العودة من إيران

يعد فهم العوامل التي لها أثر على اتخاذ اللاجئين لقراراتهم حول العودة وقدرة الأشخاص على إعادة الاندماج فور عودتهم من الأمور الحاسمة في التخطيط لبرامج ما قبل العودة وما بعدها المناسبة للاجئين الأفغان في إيران.

مع أنَّ العوامل الرئيسية التي تعيق العودة والتي تتمثل بالأمن والفرص الاقتصادية والحصول على الإسكان والخدمات الرئيسية مفهومة جيداً، ما زال هناك ثغرات معرفية لا يستهان بها فيما يخص كثيراً من الجوانب الاجتماعية والشخصية لمرحلتي العودة وإعادة الاندماج ضمن حلقة التهجير المتعلقة باللاجئين الأفغان. وإذا ما تحسن مستوى الفهم في هذا المجال فسوف يكون ذلك مفيداً في إثراء الخيارات الخاصة بعمل البرامج العابرة للحدود وذلك تمهيداً لتحسين رفد اللاجئين الأفغان الذين ربما قضوا عدداً كبيراً من السنوات في المنفى بالمهارات والمعارف الضرورية لإنجاح عمليتي العودة وإعادة الاندماج.

ويقدم بحث أجري في أواخر عام 2013 للمجلس النرويجي للاجئين مؤشرات واضحة بأنًّ كثيراً من العائدين الجدد من إيران يجدون أنَّ التحديات الماثلة أمام إعادة اندماجهم في أفغانستان تتضاعف بظرفين أساسيين ما قبل العودة هما: 1) ضعف الروابط الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي كانوا يتمتعون بها سابقاً في موطنهم و2) عدم القدرة على اتخاذ القرارات المدروسة إلى درجة معقولة حول خيار العودة.[i]

ظهور عوامل الدفع السلبية

غالباً ما يُنظر إلى شبكات القرابة والصداقة والتجارة العابرة للحدود على أنها من الروابط الأساسية التي تربط بين السكان الأفغان في إيران وفي أفغانستان[ii]، لكنَّ مقابلاتنا التي أجريناها في المناطق التي شهدت عودة كبيرة في كل من إقليمي بالخ وساري بول تشير إلى أنَّ وظيفة تلك الشبكات وقوتها تضاءلت منذ آخر موجة كبيرة للعودة لأفغانستان في منتصف العقد الأول من الألفية الجديدة، ومن الواضح تضاؤل عدد الأسر الأفغانية في إيران التي تمتلك أصولاً في أفغانستان أو القادرة على إرسال الحوالات المالية إلى أفغانستان وذلك بسبب تدهور الريال الإيراني تدهوراً كبيراً مقابل الدولار الأمريكي نتيجة التضخم الكبير والانحسار الاقتصادي في إيران.

وتتسم حياة اللاجئين في إيران بالتعقيد ويواجه اللاجئ هناك بيروقراطية صارمة وغالباً ما يواجه تغيرات كبيرة في التعليمات ومثال ذلك إنشاء مناطق الحظر منذ عام 2008 في إيران وهي المواقع التي أصبحت حدوداً لا يمكن للاجئين تخطيها بذريعة الحفاظ على الأمن الوطني والمصلحة العامة أو الصحة، وذلك ما يصعِّب على اللاجئين الحصول على الوظيفة والاستبقاء عليها وإدامة أواصر العلاقات الاجتماعية وإرسال الأطفال إلى المدارس وتحمل تكاليف الإسكان. وتتضاعف تلك الضغوط بتذبذب القوة الشرائية لشراء الغذاء وغيرها من ضرورات الحياة وبذلك تجبر هذه الضغوط معظم أسر العائدين على أن يستبدلوا بخياراتهم المخطط لها بالعودة قراراً مفاجئاً يتولد عن الإحباط والتعب النفسي.

وبمجرد عودة اللاَّجئين إلى أفغانستان، يتضح لهم بعد غياب دام ما بين سبعة إلى ثلاثين عاماً أنَّهم قد أصبحوا مقصَّون من العلاقات القرابية والتجارية والرعائية التي نشأت في أفغانستان في العقد المنصرم. ومثال ذلك أن العائدين يذكرون عدم قدرتهم على الحصول على الوظائف من خلال شبكات القرابة والأصدقاء لأنهم لم يعودوا ينتموا إلى شبكات الرعاية التي لها القدرة على الوصول إلى الموارد. ولا يقتصر الأمر على جعل حياتهم الاقتصادية أمراً صعباً بل يتكشّف ذلك جلياً على علامات وجود أزمة في الهوية بين العائدين. فقد كانوا يعيشون حياة الأغراب ويعانون من أجل تثبيت جذورهم في المجتمع الإيراني وهم الآن غرباء في بلادهم ويعانون من أجل إنعاش علاقاتهم الاجتماعية الهشة التي لا يمكنها أن تقدم لهم أي فوائد مادية أو حمائية.

قرارات مدروسة أم حساب للمخاطر؟

مع أنَّ الحياة في إيران تمثل صعوبة كبيرة للاجئين الأفغان وتتسم بشيوع التمييز والمضايقة في حياتهم اليومية يبدو أنَّهم ينظرون إليها على أنها يمكن إدارتها. فهناك أمن ومن السهل الحصول على العمل نسبياً وهناك خيارات من أجل الحصول على الرعاية الصحية والتعليم. وفي المقابل، يبدو أنَّ الحياة في أفغانستان تتسم بعدم القدرة على الإدارة فهي غير آمنة ولا يوجد فيها فرص اقتصادية. أما بالنسبة لحاجات السكن الأساسية فهي أبعد من أن تلبى وعلى اللاجئين أن يعيدوا تأسيس عراهم الاجتماعية والقرابية وتعزيزها ومن ثم الاندماج في شبكات الرعاية للحصول على الوظائف وعليهم أن يعودوا ليتعلموا الطريقة الأفغانية في عمل الأشياء ضمن بنية تحتية مدمرة وفي ظل حكومة ضعيفة.

والمثير في الأمر أنَّ الحياة المادية في حين أنه يمكن إدارتها في إيران فعلى ما يبدوا أنها من الناحية النفسية تؤثر على قدرة اللاجئين وتشلهم في اتخاذ قراراتهم. فعلى اللاجئين أن يتعلموا كيفية استكشاف طرق حياتهم في مجتمع مليء بالبيروقراطية لكنه يتمتع بالبنية التحتية ويقدم الخدمات الاجتماعية وكلها موجهة نحو إعادتهم إلى بلادهم التي جاؤوا منها. وفي حين أنَّ الحياة المادية تزداد صعوبة في أفغانستان، يبدوا أنَّ العائدين يضعون جل اهتمامهم على العرى القرابية والاجتماعية وقد يجدون تعزية في حقيقة أنَّ الحكومة الأفغانية لا تميز بينهم في العجز على أداء الخدمات والفساد على حد سواء.

وإزاء هذا الواقع، لا يبدو على جميع اللاجئين أنهم قادرون على اتخاذ قرارات مدروسة ومخطط لها بشأن العودة، وهناك أدلة من البيانات التي حصلنا عليها من مقابلاتنا تفيد أنَّ قصة العودة غالباً ما تكون خليطاً مساء فهمه من القسر والوقائع الدافعة والأمل والتعب. وتشير تحليلاتنا إلى ما يلي:

  • في حين يعيش اللاجئون في إيران، سواء أكانوا يتمتعون ببطاقات الإقامة المؤقتة أم لا، في عوالم مختلفة (بصورة شرعية أو بصورة غير شرعية مع كل الاختلافات في نقاط الاستضعاف والفرص التي ينطوي عليها ذلك) فإنَّ عودتهم لا تقل إجهاداً. فالاستعدادات للعودة في حدها الأدنى ويشيع في قصص الأشخاص الذين خضعوا للمقابلة حديثهم عن انعدام الأمن وتحديات سبل العيش إذا ما عادوا إلى بلادهم.
  • في حين يبدو أنَّ العودة فيها راحة من الوجود المتعب والمحط بالكرامة الإنسانية كلاجئ في بلد يجدون فيه أنفسهم تحت رحمة حكومة مصممة على إرسالهم إلى ديارهم، يتوق العائدون إلى الأمن والعمل الذي كانوا يتمتعون بهما في ايران.
  • هناك ارتباط وثيق بين الحالة العقلية للاجئين الأفغان في إيران وقدرتهم على صناعة القرارات حول العودة إلى أفغانستان . فالحالة العقلية تتأثر بأزمة الهوية أما القدرة على اتخاذ القرار فأقرب ما تكون إلى حالة الشلل في صنع القرارات بسبب الصعوبة الكبيرة لتلك المهمة.

 

ومع أنَّ النتائج الأولية لهذه الدراسة لا يمكن لها سوى أن تقدم بعض الإشارات، فهي تشير إلى ضرورة إعادة دراسة فعالية الروابط العابرة للحدود، فالحوالات المالية وحركة الانتقال بين الحدود وشبكات القرابة والصداقة والتجارة ومدارك اللاجئين حول الحياة المستقبلية في وطنهم كلها تستحق استقصاءً أكبر. وإذا فهمنا سبب عدم استبقاء معظم العائدين على الروابط الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المفيدة في بلادهم وإذا ما عالجنا المقاربات البرنامجية العابرة للحدود لتعزيز تلك العلاقات فربما نمكِّن اللاجئين الأفغان من اتخاذ القرارات المدروسة والمعقولة إزاء العودة وتحسين منظوراتهم المستقبلية لإعادة الاندماج المستدام.

 

أرماندو غيليرarmando@scensei.ch وماسيج م لاتيك maciej@scensei.ch مؤسسان مشاركان لمؤسسة www.scensei.ch

 


[i]

تضمن البحث جميع البيانات من العائدين الجدد إلى مقاطعتي بالخ وساريبول في أفغانستان، وبناء السمات السكانية والاقتصادية وسمات الضعف للأفغان في إيران وتحديداً في مقاطعة كيرمان التي تستضيف العدد الأكبر من اللاجئين الأفغان وذلك من خلال خليط مبدع من أساليب صهر البيانات والمحاكاة الاجتماعية.

[ii]

راجع على سبيل المثال مونسوتي أ (2008) "استراتيجيات المهاجرين الأفغان وثلاثة حلول لمشكلة اللاَّجئين"

Monsutti A (2008) ‘Afghan Migratory Strategies and the Three Solutions to the Refugee Problem’,Refugee Survey  http://rsq.oxfordjournals.org/content/27/1/58.full.pdf+html Quarterly,Vol27, No 1.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Returning from Iran

Understanding the factors that have an impact on refugee decision making about return and people’s ability to reintegrate following return is critical in planning appropriate pre- and post-return programmes for Afghan refugees in Iran.

While the key factors impeding return are well understood (security, economic opportunities and access to housing and basic services), there remain significant knowledge gaps relating to many social and personal aspects of the return and reintegration stages of the displacement cycle for Afghan refugees. Improved understanding in this area could inform cross-border programming options in order to better equip Afghan refugees – who may have spent many years in exile – with the necessary skills and knowledge for successful return and reintegration.

Research in late 2013 for the Norwegian Refugee Council provides clear indications that many recent returnees from Iran find that the challenges to their reintegration in Afghanistan are compounded by two key pre-return circumstances: 1) the weak social and economic ties they retained to their watan (home country) and 2) the inability to make reasonably well-informed decisions about return.[1]

The emergence of negative push factors

Cross-border kinship, friendship and business networks are often thought of as primary linkages between Afghan populations in Iran and Afghanistan.[2] Our interviews in the high-return areas of Balkh and Sar-e Pol suggest, however, that the function and power of these networks have waned since the last major wave of returns to Afghanistan in the mid 2000s. Fewer Afghan households in Iran appear to have assets in Afghanistan, or can afford to send remittances to Afghanistan, because of steep devaluation of the Iranian rial against the US dollar as a result of hyperinflation and recession in Iran.

Refugee life in Iran is complex, with an ever more stringent bureaucracy and frequently changing regulations. For example, the creation since 2008 of No-Go Areas (NGAs) in Iran – locations that suddenly become off limits to refugees on grounds of national security, public interest or health – make it more difficult to retain a job, maintain social ties, send children to school and afford housing. Compounded by dwindling purchasing power for food and other necessities, these pressures compel most returnee households to replace a planned choice to return with a sudden decision born out of frustration and psychological weariness.

Once they are back in Afghanistan, returnees realise that, after being away for anything from seven to thirty years, they have been largely excluded from the kinship, business and patronage relations that have emerged in Afghanistan in the past decade. For example, returnees report that they cannot secure jobs through kin or friends, because they do not belong to a patronage network with access to resources. Not only does this make their new lives economically untenable but it also triggers many signs of identity crisis among returnees. They used to be foreigners struggling to establish roots in Iranian society; now they are strangers in their own country, struggling to revive frail social relations that neither pay material dividends nor offer protection.

Informed decisions or calculated risk?

Despite life in Iran being difficult, with discrimination and harassment common features of daily life, Afghan refugees seem to view it as ‘manageable’. There is security, work is relatively easy to find, and there are options to access health care and education. By contrast, life in Afghanistan seems to be characterised by an inability to manage. Life in Afghanistan is insecure and economically untenable; basic household needs remain unmet. Refugees need to re-establish and strengthen kinship and social ties; integrate into patronage networks to find jobs; and re-learn the Afghan way of doing things with a dilapidated infrastructure and a weak government.

Paradoxically, while material life is ‘manageable’ in Iran, psychologically it seems taxing to the point of paralysing refugees’ ability to make important decisions. Refugees have to learn how to navigate a society with a functioning bureaucracy, infrastructure and social services, all geared towards repatriating them to their homeland. And while material life is exceedingly difficult in Afghanistan, returnees seem to place a premium on kinship and social ties and may find solace in the fact that the Afghan government does not discriminate in its ineptitude and corruption.

Against this background most refugees do not seem to be able to make a deliberate, planned decision about return. There is evidence from our interview data that the story of returning is often an ill-understood mix of coercion, a motivating event, hope and exhaustion. Our analysis suggests:

  • While refugees in Iran with and without Amayesh cards (granting residency rights) live in different worlds (i.e. legally versus illegally, with all the differences in vulnerability and opportunities that that entails), their returns are equally arduous. Return preparations are minimal, and mentions of post-return insecurity and livelihood challenges are prevalent in return narratives.
  • While returning appears to be a relief from a tiring and degrading existence as a refugee in a country where they are at the mercy of a government determined to send them back home, returnees yearn for the security and work they enjoyed in Iran.
  • Afghan refugees’ mental state in Iran and their decision making around return to Afghanistan are intricately bound up with each other. The former bears the signs of an identity crisis while the latter comes close to decision paralysis due to the sheer difficulty of the task.

 

While only indicative, preliminary research findings suggest that the functioning of cross-border linkages should be re-examined. Remittances, cross-border traffic, kinship, friendship and business networks and refugees’ perceptions of future life in the watan all merit further investigation. Understanding why most returnees do not seem to have retained useful social and economic ties to their homeland and addressing cross-border programming approaches to strengthen these ties could enable Afghan refugees both to make reasonably well-informed decisions about return and to improve their prospects of sustainable reintegration.

 

Armando Geller armando@scensei.ch and Maciej M Latek maciej@scensei.ch are co-founders of Scensei. www.scensei.ch

 

[1] Research involved collecting data from recent returnees to Balkh and Sar-e Pol provinces in Afghanistan, and building demographic, economic and vulnerability profiles of the Afghan population in the high refugee-hosting province of Kerman in Iran, through an innovative mix of data fusion techniques and social simulation.

[2] See for example Monsutti A (2008) ‘Afghan Migratory Strategies and the Three Solutions to the Refugee Problem’, Refugee Survey Quarterly, Vol 27, No 1. http://rsq.oxfordjournals.org/content/27/1/58.full.pdf+html

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview