الحقائق الحضرية للشابات واليافعات المُهجرَّات

تعيش أعداد متنامية من النازحين في المستوطنات غير الرسمية في المراكز الحضرية الرئيسية في أفغانستان. لكن الأساليب التي تتعرض فيها الشابات واليافعات النازحات في مثل تلك البيئات للاستضعاف غير مفهومة  أو لم ُيتطرق إليها بما يكفي بعد.

هناك افتراضات شائعة قد تدعم الاعتقاد بأن النساء والفتيات الحضريات قد يكنَّ، على وجه العموم، أكثر قدرة للوصول إلى الخدمات والفرص الاجتماعية مقارنة بالمناطق الأصلية التي ينتمون اليها قبل النزوح في الريف، ويعود الفضل بذلك إلى اتجاهات سكان الحضر الأكثر تقدماً في نظرتهم للمرأة من سكان الريف،  وتوفُّر قدرٍاً أكبر من الخدمات التعليمية (ومزودي الخدمات) في المراكز الحضرية الرئيسية الأكثر أمناً. لكنَّ الأبحاث الجديدة تشير إلى عكس ذلك[i] فالشابات واليافعات النازحات في المستوطنات الحضرية في كلٍ من كابل وقندهار وجلال أباد يواجهن تحديات أكثر أهمية، وأكثر عدداً من ناحية الوصول إلى التعليم والخدمات الصحية والتوظيف مقارنة بنُظرائهم من الذكور. والأمر الأبرز كان افتقارهم الكبير للحرية ورأس المال الاجتماعي والتعرض الى التهميش الشديد.

التهميش والعزلة: غالباً ما تُترَك الشابات والفتيات النازحات في عزلة، ولا يسمح لهنَّ بالمغادرة إلى أماكن بعيدة عن بيوتهنَّ، وهذا ما يحد كثيراً من نفاذهنَّ للتعليم والرعاية الصحية وفرص كسب الرزق. وتبين لنا خلال المقابلات أنَّ ما لا يزيد على 40% من المشاركين في المقابلات قالوا: إنَّ النساء والفتيات كنَّ قادرات على الحصول على إذن لمغادرة البيت لزيارة الأصدقاء، وذكر الثلث منهنَّ على الأقل أنَّه في هذه الحالة كان من الواجب أن يكون ذلك بصحبة أحد أفراد العائلة الذكور. ويبدو أنَّ العوائق الثقافية أصبحت عاملاً دافعا لهذا التهميش والعزلة، خاصة بالنظر إلى المعايير المحافظة التي يبدو أنَّها المتأصلة عميقاً في المستوطنات الحضرية غير الرسمية أيضاً.

"نفتقد العالم الخارجي كثيراً، إننا نشعر أننا سجينات هنا، بل السجن أفضل؛ على الأقل يطعمونك جيدًا في السجن". (شابة عمرها 24 عاما).

فقدان شبكات العلاقات: بما أنَّه لا يُسمح للنساء الخروج من بيوتهنَّ، فلن يستطعنَ السعي للحصول على المساعدة من الاخرين. وفي أغلب الأحيان، كانت الشابات تعبرنَّ عن أسفهنَّ على انعدام قدرتهنَّ على مشاركة همومهنَّ مع النساء الأخريات في الحي السكني أو المجتمع المحلي، وكذلك عدم قدرتهنَّ على بناء شبكات من العلاقات ضمن مجتمعات المستوطنات غير الرسمية. فالجيران غالبا ما يهددون الأسر بالطرد إذا ما خالفوا المعايير المجتمعية المتبعة في المجتمع المحلي، وإذا ما منحوا النساء واليافعات الحرية (بما في ذلك التعليم).

"طيلة اليوم لا شيء لدينا نعمله. إذا ما سُمح لنا الحصول على التعليم والتعرف إلى الآخرين، فقد نعمل في الميادين الثقافية والسياسية.... الشيء الوحيد الذي نفعله هو اجتماع البنات من الخيم المجاورة وإبداء التذمر حول الحياة التي يعيشونها، ولا شيء أكثر من ذلك" (شابة عمرها 25 عاما).

الإحباط والكآبة: يبدو أنَّ كثيراً من اليافعات والشابات النازحات الحضريات، على ضوء هذا الوضع، يشعرن بكآبة شديدة، وغالباً ما يتحدثنَّ عن تمنياتهنَّ بالموت على الاستمرار في أوضاعهم الحياتية الحالية. بل ذكرت بعض النازحات أنَّه لا يوجد هناك رعاية صحية نفسية، ولا يوجد أيُّ فردٍ أو منظمة يمكن أن تساعد الأشخاص لعلاج اضطراب الإجهاد ما بعد الصدمة، أو غير ذلك من الاضطرابات النفسية بمن في ذلك الأفراد اللذين يفكرون في إيذاء أنفسهن.

استهداف الدعم

وعبرت العديد من الشابات واليافعات عن مشاعرهنَّ بالخجل بأنهنَّ نازحات خاصة عند مقارنتهنَّ لوضعهنَّ الحالي مع الحياة الأكثر راحة التي كنَّ يتمتعنَّ بها في قراهنَّ في الريف. أما الشعور الأكثر شيوعا بينهنَّ فهو الاضطهاد،وعدم توفير الفرص، وعدم القدرة على الخروج من المأزق الحالي. وتساءلت كثير من الشابات عن الهدف من هذه المقابلات إذا لم يكن هناك أي شخص سيساعدهنّ، بل قالت إحدى الفتيات الشابات النازحات من قندهار: إنَّ المساعدة حتى عندما وصلت كانت مساعدة يأتي بها الرجال ويقدمونها للرجال فقط.

ولمعالجة أفضل للمخاطر المحددة التي تتعرض لها الشابات واليافعات في البيئات الحضرية،نوصي بأن تتضمن جميع تقييمات النازحين مكوناً حول حاجات الصحة العقلية (مع الإحالات السريعة المحددة بالنسبة للمستخطرين استخطاراً كبيراً). ولا بدَّ من رفع مستوىالوعي بين الكوادر الإنسانية غير المتخصصة، بمن فيهم الكوادر المحلية وتدريبهم لتحديد القضايا التي تتطلب رعاية صحية عقلية ، وفهم كيفية إحالة تلك الحالات بالطريقة الصحيحة. وكذلك لابدَّ من تعميم تحليل الجندري على التقييمات واستراتيجيات الاستجابة للمستوطنات غير الرسمية، ولا بد من استهداف النساء واليافعات بموجب حزمة مختلطة من المساعدة من خلال الخدمات النفسية الداعمة والمتخصصة، ومن خلال زيادة الدعم المجتمعي والأسري بتقديم الخدمات الرئيسية لهن .

ويجب على الفاعلين الإنسانيين أن تستكشف طرق إعادة البدء بتوفير التعليم الرسمي وغير الرسمي في أقل وقت ممكن من بدء دائرة النزوح، بما في ذلك، على سبيل المثال، التدريب المهني البيتي، ونشاطات دعم سبل الرزق. وتحتاج جهود التنسيق ومناصرة قضايا النازحين من توسيعها في البيئات الحضرية، وذلك يتطلب بحد ذاته تحديد السمات المنهجية الأساسية للفئات السكانية الحضرية للنازحين، وتحديد احتياجاتهم، ووضع آليات خاصة بالإحالة والاستجابة.

دان تايلر dan.tyler@nrc.no مستشار الحماية الإقليمية والمناصرة، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين www.nrc.no  سوزان شمايدل susanne.schmeidl@tlo-afghanistan.org مؤسسة مشاركة ومستشارة رئيسية لمكتب الإرتباط (أفغانستان)  www.tloafghanistan.org وهي أيضا زميلة زائرة في كلية آسيا الباسيفيك للدبلوماسية في جامعة أستراليا الوطنية www.anu.edu.au.



[i]  تقرير المجلس النرويجي للاجئين ومكتب الارتباط حول الشباب النازح الحضري في أفغانستان. مقرر نشره في 2014.  جميع المقابلات مع الشابات واليافعات أجرتها النساء/الفتيات من المنطقة المحيطة بعد الحصول على إذن من الوجهاء بإجراء المقابلات في المجتمع المحلي والمستوطنات غير الرسمية ثم بعد الحصول على موافقة الذكور في الأسرة للحديث إلى النساء/الفتيات في عائلتهن.

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Urban realities for displaced young women and girls

Growing numbers of IDPs live in informal settlements in major Afghan urban centres but the ways in which displaced young women and girls are vulnerable in such settings are not well enough understood or addressed.

Common assumptions would support a belief that urban women and girls should generally be more able to access services and social opportunities compared to their pre-displacement rural place of origin, owing to more progressive urban attitudes and the wider availability of education services (and service providers) in the main, more secure, urban centres. New research, however, suggests otherwise.[1] Displaced young women and girls in urban settlements across Kabul, Kandahar and Jalalabad were revealed to face significantly more and qualitatively different challenges in terms of access to education, health and employment than their male counterparts; most striking was the significant loss of freedom and social capital, and extreme marginalisation experienced by them.

Marginalisation and isolation: Displaced young women and girls are often kept in seclusion and are frequently not allowed to venture far or often outside the house; this drastically reduces access to education, health care and livelihood opportunities. During interviews, only 40% of respondents said women and girls could gain permission to leave the house in order to visit friends. At least one third said that they had to be in the company of a male family member to venture out at all. Cultural obstacles appeared to be a driving factor in this marginalisation and isolation, with conservative norms seemingly deeply entrenched in the urban informal settlements.

We miss the outside world so much, and feel like prisoners here. Prison is better; at least you are fed well.” (24-year-old woman)

Loss of networks: Since women are not permitted to venture outside their homes, they cannot seek assistance from others. Young women frequently lamented their inability to share their burdens with other women in their neighbourhood and community, or to build networks within their informal settlement communities. Neighbours often threaten families with eviction should they violate the community’s social norms and grant women and girls freedoms (including education). 

“All day we have almost nothing to do. If we were allowed to get education and get acquainted with others, we might work in cultural and political fields… the only thing we do is that the girls from the adjoining tents come together and complain about the life we are having – nothing beyond that.” (25-year-old woman)

Distress and depression: As a result of their situation, a number of urban displaced young women and girls appear to be suffering from severe depression and often speak of preferring death to their current life. Some IDPs mentioned the lack of mental health assistance, with no individual or organisation that people suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder or other psychological disorders (including individuals considering self-harm) could turn to.

Targeting support

Many young women and girls highlighted their feelings of shame at being displaced and frequently compared their present plight with the more comfortable lives they led in their rural home towns and villages. The over-riding feeling is one of oppression, lack of opportunity and inability to find a way out. Many young women also questioned the point of interviews if no one is going to provide assistance, and young female IDPs from Kandahar claimed that when assistance did come, it was brought by men and given to men.

To better address the specific vulnerabilities of young women and girls in urban settings, we recommend that all IDP assessments include a component on mental health needs (with fast-track referrals identified for those at heightened risk). Non-specialised humanitarian staff, including local staff, must be sensitised and trained to identify mental health care issues and understand how to refer cases appropriately. Gender analysis should be mainstreamed into assessments and response strategies for informal settlements, and women and girls should be targeted for a mixed package of assistance, from specialised psychosocial support services, increased community and family support through to provision of basic services.

Humanitarian actors should explore how to restart formal or informal education provision as early in the displacement cycle as possible, including, for example, home-based vocational training and livelihood-support activities. And coordination and advocacy for IDPs in urban settings need to expand, which in turn requires systematic profiling of urban IDP populations and their needs and the establishment of referral and response mechanisms.

 

Dan Tyler dan.tyler@nrc.no is Regional Protection and Advocacy Adviser, Norwegian Refugee Council. www.nrc.no  Susanne Schmeidl susanne.schmeidl@tlo-afghanistan.org is co-founder and senior advisor of The Liaison Office (Afghanistan). www.tloafghanistan.org

 

[1] The Norwegian Refugee Council and The Liaison Office report on urban displaced youth in Afghanistan will be published in mid 2014. All interviews with the displaced young women and girls were done by women/girls from the surrounding area. Permission was obtained firstly from elders to do interviews among their community in the informal settlements and secondly from male family members to speak with the women/girls in their family.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview