استمرار الخطر: عمليات الإخلاء القسري في المناطق الحضرية بأفغانستان

يمثل العدد الكبير للنازحين الأفغان تحدياً لقضية الحماية والتنمية الحضرية أمام الحكومة والمجتمع الدولي.

تسبب النزاع في نزوح قرابة 630000 أفغاني داخلياً وما زالت الدولة تكافح لإعادة إدماج ما يزيد على 5.7 مليون لاجئ سابق. ويعيش حالياً ما يناهز 30% من الأفغان في المناطق الحضرية، بينما يعيش غالبيتهم في مخيمات غير رسمية داخل المدن الكبيرة أو حولها.[1] ويدعم النمو الحضري السريع إعادة اللاجئين والنازحين داخلياً الذين فروا من النزاع والكوارث وجراء الهجرة الاقتصادية من الريف إلى ديارهم. وبما أن أفغانستان تنتظر مستقبلاً غير متوقع، سيظل بلوغ الحلول الدائمة لمشاكل النازحين داخلياً واللاجئين العائدين معتمداً على توفير المسكن المناسب وامتلاك ضمان الحيازة. فبغياب المسكن ميسور التكلفة، يشغل النازحون داخلياً والمستضعفون وأسر العائدين الأراضي العامة والخاصة دون إذن أو دون امتلاك سندات الأراضي الرسمية المسجلة. يضعهم هذا التصرف في ظروف معيشية دون المستوى ويعرضهم باستمرار لخطر الإخلاء القسري جراء سعي ملاك الأراضي أو السلطات الحكومية لإخلائهم بهدف بناء المنازل أو الطرق أو المكاتب.

وقد راجع مجلس اللاجئين النرويجي من خلال مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي التابع له 16 قضية من قضايا الإخلاء من المخيمات غير الرسمية القائمة في المدن وحولها حيث لمجلس اللاجئين النرويجي وجود ميداني هناك، وهذه المدن هي: كابول وهيرات وجلال آباد ومزار شريف، وميمنة وفرح [2].واشتملت القضايا (المسجلة بين نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2010 ويونيو/حزيران 2013) على قضايا نازحين داخلياً وأسر عائدين يحتلون أراضٍ خاصة أو عامة دون إذن أو بسندات امتلاك غير رسمية.

ثغرات الحماية ونقاط الضعف السياسية

قُّدر أن نحو 9600 أسرة (57400 فرد) في المجتمعات المحلية التي كانت عينة الدراسة قد تضررت بالكامل ومنهم 557 أسرة خضعت للإخلاء القسري. فقد كان كل من السكان الواصلين مؤخراً والموجودون فعلياً منذ مدة طويلة معرضين للخطر على حد سواء. ويوجد كثير من ثغرات الحماية في جميع مراحل الإخلاء، من بينها: إغفال حقوق التشاور أو المشاركة؛ عدم كفاية مهل الإنذار والإجراءات وشدة تفاوتها؛ عدم وجود سبل انتصاف قانونية فعالة وتعويضات سواء أكان من يُجرى إخلاءهم يحملون سندات ملكية قانونية لمنازلهم أم أي أشكال أخرى من مستندات الحيازة أم لا؛ قبل كل شيء، الإخفاق في طرح خيارات انتقال فعالة لمنع تعرضهم للنزوح وزيادة استضعافهم عقب تنفيذ الإخلاء.

على الرغم من وجود الضمانات الدستورية التي تكفل عدم التدخل غير الملائم في السكن والممتلكات تمثل القضايا ثغرات جسيمة في القانون الوطني. فأفغانستان دولة عضو موقعة على المعايير الدولية الملزمة لها بالإحجام عن إجراء الإخلاء القسري والمجرمة لهذه الممارسات. وبوصف أفغانستان من الدول المُصدقة على العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية،[3] على أفغانستان ضمان تمتع جميع الأفراد داخلها بالعناصر الأساسية - على الأقل - لحقوق الحصول على المسكن المناسب، مثل: "امتلاك أي شيء يكفل ضمان الحيازة الذي يؤمن بدوره الحماية القانونية ضد التعرض لخطر الإخلاء القسري". وأفغانستان أيضاً دولة عضو في العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية[4] ما يُلزمها باحترام حق الخصوصية وبضرورة تجنب التدخل غير المشروع أو التعسفي في الحياة الشخصية أو العائلية، بما في ذلك الاعتداء على المساكن بغض النظر عما إذا كانت الإقامة مشروعة أم لا. وتنص كل من اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة[5] واتفاقية حقوق الطفل[6] (وقعت أفغانستان على كلتا الاتفاقيتين) على التزامات مشابهة تتعلق بحقوق المرأة والطفل بوصفهما من أولى الفئات تضرراً بعمليات الإخلاء.

وتتطلب وتيرة التحضر وجود أنظمة جديدة لإدارة الأراضي ولا سيما فيما يتعلق بتنظيم المخيمات غير الرسمية التي تعزف السلطات عن الاعتراف بها. ويسوء هذا الوضع مع النازحين داخلياً الذين نادراً ما تمنحهم السلطات المحلية والبلدية حق اختيار المخيم. وقلما رغب النازحون في ترك البلدات والمدن التي يعيشون فيها حالياً، ومع ذلك فما زال صانعو السياسات يربطون الحلول الدائمة بالعودة إلى "الديار". وأول خيار انتقال يقابل النازحين داخلياً والعائدين الذين يتعرضون للإخلاء نظام توزيع الأراضي الذي وضعته الحكومة عام 2005 ولكن الباحثين وجدوا أن قلما كان الانتقال مستداماً في المواقع التابعة لنظام توزيع الأراضي جراء سوء اختيار هذه المواقع وعدم مناسبتها للعيش بها وارتفاع رسوم الإقامة بها نسبياً.

وترى الهيئات الحكومية الرئيسية والسلطات البلدية أن إيجاد الحلول للنازحين من المناطق الحضرية مسؤولية وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن وحدها. وقد أدى ذلك إلى سوء تنسيق الاستجابات لاحتياجات النازحين من المناطق الحضرية طويلة الأجل بين المؤسسات الحكومية. ومع هذا، ثمة إشارات ترحيبية بتغيير الاتجاهات الرسمية. ففي 2013، صاغت فرقة عمل مجموعة حماية الإسكان والأراضي والممتلكات في أفغانستان المبادئ التوجيهية لتخفيف الضرر والمعاناة في حالات الإخلاء القسري[7] وصارت السياسة الوطنية لمعالجة مشاكل النازحين داخلياً المميزة، التي صدق  عليها مجلس الوزراء الأفغاني في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2013، جزءاً من هذه المبادئ التوجيهية. فالسياسة الوطنية لمعالجة مشاكل النازحين داخلياً: تعترف بحق النازحين واللاجئين العائدين في امتلاك المسكن المناسب في المناطق الحضرية؛ تشتمل على أحكام دقيقة تتعلق بالإخلاء القسري وضمان الحيازة؛ تعترف بنمو المخيمات غير الرسمية؛ تعترف بحق النازحين بموجب الدستور الأفغاني في الإقامة في أي مكان بالدولة؛ تدرك مسؤولية السلطات الوطنية والمحلية والبلدية وسلطات الولايات في ضمان ألا يتعرض النازحون واللاجئون العائدون الذين يعيشون في المخيمات غير الرسمية والمناطق الأخرى للإخلاء القسري وألا يكونون مهددين به.

وينص مشروع سياسة الحكومة للارتقاء بالمخيمات غير الرسمية لعام 2013 أيضاً على شرط الحماية من الإخلاء القسري بما في ذلك وضع تشريعات جديدة تكفل هذا الأمر. إلا أن تسليم السياسة لمجلس الوزراء لن يتم قبل نهاية مارس/آذار 2014.

التوصيات

سواء في حالة السيطرة على الأراضي أم الممتلكات العامة أو الخاصة دون إذن، يجب ألا تكون عمليات الإخلاء القسري حتمية. وعلى حكومة أفغانستان، في ظل الدعم الدولي، أن:

  • تتخذ خطوات سريعة لتنفيذ السياسة الوطنية لمعالجة مشاكل النازحين داخلياً من خلال وضع خطط عملية وطنية ومحلية تستهدف إيجاد الحلول الدائمة لمشاكلهم وتحسين توفير الاحتياجات الخاصة بالنازحين داخلياً المتعلقة بالحصول على المسكن والأرض والممتلكات في المناطق الحضرية.
  • تسن قوانين وسياسات وخطط شاملة وفعالة ومتماسكة لمنع عمليات الإخلاء القسري للنازحين واللاجئين العائدين والفقراء الذين يعيشون في المناطق الحضرية وتجريمها: ويجب أن تفسر الشروط والإجراءات التي تحكم إخلاء المقيمين الذين يشغلون أراضٍ خاصة أو عامة في المناطق الحضرية هذه القوانين وأن تضمن مشروعيتها ومدى ضرورتها وتناسبها، ويجب أن يشتمل ذلك على حظر أي استخدام للقوة المفرطة أثناء عمليات الإخلاء بما في ذلك تدمير المنازل كنوع من أنواع الضغط. ويجب عدم إغفال خيارات الانتقال/إعادة الإسكان وآليات التعويض المناسبة (إضافة إلى السماح بالطعن بالقرارات).
  • تضع قاعدة مؤسسية للتشاور مع المجتمعات المتضررة ومشاركتها جنباً إلى جنب مع الهيئات الإنسانية والإنمائية: ويجب إعلام جميع الأفراد المتضررين بمن فيهم النساء وكبار السن بخطوات وإجراءات جميع مراحل الإخلاء. وإذا ما طعن الأفراد ضد إشعارات الإخلاء، يجب إيقاف إجراءات الإخلاء حتى الفصل رسمياً في نتيجة العطن.
  • تضع إجراءات تكفل توفير ضمان الحيازة القانونية للنازحين داخلياً والعائدين وغيرهم من غير الحاملين للوثائق القانونية التي تسمح لهم بامتلاك الأراضي والمنازل في المناطق الحضرية المستضعفين: يجب مراجعة المرسوم الرئاسي 104 لتلبية أفضل لاحتياجات المستفيدين منه من خلال التركيز على اختيار الموقع المناسب وتقليل رسوم الأراضي أو إلغائها ووضع معايير استحقاق أكثر شمولية للنازحين واللاجئين العائدين الذين يعيشون خارج مناطقهم الأصلية. وفي الوقت نفسه، يجب أن يصدر قرار رسمي بوقف عمليات الإخلاء القسري وبتوسيع برامج تطوير المخيمات غير الرسمية وتشريع إقامتها.
  • تتبنى بسرعة سياسة تطوير المخيمات غير الرسمية واتخاذ إجراءات فورية على طريق التنفيذ.

على الجهات الفاعلة والجهات المانحة الإنسانية والإنمائية:

  • تمويل تنفيذ السياسة الوطنية لمعالجة مشاكل النازحين داخلياً ودعمها، بما في ذلك الأنشطة التي تساعد النازحين على الوصول لفهم أعمق لاحتياجات النزوح الخاصة وتحسين الاستجابات.
  • ضمان تركيز إطار عمل الأمم المتحدة للمساعدة الإنمائية 2015-2019 على الحلول الدائمة المطروحة لمعالجة مشاكل النازحين داخلياً واللاجئين العائدين بما في ذلك إدراك حق الحصول على المسكن المناسب في المناطق الحضرية بمساعدة البرامج المجتمعية.
  • تنفيذ إطار الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بشأن إنهاء النزوح في أعقاب النزاع لعام 2011 الذي يعالج مشاكل النازحين داخلياً واللاجئين العائدين.
  • تشجيع المشاركة التعاونية للجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية والإنمائية في تنسيق آليات معالجة النزوح الداخلي سعياً لضمان وجود منهج شامل.
  • تحسين قدرة الجهات الفاعلة المعنية بقضايا الحماية في عمليات الرصد الوقائي والإبلاغ عن عمليات الإخلاء والانتقال في جميع أرجاء البلاد
  • ضمان استمرار تمويل أنشطة بناء القدرات وزيادة الوعي بشأن عمليات الإخلاء القسري والمعايير القانونية المطبقة (الدولية) لجميع أصحاب المصلحة.

 

كارولين هوارد caroline.howard@nrc.ch رئيسة مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي في الشرق الأوسط وأوروبا والقوقاز وآسيا www.internal-displacement.org وجيلينا مادزاريفيتس jelena.madzarevic@afg.nrc.no مستشار قضايا الإسكان والأراضي والممتلكات، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، أفغانستان www.nrc.no/afghanistan.

 

لمزيد من المعلومات وتفاصيل عن التوصيات، انظر المجلس النرويجي للاجئين/مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي (فبراير/شباط 2014)،  استمرار الخطر: مشاكل ضمان الحيازة وعمليات الإخلاء القسري للنازحين داخلياً واللاجئين العائدين في المناطق الحضرية بأفغانستان

www.nrc.no/arch/_img/9689800.pdf

 



[1]ميتكالف ف. وهايسم س. ومارتن إ. (2012)، المأوى في المدينة: النزوح الحضري والاستضعاف في كابول، فريق السياسات الإنسانية/معهد التنمية الخارجية، ص. 6. www.odi.org.uk/sites/odi.org.uk/files/odi-assets/publications-opinion-files/7722.pdf

[2]  انظر المجلس النرويجي للاجئين/مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي (فبراير/شباط 2014) الخطر ما زال قائماً: أمن حيازة الأراضي والإخلاء القسري للنازحين والعائدين الأفغان في أفغانستان الحضرية

(Still at risk: Security of tenure and the forced eviction of IDPs and refugee returnees in urban Afghanistan ) www.nrc.no/arch/_img/9689800.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Still at risk: forced evictions in urban Afghanistan

The large number of displaced Afghans represents both a protection and an urban development challenge for the government and international community.

Some 630,000 Afghans are internally displaced due to conflict and the country still struggles with the reintegration of over 5.7 million former refugees. Up to 30% of Afghans currently live in urban settings, the majority in informal settlements in or around the major cities.[1] Rapid urban growth has been fuelled by the repatriation of refugees, the arrival of IDPs fleeing conflict and disasters, and economic migration from rural areas. As Afghanistan faces an unpredictable future, achieving durable solutions for IDPs and refugee returnees remains contingent upon the provision of adequate housing, including security of tenure. Lacking affordable housing options, vulnerable urban IDP and returnee families occupy private and public land without permission or without officially recognised land deeds. This exposes them to sub-standard living conditions and constant risk of forced eviction as landowners or government authorities seek to remove them to build housing, roads or offices.

The Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC) with its Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC) has reviewed 16 eviction cases from informal settlements in and around the cities where NRC has an established field presence: Kabul, Herat, Jalalabad, Mazar-e-Sharif, Maimana and Farah.[2] The cases (recorded between November 2010 and June 2013) involve IDP and returnee families occupying public or private land without permission or with unrecognised customary deeds.

Protection gaps and policy shortcomings

Approximately 9,600 families (57,400 individuals) in the sampled communities were estimated to have been affected in total, including 557 families subjected to forced evictions. Both recently arrived and longer-term residents are at risk. There are numerous protection gaps at all stages of eviction, including: disregard for rights to consultation and participation; inadequate and widely varying notice periods and procedures; lack of effective legal remedies and compensation whether or not those evicted hold legal title to their homes or have other forms of tenure; and, above all, failure to put in place effective relocation options to prevent homelessness, and increased vulnerability after eviction.

Despite existing Constitutional guarantees against undue interference with home and property, the cases reveal serious gaps in national law. Afghanistan is party to binding international standards that require Afghanistan to refrain from, and to penalise, forced evictions. As a party to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights,[3] Afghanistan must ensure that all persons enjoy at least basic elements of the right to adequate housing, including “a degree of security of tenure which guarantees legal protection against forced eviction”. As a party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights,[4] the country is obliged to respect the right to privacy against unlawful or arbitrary interference with personal and family life, including home, irrespective of the (il)legality of the residence. The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women[5] and the Convention on the Rights of the Child[6] (Afghanistan is a signatory to both) provide similar obligations with regard to women and children as the primary eviction-affected categories.

The pace of urbanisation necessitates new land governance systems – particularly the regulation of informal settlements which the authorities have been reluctant to acknowledge. This situation is compounded for the IDPs whose right to choose their place of settlement is seldom recognised by provincial and municipal authorities. The displaced rarely wish to leave the towns and cities where they now live, and yet policymakers typically link long-term solutions to the return ‘home’. The primary relocation option presented to IDPs and returnees who face eviction is the government’s 2005 Land Allocation Scheme (LAS) but researchers found very limited evidence of sustainable relocation to LAS sites due to poor site selection, restrictive eligibility criteria and relatively high land fees.

Key government agencies as well as municipal authorities have seen solutions for the urban displaced as the responsibility of the Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation alone. Responses to the long-term needs of the urban displaced have therefore not been well coordinated across government. There are welcome signs, however, that official attitudes are shifting. In 2012, the Afghanistan Protection Cluster’s Housing, Land and Property Task Force drafted Guidelines for Mitigating Harm and Suffering in Situations of Forced Evictions,[7] and a landmark National Policy on Internal Displacement (IDP Policy), adopted by the Afghan Cabinet in November 2013, has since incorporated these Guidelines.

The IDP Policy recognises the right of IDPs and refugee returnees to adequate housing in urban areas; contains precise provisions related to forced evictions and security of tenure; recognises the growth of informal settlements; recognises IDPs’ right under the Afghan Constitution to settle in any part of the country; and acknowledges the responsibility of national, provincial, district and municipal authorities to ensure IDPs and refugee returnees in informal settlements and other areas are not subject to, or threatened with, forced evictions.

The government’s 2013 draft Policy on Upgrading of Informal Settlements also provides for protection from forced eviction, including the introduction of new legislation. However, submission of the policy to cabinet was still pending at the end of March 2014.

Recommendations

Where public or private land and property are occupied without permission, forced evictions are not inevitable. The Government of Afghanistan should, with international support:

 

  • take immediate steps to implement the IDP Policy, through developing national and provincial action plans on durable solutions and improved profiling of IDPs’ specific needs in relation to urban housing, land and property

 

  • introduce comprehensive, effective and coherent laws, policies and plans to prevent and penalise forced evictions of urban IDPs, refugee returnees and the broader urban poor: These would need to clarify the conditions and procedures under which evictions of settlers occupying public and private land in urban areas can be carried out and ensure the legality, necessity and proportionality of such evictions; this should include prohibiting the use of excessive force during evictions, including the destruction of housing as a form of pressure. Adequate relocation/rehousing options and compensation mechanisms (plus the possibility for appeal) are essential.

 

  • institutionalise genuine consultation and participation of affected communities, together with humanitarian and development agencies: All affected individuals, including women and the elderly, need to be kept informed throughout all eviction phases. Where people appeal against eviction notices, eviction should be suspended until the decision has been officially reviewed.

 

  • introduce measures to provide legal security of tenure to vulnerable urban IDPs, returnees and others with no legal access to land and housing: Presidential Decree 104 needs to be revised to better address beneficiaries’ needs, focusing on adequate site selection, reduction or exclusion of land fees, and broader eligibility criteria inclusive of IDPs and refugee returnees living outside their province of origin. In the meantime, there should be a moratorium on forced evictions and an expansion of programmes to upgrade and legalise informal settlements.

 

  • swiftly adopt the Policy on Upgrading of Informal Settlements and take immediate measures towards implementation.

 

International humanitarian and development actors and donors should:

 

  • fund and otherwise support implementation of the IDP Policy, including IDP profiling activities to deepen understanding of displacement-specific needs and improve responses

 

  • ensure the UN Development Assistance Framework 2015-2019 adequately focuses on durable solutions for IDPs and refugee returnees, including realisation of the right to adequate housing in urban areas through community-based programmes

 

  • implement the 2011 UN Secretary General’s Framework on Ending Displacement in the Aftermath of Conflict, equally addressing IDPs and refugee returnees

 

  • encourage the joint participation of both international development and humanitarian actors in coordination mechanisms addressing internal displacement in order to ensure a comprehensive approach

 

  • improve capacity of protection actors for preventative monitoring and reporting of evictions and relocations across the country

 

  • ensure consistent funding for capacity-building and awareness-raising activities on forced evictions and applicable (international) legal standards for all stakeholders.

 

 

Caroline Howard caroline.howard@nrc.ch is Head of Middle East, Europe, Caucasus and Asia Department, Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre www.internal-displacement.org and Jelena Madzarevic jelena.madzarevic@afg.nrc.no is Housing, Land and Property Advisor, Norwegian Refugee Council Afghanistan www.nrc.no/afghanistan.

 

[1] Metcalf V, Haysome S with Martin E (2012) Sanctuary in the City: Urban displacement and Vulnerability in Kabul, Humanitarian Policy Group/Overseas Development Institute, p6.
www.odi.org.uk/sites/odi.org.uk/files/odi-assets/publications-opinion-files/7722.pdf

[2] See NRC/IDMC (Feb 2014) Still at risk: Security of tenure and the forced eviction of IDPs and refugee returnees in urban Afghanistan www.nrc.no/arch/_img/9689800.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview