تعزيز أمن حيازة الأراضي للنازحين داخلياً

تُعدّ حالة مخيم المسلخ في غرب أفغانستان مثالاً على ترجمة السياسة الجديدة للنازحين داخلياً في أفغانستان إلى واقع ملموس. ، وسيضمن المشروع في حال نجاحه أمن حيازة الأراضي للنازحين داخلياً في المناطق الحضرية، وبالتالي سيكون سابقة للاندماج المحلي للنازحين داخلياً في مختلف أنحاء أفغانستان. لكن هذه القضية، حتى الآن، مسألة مثيرة للجدل وتخضع للاعتبارات السياسية.

تتشابه اتجاهات التحضر السريع في أفغانستان تماماً مع اتجاهات نظرائهم العالميين. ويتخذ النازحون داخلياً في أفغانستان أيضاً، على نحو متزايد، المدن ملجأً لهم سواءً لفترة قصيرة أم طويلة الأجل بحثاً عن الأمن، وفرص أكبر للحصول على الخدمات العامة، وفرص كسب العيش، وشبكات القرابة أو العلاقات الاجتماعية. ويبلغ معدل التحضر في أفغانستان ما نسبته 5% سنوياً، وهي إحدى أعلى المعدلات في العالم. وتتمثل إحدى مظاهر هذا التحضر السريع في نمو المستوطنات غير الرسمية؛ ففي كابول يعيش ما يقرب من 70% من السكان في أحياء غير رسمية.

تعيش العائلات النازحة داخلياً في المناطق الحضرية في مختلف أنحاء أفغانستان في ظروف محفوفة بالمخاطر. ولقد وجدت دراسة أجراها كلٍّ من البنك الدولي ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في ثلاث مناطق حضرية في أفغانستان[i] أنَّ النازحين في المناطق الحضرية كانوا أكثر عرضة وأسوأ حالاً من فقراء الحضر غير النازحين داخلياً، ومن المرجح أنَّ أولئك النازحين هم من العاطلين عن العمل بصفة خاصة، وغير قادرين على الحصول على السكن المناسب، ويتناولون طعاماً غير آمن. ولم يتمكَّن أكثر من ثلث الذين شملهم الاستطلاع من الحصول على الكهرباء، وإمدادات كافية من المياه ومرافق الإصحاح.

وإحدى القضايا التي تناولتها سياسة أفغانستان الوطنية الجديدة حول النازحين داخلياً هي الحق في السكن الملائم والحصول على الأراضي (المادة 7.1.3). وتؤكد السياسة على أنَّ إحدى أكبر العقبات التي تواجه النازحين داخلياً في أفغانستان في بحثهم عن السكن الملائم هي عدم الحصول على الأرض وأمن حيازة تلك الأراضي- الأمر الذي يفرض على النازحين داخلياً العيش في مستوطنات غير رسمية حيث يتعرضون لخطر الإخلاء القسري والتحرش. وتفرض سياسة أفغانستان الوطنية الجديدة على الحكومة تحديد الأراضي المتوافرة، واتخاذ ترتيبات واضحة مع أصحاب الأرض المعنيين والمجتمعات المضيفة، وتوفير الملاجئ الطارئة والانتقالية للنازحين داخلياً المشردين، وإذا لزم الأمر بمساعدة من المجتمع الإنساني. وتحث هذه السياسة الحكومة على أ) اتخاذ التدابير لضمان أنَّ النازحين داخلياً في المستوطنات غير الرسمية سيُسمح لهم برفع مستوى سكنهم لتلبية معايير إسفير المتفق عليها دولياً لتوفير المأوى في حالات الطوارئ[ii]؛ ب) استكشاف المبادرات على مستوى المجتمع المحلي لإقراض، أو إيجار أو بيع الأراضي في المناطق التي استقر فيها النازحين داخلياً؛ ج) تحديد الخيارات الأخرى التي من شأنها أن توفر الأمن للنازحين داخلياً لحيازة الأراضي، بما في ذلك مشاريع حق الانتفاع.[iii]

هناك نزاع هائل على ملكية الأراضي في أفغانستان، وتعد نزاعات الأراضي النوع الأكثر انتشاراً من أنواع النزاعات. وتمتاز الإدعاءات المتعددة بخصوص الأراضي المتنازع عليها بأنَّ لها جذوراً تاريخية أو تنشأ عن خلافات حول الميراث. وزادت هذ المشاكل نتيجة للنمو السكاني، وعودة أعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين، والاحتلال غير الشرعي و/ أو الثانوي للسكن والأرض. وأصبح حل مثل هذه النزاعات في أفغانستان أمراً معقداً نتيجة لتطبيق كل من القانون العرفي والشريعة الإسلامية وقانون الدولة معاً في الوقت نفسه، حيث شاب هذا الأخير وعلى نحوٍ ملحوظ إغفاله للعديد من النواحي المتعلقة بكلٍّ من الأراضي الحضرية والريفية على حد سواء.

وتتضمن بعض قضايا الأراضي الشائعة في أفغانستان: استيلاء النخب القوية/ أمراء الحرب على الأراضي؛ النزاعات على الأراضي بين بدو الكوتشي والقرويين المقيمين؛ الخلاف حول إلى أي مدى تعد الأراضي غير المملوكة في حقيقة الأمر غير مملوكة؛ التمييز بين الملكية العامة الوطنية وما يُنظر إليه أنها ملكية محلية "مشاع"؛ والادعاءات المتعددة المتعلقة بالأراضي، وخاصة تلك التي تشمل القادة وأمراء الحرب الأقوياء الذين يستخدمون الأراضي كوسيلة للمحسوبية السياسية. ويخضع أمن حيازة الأراضي ذات القيمة العالية في المناطق الحضرية وعلى نحو أكبر للنواحي السياسية، ويتشدد العديد من رؤساء البلديات أو الأحزاب السياسية للغاية في اتجاهاتهم بهذا الخصوص. ويبرز عامل العِرق بوضوح في كثير من الحالات، حيث تخشى السلطات المحلية من أنَّ الأشخاص القادمين ومن جماعات عرقية أخرى قد يؤدي إلى تغيير ديموغرافي، وعليه يتغير التوازن السياسي في المنطقة.

مخيم المسلخ والمستوطنات غير الرسمية الأخرى في مدينة هيرات

يقع مخيم المسلخ للنازحين داخلياً في ضواحي مدينة هيرات، وكان أكبر مخيم للنازحين داخل أفغانستان للنازحين داخلياً ويعد من أكبر المخيمات في العالم، حيث كان موطناً لأكثر من 350000 من النازحين الداخليين. وبحلول بداية عام 2002 كان عدد سكان مخيم المسلخ يقدر بحوالي 120000 شخص. وفي أواخر عام 2002 بدأت عملية توزيع المساعدات على نطاق واسع، وخاصة المواد الغذائية تتلاشى تدريجياً وبما يتماشى مع عملية العودة المخطط لها[iv]، ومن ثمَّ أُغلق المعسكر رسمياً في عام 2005. ولقد تبنت الحكومة في وقت لاحق نهجاً مختلفاً في التعامل مع سكان هذه المستوطنة، فأحيانا تمنحهم وضع النازحين الداخليين وتحرمهم منها تارة أخرى والذي كان يمثل لهم المفتاح لإمكانية الحصول على المعونة أو الخدمات الإنسانية.

وباستثناء مخيم المسلخ، هناك أربع مستوطنات غير رسمية أخرى تستضيف حالياً النازحين الداخليين في مدينة هيرات: شيداي، والمنارة وفرقة داخل حدود مدينة هيرات وكاماراكالا في الضواحي. وتشير البيانات السكانية الحالية إلى أنَّ مخيم المسلخ يستضيف 3648أسرة (17933 شخصاً)، المنارة 581 أسرة ( 2950 شخصاً) و وشيداي 2188 أسرة (10431 شخصاً). يقع مخيم المسلخ على بعد 13 كم خارج حدود مدينة هيرات وعلى الأراضي التي تملكها سلطة الأراضي الأفغانية، في حين أنَّ المنارة وشيداي يقعان داخل حدود المدينة: الأول على الأراضي التي تملكها وزارة الداخلية، والثاني مقام على أرض البلدية. واستلم النازحون الداخليون جميعهم في كل من المنارة والشيداي والمسلخ إشعارات إخلاء، ولكنهم مع مضي السنين ضغطوا لتخصيص أرض لهم أو أن يُسمح لهم بالبقاء حيث هم. وتواصل النازحون داخلياً في الشيداي مع الرئيس كرزاي، الذي بدوره وافق على نقلهم بعيداً عن الطريق الرئيسي إلى قطعة أراض شاغرة على مقربة من الجبال في الشيداي. ولكن نظراً لوجود كابلات كهرباء الضغط العالي في المنطقة وعدم وجود المياه، وجد النازحون أنهم غير قادرين على الانتقال إلى هذا الموقع. وبقي النازحون الداخليون معرضون لخطر شديد مع دخل منخفض جداً وامكانيات محدودة جداً للوصول إلى البنية التحتية والحصول على الخدمات. ومع عدم وجود فرص للحصول على الأراضي أو المأوى الدائم والافتقار إلى أمن حيازة الأراضي، ليس لدى هؤلاء الأشخاص فرصة للخروج من دائرة الإقصاء والفقر.

لم تنظر السلطات إلى هؤلاء النازحين كمواطنين دائمين في مدينة هيرات حتى أوائل عام 2013، ولكن يبدو أن مشاورات سياسة النازحين داخلياً أدت إلى بعض التغييرات الطفيفة في توجهات النخبة السياسية الذين باتو يدركون الآن أنَّ هؤلاء النازحين الداخليين لن يعودوا إلى أماكنهم الأصلية. وعليه يكون الحل الدائم لهم هو الاندماج المحلي فقط، وأخيراً بدأت الحكومة تظهر بعض الاستعداد للقبول برفع مستوى مستوطنة المسلخ وتنظيمها- وهو تقدم كبير.

والسؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هنا إلى أي مدى تعد مستوطنة المسلخ مختلفة عن المخطط الآخر لتخصيص مواقع الأراضي في أفغانستان. في حقيقة الأمر، تمثل المواقع ضمن مخطط تخصيص مواقع الأراضي مناطق من الأراضي مقسمة إلى قطع مخصصة سوف تُعطى أو تُباع للمستفيدين (لا سيما اللاجئين العائدين أو النازحين داخلياً) وكما هو محدد في المرسوم الرئاسي رقم 104. وعملت الحكومة على  التعريف بهذا المخطط في عام 2005 للتخفيف من الأثر السلبي لندرة الأراضي والمساكن للاجئين العائدين. وتتواجد مواقع مخطط تخصيص الأراضي في مختلف المحافظات وبإدارة كاملة من وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن لهذه المواقع. ومع ذلك، فقد تعرض هذا المخطط لانتقادات على نطاق واسع وللعديد من الأسباب.

وعموماً فقد كانت نسبة إشغال مواقع مواقع مخطط تخصيص الأراضي منخفضة إلى حدٍّ ما، وهناك مزاعم بأنَّ مواقع هذا المخطط قد خُصصت للأسر التي ليست بحاجة لها، وإنما لأشخاص يعملون في مجال المضاربة على الأراضي. وإضافة إلى ذلك، تقع مواقع مخطط تخصيص الأراضي كلها على مسافة بعيدة من المدن، وهو الأمر الذي يتطلب توفير الخدمات الأساسية (المياه والمدارس والعيادات، وغيرها من الخدمات) وفرص كسب العيش؛ وهي بالتالي تعتمد إلى حدٍّ بعيد على الدعم المالي الخارجي، وهي أمور غير مستدامة في نهاية المطاف. (وفي مدينة هيرات تقع مواقع مخطط تخصيص الأراضي، والذي يُطلق عليه سادات، على الطريق الرئيسي المؤدي إلى إيران ويبعد أكثر من 30 كم إلى الغرب من مدينة هيرات مع عدم وجود فرص لكسب العيش في مكان قريب له- يبدو الموقع وكأنَّه مدينة أشباح). وعلاوة على ذلك، تركز وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن في الآونة الأخيرة على اللاجئين العائدين وليس النازحين الداخليين لتخصيص هذه المواقع. وحتى الآن يُطلب من النازحين داخلياً التقدم بطلب للحصول على موقع ضمن مواقع مخطط تخصيص الأراضي في مواطنهم الأصلية بدلاً من المدن التي يعيشون فيها حالياً.

ويتمثل التحدي الأساسي هنا في توفير أمن حيازة الأراضي للأسر النازحة داخلياً وضمن موقع مُجدٍّ اقتصادياً وملائم، وكذلك رفع مستوى هذه المناطق تدريجياً من خلال توفير الخدمات الأساسية والبنية التحتية لها. ويمتلك مخيم المسلخ ميزة إيجابية في كونه يقع خارج المنطقة العمرانية من مدينة هيرات، ولكنه في متناول الحصول على فرص للعمل. وعلاوة على ذلك، فهو مُقام على أراض عامة/ للدولة، مما يقلل من فرص وجود المعارضة السياسية المحلية له. وإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك ما يكفي من الأراضي المناسبة في مخيم المسلخ لاستيعاب العائلات النازحة داخلياً التي تعيش حالياً في المنارة والشيداي. ونظراً للموقع المركزي لمخيم المنارة والموقع الاستراتيجي لمخيم الشيداي الذي يقع على طول الطرق الرئيسية فهي تعد عوامل تحظر تنظيم وتطوير تلك المخيمات نظراً لارتفاع قيمة الأراضي.

يهدف المشروع المشترك الحالي لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (الموئل)/ ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين الاستجابة للاحتياجات الملحة للأسر النازحة داخلياً التي تعيش في مستوطنة المسلخ من خلال فرض الأمر الواقع بإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على المستوطنة وتوفير الخدمات الأساسية (في البداية توفير الماء والمأوى ومن ثم غيرها من المرافق في وقت لاحق) ودعم فرص كسب العيش، مع تطبيق الحد الأدنى من معايير اسفير لتكون كنقطة انطلاق. ونظراً للطبيعة الحساسة لهذه المسألة من الناحية السياسية، فقد حافظت المنظمتان اللتان خططتا لهذ المشروع بالتعاون الوثيق مع المحافظ وبلدية مدينة هيرات، والمديرية المستقلة للحكم المحلي، ووزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن، ووزارة شؤون التنمية الحضرية، ووزارة الزراعة والري والثروة الحيوانية، وسلطة الأراضي في أفغانستان على استمرار المناقشات مع الجهات الحكومية الإقليمية والوطنية على حد سواء لاستكشاف إمكانيات خيارات أمن حيازة الأراضي للنازحين داخلياً في مخيم المسلخ، بما في ذلك حق الانتفاع (حقوق المستخدم)، ووثائق الإشغال، وسندات ملكية الأراضي الفردية أو أي أنواع أخرى من ملكية الأراضي. ومن المؤمل أن الحكومة ستوافق على واحدٍ من هذه الخيارات.

التوصيات

من أجل مواصلة إحراز التقدم نحو التوصل إلى حلول دائمة للنازحين داخلياً في أفغانستان، هناك حاجة لتنفيذ ما يلي- تحديداً ما يتعلق بمخيم المسلخ، ولكن يمكن تنفيذها أيضاً على نطاق أوسع:

  • مسوحات تحديد النمطية المنتظمة في المستوطنات غير الرسمية في جميع أنحاء أفغانستان للمساعدة في إثراء المناقشات مع الحكومة حول الحلول الدائمة وتنظيم[v] هذه المستوطنات.
  • خطط أمن حيازة الأراضي، بما في ذلك تفاصيل بدء تنفيذ تقديم الخدمات الأساسية.
  • معايير الأهليَّة الشفافة والموضوعة بالتنسيق مع وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن والمحافظ و بلدية مدينة هيرات لتخصيص الأراضي للنازحين داخلياً في مخيم المسلخ.
  • توفير مزيد من قطع الأراضي (ضمن مواقع مناسبة، أي داخل حدود المدينة أو على أطراف المدن) للنازحين الداخليين وغيرهم من الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض (في مدينة هيرات وفي غيرها من المحافظات).
  • التشاور مع السكان النازحين داخلياً في كلا مراحل التخطيط والتنفيذ، مثلاُ من خلال برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (الموئل) التي تُشرك كلا من الرجال والنساء[vi].
  • عرض الانتقال إلى مكان آخر، مع توفير الدعم والحوافز اللازمة، كجزء من حزمة الحلول السياسية المتاحة للنازحين الداخليين في المستوطنات غير الرسمية.

ومن المأمول أن يكون مخيم المسلخ نموذجاً لغيره من المواقع في أفغانستان والتي تواجه تحديات مماثلة. والأكثر أهمية هنا، أن يشجع هذا الأمر النخب السياسية والسماسرة الآخرين من أصحاب السلطة للبدء بالنظر إلى النازحين داخلياً على أنهم ليسوا فقط مواطنين، وإنما أيضا كأصول ذات قيمة لمجتمعاتهم. ولا تزال الأسباب الهيكلية التي تؤدي إلى النزوح داخلياً موجودة في أفغانستان حتى اليوم، وعليه فإنه من المهم أن يحافظ المجتمع الدولي تركيزه على إيجاد حلول دائمة للنازحين داخلياً الذين طالت معاناتهم ومشاركتهم مع الحكومات الوطنية والمحلية لتحقيق هذه الأهداف.

شوبها راو shobha.rao@unhabitat-afg.org يعمل منسقاً لفريق عمل الإسكان والأراضي والممتلكات، وموظف معار من نوركاب إلى برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (الموئل) في أفغانستان. يان تيركسترا، jan.turkstra@unhabitat-afg.org، ويعمل مستشاراً للتنمية الحضرية، برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (الموئل) في أفغانستان.

www.unhabitat.org/categories.asp?catid=245



[i]  البنك الدولي ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين (مايو/ ايار 2011) دراسة بحثية عن النازحين في المناطق الحضرية- أفغانستان http://tinyurl.com/WB-UNHCR-Afghanistan-May2011

 

[ii]  معايير إسفير. يقدم دليل معايير إسفير مجموعة من المبادئ المشتركة والحد الأدنى من المعايير العالمية لتقديم استجابة إنسانية ذات جودة. ويتضمن المعايير الدنيا أربعة مجالات أساسية للمساعدات الإنسانية المخصصة لإنقاذ الحياة، وهي: توفير المياه وتعزبز الصرف الصحي والنظافة الصحية؛ والأمن الغذائي والتغذية؛ المأوى والسكن والمواد غير الغذائية؛ والإجراءات الصحية.

www.sphereproject.org/resources/download-publications/?search=1&keywords=&language=Arabic&type=0&category=22

[iii] حق الفرد في استخدام والتمتع بممتلكات تعود لفرد آخر، شريطة عدم الإضرار بها أو إحداث التغييرات فيها.

[iv]  أعطي النازحون داخلياً في مخيم المسلخ الفرصة حتى سبتمبر/ أيلول 2004 للتسجيل في عملية العودة، وانتهت بحلول ربيع 2005.

[v]  برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (الموئل) ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين (يترقب نشره لاحقاً في في 2014) بعنوان التكامل المحلي للأسر النازحة داخلياً في هيرات، أفغانستان: المرحلة 1 أ- مسح المساكن والممتلكات والتخطيط لها

UN-Habitat/UNHCR (forthcoming 2014) Local Integration of IDP families in Herat, Afghanistan: Phase 1a - Household and property survey and planning

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Enhancing security of land tenure for IDPs

The case of Maslakh in western Afghanistan is an example of translating Afghanistan’s new IDP Policy into reality. If successful the project will ensure security of land tenure for IDPs in urban settings and set a precedent for local integration of IDPs across Afghanistan, a highly contentious and politicised issue thus far.

Rapid urbanisation trends in Afghanistan mirror their global counterparts. IDPs in Afghanistan are also increasingly taking refuge in cities whether on a short- or longer-term basis in search of security, greater access to public services, livelihood opportunities and kinship networks or social ties. The rate of urbanisation in Afghanistan is 5% per annum, one of the highest in the world. One of the manifestations of this rapid urbanisation is the growth of informal settlements; in Kabul approximately 70% of the population is living in informal neighbourhoods.

Urban IDP families across Afghanistan live in precarious conditions. A World Bank/UNHCR study conducted in three urban areas of Afghanistan[1] found that urban IDPs were more vulnerable and worse off than the non-displaced urban poor, and were particularly likely to be unemployed, to lack access to proper housing, and to be food insecure. Only one-third of those surveyed had access to electricity, adequate water supplies and sanitation facilities.

One of the issues addressed in Afghanistan’s new National Policy on Internal Displacement (IDP Policy) is the Right to Adequate Housing and Access to Land (Article 7.1.3). The policy emphasises that one of the greatest obstacles facing IDPs in Afghanistan in their search for adequate housing is the lack of access to land and security of tenure – which forces IDPs to live in informal settlements where they are at risk of forced eviction and harassment. The IDP Policy enjoins the government to identify available land, make clear arrangements with the respective land owners and hosting communities, and provide emergency and transitional shelters for homeless IDPs, if necessary with assistance from the humanitarian community. The policy urges the government to a) take measures to ensure that IDPs in informal settlements are permitted to upgrade their accommodation to meet the internationally agreed Sphere standards[2] for emergency shelter, b) explore community-level initiatives to lend, rent or sell land in areas where IDPs have settled and c) identify other options which would grant IDPs security of tenure including usufruct[3]schemes.

Land is highly contested in Afghanistan and land conflicts are the most prevalent type of conflict. Multiple and contested claims to land have historical roots or arise from disputes over inheritance. Population growth, the return of large numbers of refugees and illegal and/or secondary occupation of housing and land have all added to the problems. Resolving such disputes is complicated by the simultaneous operation in Afghanistan of customary law, sharia law and state law, with the last having significant omissions regarding both urban and rural land issues.

Some of the common land issues in Afghanistan include: land grabbing by powerful elites/warlords; land disputes between Kuchi nomads and settled villagers; dispute over how far ‘un-owned’ lands actually are un-owned; the distinction between national public property and what is considered local ‘common’ property; and multiple claims to land, especially those involving powerful commanders and warlords who use land as a means of political patronage. Security of tenure of high-value urban land is even more politicised and many mayors or political parties have highly polarised attitudes. Ethnicity is clearly a factor in many situations, with local authorities afraid that incoming people from other ethnic groups may change the demographic, and hence the political, balance of the area.

Maslakh and other informal settlements in Herat

Maslakh IDP settlement is situated in the suburbs of Herat City, and was the largest camp for IDPs inside Afghanistan and among the largest in the world, once home to more than 350,000 IDPs. By the beginning of 2002 the population of Maslakh was estimated to be 120,000 people. In late 2002 large-scale aid distribution, particularly of food, began to be phased out in line with the planned return process[4]and the camp was officially closed in 2005. Subsequently the government adopted different approaches in engaging with the residents of this settlement, sometimes allowing and at other times denying them the IDP status which was key to them having access to humanitarian aid or services.

Apart from Maslakh there are currently four other informal settlements hosting IDPs in Herat: Shaidayee, Minaret and Firqa inside the Herat city limits and Kamarkala on the outskirts. Current population data suggests that Maslakh hosts 3,648 families (17,933 people), Minaret 581 families (2,950 people) and Shaidayee 2,188 families (10,431 people). Maslakh is located 13km outside Herat city limits on land owned by the Afghanistan Land Authority (ARAZI) while Minaret and Shaidayee are located within the city limits, the former on land owned by the Ministry of Interior and the latter on municipal land. IDPs in Minaret, Shaidayee and Maslakh have all received eviction notices and over the years have lobbied to be allocated land or to be allowed to stay where they are.

The IDPs in Shaidayee even approached President Karzai who agreed to move them away from the main road to a vacant piece of land close to the mountains in Shaidayee. However, due to high-tension electricity cables in the area and lack of water the IDPs have not been able to relocate to this site. The IDPs remain extremely vulnerable, with very low incomes and very limited access to infrastructure and services. With no access to land or durable shelter and lacking security of land tenure, they have no hope of breaking free of the cycle of exclusion and poverty.

Till early 2013 the authorities had not considered these IDPs as permanent citizens of Herat but the IDP Policy consultations seem to have brought some slight changes in attitude among the political elite who now recognise that these IDPs will not return to their places of origin. The only durable solution for them is local integration, and at last the government is showing some willingness to accept upgrading and regularisation of the Maslakh settlement – a major breakthrough.

The question arises as to how different Maslakh settlement is from other Land Allocation Scheme (LAS) sites in Afghanistan. LAS sites are areas of land divided into plots designated to be given or sold to beneficiaries (notably refugee returnees or IDPs) as specified in Presidential Decree 104. The scheme was introduced in 2005 by the government to mitigate the negative impact of land and housing scarcity for refugee returnees. The LAS sites are in various provinces and under the overall administration of the Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation (MORR). However, the scheme has been widely criticised, for a number of reasons.

In general, LAS site occupancy is fairly low and there are allegations that LAS plots have been allocated not to families who need them but to people speculating on land. Furthermore, LAS sites are all located at some distance from cities, which necessitates the provision of basic services (water, schools, clinics, etc) and livelihood opportunities; they are therefore heavily dependent on external financial support and, ultimately, unsustainable. (In Herat the LAS site, Sadat, is located on the main road to Iran over 30km to the west of Herat City with no livelihood opportunities nearby – and feels like a ghost town.) Additionally, MORR has until recently focused on refugee returnees and not IDPs for allocation of these sites, and even now IDPs are asked to apply for LAS sites in their places of origin rather than in the cities where they are currently living.

The fundamental challenge is to provide IDP families with security of land tenure in an economically viable and suitable location, incrementally upgrading these areas through the provision of basic services and infrastructure. Maslakh has the advantage of being located outside the developed area of Herat City but not too far from employment opportunities. Furthermore, it is sited on public/state land, thereby reducing the chances of local political opposition. In addition there is enough suitable land in Maslakh to accommodate the IDP families currently living in Minaret and Shaidayee as well. The central location of Minaret and the strategic position of Shaidayee camp along a major road are prohibiting factors for the regularisation and upgrading due to the high value of land.

Currently, a joint UN-Habitat/UNHCR project aims to respond to the urgent needs of IDP families living in Maslakh settlement through de facto formalisation of the settlement and by providing basic services (initially, water and shelter, and other facilities later) and support for livelihood opportunities, with Sphere minimum standards as a starting point. Considering the politically sensitive nature of this issue, the agencies planned this project in close cooperation with the Governor and Municipality of Herat, the Independent Directorate of Local Governance, MoRR, the Ministry of Urban Development Affairs, the Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Livestock, and the Afghanistan Land Authority. UN-Habitat has maintained discussions with both provincial and national government actors to explore possibilities of land tenure security options for Maslakh IDPs, including usufruct, occupancy documents, individual land titles or other kinds of land titles. It is hoped that the government will accept one of these options.

Recommendations

In order to continue making progress towards achieving durable solutions for IDPs in Afghanistan, the following are needed – specifically for Maslakh but also more broadly:

  • regular profiling surveys in informal settlements across Afghanistan to help inform government discussions around durable solutions and regularisation[5]

 

  • land tenure security plans, including details of roll-out of basic service provision

 

  • transparent eligibility criteria established in coordination with MORR and with the Governor and the Municipality of Herat for allocation of land for the IDPs in Maslakh

 

  • more land parcels (on suitable locations i.e. within the city limits or on the fringes of cities) to be made available for IDPs and other low-income families (in Herat and in other provinces)

 

  • consultation with IDP inhabitants at both planning and implementation stages, for example through UN-Habitat’s proposed Community Development Councils involving both men and women[6]

 

  • relocation to be offered, with necessary support and incentives, as part of the policy solution package available for IDPs in informal settlements.

 

It is to be hoped that Maslakh can be a model for other locations in Afghanistan facing similar challenges. Most importantly this should encourage political elites and other power brokers to start considering IDPs not only as citizens but also as assets for their communities. The structural reasons leading to displacement remain in place in Afghanistan today and therefore it is even more critical that the international community maintains its focus on durable solutions for protracted IDPs and its engagement with national and local government to achieve them.

 

Shobha Rao shobha.rao@unhabitat-afg.org is Housing, Land and Property Task Force Coordinator, NORCAP deployee to UN-Habitat Afghanistan. Jan Turkstra jan.turkstra@unhabitat-afg.org is Urban Development Advisor, UN-Habitat Afghanistan. www.unhabitat.org

 

[2] The Sphere Handbook presents a set of common principles and universal minimum standards for the delivery of quality humanitarian response. The minimum standards cover four primary life-saving areas of humanitarian aid: water supply, sanitation and hygiene promotion; food security and nutrition; shelter, settlement and non-food items; and health action. www.sphereproject.org/handbook/

[3] The right of one individual to use and enjoy the property of another, provided its substance is neither impaired nor altered.

[4] Displaced people in Maslakh were given until September 2004 to register for the return process, which was to end by spring 2005.

[5] UN-Habitat/UNHCR (forthcoming 2014) Local Integration of IDP families in Herat, Afghanistan: Phase 1a - Household and property survey and planning

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview