استمرار مشاكل أوضاع انعدام الجنسية منذ 60 عاماً

تمثل الذكرى الستون للاتفاقية المتعلقة بأوضاع الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية لعام 1954 فرصة لجذب الانتباه للجانب الإنساني لقضية انعدام الجنسية ولزيادة الوعي بأثرها على كل من حياة الأفراد والمجتمعات على نطاق أوسع.

ثمة تناقض صارخ في عالم الدول القومية التي تشتمل على ملايين الأفراد غير المعترف بانتمائهم لأي دولة. فمنذ ستين عاماً، اتفق المجتمع الدولي على أول معاهدة دولية لتقنين أوضاع الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية (الموقع عليها حالياً نحو 80 دولة) وعلى اتفاقية عام 1961بشأن خفض حالات انعدام الجنسية. إلا أن العالم مازال مبتلياً بقضية انعدام الجنسية التي تؤثر سلباً على حياة الأفراد والمجتمعات في جميع أرجائه.

فأن تكون معدوم الجنسية يعني ألا تكون مواطناً في أي دولة بموجب قانونها المُفعل. ومن بين أشياء أخرى كثيرة، تكفل الجنسية للفرد حق التمتع بحماية الدولة. وهكذا، أن يصبح الشخص معدوم الجنسية يقتضي عادة حرمانه من معظم حقوقه الأساسية ومن امتلاكه وثائق تضمن له هذه الحقوق ومن عناصر أخرى كثيرة ضرورية لعيش حياة طبيعية. وانعدام الجنسية أيضاً سبب كافٍ لتهميش الفرد ومعاملته بعنصرية وللطخ جبين أطفالك والأجيال القادمة بوصمة عار.

وهذا لا يعني أن الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية لا يمتلكون روابط مع دولة بعينها. ولكن يمكن القول أنه إما لتصرفات الدولة أو لتقاعسها عن العمل أو بسبب الثغرات القائمة في القوانين والإجراءات أو ببساطة بسبب التقارب المؤسف للظروف، نجد أن مثل هؤلاء الأشخاص يقعون من قعر القفة. ولا يحدث ذلك مطلقاً جراء أي تقصير من ناحيتهم.

ولضمان تمتع جميع الأفراد بالجنسية، تشدد مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بقوة على ضرورة الانضمام لاتفاقية 1961 وتقدم مشورة تقنية بشأن كيفية تطبيق هذه الاتفاقيات وما يتصل بها من معايير حقوق الإنسان. ومع ذلك، فأينما وجدت العقبات نعمل للتأكد من منح الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية حق الإقامة القانونية المماثل لذلك الذي يتمتع به اللاجئون ويضمن لهم الحصول على الخدمات الأساسية. ولعل هذا أيضاً سبب التزام مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بتعزيز الانضمام لاتفاقية 1954 التي تقنن آليات معاملة الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية.

فمنذ 2011، انضمت على نحو غير مسبوق 33 دولة إلى اتفاقيتين بشأن انعدام الجنسية من بينهم 22 دولة في 4 قارات انضمت إلى كلتا الاتفاقيتين. ومؤخراً، تراجعت كل من المجر والمكسيك عن تحفظاتها تجاه اتفاقية 1954، وانضمت كل من بيرو ومونتينيغرو وساحل العاج وليتوانيا لاتفاقية أو اتفاقيتين منهما، في حين سنت كل من جورجيا وغامبيا وكولومبيا التشريعات اللازمة التي تؤهلها للانضمام. وكان الهدف من حملة الاحتفال بالذكرى الستين لاتفاقية 1954 دعم تحقيق مزيد من هذا الزخم.

خطوات إيجابية

على المعنيين اتخاذ الإجراءات الوقائية لتفادي المواقف المحتملة للحرمان الجماعي من حق الجنسية ولضمان اتخاذ الدول خطوات جديدة فعّالة عقب انضمامها للاتفاقية لا تُسفر عن مشاكل انعدام الجنسية على سبيل المثال. وعلاوة على ذلك، يجب تعديل قوانين الجنسية والإجراءات الإدارية لتحظر ممارسات التمييز العنصري وتضمن إتباع إجراءات أمنية تحول دون ظهور حالات انعدام الجنسية ولاسيما بين الأطفال.ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، شددت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين على تقديم النصيحة التقنية وتعزيز الإصلاحات القانونية في 2012 و2013 سعياً لمعالجة الثغرات القائمة في قوانين منح الجنسية والتشريعات المتصلة بها في 56 دولة وخاصة من منظور المساواة الجندرية وحماية الأطفال. وما زال ثمة سبعة وعشرون دولة تمارس التمييز ضد المرأة بعدم السماح للأمهات بمنح جنسيتهن لأطفالهن أسوة بالآباء، إلا أن كينيا والسنغال وتونس تمكنت جميعها من تعديل تشريعات الجنسية لديها في السنوات الأخيرة لتضمن بذلك تحقيق المساواة الجندرية مما سيزيل العقبات أمام النساء المتعلقة بجنسيتهن.

فاتخاذ الإجراءات البسيطة، مثل: التسجيل المدني، مصحوباً بالتعديلات التشريعية آليات غير كافية لاكتساب الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية حق المواطنة. ففي حالة ملايين الأفراد حول العالم، الحصول على شهادات ميلاد، التي تعد أمراً اعتيادياً لدى كثير منا، حلم ومفتاح التمتع بمستقبل أفضل. ويتضح ذلك جلياً على وجه كل فرد فخور بحصوله على شهادة ميلاد في كل من تايلاند والفلبين أثناء تنفيذ إجراءات الاعتراف بحقوقهم مؤخراً.

فتسجيل المواليد خاصة لا يعالج المخاوف بشأن حقوق حماية الطفل وحسب، ولكنه يمتد لقضايا انعدام الجنسية وإعادة الإدماج أيضاً. وقد نفذ كل من جورجيا والاتحاد الروسي تعهدات بشأن احترام أنظمة التسجيل المدني والتوثيق وسيبقى تسجيل المواليد من أولويات مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين.

ونظراً لعدم امتلاك الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية في معظم الأحيان وثائق شخصية مما يسقطهم من عمليات التعداد السكاني ويجعلهم غير مرئيين، صار تحديد مقدار حالات انعدام الجنسية عقبة جسيمة على طريق معالجة هذه القضية. ولكن، لا يجب أن نغفل التقدم المحرز بهذا الصدد عندما نرى دولاً تشرع في أبحاث ودراسات مسحية وتقدم تقارير بشأن قضية انعدام الجنسية على أراضيها. ولعل الفلبين من الدول التي تتصدر المشهد بهذا الشأن، في حين وضعت عدد من الدول، مثل: جورجيا ومولدوفا والمملكة المتحدة، إجراءات تحديد انعدام الجنسية لتحسين آليات التعرف على الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية وتقديم الحماية لهم. وطالما دعت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين لوضع إجراءات تحديد انعدام الجنسية بسيطة ولكن فعّالة وقدمت الإرشاد التقني بهذا الصدد في 39 دولة من بينها الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والبرازيل وأوروغواي وكوستاريكا وبنما.

تقليل حالات انعدام الجنسية

أحرزت كثير من الدول، مثل: ساحل العاج، وجمهورية قيرغيزستان وتركمانستان وسريلانكا وبنغلاديش والاتحاد الروسي تقدماً ملحوظاً في حل مشاكل انعدام الجنسية طويلة الأجل من خلال منح الجنسية للأشخاص معدومي الجنسية. وقد ازداد عدد الدول المدركة للخسائر المترتبة على مشاكل انعدام الجنسية فيما يخص قضايا حقوق الإنسان وتباطؤ النمو والتنمية والتنوع الاجتماعي التي تؤدي في حالات استثنائية إلى نشوب النزاع في أراضي البلاد. وهكذا، تبنت عدد من الدول مبادرة لتعديل قوانين منح الجنسية لديها وسياساتها المتبعة في ذلك خلال العقد الأخير. فعلى سبيل المثال، اعترفت بنغلاديش بحق المواطنة لكثير ممن كانوا سابقاً معدومي الجنسية، بينما تتخذ ساحل العاج خطوات مهمة على طريق حل أوضاع انعدام الجنسية المُطوَّلة عندها وتسعى لمنع نشوء أجيال جديدة من الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية.

ومن الأمور المحفزة أن نلاحظ الاهتمام الكبير بين المنظمات غير الحكومية لحشد الجهود للقضاء على قضية انعدام الجنسية. وفي ظل مثل هذا الاهتمام المجتمعي المدني الناشئ والمتزايد، تلتزم مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بدعم حركة المجتمع المدني على صعيد عالمي التي تركز على ضمان قدر أكبر من الخطوات الفعالة للتصدي لقضية انعدام الجنسية. وسعياً لتحقيق هذا الغرض، ستستمر مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في تسهيل إجراءات التراجع السنوي لحالات انعدام الجنسية التي تجمع مشاركين ينتمون لما لا يقل عن 25 منظمة غير حكومية لتعزيز التنسيق بين منظمات المجتمع المدني سعياً لتقوية شبكة شركاء المجتمع المدني المعنيين بقضية انعدام الجنسية وتوسيع هذه الشبكة.

وفي السنوات الأخيرة، زادت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين على نحو ملحوظ من أنشطتها لمكافحة قضية انعدام الجنسية مدعومة بالمبادرات القانونية، مثل: وضع مبادئ توجيهية تحدد الإطار المناسب لمنح الجنسية للأطفال[i] ودليلاً بشأن حماية الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية. وتهتم المفوضية أيضاً بوضع برامج العون القانوني لمساعدة الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية ليتمتعوا بالحقوق المدنية وليمتلكوا وثائق هوية من خلال توفير الخدمات وبذل جهود الدعم للأشخاص معدومي الجنسية سعياً منها لتغيير القوانين والسياسات المتبعة في 25 دولة.

وعلى الصعيد العالمي، تعمل مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين جنباً إلى جنب مع منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسيف) على القضايا المتعلقة بتسجيل المواليد في الوقت الذي تسعى فيه لتعزيز آليات التنسيق بين فرق دول الأمم المتحدة المعنيين بقضايا انعدام الجنسية، ويمكن لمس أمثلة جيدة لمثل هذا التعاون في الإجراءات المشتركة المتخذة لحل قضية انعدام الجنسية المُطوَّلة في قيرغيزستان والمشورة التقنية المقدمة للجمعية التأسيسية في نيبال.

وما زلنا نشهد تطوراً ملموساً في محاولات التصدي لقضية انعدام الجنسية من خلال بحث الدول عن أساليب جديدة ومبتكرة للاشتراك في هذه المحاولات التي تظهر في جهود الولايات المتحدة، على سبيل المثال، لمناصرة حقوق الإنسان في جميع المحافل ودعم الدول الأخرى لتقليل حالات انعدام الجنسية لديها والتي تظهر أيضاً في تقديم المجر للمشورة التقنية لمجموعة من الدول بهذا الصدد. إلا أن الحقائق تشير إلى وجود ما لا يقل عن 20 حالة تشتمل كل منها على ما لا يقل عن 25000 شخص يعانون من انعدام الجنسية لأكثر من قرن.

وقد شنت هذا العام مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين حملة تشتمل على مجموعة من الحوارات مع مجموعات من الأشخاص معدومي الجنسية ونشر شهاداتهم ونشر مجموعة من الممارسات الجيدة وأعمال المنتدى العالمي الأول المعني بقضية انعدام الجنسية والاجتماعات الحكومية الدولية الوطنية والإقليمية. وتهدف الحملة للتصدي خلال العشر سنوات القادمة لظاهرة انعدام الجنسية التي تستمر في إفراز أشخاص غير مرئيين قانونياً ومعرضين لممارسات التمييز العنصري والاستغلال والتحرش وعدد من تحديات الحماية الأخرى.

 

فولكر تورك turk@unhcr.org مدير مكتب الحماية الدولية في المقر الرئيسي لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في جنيف. www.unhcr.org



[i]المبادئ التوجيهية بشأن انعدام الجنسية رقم 4: ضمان حق كل طفل في اكتساب الجنسية في المواد من 1-4 التي تنص عليها اتفاقية 1961 بشأن خفض حالات انعدام الجنسية. www.refworld.org/docid/50d460c72.html

(Guidelines on Statelessness No. 4: Ensuring Every Child's Right to Acquire a Nationality through Articles 1-4 of the 1961 Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness )

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The status of statelessness 60 years on

The 60th anniversary of the 1954 Convention on the Status of Stateless Persons is an opportunity to draw attention to the human face of statelessness, and to increase awareness of the impact of this issue on both the lives of individuals and societies more broadly.

There is a cruel contradiction in a world of nation-states in which millions of individuals are not recognised as belonging to any state. Sixty years ago, the international community agreed on the first international treaty regulating the status of stateless persons (to which 80 states are now party) and in 1961 on the Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness. Yet the scourge of statelessness persists, affecting the lives of individuals and communities the world over.

To be stateless is to not be considered as a national by any state under the operation of its law. Amongst many other things, a nationality entitles an individual to the full protection of a state. To be stateless therefore often implies a denial of the most basic rights, a denial of the documentation required to secure these rights and of many other elements that are necessary to lead a normal life. It also means being shunned and discriminated against, and the added pressure of passing that stigma on to children and future generations.

This is not to say that stateless people do not have ties to a particular country. However, as a result of state action or inaction, because of gaps in laws and procedures or simply because of an unfortunate convergence of circumstances, they have fallen through the cracks. This is almost always by no fault of their own.

In order to ensure every person has a nationality, UNHCR places great emphasis on promoting accession to the 1961 Convention, providing technical advice on the application of the Conventions and relevant human rights standards. However, where obstacles remain, we work towards stateless persons being granted a legal residence status similar to that enjoyed by refugees, allowing them to access basic services. This is why UNHCR is also committed to promoting accession to the 1954 Convention, which regulates the treatment of stateless persons.

Since 2011 there have been an unprecedented 33 accessions to the two statelessness Conventions, with 22 states across four continents acceding to one or both of the Conventions. Most recently, Hungary and Mexico have withdrawn reservations to the 1954 Convention; Peru, Montenegro, Côte d’Ivoire and Lithuania have all acceded to one or both of the Conventions; and Georgia, Gambia and Colombia have passed the requisite legislation for accession. The intention is that the campaign to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the 1954 Convention will further bolster this momentum.

Positive steps

Preventive action needs to be taken to avert potential instances of mass deprivation of nationality and to ensure new situations of state succession, for example, do not result in statelessness. Further, nationality laws and administrative procedures must be reformed to eliminate discrimination and ensure that adequate safeguards are in place to prevent statelessness, particularly among children. To this end, UNHCR intensified the provision of technical advice and promotion of legal reforms in 2012 and 2013 to address gaps in nationality and related legislation in 56 states, notably from a gender equality and child protection perspective. Twenty-seven countries continue to discriminate against women by failing to allow mothers to confer their nationality on their children on an equal basis with fathers – but Kenya, Senegal and Tunisia have all amended their nationality legislation in recent years to affirm gender equality and thus removed the bars to the passing on by women of nationality.

Simple measures such as civil registration, combined with legislative reform, are invaluable tools in the acquisition of citizenship for stateless persons. For millions of people around the world, birth certificates – that many of us take for granted – are a dream and a key for a better future. This is poignantly evident in the proud face of every person who receives a birth certificate in Thailand and the Philippines during a recent distribution.

Birth registration, in particular, addresses not only child protection concerns but also statelessness and reintegration issues. Both Georgia and the Russian Federation have implemented pledges in respect of civil registration and documentation systems, and birth registration will continue to be a priority for UNHCR.

Since stateless people are often without personal documentation, and therefore uncounted and unseen, identifying the magnitude of stateless situations has been a considerable obstacle in addressing this issue. But there is some progress here, with states pledging to undertake studies and surveys, and to report on the issue of statelessness. The Philippines is leading the way in this regard, and a number of countries, including Georgia, Moldova and the UK, have established statelessness determination procedures to improve the identification and protection of stateless persons. UNHCR has advocated for and provided technical advice on the need to institute simple but effective statelessness determination procedures in 39 states, including the US, Brazil, Uruguay, Costa Rica and Panama.

Reducing statelessness

Many countries including Côte d’Ivoire, the Kyrgyz Republic, Turkmenistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and the Russian Federation have made considerable progress in resolving long-standing situations of statelessness by granting nationality to stateless populations. Increasingly, governments have recognised the cost of statelessness in terms of human rights, slower growth and development and social diversity, which in extreme cases has led to conflict. Consequently, a number of states have taken the initiative to reform their nationality laws and policies over the last decade. Bangladesh, for example, has recognised the citizenship of large numbers of people who had previously been stateless, while Côte d’Ivoire is taking important steps to resolve the protracted stateless situation there and prevent further generations of stateless persons.

It is extremely encouraging to note the greater interest among NGOs to rally behind the cause of ending statelessness. With this growing civil society interest, UNHCR is committed to supporting the establishment of a global civil society movement focused on ensuring greater action on statelessness. To this end, UNHCR will continue to facilitate an annual retreat on statelessness, which brings together participants from at least 25 NGOs to promote coordination amongst civil society organisations, with the objective of strengthening and expanding the network of civil society partners working on the issue of statelessness.

In recent years, UNHCR has considerably increased its activities relating to statelessness, supported by legal initiatives such as developing guidelines setting out the applicable framework on nationality of children,[1] and a Handbook on the Protection of Stateless Persons. It also runs legal aid programmes to assist stateless persons with civil status and identity documentation, providing stateless persons with access to services and supporting efforts for change in laws and policies on civil documentation in 25 countries.

At the global level UNHCR works closely with UNICEF on matters relating to birth registration, whilst working to strengthen the coordination of UN Country Teams on issues of statelessness; particularly good examples of such coordination can be found in joint action to resolve protracted statelessness in Kyrgyzstan and technical advice provided to Nepal’s Constituent Assembly.

We continue to see solid progress in the endeavour to eradicate statelessness, including by states finding new and innovative ways of engaging in the debate, for example through efforts of the US to advocate in human rights fora for action by other states to reduce statelessness, or technical advice provided by Hungary to a range of states. The fact remains, however, that there are still at least 20 situations in which populations of more than 25,000 people have been stateless for over a decade.

This year UNHCR launches a campaign which includes a series of dialogues with groups of stateless persons, the dissemination of testimonies, the publication of a collection of good practices, the first Global Forum on Statelessness, and regional and national inter-governmental meetings. The campaign aims to eliminate, within the next ten years, the phenomenon of statelessness which continues to render a legally invisible population liable to discrimination, exploitation, harassment and a host of other protection challenges.

 

Volker Türk turk@unhcr.org is Director of International Protection at UNHCR Headquarters in Geneva. www.unhcr.org

 

[1] Guidelines on Statelessness No. 4: Ensuring Every Child's Right to Acquire a Nationality through Articles 1-4 of the 1961 Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness www.refworld.org/docid/50d460c72.html

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview