سياسة للنازحين داخلياً لأفغانستان: من مسودة مشروع إلى واقع

يكتنف وضع سياسة وطنية لمعالجة احتياجات النازحين داخلياً في أفغانستان عقبات وتحديات. ورغم أنَّ السياسة المتعلقة بالنازحين داخلياً هي الآن حقيقة واقعة فمن المرجح أن تواجه عملية تنفيذها تحديات ذات طبيعة متشابهة.

وافقت  حكومة أفغانستان بتاريخ 25 نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني 2013 على السياسة الوطنية للنازحين داخلياً[i] التي استغرق صياغتها ما يقرب من عامين. وضمن سياق نزوح ما يقرب من 500000 أفغاني داخلياً نتيجة للصراع، مع أكثر من مليون نازحٍ داخلي آخرين نتيجة للكوارث الطبيعية ومشاريع التنمية، ذكرت جريدة نيويورك تايمز في مقال لها في فبراير/ شباط 2012 أنَّ الأطفال النازحين داخلياً يتجمدون برداً حتى الموت في الأحياء الفقيرة في كابول، حيث عاش ما يقارب من 35,000 نازح داخلي يتخذون من الخيام فقط أو أكواخ الطين مأوىً لهم[ii]. ورداً على ذلك، أنشأ الرئيس كرزاي فريق عمل شمل وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن وهيئة إدارة الكوارث الطبيعية في أفغانستان لاتخاذ ما يلزم من الإجراءات حيال وضع النازحين داخلياً.

استحدث فريق العمل مجموعة لعمل السياسات بهدف دعم وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن. ونظمت المجموعة زيارة للمقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان للنازحين داخلياً، وأشركت خبيراً خارجياُ في مجال النازحين داخلياً للمساعدة في وضع السياسة، وعقدت المجموعة  ورشة عمل وطنية استشارية على مدار يومين في يوليو/ تموز 2012، ثم تبعها جولة أولى من المشاورات الإقليمية في سبتمبر/ أيلول 2012. وفي أكتوبر/ تشرين الأول 2012 أعار مشروع قدرات الحماية الاحتياطية[iii] مسؤول الحماية الأقدم (المؤلف) إلى المفوضية العليا لشؤون اللاجئين ليعمل مستشاراً  لشؤون النازحين داخلياً في وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن للمساعدة في عملية التشاور وصياغة السياسة. وتعكس العديد من التحديات التي واجهتها المجموعة في صياغة السياسة التحديات الأوسع من حيث سنِّ القوانين ووضع السياسات في أفغانستان، وعموماً فهي تشمل ما يلي:

قدرة الحكومة والمشاركة: رغم أنَّ وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن لديها مئات الموظفين في كابول وكذلك في المحافظات، تبقى قدراتهم الفعلية دون المستوى، ولا يمتلكون المهارات أو المعرفة القانونية الكافية لصياغة سياسة معينة. وكانت عملية إشراك الوزارات المختلفة لتوفير مدخلات للسياسة صعبة للغاية، ومع ذلك تحققت بعض المدخلات من خلال الاجتماعات الثنائية والفردية وجهاً لوجه. وكان الفساد المستشري في الدوائر الحكومية، ولا يزال، عقبة لإحراز أي تقدم كفؤ.

مشاركة شرائح أوسع: كانت مجموعة العمل المعنية بوضع سياسة النازحين داخلياً، التي أنشئت بهدف مساعدة وزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن في عملية التشاور والصياغة، مجموعة صغيرة تتألف إلى حد كبير من المنظمات الإنسانية الدولية. ولم تحقق محاولات إشراك لجنة حقوق الإنسان الأفغانية وهيئة تنسيق الإغاثة في أفغانستان أو المنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية الأفغانية نجاحاً كبيراً. وتوافرت بعض المدخلات من عدد محدود من المجموعات التي جرى التواصل معها تحديداً، لا سيما تلك التي تعمل في مجال البحث مثل مكتب الارتباط وصمويل هول للاستشارات، إلا أنَّ هذه المنظمات كانت استثناءً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أدى الوضع الأمني ​​ومحدودية الوصول إلى مناطق كثيرة إلى صعوبة التعامل مع المحافظين وغيرهم من المسؤولين المحليين على مستوى المحافظات، الذين كانت مشاركتهم مهمة لغايات تنفيذ هذه السياسة.

تمثيل النازحين داخلياً: كان من الصعوبة بمكان عقد مشاورات مجدية مع النازحين نتيجة لعدم امتلاكهم عموماً لأي هياكل تمثيلية لتجميع أو حتى التعبير عن آرائهم. ولذلك، وخلال عقد اجتماعات مع العديد من مجموعات من الأشخاص النازحين داخلياً، نادراً ما تجاوزت النقاشات أبعد من طلب توفير احتياجات محددة وملموسة تقدمها مجموعة معينة، مثل المياه والغذاء والرعاية الصحية والتعليم وفرص العمل.

معالجة القضايا الرئيسية

لقد ثبت عملياً أنَّ وضع وثيقة لمعالجة تعقيدات القضايا الرئيسية في أفغانستان تمثل تحدياً كبيراً. والأكثر وضوحاً كانت الحقيقة أنَّه في الوقت الذي كان المحافظون ورؤساء البلديات وغيرهم من السلطات يريدون معالجة قضية النازحين داخلياً، إلا أنَّ الحل الوحيد الذي كان يمكن أن يطرحوه هو "العودة". وببساطة، لم تكن فكرة الاندماج المحلي أو إعادة التوطين مدرجة على جدول أعمالهم، وثبت أنَّ فكرة تقديم أراضٍ للنازحين داخلياً من محافظة أخرى أنَّها مفهوم صعب جداً. لقد بينت سياسة النازحين داخليا بوضوح أنَّه يلزم قبول جميع الحلول الثلاثة الدائمة، وأنَّ الاندماج المحلي يُعد أمراً مهماً بالنسبة للحالات التي طال أمد علاجها وكذلك بالنسبة للاجئين العائدين وغير القادرين على العودة إلى مواطنهم الأصلية.

وتُعدُّ قضية تعريف من هو النازح داخلياً سابقاً، ولا يزال الحال كذلك بالنسبة له، أمراً مثيراً للجدل. فمن السهل للأفغان فهم وقبول النازحين داخلياً والمهجرين جراء نزاع أو كوارث طبيعية مفاجئة، ولكن الحالة الأكثر صعوبة عندما يكون النزوح نتيجة لكوارث تمتاز ببطء الحدوث، ولا سيما الجفاف، وهنا يصبح التمييز بينهم وبين النازحين لأسباب اقتصادية غير واضح. ومع ذلك، فقد شملت هذه السياسة العائدين غير القادرين على العودة إلى مواطنهم الأصلية، والنازحين داخلياً نتيجة لمشاريع التنمية كأشخاص محط اهتمام لها.

وتجتذب المدن والمراكز الحضرية على نحوٍ كبير النازحين داخلياً نظراً لما توفره من الأمن وفرص كسب العيش والخدمات الأساسية. ومع ذلك، لم تكرس الحكومة الأفغانية والمجتمع التنموي فكرها كفاية أو توفر موارد كافية لمعالجة التحضر السريع لأفغانستان، وتحديداً لتلبية احتياجات النازحين الذين استقروا في مستوطنات غير رسمية، وضمن المناطق العشوائية على أطراف المدن. وتوجه هذ السياسة الانتباه إلى هذه القضية، مع التركيز تحديداً على الحلول المستندة إلى المنطقة والتي لا تشمل النازحين فقط، وإنما الفقراء في المناطق الحضرية عموماً.

ومهما كانت القيود والتحديات التي صادفتها عملية صياغة السياسة، إلا أننا نمتلك سياسة- أداة- الآن التي يمكن أن نستخدمها للدفاع عن حقوق النازحين داخلياً، وتوفير التوجيه بشأن الأمور المستقبلية، وتحسين نوعية الحياة للأفغان النازحين داخلياً. ولقد كان التحدي الأكبر الذي واجه واضعي التنفيذ، دون أدنى شك، هو كيفية ضمان تغذية العمل على أرض الواقع بهذه السياسة ووضع البرامج والتشريع الخاص بها، وليس الاكتفاء فقط بجمع الغبار من درج مكتب شخص بيروقراطي. من سيكون مسؤولاً، وعن ماذا سيكون مسؤولاً؟ لقد استثمرنا قدراً كبيراً من الطاقة في تحديد المسؤوليات المختلفة للوزارات وهيئات التنسيق والسلطات الإقليمية والمحلية، ناهيك عن المجتمع المدني، والمجتمعات الإنسانية والتنمية الدولية، وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين. وإدراكاً بأن النزوح الداخلي يبرز على نحو مختلف في مناطق مختلفة من البلاد، فقد أعطيت المسؤولية الرئيسية عن صياغة خطط واستراتيجيات التنفيذ لتكون بيد حكام المقاطعات، تاركين لوزارة شؤون اللاجئين والعودة إلى الوطن مهمة توحيد هذه الخطط الإقليمية ضمن خطة وطنية واحدة. ولا تزال هناك حاجة ملموسة لبيان كيفية تطبيق هذه السياسة على أرض الواقع.

وري أس وايزبيرغ lauriewiseberg@gmail.com، مسوؤلة الحماية الرئيسي، مشروع قدرة الحماية الاحتياطية.

www.humanitarianresponse.info/themes/procap



[i]  رسمياً، السياسة الوطنية لجمهورية أفغانستان الإسلامية بشأن النزوح الداخلي.

 www.refworld.org/docid/52f0b5964.html

[ii]  رود نوردلاند "الهجرة بسبب الحرب تعطلنا بسبب برد الشتاء"، جريدة نيويورك تايمز، 3 فبراير/ شباط 2012.

Driven Away by a War, Now Stalked by Winter’s Cold’

www.nytimes.com/2012/02/04/world/asia/cold-weather-kills-children-in-afghan-refugee-camps.html?_r=0

[iii]  مشروع حماية القدرة الاحتياطية هو مبادرة مشتركة بين المنظمات لبناء قدرات الجهات الفاعلة المعنية من أجل تعزيز الاستجابة للحماية الإنسانية.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

An IDP Policy for Afghanistan: from draft to reality

Developing a national policy to address the needs of Afghanistan’s IDPs was beset with obstacles and challenges. Although the IDP Policy is now a reality, its implementation is likely to meet challenges of a similar nature.

On 25 November 2013, the Government of Afghanistan approved a National IDP Policy[1] which had been nearly two years in the making. In the context of some 500,000 Afghans internally displaced as a result of conflict, with perhaps a further million displaced as a result of natural disasters and development projects, a New York Times article in February 2012 had reported that IDP children were freezing to death in the slums of Kabul, where some 35,000 IDPs lived with only tents or mud huts for shelter.[2] In response, President Karzai set up a task force, which included the Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation (MoRR) and the Afghanistan Natural Disaster Management Authority (ANDMA), to do something about the IDP situation.

The task force established a Policy Working Group to support MoRR, organised a visit from the UN’s Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of IDPs, engaged an external IDP expert to assist in the work, and held a two-day national consultative workshop in July 2012, followed in September 2012 by a first round of provincial consultations. In October 2012 ProCap[3] seconded a Senior Protection Officer (the author) to UNHCR to serve as IDP Advisor to MoRR, to assist in the consultation process and in drafting the policy. Many of the challenges faced in drafting the policy reflect wider challenges in terms of lawmaking and policymaking in Afghanistan more generally:

Government capacity and engagement: While MORR had hundreds of staff in Kabul as well as in the provinces, their actual capacity was low, with insufficient skills or legal knowledge to draft a policy. Engaging different ministries to provide input to the policy was extremely difficult, though some input was achieved through bilateral one-to-one meetings. Endemic corruption in government departments was, and continues to be, a serious obstacle to efficient progress.

Engaging wider participation: The IDP Policy Working Group, set up to assist MoRR in the consultation and drafting process, was a small group composed largely of international humanitarian agencies. Attempts to engage the Afghan Human Rights Commission, ACBAR (Agency Coordinating Body for Afghan Relief) or national Afghan NGOs were largely unsuccessful. There was input from a limited number of groups that were specifically approached, notably those engaged in research such as TLO (The Liaison Office) and Samuel Hall, but these were exceptional. Additionally, the security situation and limited access in many regions made it difficult to engage with governors and other local officials at the provincial level, who are essential to implementation.

IDP representation: Holding meaningful consultations with IDPs was particularly difficult because they do not generally have representative structures to aggregate or express their views. So while meetings were held with many groups of IDPs, the discussions rarely went beyond the specific concrete needs of a particular group, such as water, food, health care, education and jobs.

Addressing key issues

It proved a major challenge to produce a document that addressed the complexities of key issues in Afghanistan. Most significant was the fact that while governors, mayors and other authorities wanted the IDP issue dealt with, the only solution they could see was ‘return’. The notion of local integration or resettlement was simply not on their agenda, and the idea of giving land to an IDP from another province proved a very difficult concept. The IDP Policy made it clear that all three durable solutions needed to be accepted and that local integration was particularly important for protracted caseloads and for returning refugees unable to go back to their places of origin.

The issue of who is an IDP was, and is, highly controversial. It is easy for Afghans to understand and accept an IDP displaced by conflict or by a sudden-onset natural disaster but much more difficult when displacement results from slow-onset disaster, notably drought, as here the distinction with economic migrants becomes blurred. However, returnees unable to go back to their places of origin and persons displaced as a result of development projects were included as persons of concern in this policy.

Cities and urban centres have an enormous draw for displaced persons because they are seen to offer security, livelihood opportunities and basic services. However, the Afghan government and the development community have not devoted adequate thought or resources to addressing Afghanistan’s rapid urbanisation and, in particular, to addressing the needs of those displaced who have settled in informal settlements, generally in slums on the edges of the cities. The policy directs attention to this issue, with a particular focus on area-based solutions that encompass not only IDPs but the urban poor more generally.

Whatever the limitations and challenges of the drafting process, there is now a policy – a tool – which can be used to advocate for the rights of IDPs, to provide guidance on the way forward, and to improve the quality of life for displaced Afghans. Without doubt, the biggest challenge the drafters faced was implementation: how to ensure the policy would actually inform action, programming and legislation, not just gather dust in a bureaucrat’s drawer. Who would be responsible for what? A substantial amount of energy was invested in setting out the responsibilities of the different line ministries, coordinating bodies, and provincial and local authorities, as well as civil society, the international humanitarian and development communities, and other stakeholders. Recognising that displacement manifests itself differently in different regions of the country, primary responsibility for drafting implementation plans and strategies was given to provincial governors, leaving MoRR the task of consolidating these provincial plans into a national one. It remains to be seen how this will play out in reality.

 

Laurie S Wiseberg lauriewiseberg@gmail.com is Senior Protection Officer, ProCap. www.humanitarianresponse.info/themes/procap

 

[1] Officially, The National Policy of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan on Internal Displacement. www.refworld.org/docid/52f0b5964.html

[2] Rod Nordland ‘Driven Away by a War, Now Stalked by Winter’s Cold’, New York Times, 3 Feb 2012. www.nytimes.com/2012/02/04/world/asia/cold-weather-kills-children-in-afghan-refugee-camps.html?_r=0

[3] Protection Standby Capacity Project, an inter-agency initiative to build capacity of relevant actors in order to enhance the humanitarian protection response.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview