistan today are unlikely to return to Afghanistan, more needs to be done to address their vulnerabilities and protect them from harassment and violence.

There are an estimated 1.6 million registered Afghan refugees and one to two million undocumented Afghans in Pakistan. After 2001 the Government of Pakistan no longer recognised Afghans entering Pakistan as refugees, and these undocumented Afghans have no legal protection. The majority of Afghans in Pakistan live in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan provinces although a significant number have settled in Karachi, Islamabad and various urban areas in the Punjab. Many registered Afghans live in refugee tented villages (RTVs), mainly in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, but the majority of Afghans live in rented or informally purchased accommodation, in regulated and unregulated (i.e. squatter) areas.

The majority of Afghan refugees in Pakistan first arrived in the 1980s and early 1990s and have firmly established lives in Pakistan. Many have contributed to the economic growth in rural and urban areas and have formed deep social relations with Pakistanis through friendships, marriages or business partnerships, or through living in shared neighbourhoods. Despite this, hostility towards Afghans has increased significantly in recent years, triggered by factors such as ‘hosting fatigue’ and nationalist tensions.

Afghans are increasingly negatively stereotyped in public discourse and the media. Once idolised as the heroic mujahideen (‘religious fighters’), Afghans in Pakistan are now seen more in the light of the destructive Taliban, and this increased hostility towards Afghans has had a number of negative impacts for Afghans. Security of housing for Afghans in Pakistan, whether in RTVs, informal housing areas or rented accommodation, is precarious and sudden sharp increases in rent are common. Provision of basic services is unreliable, and some NGOs are unwilling to invest in Afghan areas for fear that the area will be closed down. Routine arrests, harassment, arbitrary detention and even deportation of Afghans have become common. Increasing security threats have meant that security checkpoints are a routine feature of daily life – and an identity card, which many Afghans lack, is essential. Furthermore, the systematic targeting of Afghans is also seen by many as a strategy to ‘encourage’ repatriation to Afghanistan.

“Pakistan is no longer safe for us. They [the state] just want us to go. This is why they constantly harass us.” (Afghan Pakhtun refugee who has lived in Pakistan since 1982)

Recommendations for 2014 and beyond

Many Afghans in Pakistan either live transnational lives, moving between Afghanistan and Pakistan, or have limited intention and scope for returning to Afghanistan, whether because of the continued conflict in Afghanistan or because of their improved social position in Pakistan. The Pakistani government and international and local NGOs should plan and act accordingly.

Greater efforts to support vulnerable Afghans who have limited access to health care, water and sanitation are needed, and local NGO actors should be encouraged to assist in this. Residents of RTVs are often keen to become self-sufficient and have organised committees to deal with pressing issues such as access to clean water. Better coordination and communication between local NGOs and Afghan communities could support these communities in improving their environment.

More space for positive discourse on the ways in which Afghans contribute towards Pakistani society should be created. For example, the Citizens Archive Project in Karachi records the oral histories of migrants in Pakistan; it currently focuses only on migrations that took place during Pakistan’s Partition and Independence but could be encouraged to make space for Afghan oral histories.[1]

Continued education for government actors (including local courts), civil society actors and the Pakistani police and security forces on the legal rights of Afghans in Pakistan should be promoted by the Government of Pakistan and UNHCR. And legal aid for Afghans should continue to be promoted by UNHCR implementing partners in areas with high Afghan populations.

In the longer term, the Government of Pakistan should be encouraged to recognise what is already a reality in Pakistan: that millions of ‘non-nationals’ are an integral and long-term part of Pakistan. Given that the majority of Afghans who remain in Pakistan today are unlikely to return to Afghanistan, the government should consider introducing an amnesty scheme which would allow Afghans to become legal citizens of the state, thereby allowing the state to better govern a sizeable population that is de facto a part of the state as well as providing this population with full rights and protection. If not this, then, at the very least, Afghans should be provided with long-term work and/or residency permits that are not as ad hoc and unpredictable as the current Afghan registration card which requires frequent renewal that is not always guaranteed and is often delayed. Afghans are an integral and long-term part of Pakistan. This must now be recognised in law.

 

Sanaa Alimia sa113@soas.ac.uk is a Senior Teaching Fellow at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), London. www.soas.ac.uk

This paper is based on fieldwork conducted in Karachi and Peshawar since 2010.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview