إعادة تأطير الحلول للاجئين الأفغان

يجب أن تُصاغ البرامج وجهود حشد الدعم الإقليمية المعنية باللاجئين الأفغان على نحو يدعم مشاكل التَّهجير المُطوَّل ويستجيب لها بدلاً من محاولات إيجاد "حلول" لها.

ما زال الأفغان يمثلون حتى يومنا هذا أكثر سكان العالم تعرضاً لأوضاع اللجوء المُطوَّل؛ فما زلت باكستان وإيران تستضيفان نحو 2.5 مليون لاجئ أفغاني مُسجل إضافة إلى اللاجئين غير المسجلين الذين يناهزون هذا العدد والذين يٌتوقع تواجدهم أيضاً في كلتا الدولتين. ويعيش نحو 75% من الأفغان في المنفى لأكثر من ثلاثة عقود، ولم يُساهم الاحتجاز المُطول في زيادة قدرة كثير من اللاجئين الأفغان على الاندماج في مجتمعاتهم المُضيفة. حتى إن كثيراً منهم يرون تدهور أوضاعهم الإنسانية تماماً بزيادة مدة تهجيرهم مما أفقد كثيراً من اللاجئين الأفغان رغبتهم في العودة إلى ديارهم.[i]وتعتقد الغالبية العظمى منهم أن احتمالية وجود أي بادرة أمل في إيجاد حل دائم لمشكلة تهجيرهم غير واقعية وبعيدة المنال.[ii]

وعليه، تستلزم معالجة احتياجات اللاجئين الأفغان في أوقات التَّهجير المُطوَّل استجابة تنموية في المقام الأول إلا أنها قد تبدو متنافية مع الأنشطة الإنسانية. ورأب هذه الثغرة بين الاستجابات الإنسانية اللازمة لتلبية الاحتياجات العاجلة للاجئين الأفغان ومتطلبات التنمية طويلة الأجل عند هذه المجتمعات المحلية من التحديات الكبيرة أمام صانعي السياسات الدولية ومقدمي المساعدات على حد سواء.

تحدي إيجاد الحلول الدائمة

جرت العادة على تأطير الاستجابة للاجئين الأفغان ضمن البحث عن "حلول". ولا تعد بالضرورة المناهج التقليدية في تقديم المساعدات القائمة على الإغاثة الإنسانية وحدها الاستجابة المناسبة لأوضاع اللاجئين المُطوَّلة. ولهذا، من الأهمية بمكان أن تدرك الجهات الفاعلة المعنية بالاستجابة الإنسانية والجهات المانحة وصانعو السياسات الدولية السمات الخاصة بأوضاع اللاجئين الأفغان وأن تُوظف هذا الفهم في كلتا الدولتين المضيفتين، إيران وباكستان، وداخل أفغانستان أيضاً ولا سيما فيما يتعلق بدعم اللاجئين العائدين إلى ديارهم.

وقد اشتملت جهود مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين الأخيرة لطرح استراتيجية شاملة لمعالجة قضية اللاجئين الأفغان على تحديات عديدة ارتبطت بمحاولات إيجاد مناهج شاملة ومتكاملة يمكن تطبيقها في بيئات إقليمية مسيسة علناً وتتسم بتعقيدات أمنية عالية. وتعد استراتيجية الحلول الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان الإقليمية[iii] محاولة مهمة لوضع إطار استجابة مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين وحكومات أفغانستان وإيران وباكستان لمعالجة جميع جوانب التَّهجير المُطوَّل في المنطقة. وتقر الاستراتيجية أن قضايا التنمية والمساعدات الإنسانية غالباً وأن ثمة قدر من التردد لدى الجهات الفاعلة في كلا الجانبين بشأن التعاون مع الجانب الآخر.

ومع ذلك، ما زال تطبيق مثل هذه المناهج تحدياً. فعلى أرض الواقع، يُطبق إطار الحلول الدائمة التقليدي، من خلال برامج الإعادة إلى الديار أو العودة والانتقال والاندماج المحلي، بتشديد التركيز على التعامل مع العودة كأنها الحل الدائم العملي الوحيد. وهكذا، يخلق "تحيّز العودة" هذا حساسية لدى هيئات الاستجابة الساعية لتطبيق تدخلات المساعدات طويلة الأجل بالتعاون مع الحكومات المضيفة التي تتعامل مع هذه الجهود بوصفها مكافئة لجهود الاندماج المحلي.

ومن ناحية أخرى، صار من المسلمات الشائعة رؤية أن لاتجاه العودة أثراً سلبياً جداً على جهود التنمية عموماً. فقد أضافت عودة ما يزيد على خمسة ملايين لاجئ منذ 2002 ضغوطاً جسيمة على المجتمعات المحلية وما زال ثمة عقبات شديدة حتى الآن تحول دون إعادة شرائح كبيرة من هؤلاء العائدين إلى ديارهم الأصلية جراء ضعف إمكانات أفغانستان لاستيعابهم واستمرار أوضاع الانفلات الأمني ومحدودية مخصصات التنمية لمناطق واسعة داخل الدولة. ومع مثل هذه الآثار المترتبة على الانتقال وغياب الأمن، يبقى حل العودة خياراً غير عملي عند كثير من الأفغان المهجرين. وعلى أساس هذه الخلفية، تستمر المنظمات الإنسانية في السير على طريق تطبيق برنامج الاستجابة للاجئين الأفغان الذين كثيراً ما يواجهون خطر بعث رسائل مشوشة إزاء حوار الحلول الدائمة ما يقوض من العلاقات مع الحكومات المضيفة في كل من باكستان وإيران.

أوضاع اللاجئين الإقليمية والبيئة السياساتية

يطرح منهج الاستجابة الإقليمية فرصاً لتحسين مستويات التعاون الإقليمي أمام جميع الجهات الفاعلة الرامية لمعاجلة أوضاع التَّهجير المُطوَّل المستمرة التي يجابهها اللاجئون الأفغان. وقد وضعت استراتيجية الحلول الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان إطار سياسات لتعمل بداخله الدول الثلاثة. فسياسياً، يؤكد هذا المنهج على أن خيار العودة هو الهدف الأول المطروح ضمن الحلول الدائمة فهو من الناحية العملية يدعم تحسين تدخلات البرامج في جميع الدول الثلاثة ويدفعها لتهيئة الظروف لضمان عودة اللاجئين الدائمة وبلوغ أهداف إعادة الإدماج على نحو أفضل في حالة من عادوا فعلياً إلى ديارهم في أفغانستان.

وتشتمل التغييرات الإيجابية الأخرى على التزامات جديدة تجاه الإبقاء على قضية اللاجئين الأفغان من أولى أولويات مجتمع الجهات المانحة الدولية وجعلها اهتماماً متجدداً عند إرساء براهين أفضل تعزز فهم أوضاع الاستضعاف التي يجابهها اللاجئون الأفغان ومعالجتها وعند وضع برامج ذات استراتيجيات وأساليب تدخل مناسبة. ويعطي هذا بدوره مساحة لتشجيع تعاون التدخلات الإنسانية مع مناهج التنمية وإعادة تأطير جهود الإغاثة التي تبذلها المنظمات الإنسانية مما يدعم نتائج التنمية النهائية على نحو أفضل.

وتشتمل الجوانب السلبية على التحيز الدائم للعودة وغياب الالتزامات الحقيقية من قبل إيران وباكستان تجاه: أ) وضع إجراءات بقاء بديلة للاجئين المسجلين بوصفها جزءاً من مجموعة خيارات الحلول الدائمة المطروحة، وب) معالجة قضية اللاجئين غير المسجلين/غير الحاملين للوثائق الرسمية على نحو مناسب، وج) تقديم الحماية والمساعدة للاجئين الأفغان غير المسجلين والمستضعفين.

وعلى المنظمات الإنسانية الباذلة لجهود الاستجابة لقضايا اللاجئين الأفغان حالياً العمل قدر استطاعتها لإعادة تأطير أهداف البرنامج واستراتيجياته المتعلقة باستراتيجية الحلول الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان وتسليط الضوء على الاحتياجات الإنسانية الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان الذين يعيشون في أوضاع تهجير مُطوَّلة إضافة إلى ضرورة تشجيع الجهات المانحة على دعم المناهج الجديدة المعززة للاعتماد على النفس وتخفض من التبعية.

وثمة عدد من الخطوات الرئيسية التي يمكن أن تتخذها المنظمات غير الحكومية الإنسانية لتصبح قادرة على معالجة قضايا اللاجئين الأفغان الذين يجابهون التَّهجير المُطوَّل وتقديم الدعم لهم، مثل:

  • مناصرة البرامج التي تقودها المجتمعات المحلية

لا ينبغي للمنظمات الإنسانية أن تسعى (أو تطالب) "بحل" مشكلة التَّهجير المُطوَّل ولا أن تروّج لبعض الحلول الدائمة، بل عليها طرح أساليب واقعية ومبتكرة لمعاجلة هذه المشكلة بطرق تركز على المنتفعين ويقودها المجتمع المحلي.[iv]ويجب أن يكون هدف الترويج لآليات الاعتماد على النفس مبدأ أساسي من مبادئ البرنامج وأن يُستخدم التعلم وجهود حشد الدعم للتغلب على عزوف الحكومات المضيفة التي تميل لربط الاعتماد على النفس بالاندماج ومنح الجنسية.

ويعد الترويج الفعال أيضاَ لبرامج الاستجابة لقضايا اللاجئين مع المجتمعات المضيفة والسلطات المحلية والحكومات الوطنية من الأمور المهمة لما له من دور في زيادة الوعي بأهمية دعم اللاجئين الأفغان المقيمين في المجتمعات المضيفة منذ مدة طويلة من خلال التدخلات التي قد ترتقي بمستويات الاندماج والمشاركة الفعالة، مثل: دعم سُبل العيش المجتمعية. وللتخلص من المفهوم العالق بشدة في أذهان المجتمعات المحلية والحكومات الوطنية بأن اللاجئين الأفغان عبء على كاهلهم، يجب أن تمكِّن نماذج البرامج المبتكرة اللاجئين الأفغان من أداء مساهمات مثمرة للمجتمعات المحلية عموماً، فهذه المناهج المجتمعية من شأنها دفع عجلة النمو الاقتصادي المحلي ولن تستلزم، إذا ما أجريت على نحو سليم، الاشتمال على أهداف العودة والإعادة الأطول أجلاً.

  • إعلام الجهات المانحة بالممارسات الناجحة

قد يشتمل الترويج لأشكال بديلة من الدعم المقدم للاجئين الأفغان ضمن تيارات التمويل الإنسانية الأكثر تعقيداً على رفع مستوى التركيز على الأنشطة المدرة للدخل وسُبل العيش والخطط النقدية و/أو برامج الدعم بالقسائم إضافة إلى زيادة الدعم المقدم للمجتمعات المضيفة. ويمكن أن تمتاز البرامج التعليمية وبرامج التدريب المهني المهتمة بالأبعاد عبر الحدودية (مثل: المهارات واعتماد المناهج التعليمية) بأن لها أثراً مزدوجاً من حيث دعم اللاجئين وتعزيز فرص سوق العمل المتاحة المطروحة أمامهم أثناء تهجيرهم من ناحية وتلبية أهداف الحكومات المضيفة المتعلقة بخطط العودة والإعادة من ناحية أخرى.

  • حماية الحصول على الحقوق

في ظل التركيز على زيادة مظاهر الاعتماد على النفس من خلال مناهج البرمجة، تبقى معالجة الحقوق الرسمية للاجئين الأفغان والعائدين والاستجابة لها ذات أهمية قصوى. ولن يتأنى للاجئين الأفغان بلوغ مستويات مرتفعة من الاعتماد على النفس إلا بمنحهم جميع الحقوق التي تنص عليها اتفاقية 1951 بما فيها حق الحصول على العمل وحرية التنقل. ويمكن إيصال هذه المبادئ الأساسية للحكومات المضيفة وتشجيعها على زيادة تقبلها لها بإتباع أساليب إيجابية ومتماشية مع الأوضاع مما يُساهم في توضيح قيمة تحسين الظروف القائمة وتقليل مسببات الاستضعاف.

  • زيادة المناصرة الفعالة

من المهم أيضاً أن تضمن الجهات الفاعلة المعنية بالاستجابة الإنسانية أن تحظى المناقشات بشأن أوضاع التَّهجير المُطوَّل باهتمام أكبر في جدول أعمال الجهات الفاعلة الإنمائية والجهات المانحة الدولية. ويُحتمل أن يساعد تيسير آليات التفاعل بين الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية والإنمائية على تشجيع توفير الخدمات للاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة بطرق تتحاشى نشوء الأنظمة الموازية وتدعم الإرادة السياسية على نحو أكبر مما "يفك خناق" أوضاع التهجير المطول عن اللاجئين. وتعد المبادئ التوجيهية المتعلقة بالمحاور الإنسانية الخاصة بالاستجابة لأوضاع اللاجئين في أوقات التهجير المطول، والمعنية بتحديد أفضل الأماكن التي يجب أن يبدأ بها تقديم الدعم وأن يتداخل وأن ينتهي بين الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية والإنمائية،.مساهمة نافعة ومهمة للمناقشات الجارية حالياً بين الجهات المانحة.

  • مراعاة الجوانب الإقليمية

بمقدور استراتيجية الحلول الخاصة باللاجئين الأفغان الإقليمية دعم الجهود المبذولة لزيادة الوعي بمنافع إدراك الروابط الحدودية بين أفغانستان وإيران وباكستان وتحديدها والاستفادة منها لمعرفة كيف ستتفاعل تدخلات البرامج المستقبلية وما هي آثارها الإيجابية على حياة اللاجئين الأفغان والعائدين. ويمكن بذل جهود جديدة على نحو خاص في تطوير استجابات البرامج المبتكرة لمشاكل التَّهجير المُطوَّل في المناطق الحضرية في جميع أرجاء المنطقة.

الخلاصة

حتى يومنا هذا، كانت المبالغة في الاعتماد على التدخلات الإنسانية سمة الاستجابة لأوضاع اللاجئين الأفغان وقلصت جهود إيجاد الحلول الدائمة والمستمرة. وما زال الاهتمام الدولي المتزايد بأوضاع اللاجئين الأفغان المُطوَّلة والتحديات أمام عودة اللاجئين إلى ديارهم من الأولويات الرئيسية التي تتطلب تجديد التركيز عليها باستمرار. ويجب أن تكون مثل هذه المناهج راسخة ضمن أساسيات البرامج وأن تنأى عن أي ترويج علني لحلول دائمة محددة. ويجب أن تُصاغ البرامج وجهود حشد الدعم الإقليمية المعنية باللاجئين الأفغان على نحو يدعم قضية التَّهجير المُطوَّل ويستجيب لها بدلاً من محاولات إيجاد "حلول" لها.

فتطوير مثل هذه المناهج الجديدة وتعزيزها مهم في الانتقال من الرعاية والإعالة إلى مزيد من التمكين والمشاركة في تقديم المساعدة. ولن تكون المناقشات السياساتية داخل المجتمع الإنساني في جميع أرجاء المنطقة بهدف تحسين التعرف على مبادرات البرامج الداعمة للاعتماد على النفس ضمان الحصول على دعم مالي أطول أجلاً وحسب ولكنها ستؤكد أيضاً للحكومات المضيفة في إيران وباكستان أن زيادة الاعتماد على النفس لا تعني الاندماج المحلي لتؤدي بذلك دوراً مهماً في تعزيز آمال احتمالية العودة الطوعية عندما تسمح الظروف بذلك.

 

دان تايلر dan.tyler@nrc.no مستشار الحماية وحشد الدعم الإقليمي، مجلس اللاجئين النرويجي. www.nrc.no



[i] سوزان شميدل (2012) "التَّهجير المُطوَّل في أفغانستان: هل سيعيد التاريخ نفسه؟" في كالابريس ج. وماريت ج-ل (محرران)، التعاون عبر الأطلسي بشأن التهجير المُطول: حاجة ملحة وفرصة فريدة."

Susanne Schmeidl (2012) ‘Protracted Displacement in Afghanistan: Will History be Repeated?’ in Calabrese J and Marret J-L (Eds) Transatlantic Cooperation on Protracted Displacement: Urgent Need and Unique Opportunity.

[ii]اوين ماكلويد (2008) "اللاجئون الأفغان في إيران وباكستان"، لوشر ج.، وميلنر ج.، ونيومان إ.، وترولير ج. (محررون)، أوضاع اللاجئين المُطوَّلة: المضمونات السياسية والحقوقية والأمنية". مطبعة جامعة الأمم المتحدة.

Ewen Macleod (2008) ‘Afghan refugees in Iran and Pakistan’ in Loescher G, Milner J, Newman E and Troeller G (Eds)Protracted Refugee Situations: Political, human rights and security implications. United Nations University Press.

[iii]www.unhcr.org/afghanistan/solutions-strategy.pdf

انظر أيضاً مقالة Natta PFM  "ص.ص. 12-14

[iv] لونج ك. (2011) "هل هي أزمات دائمة? فك خناق التَّهجير المُطوَّل عن اللاجئين والنازحين داخلياً"، سلسلة إحاطات السياسات، مركز دراسات اللاجئين، RSC/NRC/IDMC/NUPI

http://tinyurl.com/RSC-2011-Long-PRS

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Reframing solutions for Afghan refugees

Regional programming and advocacy in relation to Afghan refugees should be framed around supporting and responding to, rather than ‘solving’, protracted displacement.

Afghans continue today to represent the world’s largest protracted refugee situation, with Pakistan and Iran still hosting some 2.5 million Afghan registered refugees, with equivalent numbers of unregistered refugees also expected to be present in both host countries. Some 75% have been in exile for over three decades, and for many Afghan refugees the prolonged nature of their exile has not increased their ability to integrate into their host communities. Many are actually seeing their humanitarian conditions deteriorate as their period of displacement lengthens and there is currently little incentive for Afghan refugees to return.[1] For the vast majority, the prospect of a durable solution to their displacement remains unrealistic and distant.[2]

Addressing the needs of Afghan refugees in protracted displacement appears to require a distinctly development-oriented response, which can seem at odds with humanitarian activities. Bridging this gap between the humanitarian responses required to meet the immediate needs of Afghan refugees and the longer-term development requirements of these communities is one of the great challenges for international policymakers and assistance providers alike.

The durable solutions challenge

The response to Afghan refugees is almost always framed within the search for ‘solutions’. Yet traditional approaches to assistance based on humanitarian relief alone do not necessarily constitute the appropriate response to protracted refugee situations. For humanitarian response actors, along with international donors and policymakers, it is therefore important to understand the particular character of the Afghan refugee situation and apply this understanding across the two hosting countries, Iran and Pakistan, and also within Afghanistan in relation to supporting returning refugees.

UNHCR’s recent efforts to facilitate a comprehensive strategy to addressing Afghan refugees has illustrated many of the challenges attached to achieving comprehensive and integrated approaches in an overly politicised and highly complex regional security environment. The regional Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees (SSAR)[3] marks an important attempt to elaborate a response framework by UNHCR and the Governments of Afghanistan, Iran and Pakistan to address all facets of protracted displacement in the region. The strategy acknowledges that development and humanitarian issues remain mostly compartmentalised and that there is a level of trepidation from actors on both sides about engaging with each other.

Yet operationalising such approaches remains challenging. The traditional durable solutions framework – repatriation or return, resettlement, and local integration – is in reality applied with a firm focus on return as the only viable durable solution. This ‘return bias’ creates sensitivities for response agencies that seek to implement longer-term assistance interventions in interacting with host governments who understandably perceive such efforts to equate to local integration by default.

In Afghanistan, however, the return bias is widely acknowledged to have had a very adverse impact on overall development efforts. The return of over five million refugees since 2002 has placed huge pressure on local communities, and serious obstacles to repatriation remain today for large segments of this returnee population owing to the weak absorptive capacity of the Afghan state, ongoing insecurity and the limited development dividends reaching large swathes of the country. With the full impact of the transition and security handover uncertain, return remains an unviable option for many displaced Afghans. Against this backdrop, humanitarian agencies continue to navigate a programme response for Afghan refugees that is frequently at risk of sending mixed messages vis-à-vis the durable solutions debate, compromising relationships with host governments in both Pakistan and Iran.

Regional refugee context and policy environment

A regional response approach offers opportunities for improved levels of regional cooperation for all actors seeking to address the ongoing protracted displacement situation for Afghan refugees. The SSAR has now established a policy framework for the three countries to work within. Politically, this reaffirms return as the primary objective in relation to durable solutions; practically, it promotes improved programming interventions in all three countries towards creating conditions for sustainable return and achieving improved reintegration prospects for those who have already returned to Afghanistan.

Additional positive changes include new commitments to keeping Afghan refugees high on the agenda of the international donor community and a renewed interest in building improved evidence bases for understanding and addressing Afghan refugees’ vulnerabilities and designing appropriate programme strategies and interventions. This creates space for encouraging the combining of humanitarian interventions with development approaches and reframing the relief interventions of humanitarian agencies to better support eventual development outcomes.

Negative aspects include the ongoing return bias and the absence of genuine commitments by Iran and Pakistan to a) include alternative stay arrangements for registered refugees as part of the package of durable solution options, b) adequately address the issue of unregistered/undocumented refugee populations and c) provide protection and assistance for vulnerable unregistered Afghan refugees.

Humanitarian agencies working on Afghan refugee response efforts need now as much as possible to reframe programme objectives and strategies in relation to the SSAR, highlight the ongoing humanitarian needs of Afghan refugees living in protracted situations, and encourage donors to support new approaches that promote self-reliance and reduce dependency.

There are a number of key steps that humanitarian NGOs can take to help address and support Afghan refugees in protracted displacement:

  • Make the case for community-driven programmes

Humanitarian agencies should not seek (nor claim) to ‘solve’ protracted displacement, nor promote specific durable solutions, but rather offer pragmatic and innovative means to addressing the problem in ways that are beneficiary-oriented and community-driven.[4] Promoting self-reliance should be a core programming principle, and learning and advocacy should be used to help overcome the reluctance of host governments who tend to associate self-reliance with integration and naturalisation.

It is also important to communicate effectively about refugee response programmes to host communities, local authorities and national governments to increase awareness of the importance of supporting long-standing Afghan refugees with interventions that promote improved levels of engagement and active participation, such as community-based livelihoods support. To dispel the perception increasingly held by host communities and national governments that Afghan refugee populations are a burden, innovative programming models need to empower Afghan refugees to make productive contributions to communities as a whole; such community-based approaches can spur on local economic growth and, if well communicated, do not need to compromise longer-term return and repatriation goals.

  • Tell donors what works

Promoting alternative forms of support to Afghan refugees within more restrictive humanitarian funding streams could include greater focus on income-generating activities, livelihood and cash- and/or voucher-based schemes, as well as greater support to host communities. Education and vocational training programmes that emphasise cross-border dimensions (such as skills and curricula certification) can have the dual effect of supporting and enabling refugees to enhance their own labour market opportunities in displacement, while at the same time meeting host government objectives related to return and repatriation.

  • Protect access to rights

While focusing on increased self-reliance through programming approaches, addressing and responding to the formal rights of Afghan refugees and returnees remains of paramount importance. The ability of Afghan refugees to achieve greater levels of self-reliance can only be realised if there is adequate access to the full package of rights enshrined in the 1951 Convention, including access to work and freedom of movement. Communicating this rationale and encouraging improved acceptance of this by host governments can be done in positive and context-sensitive ways that illustrate the value of improving conditions and reducing vulnerabilities.

  • Do more effective advocacy

Equally important for humanitarian response actors is to ensure that discussions of protracted displacement situations gain greater prominence on the agenda of development actors and international donors. Facilitating improved interaction between humanitarian and development actors has the potential to encourage the delivery of services to refugees and host communities in ways that avoid parallel systems and promote greater political will to ‘unlock’ protracted refugee situations. Guidelines in relation to humanitarian parameters on responding to protracted refugee situations – clearly identifying and articulating where support should start, overlap and end between humanitarian and development actors – would be a useful and important contribution to the donor discussion currently underway.

  • Think regionally

The regional SSAR can help support efforts to build greater awareness around the benefits of understanding, identifying and utilising cross-border linkages across Afghanistan, Iran and Pakistan to see how future programming interventions interact and have positive impacts upon the lives of Afghan refugees and returnees. New efforts could be directed, in particular, towards developing innovative programme responses for urban protracted displacement situations across the region.

Conclusion

To date, an over-reliance on humanitarian interventions has characterised the response to the Afghan refugee situation and has compromised efforts to secure lasting and sustainable solutions. Increasing international interest in the situation of protracted Afghan refugees and the challenges surrounding return therefore remains of key importance and requires a renewed level of focus. Such approaches should be anchored in bottom-up programming principles and seek to distance themselves from any overt promotion of specific durable solutions. Instead, regional programming and advocacy in relation to Afghan refugees should be framed around supporting and responding to, rather than ‘solving’, protracted displacement.

Developing and promoting such new approaches to programming are essential to achieving a shift from care and maintenance to a more empowering and participatory package of assistance. Policy discussions within the humanitarian community across the region to improve learning around self-reliance programming initiatives would not only help ensure longer-term financial support but would also reassure host governments in Iran and Pakistan that increased self-reliance does not equate to local integration, playing instead an important role in enhancing the prospect of sustainable voluntary return when conditions allow.

 

Dan Tyler dan.tyler@nrc.no is Regional Protection and Advocacy Adviser, Norwegian Refugee Council. www.nrc.no

 

[1] Susanne Schmeidl (2012) ‘Protracted Displacement in Afghanistan: Will History be Repeated?’ in Calabrese J and Marret J-L (Eds) Transatlantic Cooperation on Protracted Displacement: Urgent Need and Unique Opportunity.

[2] Ewen Macleod (2008) ‘Afghan refugees in Iran and Pakistan’ in Loescher G, Milner J, Newman E and Troeller G (Eds) Protracted Refugee Situations: Political, human rights and security implications. United Nations University Press.

[3] www.unhcr.org/afghanistan/solutions-strategy.pdf  See also article by Natta PFM pp12-14.

[4] Long K (2011) ‘Permanent crises? Unlocking the protracted displacement of refugees and internally displaced persons’, Refugee Studies Centre Policy Briefing Series, RSC/NRC/IDMC/NUPI  www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/publications/permanent-crises-unlocking-the-protracted-displacement-of-refugees-and-internally-displaced-persons

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview