سياسات اللاجئين الوطنية الباكستانية

في إطار الاستعداد لعام 2014 وآثر "المرحلة الانتقالية" التي تمر بها أفغانستان، تسعى سياسة اللاجئين الوطنية الباكستانية الجديدة لمعالجة كل من الشكوك والحقائق التي تواجه اللاجئين الأفغان في باكستان.

لم يتضح بعد أثر انسحاب قوات حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو) من أفغانستان على نحو 1.6 مليون لاجئ أفغاني مسجل وقرابة مليون لاجئ أفغاني غير مسجل ممن ما زالوا يعيشون في باكستان. وطالما كان خيار العودة الطوعية الآمنة والكريمة الحل المفضل لدى حكومة باكستان، لكنَّ ضبابية توقعات مجرى الأحداث في عام 2014 وما بعده تثير شكوك اللاجئين بشأن فعالية برامج إعادتهم إلى ديارهم. وقد أضعفت عقود النزاع والاضطرابات السياسية من قدرة أفغانستان على استيعاب اللاجئين ولاسيما فيما يخص توفير سُبل العيش والخدمات الأساسية، مثل: التعليم والصحة والمياه والإصحاح التي ما زالت جميعها تحدياً يواجه البلاد.

وفي يوليو/تموز 2013، صدقت حكومة باكستان على سياسة وطنية جديدة بشأن اللاجئين الأفغان[i]، وقد صيغت هذه السياسة على نحو يتماشى مع استراتيجية الحلول الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان متعددة السنوات التي تركز على الإعادة الآمنة والكريمة إلى الديار وإعادة الإدماج المستدام داخل أفغانستان وتقديم المساعدة للمجتمعات المضيفة للاجئين.

الإعادة إلى الديار وإعادة الإدماج

تنظم الاتفاقية الثلاثية بين باكستان وأفغانستان ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين برامج الإعادة الطوعية والتدريجية للاجئين الأفغان من باكستان. وقد أعيد ما يزيد عن 3840000 لاجئ أفغاني طوعاً منذ مارس/آذار 2002 بموجب هذه الاتفاقية وحصل كل عائد على 200 دولار أمريكي من قبل مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين. وقد مُدِّدت الاتفاقية الثلاثية حتى 31 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2015.

ويظل خيار الإعادة الطوعية جوهر سياسة اللاجئين الوطنية الباكستانية الجديدة مما يعكس إحساس صانعي السياسات بالواقع وإدراكهم أن ضعف أوضاع القانون والنظام في أفغانستان وقلة فرص سُبل العيش عقبتان بارزتان أمام برامج الإعادة إلى الديار وإعادة الإدماج المستدام داخل أفغانستان. ولإعادة الأفغان إلى ديارهم وإعادة إدماجهم على نحو مستدام، يعد تطوير البيئة المواتية داخل أفغانستان أمر ضروري ولا غنى عنه. وعليه، على أفغانستان والمجتمع الدولي وضع تطوير 48 موقعاً من مواقع إعادة إدماج العائدين على رأس قائمة الأولويات، إلا أننا لا نرى على أرض الواقع أي خطوات إيجابية بهذا الصدد. وتركز السياسة الوطنية الباكستانية الجديدة على أهمية المشاركة الفعالة للمعلومات الخاصة بتطوير هذه المواقع مما سيساهم بدوره في مشاركة هذه المعلومات مع العائدين المحتملين.

المجتمعات المضيفة

يعيش أكثر من 70% من اللاجئين الأفغان المسجلين خارج المخيمات لعدة أسباب أهمها توقف تقديم المساعدات الغذائية في المخيمات. وقديماً، لم يكن ثمة اهتمام ملحوظ بالمجتمعات المضيفة للاجئين وكانت هذه المجتمعات تُترك دون تطوير بنيتها التحتية ومواردها المحدودة مع أن لهذه المجتمعات دوراً شديد الأهمية ما يتيح للاجئين استخدام بنيتها التحتية المحدودة. وسرعان ما تدرك المجتمعات المحلية ذات الموارد المحدودة مدى صعوبة الاستمرار في تقديم الدعم وهنا يصبح النزاع أمراً حتمياً. ولتخفيف حدة ذلك، صار تقديم المساعدات للمناطق المضيفة جزءاً أساسياً في سياسات اللاجئين الوطنية الباكستانية الجديدة؛ فقد خصص المجتمع الدولي ما يعادل نحو 610 مليون دولار أمريكي لباكستان بموجب استراتيجية الحلول الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان وحظت مبادرة تطوير المناطق المتضررة المضيفة للاجئين الجديدة على 490 مليون دولار أمريكي منها.

وتعد مبادرة التطوير هذه رائعة جداً وسيستفيد منها كل من المجتمعات المضيفة واللاجئين على حد سواء. وقد نُفذ أكثر من 1000 مشروع من المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة في قطاعات مختلفة، مثل: التعليم والصحة وسُبل العيش والبيئة والمياه والإصحاح، فضلاً عن أن ثمة مشاريع أكبر في طور التنفيذ حالياً.

التعليم والتدريب

من المهم إدراك أن غياب تقديم خدمات التعليم الجيد للاجئين سيقف عقبة على طريق تحقيق الحلول الدائمة لمشاكلهم وسيكون عائقاً أمام أهداف التنمية المستدامة وإعادة بناء كل من الدول الأصلية والمضيفة على حد سواء. فلا تنحصر أهمية التعليم عند اللاجئين الذين يرغبون في العودة إلى ديارهم والمشاركة في إعادة بناء دولتهم وحسب ولكنها تمتد إلى من يريدون أيضاً البقاء في الدولة المضيفة والمشاركة بإيجابية. فدون التعليم الذي يساعدهم في أن يصبحوا أفراداً أكثر إنتاجاً في المجتمع، ستستمر صورة اللاجئين كعبء على المجتمعات. والأهم من ذلك، ثمة ما يكفي من البيانات التجريبية التي تثبت زيادة احتمالية إعادة اللاجئين الذين يتمتعون بمهارات كسب سُبل العيش أكثر من أولئك الذين لا يمتلكون هذه المهارات.

ويقع أكثر من 51% من إجمالي اللاجئين الأفغان الذين يعيشون في باكستان تحت سن 18 عاماً (ومعظمهم ولد في باكستان). ودون الحصول على التعليم أو تدريب المهارات، سيصعب على هؤلاء اللاجئين الشباب العيش بكرامة في المجتمع المحلي المضيف. ولمعالجة هذه المشكلة، هناك مراكز تدريب تقنية جديدة قيد التأسيس في المناطق المضيفة للاجئين لخدمة المجتمع المضيف واللاجئين على حد سواء. ومن خلال المناطق المتضررة المضيفة للاجئين، تتولى حكومة باكستان تطوير البنية التحتية في المدارس الحكومية في التعليم الابتدائي لتستوعب كل من السكان المحليين واللاجئين معاً، وذلك بزيادة عدد القاعات الدراسية وتحسين آليات التدريس وتدريب المعلمين.

الخلاصة

سياسة اللاجئين الوطنية الباكستانية الجديدة وثيقة شاملة أعدت استناداً إلى الحقائق على أرض الواقع. فهي ليست قائمة بالآمال ولكنها تركيبة تجمع بين التدخلات العملية والمنطقية وقد صيغت لتحقيق الحلول الدائمة. ومع أن الأوضاع الأمنية والاقتصادية الحالية في باكستان لا تؤهلها لاستضافة ملايين اللاجئين اعتماداً على مواردها لوحدها، ما زالت باكستان تقف بجوار الأشقاء الأفغان وتدعمهم. ويجب أن يحظى اللاجئون الأفغان بالاهتمام الدولي أكثر من ذي قبل وأن تُمنح الجهود المبذولة لمعالجة مشاكل هذه الأزمة الإنسانية المُطوَّلة الأولوية القصوى عند التوصل لأي اتفاقية سياسية بشأن أفغانستان.

محمد عباس خان comisb@hotmail.com مفوض معني بشؤون اللاجئين الأفغان، في المفوضية الرئيسية المعنية باللاجئين الأفغان، إسلام أباد. www.safron.gov.pk



[i]برعاية الوزير الاتحادي للدول والمناطق الحدودية، الفريق عبد القادر البلوش.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Pakistan’s national refugee policy

In preparation for 2014 and the impact of ‘transition’ in Afghanistan, Pakistan’s new National Refugee Policy tries to address both the uncertainties and the realities facing Afghan refugees in Pakistan.

It is unclear what impact NATO withdrawal from Afghanistan will have on the 1.6 million registered and estimated 1 million unregistered Afghans still residing in Pakistan. The voluntary return in safety and dignity of all Afghans has always been the preferred solution for the Government of Pakistan but the lack of clarity about how events will unfold in 2014 and thereafter leaves refugees uncertain about repatriating. Decades of warfare and political turmoil have weakened Afghanistan’s absorption capacity, particularly in the livelihood sector, and access to basic services such as education, health, water and sanitation still remains a challenge.

In July 2013 the Government of Pakistan agreed a new National Policy on Afghan Refugees,[1] drafted in synergy with the multi-year Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees (SSAR), which focuses on voluntary repatriation in safety and dignity, sustainable reintegration inside Afghanistan, and assistance to refugee host communities.

Repatriation and reintegration

A Tri-Partite Agreement between Pakistan, Afghanistan and UNHCR guides and regulates voluntary and gradual repatriation of registered Afghan refugees from Pakistan. Over 3,840,000 Afghan refugees have voluntarily repatriated since March 2002 under this agreement, with each returnee now entitled to US$200 from UNHCR. The Tri-Partite Agreement has now been extended to 31st December 2015.

The voluntary nature of repatriation remains at the heart of Pakistan’s new National Refugee Policy, reflecting a sense of realism among policymakers and an awareness that Afghanistan’s poor law and order situation and shortage of livelihood opportunities remain two very significant hurdles to repatriation and sustainable reintegration inside Afghanistan. For Afghans to repatriate and reintegrate on a sustainable basis, the development of a conducive environment inside Afghanistan is imperative. The proposed development of 48 reintegration sites for returnees should therefore be given top priority by Afghanistan and the international community but so far very little progress on these has been made. Pakistan’s new national policy stresses the importance of effective information-sharing regarding the development status of these sites, in order that this information may be shared with potential returnees.

Host communities

More than 70% of registered Afghan refugees live outside camps, mostly as a result of discontinuation of food assistance in camps. In the past, very little attention was paid to the communities offering asylum space to refugees but these host communities play a very significant role, allowing the refugees to use their limited infrastructure and resources. However, communities with limited resources eventually find it difficult to maintain support, and friction between the two is inevitable. To mitigate this, assistance to hosting areas has been made an integral component of Pakistan’s new National Refugee Policy; out of a total of US$610 million pledged by the international community for Pakistan under SSAR, the new Refugees Affected Hosting Areas (RAHA) development initiative receives $490 million.

This is a wonderful development initiative, which will benefit host communities as well as the refugees. More than 1,000 small- to medium-sized projects in sectors including education, health, livelihoods, environment and water and sanitation have been implemented and a number of larger projects are currently being implemented.

Education and training

It is important to recognise that a lack of good education for refugees will stand in the way of achieving durable solutions and will be an obstacle to sustainable development and reconstruction of both home and host countries. Education is important not only for those refugees who wish to return home and participate in the rebuilding of their country but equally so for those who want to stay in their host country and contribute positively. Without the education that can help them become more productive members of society, refugees will continue to be viewed as a burden. More importantly, there is enough empirical data to suggest that refugees with livelihood skills are more likely to repatriate than those with no skills.

More than 51% of the total Afghan refugee population in Pakistan is under 18 years of age (with the majority born in Pakistan). Without education or skills training, these young refugees will find it hard to make a decent living in the host community. To address this concern, new technical training centres are being established in refugee-hosting districts to benefit both the host community and refugees. And through RAHA, the Government of Pakistan is developing an infrastructure of primary-level state schools which will accommodate both locals and refugees alike, with additional classrooms, better teaching tools and trained teachers.

Conclusion

Pakistan’s new National Refugee Policy is a comprehensive document, prepared with the realities on the ground in mind. It is not a wish list but a synthesis of practical and logical interventions designed for achieving durable solutions. Although Pakistan’s current security and economic situation puts her in a position wherein she can no longer host millions of refugees on her own, Pakistan continues to stand by her Afghan brothers and sisters. Afghan refugees need international attention more than ever before, and resolution of this protracted humanitarian crisis should be given top priority in any future political settlement regarding Afghanistan.

 

Muhammad Abbas Khan comisb@hotmail.com is Commissioner, Afghan Refugees, in the Chief Commissionerate for Afghan Refugees, Islamabad. www.safron.gov.pk

 

[1] Under the Federal Minister for States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON), Lt Gen® Abdul Qadir Baloch.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview