النزوح والعنف ضد النساء في أفغانستان

يبدوا أنَّ سوء الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وفقدان آليات الدعم العوامل الرئيسية في زيادة استضعاف النساء النازحات وتعرضهن للعنف.

العنف ضد النساء ظاهرة متأصلة في أفغانستان تتجلى بعدة أشكال، منها الزواج المبكر والزواج القسري وتصل الى العنف الأسري وما يسمى بجرائم الشرف والاغتصاب ونزع الممتلكات. ومع أنَّ الحصول على بيانات موثوق بها حول العنف الممارس ضد النساء ما زال صعباً في بلد مثل أفغانستان، تشير النتائج التي توصلت إليها دراسة حماية النازحين في عام 2012 [i]إلى دعم فكرة زيادة النزوح لاستضعاف النساء النازحات وتعرضهن للعنف وأنَّ هناك عدة عوامل تربط بين العنف ضد النساء والنزوح ومنها عاملان شديدا الحدة هما:

أولاً تدهور الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في الأسر النازحة وزيادة مخاطر العنف ضد النساء. ومن الأمثلة المثيرة في هذا المجال استهداف القاصرات النازحات من قبل الغرباء على مجتمع النازحين وذلك لاعتقاد هؤلاء الناس أنَّ الزواج بتلك الفتيات غير مكلف الثمن. وأظهرت الدراسة المسحية أنَّ 26.9% من أسر النازحين فيها على الأقل طفلة واحدة أُجبرت على الزواج وهذا الواقع قائم على وجه الخصوص في الأسر التي تقودها إناث وهي أسر تمثل نسبة عالية من سكان النازحين، وهناك من أسر النازحين من يعتمد على مهر العروس كاستراتيجية لكسب الرزق:

"نحن نفعل ذلك بسبب الجوع ولأجل أطفالنا، لم نكن نحتاج ذلك في جوريان بالقدر الذي نحتاج إليه هنا، لقد تخليت عنها لأنه لم يكن لديَّ حل آخر، لقد وجدنا زوجها، جاؤوا لأنهم عرفوا أنَّنا لاجئون وعرفوا أنَّ بناتنا رخيصات الثمن" (نازحة عمرها 35 عاماً من إقليم هيرات).

وقد يؤدي انتزاع الأشخاص من بيئة مألوفة ومعروفة لهم أو زيادة الاكتظاظ أو الضغوط على رب الأسرة من ناحية جلب الدخل للأسرة إلى إيجاد بيئة غير مستقرة يرجح فيها العنف الأسري أكثر من غيرها. وعلى وجه الخصوص، قد ينشأ العنف الأسري من عملية المواءمة الصعبة التي يخوضها النازحون عندما ينتقلون من مكان ريفي إلى المدينة ولا يكون التفاوض على الأدوار الاجتماعية الذي يصاحب التهجير دائماً مفضلاً لدى النساء اللواتي قد يفقدن الحماية النسبية وحرية الحركة التي كانت لديهن في قراهم فور وصولهن إلى المدينة.

وثانياً، غالباً ما تفقد النساء آليات الدعم والحماية التقليدية عندما ينتقلن إلى مكان جديد غير مألوف لهن وعندما يواجهن ظروفاً خطرة مثل الزواج القسري أو العنف الأسري فلن يستطعن بسهولة التمتع بآليات الحماية الخارجية، مثل: الشرطة والنظام القضائي، دون مواجهة خطر النفي أو أسوأ من ذلك التعرض للعنف على يد أفراد أسرتها. وشكلت 19.3% من النساء الخاضعات لهذه الدراسة من الأرامل مقارنة بـ 3.6% على المستوى الوطني[ii]، وذلك يعني أنه في الأوضاع الخطرة، مثل: التفاوض على الزواج أو محاولة الانفصال، غالباً ما لا تحصل المرأة النازحة على دعم أقربائها الذكور ما يجعلهن أكثر عرضة لنتائج العنف.

ومن خلال هذه النتائج يتبين ضرورة إجراء تقصٍ وتحقيق أكبر في أثر النزوح على العنف ضد المرأة للمساعدة في تغذية الاستجابات والتدخلات المستهدَفة من جهة، ولتجسير الفجوة المعرفية التي تحيط بهذا الموضوع من جهة أخرى. ومع فتح سياسة النازحين الوطنية الأفغانية الطريق أمام مزيد من حماية النازحين يجب عليها أيضا أن توفر إطاراً عاماً لتعزيز الحماية للنساء النازحات ضد العنف.

 

كاميل هينيونcamille.hennion@samuelhall.org مديرة المشاريع في مؤسسة صمويل هول للاستشارات.www.samuelhall.org

 

[i] صمويل هول، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين-مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي-الإدارة المشتركة لتنميط النازحين، تحديات حماية النازحين، دراسة بحثية حول حماية النازحين في أفغانستان.

(Challenges of IDP Protection) www.nrc.no/arch/_img/9665970.pdf

انظر أيضاً: مجيدي ن، وهينيون س (2014) "اللدونة في النزوح؟ بناء إمكانات الشابات النازحات الأفغانيات"، مجلة النزوح الداخلي

(Building the potential of Afghan displaced women’) http://samuelhall.org/REPORTS/Building%20the%20resilience%20of%20Afghan%20displaced%20women.pdf.

انظر أيضاً: "أفغانستان: النساء والسلام والأمن – مراجعة للتقارير الرئيسية (2010-2013): مراجعة للأدبيات المتعلقة بأهم النتائج من التقارير من عام 2010 خاصة على ضوء المرحلة الانتقالية الأمنية في أفغانستان"

(Afghanistan: Women, Peace, and Security – Review of Key Reports (2010-2013))

http://afgarchive.humanitarianresponse.info/sites/default/files/Afghanistan-%20Women%20Peace%20Security-Review%20of%20Key%20Reports%202010-13,%20TLO,%202013.pdf

[ii] بحسب التقييم الوطني الأحدث حول المخاطر الوطنية والضعف لحكومة أفغانستان. http://cso.gov.af/en/page/1726

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Displacement and violence against women in Afghanistan

Poor socio-economic conditions and loss of support mechanisms appear to be key factors in increasing the vulnerability of displaced women to violence.

Violence against women (VAW) is endemic in Afghanistan: from early and forced marriages to domestic violence, so-called honour killings, rape and dispossession. Although obtaining reliable data on violence against women remains difficult in the Afghan context, the findings of an IDP Protection Study in 2012[1] seem to support the idea that displacement increases the vulnerability of displaced women to VAW, and that amongst the dynamics that link violence against women and displacement, two are particularly acute:

Firstly, the degraded socio-economic conditions of households in displacement increase the risks of violence against women. One striking example was the fact that underage internally displaced girls were targeted by outsiders to the IDP community for cheap marriages. The survey showed that 26.9% of IDP households had at least one child who had been forced to marry, and this was particularly true among female-headed households (of which there is a higher proportion in the IDP population). Some IDP households rely on the bride price as a livelihood strategy:

“We do it out of hunger, for our children. In Ghoryian, it was not needed as often as it is needed here. I gave her away. I gave her away because I needed to. Her husband found us (…) They came because they knew refugees were here and they know our daughters are cheap.” (IDP woman, 35 years old, Herat province)

Uprooting from a familiar and normal environment, overcrowding or simply the pressure on the head of household to bring in an income may create an anxious environment where domestic violence is more likely. In particular, domestic violence may arise from the difficult adjustment process that IDPs have to go through when they move from a more rural location to the city. The negotiation of social roles that often accompanies displacement is not always favourable to women who, upon arrival in the city, may lose the relative protection and freedom of movement they had in their village.

Secondly, women often lose their traditional support and protection mechanisms when they relocate to a new and unfamiliar area. When faced with risky situations, such as forced marriage or domestic violence, women cannot easily access external protection mechanisms, such as the police or the justice system, without facing great risks of being ostracised – or worse – by their own family. 19.3% of IDP women surveyed in the study were widows, compared with 3.6% nationally,[2] which means that in risky situations, such as negotiating a marriage or attempting to break an engagement, IDP women often do not have the support of male relatives, making them more vulnerable to violent outcomes.

These findings call for further investigation into the impact of displacement on violence against women in order both to help inform targeted interventions and to bridge the knowledge gap that surrounds these issues. As Afghanistan’s National IDP Policy opens the way for greater protection of IDPs, it should also provide a framework for enhanced protection for IDP women against VAW.

 

Camille Hennion camille.hennion@samuelhall.org is Project Director at Samuel Hall Consulting. www.samuelhall.org

 

[1] Samuel Hall-NRC-IDMC-JIPS (2012) Challenges of IDP Protection. Research Study on the protection of internally displaced persons in Afghanistan. www.nrc.no/arch/_img/9665970.pdf  See also Majidi N and Hennion C (2014) ‘Resilience in Displacement? Building the potential of Afghan displaced women’, Journal of Internal Displacement. http://samuelhall.org/REPORTS/Building%20the%20resilience%20of%20Afghan%20displaced%20women.pdf. See also Afghanistan: Women, Peace, and Security – Review of Key Reports (2010-2013): literary review of key findings from reports since 2010, especially in light of the current security transition in Afghanistan. http://tinyurl.com/TLO-women-peace-security-2013

[2] According to the Afghan government’s latest National Risk and Vulnerability Assessment.  http://cso.gov.af/en/page/1726

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview