إرساء العودة: دور استراتيجية الحلول

يُعد توفير الحد الأدنى من مستوى المعيشة وفرص كسب الرزق بقصد تقديم المساعدة لتوطين العائدين أمراً حاسماً لاستقرار وأمن أفغانستان المستقبلي. وهو الهدف الأول ضمن الأهداف الرئيسية الثلاثة لاستراتيجية الحلول لعام 2012 للاجئين الأفغان.

يمثل اللاجئون الأفغان، منذ أمد بعيد، العدد الأكبر من اللاجئين في العالم وكذلك إحدى أكثر الحالات التي طال أمدها في العالم. وكانوا أيضاً عرضة لأكبر حملات الإعادة للوطن تمَّ تنفيذها أكثر من أي وقت مضى- ولا تزال مستمرة للآن. ولقد عاد أكثر من 5.8 مليون لاجئ إلى أفغانستان منذ عام 2002 منهون بذلك سنوات من المعيشة في المنفى؛ حيث أمضى 80% منهم أكثر من 20 عاماً في المنفى. وقد ساعدت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين نحو 4.7 مليون لاجئ في العودة من خلال برنامجها للعودة الطوعية إلى الوطن.

وفي حين سُجلت حالات عودة هائلة بين عامي 2002- 2008 (سجلت المفوضية ما مجموعه 4369086 حالة)، شهدت السنوات الثلاث الماضية انخفاضاً مُضطرداً في أرقام إجمالي العائدين حيث بلغ مجموع العائدين خلال السنوات الثلاث 201284 عائداً. ويعكس هذا التوجه الظروف المتغيرة مقارنة مع السنوات الأولى لإعادة اللاجئين الأفغان، حيث كان من الواضح أنَّ الحماس والتفاؤل بسقوط نظام طالبان هو ما قادهم للتغاضي عن عقبات وتحديات العودة إلى بلد دمرته 20 عاماً من الحرب. ولا يزال العديد من تلك العقبات موجوداً على أرض الواقع- وهي تحديداً الافتقار إلى القدرة على الحصول على سبل العيش والخدمات الأساسية في مناطق العودة، و انعدام الأمن في بعض أطراف أفغانستان- ولكن الحماس السابق للعودة تلاشى ليحل محله نهج أكثر واقعية، حيث تبنى العديد من اللاجئين منهجية "راقب وتابع". ومن الواضح أيضاً أنَّ للعديد من العائدين خلال السنوات الماضية صلات قوية مع بلدهم حيث نشأوا، في حين أنَّ الجيل الثالث من الأفغان الذين ولدوا في المنفى لا يمتكلون صلات ملموسة أقل مع بلدهم الأصلي ينظرون للموقف بنظرة أكثر واقعية وناقدة، وينتظرون إشارات راسخة لتحسن الوضع الأمني ​​والاستقرار الاقتصادي.

 ومن الجدير بالذكر أنَّ هناك أيضاً بعض الاتجاهات الإيجابية والمثيرة للإعجاب حقاً، وتشمل: نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي بنسبة 8.2%، وزيادة بمقدار سبعة أضعاف في عدد المدرسين، وإمكانية الحصول على الخدمات الصحية الأساسية لما مجموعه 85% من السكان، وانخفاض معدل وفيات الأمهات من 1400 إلى 327 لكل 100000 حالة ولادة. ومع ذلك، لا تزال أفغانستان الدولة الأكثر فقراً في دول المنطقة رغم هذه النتائج الإيجابية، ومليارات الدولارات المقدمة كمساعدات دولية.

ومنذ بداية برنامج العودة الطوعية في أفغانستان في عام 2002، قدمت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين المساعدة الأولية للعائدين بقصد مساعدنهم في تلبية احتياجاتهم الفورية للعيش وإعادة الإندماج، وشمل ذلك: تقديم المأوى، ونقاط المياه، والمشاريع المُدِّرة للدخل، والتدريب على المهارات، والتدريب لمحو الأمية، والحصول على المال مقابل العمل. ومع ذلك، لا يزال أولئك الذين أختاروا اللجوء إلى العودة يواجهون تحديات هائلة، مثل عدم توفير الأمن ضمن الأراضي التي يمتلكونها، وانعدام الخدمات الأساسية، والصراع الدائر، وانعدام الأمن. ويضاف إلى ذلك عدم توافر طرق آمنة، وعدم القدرة على الوصول إلى الأسواق، والحصول على أنظمة الري والحماية من الفيضانات والكوارث الطبيعية الأخرى. ويمثل توفير الحد الأدنى من مستوى المعيشة وفرص كسب العيش للمساعدة في توطين أولئك العائدون أمراً حاسماً بالنسبة لاستقرار وأمن البلاد. وفي الوقت نفسه، يجب إدارة أوضاع اللاجئين الأفغان في البلدان المجاورة بانتظار عودتهم وتعزيز الحلول البديلة. وهناك حاجة ماسة لتدخلات متكاملة للأمم المتحدة والسلطات الأفغانية لضمان توفير المساعدات الإنسانية والإنمائية الضرورية وعلى نحو تكاملي.

استراتيجية الحلول للاجئين الأفغان

بدأت حكومات دول أفغانستان وإيران وباكستان في عام 2011، آخذين بالاعتبار تلك الأهداف، وبدعم من مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بعملية المشاورات الرباعية، تمخضت بإطلاق استراتيجية الحلول للاجئين الأفغان لدعم العودة الطوعية وإعادة الإدماج المستدامة وتقديم المساعدة للدول المضيفة في مايو/ أيار 2012 والتي أقرتها أكثر من 50 بلداً.[i] وتقدم إستراتيجية الحلول فرصة لتحديد سبل توطين العائدين وعلى نحو مجدٍ داخل أفغانستان ومنع التحركات الثانوية.

وركزت استرتيجية الحلول بدايةً الانتباه على 48 منطقة مختارة "لاستقبال الأعداد الكبرى من العائدين" من أجل تركيز الأنشطة المرتبطة بإعادة إدماجهم. ومع ذلك، بعد إجراء التقييم الأولي، كان من الواضح أنَّ العائدين الجدد ينتقلون إلى مناطق أخرى، ولذلك فقد تقرر توسيع عدد مناطق العائدين المستهدفة، وتوجيه المساعدة تمشياً مع التدفقات الفعلية للعائدين. ولقد أُعدَّ ملف المشاريع المقترحة 2014 اعتماداً على الجهود المشتركة للحكومات الثلاث، ومنظمات هيئة الأمم المتحدة، والمنظمات الدولية العابرة للحكومات، والمنظمات الدولية والوطنية غير الحكومية حيث عملوا من خلال إطار متكامل للتعاون والتنسيق المتعدد الأطراف في كل بلد.

تسعى استراتيجية الحلول، التي تتوائم على نحو وثيق مع برامج الأولويات الوطنية للحكومة الأفغانية، إلى تسهيل الانتقال من المساعدات الإنسانية ذات الأمد القصير إلى مبادرات تنموية ذات الأمد الطويل. ويُعدُّ البرنامج الوطني للتضامن،[ii] وهو أحد برامج الأولويات الوطنية للحكومة الأفغانية، وسيلة من الوسائل الرئيسية لتعزيز التنمية الريفية في أفغانستان. ويهدف البرنامج الذي أطلقته وزارة الاستصلاح والتنمية الريفية في عام 2003 لغايات تطوير وإعادة تأهيل القرى الريفية في أفغانستان إلى تمكين المجتمعات المحلية الريفية وتعزيز مشاركتها في التنمية المحلية. ويمثل برنامج التضامن الوطني، لاتساع المناطق الجغرافية الواسعة التي يشملها، برنامجاً للتنمية الوطنية مع إمكانية كبيرة للوصول إلى مجتمعات العائدين في جميع أنحاء أفغانستان والمساهمة في تحقيق عودة مستدامة.

وتتمثل الفكرة الرئيسية لأولوية استراتيجية الحلول في تمكين الشباب من خلال التعليم والتدريب على المهارات. وأعطيت المشاريع التي تتعلق بتمكين المرأة التي تهدف إلى تحسين عمليات دمج المرأة في عمليات صنع القرار في المنزل وداخل المجتمع اهتماماً خاصاً؛ وتركز هذه المشاريع على رفع مستوى الوعي لدى النساء في قدرتهنَّ المحتملة على توفير الكسب والقدرة على المشاركة، وذلك تمشياً مع نهج أوسع نطاقاً للوقاية من العنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي. وستواصل مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين تحديد وترتيب أولويات تدخلاتها بحيث تتلاءم مع المناطق ذات النسب الأعلى للعائدين بما يتعلق بسهولة الحصول على الخدمات وتوجهات العائدين، بما في ذلك المناطق الحضرية. وستوفر المفوضية في المواقع التي تعاني من نقص واضح في تواجد الجهات الفاعلة فيها المشاريع ذات الأثر السريع (مثل، بناء طرق الوصول الصغيرة من أجل تحسين فرص سبل العيش)، وفي الوقت نفسه توجه الدعوة إلى الجهات الفاعلة في مجال التنمية لاستحداث فرص أكثر استدامة وطويلة الأمد.

ولا تركز المشاريع المُنفذة ضمن إطار استراتيجية الحلول على توفير المأوى والخدمات الأساسية فقط، وإنما تركز أيضاً على توفير سبل تعزيز الحماية والتعايش السلمي. وعلاوة على توفير المأوى والمياه والعيادات الصحية وسيارات الإسعاف والتدريب المهني/ المهارات وتوسيع المرافق التعليمية، عملت استراتيجية الحلول أيضاً خلال العامين الماضيين على تمكين تركيب نظم الإضاءة الشمسية في المنازل والشوارع في المناطق ذات النسب المرتفعة في اعداد العائدين وتعزيز سلامة النساء، وبناء ثلاث محطات صغيرة لتوليد الكهرباء لتحسين فرص الحصول على الكهرباء لكل من العائدين والمجتمعات المضيفة، وإعادة تأهيل البنية التحتية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية (الطرق وشبكات الري والمراكز المجتمعية). وتمثل التركيز الأساسي لجميع تدخلات المفوضية، سواء في مجال تقديم المساعدة الإنسانية العاجلة أم إيجاد التكامل على الأمد الطويل، في تحسين مبادئ الحماية. وهذا يعني أنَّ مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين لن تركز فقط على تقديم المساعدة ضمن إطار توفير المأوى أو المساعدة المادية أو النقدية، وإنما يتعدى ذلك ليشمل أيضاً سلامة وكرامة وحقوق الأشخاص محط اهتمامها. وسيشمل ذلك، في بعض الحالات، المعالجة المباشرة للمخاوف المتعلقة بتوفير الحماية (مثال على ذلك، من خلال مشاريع دعم الناجين والناجيات من العنف القائم على أساس الجنس والنوع الاجتماعي أو برامج المساعدة القانونية)؛ في حالات أخرى، قد تنطوي هذه المعالجة على تنفيذ أنشطة من شأنها أن تؤدي إلى مكاسب مستقبلية لتوفير الحماية (مثال على ذلك، مشاريع توفير سبل العيش التي تؤدي إلى تقلل من خطر التعرض للتهجير، أو توفير فرص التعليم الثانوي التي من شأنها أن تقلل من مخاطر الزواج المبكر).

الشراكة والتنسيق

يعد التنسيق والشراكة مع البرامج الحكومية، مثل برامج الأولويات الوطنية للحكومة الأفغانية أمراً حيوياً لغايات وضع وتنفيذ التدخلات ضمن توافق وثيق مع البرامج الوطنية. ولا تزال وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن والإدارات المحلية التابعة لها النظير الحكومي الرئيسي للمفوضية فيما يتعلق بالعودة الطوعية والعودة المستدامة وإعادة الإدماج. ومع ذلك، هناك حاجة لمزيد من المشاركة الفعالة من الوزارات الرئيسية الأخرى، والمنظمات الإنمائية التابعة للأمم المتحدة، وأيضاً هناك حاجة لشمول احتياجات العائدين ضمن أولويات التنمية للأمم المتحدة لما بعد عام 2015. ويجري حالياً استكشاف فرص التعاون مع برنامج التنمية الريفية التابع للبنك الدولي والبنك الآسيوي للتنمية بقصد ربط حلول العودة مع التنمية الزراعية. ولقد شرعت منظمة الأغذية والزراعة ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بمناقشات حول مبادرة عابرة للحدود تهدف إلى إعطاء الأسر الزراعية من اللاجئين في باكستان فرصة الحصول على التدريب لتعزيز فرصهم لعودة مستدامة وإعادة الإدماج في أفغانستان.

لقد اعتمدت حكومات أفغانستان وإيران وباكستان في عام 2013 استراتيجية مشتركة لتعبئة الموارد للتنسيق وجمع الأموال على المستوى الإقليمي والقطري. وتشمل العناصر الرئيسية للاستراتيجية ضمان التمويل المتوقع ومتعدد السنوات لدعم استراتيجية الحلول، ناهيك عن تطوير الشراكات مع الجهات المانحة غير التقليدية والجهات التنموية الفاعلة.

وتوجه اللجنة التوجيهية الوطنية لاستراتيجية الحلول عملية تنفيذ الاستراتيجية من خلال لجنة التنسيق المشتركة بين الوزارات برئاسة وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن. وتدير اللجنة أيضاً الصندوق الإئتماني الجديد للمانحين المتعددين. وتتمثل القضية الكثر أهمية لهذه المبادرة في ضمان التركيز المستمر على الوضع الإنساني خلال الفترة الانتقالية المقبلة والتي لا يمكن التنبؤ في أفغانستان- التي قد يتجاوز تأثيرها على النازحين والعائدين داخل أفغانستان لتشتمل على أولئك الذين ما زالوا في المنفى في دول الجوار ومختلف أنحاء العالم.

 

بييرفرانشيسكو ماريا ناتا natta@unhcr.org هو الممثل المساعد- شؤون الحماية في مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في أفغانستان. .www.unhcr.org

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Anchoring return: the role of the Solutions Strategy

Providing a minimum standard of living and livelihood opportunities to help anchor those who have returned is critical for the future stability and security of Afghanistan. This is one of the three main objectives of the 2012 Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees.

Afghan refugees long constituted the world’s largest refugee population and one of the most protracted situations in the world. They have also been the subject of the largest repatriation ever undertaken – which is still ongoing. Since 2002 more than 5.8 million refugees have returned to Afghanistan, ending years of exile; 80% had been in exile for more than 20 years. Around 4.7 million refugees were assisted in their return by UNHCR through its voluntary repatriation programme.

While there were massive returns between 2002 and 2008 (4,369,086 registered by UNHCR), the past three years have seen a steady decline in overall return figures with a total over the three years of 201,284 returns. This trend reflects the changed circumstances compared with the first years of the repatriation where Afghan refugees’ enthusiasm and optimism at the end of the Taliban regime appeared to lead refugees to overlook the obstacles and challenges in returning to a country devastated by 20 years of war. Many of those obstacles are still present – in particular, lack of access to livelihoods and basic services in return areas, and heightened insecurity in some parts of Afghanistan – but the previous enthusiasm for return has given way to a more realistic approach, with many refugees adopting a ‘wait and see’ approach. It is also clear that while in past years many returnees still had strong links with the country of origin, the third generation of Afghans born in exile with less tangible links to their country of origin look more realistically and critically at the situation, waiting for concrete signs of improved security and economic stability.

It is worth noting that there have also been some quite impressive positive trends: GDP growth of 8.2%, a sevenfold increase in the number of teachers, access to basic health services for 85% of the population, and a drop in maternal mortality from 1,400 to 327 per 100,000 live births. However, despite these positive results, and billions of dollars of international aid, Afghanistan remains the poorest country in the region.

Since the beginning of its voluntary repatriation programme in Afghanistan in 2002, UNHCR has provided initial assistance to returnees to help meet their immediate survival and reintegration needs: shelter, water points, income-generating projects, skills training, literacy training and cash for work. Nevertheless, those who opt to return continue to face huge challenges including lack of access to security of land tenure, lack of basic services, ongoing conflict and insecurity. There is also a lack of safe roads, access to markets, irrigation systems and protection from floods and other natural disasters. Providing a minimum standard of living and livelihood opportunities to help anchor those who have returned is critical for the stability and security of the country. At the same time, pending their return, the situation of Afghan refugees in neighbouring countries must be managed and alternative solutions strengthened. There is a serious need for integrated interventions by the UN and the Afghan authorities to ensure that the necessary humanitarian and development assistance is provided in a complementary manner.

Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees

With these aims in mind, in 2011 the governments of Afghanistan, Iran and Pakistan with the support of UNHCR initiated a quadripartite consultative process that led to the launch in May 2012 of a ‘Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees to Support Voluntary Repatriation, Sustainable Reintegration and Assistance to Host Countries’, endorsed by more than 50 countries.[1] The Solutions Strategy presents an opportunity to identify ways of anchoring returnees meaningfully within Afghanistan and to prevent secondary movements.

At the beginning, the Solutions Strategy focused attention on 48 selected ‘high return’ areas in order to concentrate activities linked to reintegration of returnees. After an initial assessment, however, it was clear that new returnees were moving to other areas and therefore it was decided both to expand the number of target return areas and to direct assistance in line with actual returnee flows. A 2014 portfolio of proposed projects has been prepared through the joint efforts of the three governments, UN agencies, intergovernmental organisations, and international and national NGOs, working through an integrated framework for multilateral cooperation and coordination in each country.

Closely aligned with the Afghan government’s National Priority Programmes (NPPs), the Solutions Strategy seeks to facilitate the transition from short-term humanitarian aid to longer-term development initiatives. The National Solidarity Programme (NSP),[2] one of the NPPs, is one of the main means of promoting rural development in Afghanistan. Launched in 2003 by the Ministry of Rural Rehabilitation and Development (MRRD) with the aim of developing and rehabilitating rural villages in Afghanistan, the programme aims to empower rural communities and promote their participation in local development. Due to its wide geographical coverage, the NSP is a national development programme with significant potential to reach returnee communities across Afghanistan and contribute to sustainable return.

The Solutions Strategy’s priority theme is youth empowerment through education and skills training. Special attention is also given to projects that address women’s empowerment and aim to improve women’s inclusion in decision-making processes at home and within the community; these projects focus on raising awareness of women’s potential earning power and capacity for participation, in line with a broader approach for the prevention of sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV). UNHCR will continue to identify and prioritise its interventions to match areas of high return in view of access and return trends, including to urban areas. In locations with an obvious shortage of actors, UNHCR will provide quick impact projects (e.g. construction of small access roads to improve livelihoods opportunities), while advocating for development actors to create more sustainable and longer-term opportunities.

Projects implemented under the Solutions Strategy have focused not only on shelter and essential services but also on ways to enhance protection and peaceful co-existence. Apart from provision of shelter, water, health clinics and ambulances, vocational/skills training and expanded educational facilities, the Solutions Strategy has also in the last two years enabled the installation of solar lighting systems in houses and streets in high return areas (enhancing the safety of women), the construction of three micro-hydro-power plants to improve access to electricity for both returnees and host community, and the rehabilitation of socio-economic infrastructure (roads, irrigation systems and community centres). The primary focus of all UNHCR interventions, both immediate humanitarian assistance and longer-term integration, is to advance protection principles. This means that UNHCR will focus not only on providing assistance in the form of shelter or material assistance or cash but also on the safety, dignity and rights of persons of concern. In some cases, this will involve addressing protection concerns directly (for instance, through SGBV support projects or legal assistance programmes); in others, it may involve undertaking activities that will lead to a future protection dividend (for instance, livelihood projects that result in a reduced risk of secondary displacement or education opportunities that will reduce the risk of early marriage).

Partnership and coordination

In order to develop and implement interventions in close alignment with national programmes, coordination and partnership with government programmes, such as the NPPs, is vital. The Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation (MoRR) and its provincial departments continue to be UNHCR’s main government counterpart for voluntary repatriation and sustainable return and reintegration. However, more active engagement is sought from other key ministries and UN development agencies, also with a view to including returnees’ needs in the UN’s post-2015development priorities. Opportunities for cooperation with the World Bank’s Rural Development Programme and the Asian Development Bank are currently being explored, with the intention of linking return solutions to agricultural development. And FAO and UNHCR have initiated discussions on a cross-border initiative, through which refugee farming families in Pakistan would be given access to training to enhance their prospects for sustainable return and reintegration in Afghanistan.

In 2013, the governments of Afghanistan, Iran and Pakistan adopted a Joint Resource Mobilization Strategy for coordination and fundraising at both regional and country levels. Key elements of the strategy include ensuring predictable multi-year funding in support of the Solutions Strategy, as well as developing partnerships with non-traditional donors and development actors.

The Solutions Strategy’s National Steering Committee is guiding implementation of the Strategy through the Inter-Ministerial Coordination Committee, chaired by the MoRR, and is also managing the new multi-donor trust fund. The initiative is all the more critical to ensuring a sustained focus on the humanitarian situation during the coming, unpredictable period of transition in Afghanistan – which may have an impact not only on displaced people and returnees inside Afghanistan but also on those still in exile in neighbouring countries and around the world.

 

Pierfrancesco Maria Natta natta@unhcr.org is Assistant Representative – Protection, UNHCR Afghanistan. www.unhcr.org

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview