العائدون الأفغان كعنصر من عناصر التغيير؟

يُتوقع من الأفغان العائدين من البلدان الصناعية أن يساهموا في عجلة التنمية في أفغانستان وبناء السلام فيها، لكنَّ السؤال الذي غالباً ما يبقى دون إجابة اً هو: أي  فئة من العائدين ُيتوقع أن يكون لها أثر في التغيير، وما نوع التغيير الذي يتوقع أن يحدثونه؟

 

ينظر المجتمع الدولي إلى عودة اللاجئين إلى "ديارهم" على أنَّه الدليل الأقوى للسلام، وعودة الأمور إلى مجاريها في البلاد. لكنَّ المفارقة في ذلك أنهم أيضاً يُنظر إليهم على أنهم سيكونون عوامل للتغيير، وأنَّهم سوف يساهمون في الإنماء وبناء السلام. والعائدون من الدول الصناعية يُنظر إليهم على أنًّهم يشكلون الصفوة الأكثر تعلماً وغنىً وريادةً وتشبيكاً بما لديهم من مهارات ورأس مال وأفكار اكتسبوها عندما كانوا خارج البلاد. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُتوقع منهم أن يكونوا وسطاء بين الثقافات. وفي شتى أنحاء الاتحاد الأوروبي، تستخدم الحكومات موازناتها ضمن بند المساعدات الإنمائية الرسمية لتمويل ما يسمى ببرامج العودة الطوعية لمساعدة للمهاجرين غير المرغوب بهم. ومع ذلك، يبقى العائدون من أوروبا يشكلون مجموعة غير متجانسة مطلقاً، فلا يتشاركون بالخصائص ذاتها. وتشير دراسة حول العائدين إلى كابل إلى أهمية الوضع القانوني للأشخاص ودوافعهم للعودة.

فالعائدون الطوعيون، خلافاً للعائدين القسريين، يحتفظون بحقهم الدائم في العيش في البلاد المضيفة. وهذا التنقل العابر للقوميات، ويُضاف له الوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي الجيد، يمنحهم الثقة في قدرتهم على حماية أنفسهم من العنف في أي وقت كان، وإبقاء أسرهم آمنين في بلد إقامتهم في العالم الغربي. وهناك كثير من العائدين الطوعيين اللذين يدفعهم الطموح إلى العودة إلى أفغانستان رغم الاضطرابات المتوقع حدوثها بعد عام 2014، فهم يعودون بتفاؤل وطاقة، وقد يرون أنَّ المعارف والمهارات والتوجهات التي اكتسبوها في أوروبا أو في أي مكان آخر على أنَّها من الثروات الكبيرة التي يمكن أن يُقدموها إلى بلدهم أفغانستان. ومع ذلك يجدون أنَّ الأفكار "الأجنبية" التي يمتلكونها غالباً ما يُنظر إليها بريبة وشك، وسرعان ما يشعروا بالإحباط وخيبة الأمل.ولذلك يعمد العائدون الطوعيون إلى إعادة تقييم قراراتهم بالاستمرار في البقاء أو الانتقال، وقد يعودوا إلى الهجرة مرةً أخرى لمواجهة تغييرات ما بعد عام 2014. ومع ذلك يسمح لهم هذا التنقل ذاته في المخاطرة بأن يكونوا "مختلفين" عن المجتمع السائد، وبمناصرة الأفكار التي تخالف الأفكار العامة والشائعة في مجتمع بلادهم.

وبالمقابل، هناك العائدون غير الطوعيين الذين لا يوجد لديهم أي صفة قانونية في البلاد المستضيفة، وغالباً ما يكونون من ذوي خلفيات أقل كفاءة وربما انفقوا جميع مدخراتهم وتراكمت عليهم ديون كبيرة من أجل تمويل هجرتهم، فيعودوا إلى بلادهم أكثر فقراً وإحباطاً ويأساً بدلاً من أن يكونوا أغنياء بسبب الخبرة التي حصلوا عليها بالهجرة. وبما أنهم عاشوا في البلدان المستضيفة، مع أنهم لم يشاركوا في أي شيء فيها، فقد حصلوا على بعض المهارات أو الأفكار التي يمكن أن تكون محافظة أو تقليدية لتكون استراتيجية لهم من أجل التفاوض حول الانتماء إلى المجتمع الأفغاني.

وفي بيئة دولة أفغانستان لا يمكن التنبؤ بها ، يُعدُّ التنقل العابر للقوميات أكثر رصيد ذا قيمة لدى معظم العائدين. فبدلاً من أن يعني ذلك التزاماً غير ثابت تجاه أفغانستان، يمكِّنهم  التنقل العابر من أن يكونوا أكثر استقلالاً عن المحددات الهيكلية الوطنية والتفاوض من أجل التغيير. وفي حين يرى المجتمع الدولي العودة الدائمة للاجئين على أنَّها الدليل الأقوى للسلام، فقد يكون انتقالهم المستمر هو  ما سيساهم في معظم الحالات إلى استدامة سبل العيش والسلام والانماء في البلاد.

 

ماريكي فان هاوتة mariekevanhoute@gmail.com زميلة دكتورة في كلية ماسترخت للدراسات العليا للحوكمة، جامعة ماسترخت، هولندا. بنيت هذه المقالة على أطروحة الدكتوراه للباحثة ماريكي حول الهجرة العكسية ويتوقع مناقشة أطروحتها في عام 2014. www.maastrichtuniversity.nl

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Afghan returnees as actors of change?

Afghan returnees from industrialised countries are expected to contribute to development and peace building in Afghanistan. However, which category of returnee is expected to bring what kind of change often remains under-defined.

Refugees returning ‘home’ are seen by the international community as the ultimate proof of peace and return to ‘normalcy’. Somewhat paradoxically, however, they are also seen as agents of change who can contribute to development and peace building. Returnees from industrialised countries are considered to constitute the more highly educated, wealthy, entrepreneurial and strongly networked elite, who have acquired skills, capital and ideas while abroad. Furthermore, they are expected to be mediators between cultures. Throughout the European Union, governments use their budgets for Official Development Assistance to finance so-called Assisted Voluntary Return (AVR) programmes of unwanted migrants. However, returnees from Europe are a very heterogeneous group of people and not all of them have these characteristics. A study of returnees to Kabul indicates that people’s legal status and motivation for return are significant in a number of ways.

Voluntary returnees – as opposed to AVR returnees – retain their permanent right to live in their host country. This transnational mobility, combined with their good socio-economic position, gives them confidence in their ability to protect themselves from violence and at the same time to keep their dependants safe in their Western country of residence. Many voluntary returnees are driven by ambition and choose to return to Afghanistan despite the expected post-2014 turbulence. They return with optimism and energy, and many see the knowledge, skills and attitudes gained in Europe or elsewhere as assets that they can offer to Afghanistan. However, they find that their ‘foreign’ ideas are often viewed with suspicion and many soon become discouraged and disillusioned. Voluntary returnees constantly re-evaluate their decision to stay or move, and may re-emigrate in the face of post-2014 changes. However, this very mobility also allows them to take the risk to be ‘different’ from mainstream society, and to advocate opinions that go against the current discourse.

In contrast, involuntary returnees, who retain no legal status in the host country, tend to be of more modest background and have often spent all their savings or become indebted to finance their migration, and they return further impoverished, frustrated and disappointed rather than enriched by their migration experience. Having lived but never really participated in their former host country, they have picked up few new skills or ideas and tend rather to be conservative/traditional as a strategy to negotiate belonging in Afghan society.

In the unpredictable environment of Afghanistan, transnational mobility is the most valuable asset for returnees. Rather than implying a fluid commitment to Afghanistan, it instead enables them to be more independent of national structural constraints and to negotiate change. While the international community sees permanent repatriation of refugees as the ultimate proof of peace, it may rather be that it is their continued mobility that will contribute most to sustainable livelihoods and potentially to peace and development.

 

Marieke van Houte mariekevanhoute@gmail.com is a PhD fellow at the Maastricht Graduate School of Governance, Maastricht University, the Netherlands. www.maastrichtuniversity.nl This piece is based on her PhD thesis on return migration which she expects to defend in 2014.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview