حماية ذوي الإعاقة في أفغانستان

على صنَّاع القرار عند النظر في ادعاءات اللجوء أنَّ يتعاملوا على وجه الخصوص مع شواغل طالبي اللجوء من ذوي الإعاقة من أفغانستان ومستقبلاتهم في حالة أُعيدوا إلى بلادهم.

في عام 2013، أعيد أحد طالبي اللجوء من ذوي الإعاقة الشديدة إلى أفغانستان من المملكة المتحدة. وكان ادعى من قبل أنَّ أفغانستان لا تقدم الرعاية الاجتماعية الكافية للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة إلى درجة ترقى للمعاملة اللاإنسانية والمحطة بالكرامة وفقاً للمادة (3) من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان. ومع ذلك، نظراً لوجود خطة عمل وطنية للإعاقة في أفغانستان[1] وبما أنَّ طالب اللجوء المذكور له بعض من أفراد أسرته في أفغانستان، حكمت المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان برد الادعاء المبني على خطر التعرض للمعاملة اللاإنسانية والمحطة بالكرامة. [2]

وفي قضية أخرى حدثت مؤخراً (سيلفيا نيوستي وبيتر تاكاش وتاماس فازيكاس ضد هنغاريا[3]) كان المشتكون يعانون من قصور وظيفي شديد في الرؤية، فلم يكن بمقدورهم استخدام الصراف الآلي في مصارفهم في أفغانستان دون الحصول على المساعدة من الغير، وعلى ضوء ذلك قررت لجنة حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة أنَّ منع ذوي الإعاقة البصرية من الوصول إلى خدمات الصراف الآلي ترقى إلى إخفاق الدولة في امتثالها لالتزاماتها بموجب المادة 9 من اتفاقية الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. وأوصت اللجنة أن تُنشئ أفغانستان إطاراً تشريعياً ذي معايير مرجعية راسخة وقابلة للإنفاذ ومحددة زمنياً لتقييم ورصد التعديل والتكييف التدريجي الذي تدخله المؤسسات المالية الخاصة على الخدمات المصرفية التي تقدمها والتي لم يكن الوصول إليها متاحاً في السابق لتحويلها إلى خدمات يمكن الوصول إليها.

وفي عام 2005، أجرت منظمة الإعاقة الدولية مسحاً في أفغانستان تبين فيه أنَّ أسرة من بين خمس أسر في أفغانستان كانت تضم شخصاً من ذوي الإعاقة. فسنوات النزاع والاستخدام العشوائي للألغام[4] وضعف البنية التحتية ولدت أعداداً كبيرة من الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة الذين يعانون للوصول إلى الخدمات الصحية وإعادة التأهيل والتعليم والتوظيف. وفي مثل هذا السياق، على صنَّاع القرار عند النظر في ادعاءات اللجوء أنَّ يتعاملوا على وجه الخصوص مع شواغل طالبي اللجوء من ذوي الإعاقة من أفغانستان ومستقبلاتهم في حالة أُعيدوا إلى بلادهم. وكما تلاحظ اللجنة، حتى لو كان بمقدور الدولة توفير وصول ذوي الإعاقة للخدمات تدريجياً، فعلى الدولة العضو في الاتفاقية أن تحدد أطراً ثابتة زمنية للتنفيذ وبذل الموارد الكافية لإزالة العوائق الحالية. وبما أنَّ الواقع في أفغانستان لا يرقى إلى المستوى المطلوب، فيجب أن يُنظر لادعاءات المعاملة اللاإنسانية والمحطة بالكرامة على أنها ادعاءات مقنعة.

أندرياس ديموبولوس Andreas.Dimopoulos@brunel.ac.uk محاضر في القانون في جامعة برونيل، المملكة المتحدة، www.brunel.ac.uk/law

 


[2]  س ه.ه. ضد المملكة المتحدة

http://tinyurl.com/SHHvUK

[4]  تعد أفغانستان واحدة من أكثر دول العالم الملوثة بالألغام.

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Protection for disabled persons in Afghanistan

Decision-makers on asylum claims need to specifically address the concerns of disabled asylum seekers from Afghanistan and their prospects if returned.

In 2013, a severely disabled Afghan asylum seeker was returned to Afghanistan from the UK. He had claimed that the lack of adequate social care in Afghanistan for persons with disabilities would be severe enough to constitute inhuman or degrading treatment under Article 3 of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR). However, as Afghanistan has a National Disability Action Plan[1] and the applicant has some family in Afghanistan, the Court of the ECHR was not satisfied that a claim of risk of inhuman or degrading treatment could be raised.[2]

In another recent case – Szilvia Nyusti, Péter Takács and Tamás Fazekas v Hungary[3] – the applicants had severe visual impairments. They were unable to use the ATMs of their bank in Afghanistan without assistance and the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities held that lack of accessibility for persons with visual impairments to the bank’s ATMs amounted to a failure of the state to comply with its obligations under Article 9 of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. The Committee recommended that Afghanistan create a legislative framework with concrete, enforceable and time-bound benchmarks for monitoring and assessing the gradual modification and adjustment by private financial institutions of previously inaccessible banking services.

A survey conducted by Handicap International in 2005 in Afghanistan indicated that one in five households in Afghanistan included a person with a disability. Years of conflict – including the indiscriminate use of mines[4] – and an inadequate infrastructure have generated high numbers of people with disabilities who struggle to access health care, rehabilitation services, education and employment. In such a context, decision-makers on asylum claims need to specifically address the concerns of disabled asylum seekers from Afghanistan and their prospects if returned. As the Committee notes, even though accessibility can only be implemented gradually, states parties should set definite, fixed time-frames for implementation and allocate adequate resources for the removal of existing barriers. To the extent that this is not happening in Afghanistan, claims of inhuman or degrading treatment may still be convincingly put forward.

 

Andreas Dimopoulos Andreas.Dimopoulos@brunel.ac.uk is a Lecturer in Law at Brunel University, UK. www.brunel.ac.uk/law

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview