استمرار النزاع واستمرار النزوح في جنوب أفغانستان

مع احتمال استمرار القتال والانفلات الأمني على مشهد أفغانستان في المستقبل المنظور، سوف يستمر التهجير بالارتفاع والانخفاض.

تشير التقارير إلى أن آلاف العائلات من أقاليم هلمند وقندهار وأوروزجان وغيرها في جنوب أفغانستان عادت مؤخراً إلى بيوتها من المدن التي لجأت إليها لأشهر وربما لسنوات ومع ذلك ما زالت الظروف ذاتها التي أجبرتهم على الفرار منتشرة في كثير من الأماكن ولدرجة كبيرة ويعني ذلك أن كثيراً من الناس ما زالوا نازحين. وسوف يستمر هذا النمط وسوف تختار بعض العائلات البقاء في المدن الى حين معالجة المخاوف الأمنية الرئيسية.

لقد هاجرت كثير من العائلات أصلاً بسبب توسع العمليات العسكرية لقوات الأمن الأفغاني الوطني والقوات العسكرية الدولية نتيجة العمليات العسكرية لعام 2009 وارتفاع عمليات البحث والتفتيش من بيت إلى آخر والمضايقات التي أثارت جميعها مخاوف التعرض للاعتقال وصعَّبت من الحياة اليومية أمام الناس وأفقدت الناس القدرة على زراعة أراضيهم إما بسبب مصادرة هذه الأراضي من جانب القوات الدولية لتأسيس القواعد العسكرية أو بعدم السماح لهم بزراعة حقولهم المجاورة للقواعد العسكرية لأسباب أمنية، أمَّا بالنسبة لمن عاد لدياره فقد عاد بسبب ارتفاع التكاليف المعيشية في المدينة وعدم وجود فرص العمل في بيئة حضرية غير مألوفة لهم وبالإضافة إلى ذلك كان كثير من الناس يتوقعون أنَّ إقامتهم لن تكون طويلة وهذا ما جعلهم يرفضون الاندماج بالكامل في الحياة المدنية.

فأماكن مثل مقاطعة "جهار جينة" في إقليم أوروزجان تلقت أفواجاً من النازحين من مدينة قندهار ومدينة لشكركاه و نمروز. بل تلقت أفواجاً منهم من باكستان وذلك عند انسحاب القوات الأمنية الوطنية الأفغانية وقوات التحالف العسكرية الدولية من المنطقة. وإضافة إلى ذلك يشير نمط العائدين إلى عدد من المناطق الأخرى إلى أن النازحين ينتظرون انسحاب هذه القوات العسكرية بمثابة خطوة أولى نحو تحقيق الثقة في رحلة عودتهم إلى ديارهم.

تختلف أنماط النزوح وشيوعه بحسب مشهد النزاع الحالي. ففي المناطق التي تعد مناطق متنازع عليها، أي متنازع عليها بين القوات العسكرية الوطنية والقوات العسكرية الدولية من جهة والفاعلين المسلحين من غير الدول من جهة أخرى، يكون فيها النزوح كبيراً جداً. وفي هذه المناطق التي يحدث فيها القتال يومياً تعمد أعداد كبيرة من الأشخاص إلى الهرب ليس من القتال فحسب ولكن بسبب عدم قدرتهم على الذهاب إلى العمل أو زراعة أراضيهم أو سقايتها. ومن المحتمل أن تستمر هذه المناطق المتنازع عليها مصدراً لخروج النازحين في السنتين القادمتين في جنوب أفغانستان وسوف يعيد المقيمون تقييم وضعهم باستمرار كما فعلوا في الماضي. فإذا شعروا أنَّ القتال سوف يستمر لمدة قصيرة من الزمن (بما لا يزيد عن أسبوعين) فسوف يذهبون إلى أقرب قرية آمنة مع أسرهم، وفي بعض الأحيان قد يأخذون ماشيتهم وبعض التموينات الأساسية.أما فيما يخص الأماكن المتنازع عليها التي يدور فيها قتال عنيف فسوف يستعد الناس هناك إلى مغادرة قراهم لمدة طويلة ثم يتوجهون فيالعادة إلى مركز من المراكز الحضرية الرئيسية في الجنوب بل أيضا ربما إلى كابل أو كويتا في باكستان. وهؤلاء النازحون نادراً ما سيكونون قادرين على اصطحاب ممتلكاتهم أو ماشيتهم معهم.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تغادر كثير من العائلات أماكنهم خوفاً من تعرضهم للقتل بسبب الأعمال الانتقامية. فأثناء مقابلة المقيمين المحليين من مقاطعة زاري في قندهار تبين أنَّه إذا ما قُتل أحد الجنود الحكوميون فسوف توجه القوى الحكومية الاتهام إلى السكان المحليين بأنهم تعاونوا مع حركة طالبان أو ساعدوها في قتل ذلك الجندي ومن هنا سوف ينتقمون من هؤلاء السكان. وبالمثل، إذا ما قُتل أحد أعضاء حركة طالبان فسوف تبحث تلك الحركة في هذه القرية عن أي شخص تتهمه بأنه جاسوس لتعاقبه.

وفي المناطق المتنازع عليها، غالباً ما تزرع قوات طالبان الذخائر المتفجرة المرتجلة على الطرق الأساسية لمنع وصول قوات الأمن الوطني أو التحالف العسكرية الدولية. ومع أنَّها قد تخبر السكان المحليين بهذه الطرق لتجنبها، يحتاج السكان المحليين إلى تلك الطرق أيضاً وهذا سبب آخر من أسباب نزوحهم. ففي المنطقة الشمالية الغربية من إقليم قندهار، أُغلقت الطرق المؤدية إلى المركز منذ منتصف عام 2013 ولم يمنع ذلك من إيصال الغذاء و التموينات الأخرى فحسب بل أجبر الناس أيضاً على الهرب لأنهم لم يتمكنوا من نقل محاصيلهم الزراعية أو سفرهم على الطرق بأمان للوصول الى المستشفى على سبيل المثال. وفي هذه الحالة، كما في حالات غيرها، يعلم المحليون أن الحكومة لن تتخلى عن الإقليم للجماعات المسلحة ولذلك يتوقع كثير منهم أن الوضع سوف يصبح أكثر سوءاً في المستقبل لأن أياً من الطرفين لن يستسلم للطرف الآخر.

يرغب المواطنون بالعيش في سلام بمكان يستطيعون فيه العمل بغض النظر عمَّن يحكم هذا المكان. وهناك احتمالية كبيرة جداً بأنَّ كثيراً من الأماكن التي تخضع للسيطرة الحكومية والتي استولت عليها الجماعات المسلحة في الماضي سوف تشهد صراعاً عنيفاً لأنَّ الجماعات المسلحة سوف تسعى إلى ممارسة نفوذها على تلك المناطق من أجل استعادة الأقاليم التي خسرتها أمام الحكومة. فما الذي يعني ذلك بالنسبة للنازحين؟ يعني ذلك أن الأشخاص الذين كانوا يفكرون بالعودة سوف ينتظرون إلى مالا يقل عن أواخر عام 2014 للتأكد من ماذا سيحدث. فإذا تحسن الوضع الأمني، فسوف يكون هناك نازحون عائدون الى مواطنهم الأصلية. أمَّا إذا لم يتحسن الوضع الأمني أو إذا ساء وازداد سوءاً فلن يحجم النازحون فحسب عن العودة ولكنَّهم سوف يهجَّرون إلى مكان آخر.

ففي هلمند الوسطى، على سبيل المثال، حدثت هناك عملية عسكرية كبيرة أدت إلى عودة كثير من النازحين إلى قراهم بسبب تحسن الوضع الأمني ووجود ظروف العمل وفُرَصِها مع القوات العسكرية الدولية. ومع احتمال تجدد القتال في تلك المناطق، من المحتمل جداً أن يصبح الأشخاص المقيمون الذين عملوا في تلك الأماكن جزءاً من موجة جديدة من النازحين خلال العامين القادمين. فهناك آلاف من الأشخاص من مقاطعة مارجا وحدها الذين عملوا لدى مختلف مشروعات الوكالة الأمريكية للإنماء الدولي وغيرها من المشروعات التي يمولها المانحون في مقاطعة هلمند. وبذلك يُنظر إلى هؤلاء المقيمين بنوع من الريبة والشك من جانب الجماعات المسلحة وقد يتعرضوا للعقاب على أيديهم بطرق عدة. وهناك ما يقارب 1500 رجل محلي ممَّن شاركوا أو أصبحوا جزءاً من الجماعات المسلحة المعادية للمسلحين في مارجا، وفي وقت لاحق عندما أرادت القوات العسكرية الدولية إدماج هؤلاء الرجال في الشرطة المحلية الأفغانية لم تتمكن وزارة الداخلية من الالتزام إلا بدمج 450 شرطياً أما بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لم يُدمجوا في القوات المحلية فيجدون أنفسهم الآن مُعرَّضين للأعمال الانتقامية على يد الجماعات المسلحة.

وفيما يخص المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة الجماعات المسلحة فهي معرضة بصورة خاصة إلى توليد النزوح خاصة أنَّ الحكومة مُصممة على إعادة السيطرة على تلك المناطق أو إجراء العمليات العسكرية من وقت إلى آخر. وبالنَّظر إلى المخاطر التي تنتشر كثيراً خلال العمليات العسكرية، هُجِّر كثير من المقيمين المحليين خلال الأعمال العسكرية، ويُتوقع ظهور العوامل المشابهة لذلك خلال عامين من الآن في المناطق الواقعة في جنوب أفغانستان التي يسيطر عليها المسلحون أو التي تمارس فيها تلك الجماعات سلطتها ونفوذها.

هناك مؤشرات واضحة أن عدد النازحين يُتوقع أن يزداد خلال العامين القادمين مع تعزيز الحكومة الأفغانية لوضعها في معظم المناطق وذلك عن طريق إدخال مزيد من القوات، أمَّا بالنسبة لحركة طالبان فيُتوقع أن تستفيد من رحيل القوات العسكرية الدولية. وبما أن مناطق النزاع معظمها مناطق ريفية، فسوف يكون النازحون بطبيعة الحال من مناطق ريفية وبما أنَّهم غير معتادون على الحياة في المدينة وغير قادرين على الكسب إلا من الزراعة فمن المهم إذاً ان يكون هناك نظام لتسجيل النازحين الجدد وذلك بغية تقديم المساعدة للمستضعفين من النازحين بأسرع وقت ممكن ومساعدتهم على البقاء على قيد الحياة.

 

رحمة الله عميري amiri.rahmat@gmail.com باحث اجتماعي وسياسي وصحفي مستقل يعمل في كابل.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Continuing conflict, continuing displacement in southern Afghanistan

With fighting and insecurity likely to remain dominant features of Afghanistan’s landscape in the immediate future, displacement will continue to ebb and flow.

Thousands of families from Helmand, Kandahar, Uruzgan and a number of other provinces in southern Afghanistan have reportedly recently returned to their home districts from the cities where they had sought refuge for months and even years. However, the conditions that forced them to flee are still prevalent in many places and to a significant degree, meaning that many people continue to be displaced. This pattern will persist, with some families electing to stay in cities until the underlying security concerns are addressed.

Many families originally fled because of the expansion of military operations of the Afghan National Security Forces (ANSF) and the International Military Forces (IMF) as a result of the 2009 military ‘surge’, increased door-to-door searches and harassment triggering fear of arrest and generally making daily life difficult, and inability to cultivate their fields either because their lands had been taken over by international forces in order to establish military bases or because they were not allowed to cultivate their fields around military bases because of security concerns. Those who have returned to their homes have done so because of the high cost of living in the city and shortage of employment opportunities in an unfamiliar, urban environment. Additionally, anticipating a short stay, many never fully integrated into city life.

Places such as Chahar China district in Uruzgan Province experienced an inflow of IDPs from Kandahar City, Lashker Gha City, Nimruz and even Pakistan when ANSF and IMF forces withdrew from the area. Moreover, the pattern of returnees to a number of other areas suggests that IDPs await the withdrawal of these forces as a first step towards having the confidence to return home.

Landscape of conflict and displacement

The patterns and prevalence of displacement vary depending on the current conflict landscape. In areas considered as contested areas – contested between ANSF/IMF and non-state armed actorsdisplacement is generally higher. In these locations, where day-to-day fighting occurs, large numbers of residents will flee to escape the fighting and also because they are unable to go to work or to cultivate or irrigate their lands. These contested districts will probably continue to be the areas from which most IDPs will originate in the coming two years in southern Afghanistan. Residents will re-evaluate their situation continuously, as they have done in the past; if they believe that the fighting will only go on for relatively short periods of time (up to two weeks), then they will go only as far as the nearest secure village with their family and, if possible, their livestock and some basic provisions. On the other hand, in heavily contested areas, residents will prepare for leaving their villages for the long term, usually to one of the major urban centres in the south or even to Kabul or to Quetta in Pakistan; these IDPs will seldom be able to take their possessions or livestock with them.

Additionally, many families leave due to fear of being killed in retaliation. When interviewed, local residents from Zhari district of Kandahar Province said that if a government soldier dies, then government forces accuse the locals of cooperating with or helping the Taliban – and take revenge accordingly. Likewise, if someone from the Taliban side dies, they search the village for an alleged spy to punish.

In contested areas, Taliban forces often plant IEDs[1] on main roads to block the ANSF or IMF; they may inform locals about which roads to avoid – but the locals need use of these roads too, and this is yet another reason for displacement. In northwestern Kandahar Province, roads to the centre have been blocked since mid 2013. Not only has this prevented the delivery of food and other supplies but it has also forced people to flee as they cannot transport their harvest out or travel on the road safely to hospital, for example. In this case, as in others, local people know that the government will not give up the district to the armed groups, and therefore many anticipate that the situation will become a lot worse in the future as neither the armed groups nor the Afghan government are likely to back down.

People want to live in safety, where they can work irrespective of who is in control. There is a strong possibility that many areas which are currently under government control but have been taken from armed groups in the past will see a flare-up of intense fighting as armed groups try to leverage influence in these areas to retake the territory from the government. What does this mean for IDPs? Those who have been thinking of returning will wait until later in 2014 to see what happens. If security improves, there will be IDPs returning to their place of origin. If security does not improve, or deteriorates, not only will those IDPs not return but there will be new displacement.

In central Helmand, for example, when the military surge took place, many IDPs returned to their villages, both because of improved security and because of job opportunities with the international military forces. With the prospect of renewed fighting in these areas, many of the residents who took up these jobs are likely to become part of a new wave of IDPs in next two years. Thousands of people from Marja district alone were hired by various USAID and other donor-funded projects in Helmand province. These residents are consequently viewed with suspicion by the armed groups and may be penalised by them in various ways. Around 1,500 local men were engaged to become part of the anti-insurgent militia groups in Marja; later, when the International Military Force wanted to integrate these militia men into the Afghan Local Police scheme, the Ministry of Interior could only commit to a total of 450 police and those men who were not incorporated into the Afghan Local Police now find themselves potentially exposed to reprisal by the armed groups.

Areas under the control of armed groups are particularly susceptible to generating displacement, especially where the government is determined to regain control or conduct operations from time to time. Given the dangers that abound during military operations, many local residents were displaced during the surge, and similar dynamics are expected in the next two years in areas in southern Afghanistan which are held by armed insurgents or where armed groups are influential.

There are clear indications that the number of IDPs is likely to increase over the next two years as the Afghan government strengthens its position in most areas by putting in more forces, whereas the Taliban is likely to take advantage of the IMF departure. Since conflict areas are mostly rural areas, most of the IDPs will be from rural areas – unused to city life and unable to earn a living if not by farming. It is important to have a system to register new IDPs in order to ensure that vulnerable IDPs receive assistance quickly to help them survive.

 

Rahmatullah Amiri amiri.rahmat@gmail.com is a social and political researcher and freelance journalist based in Kabul.

 

[1] Improvised explosive devices

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview