لاجئو الحَضَرِ في باكستان: خطوات في الطريق إلى الاعتماد على النفس

يتمتّع اللاجئون الأفغان في باكستان بحريّةِ تنقّلٍ عريضة وأبوابِ معاشٍ واسعة، إلا أنّ عُدْمَ قاعدةٍ وطنيّة قانونيّة يُنطلَق منها إلى إدارة شؤون اللاجئين، يُنشِئُ تحدّياتٍ تقع على لاجئي الحَضَرِ والسلطات المحليّة على السّواء.

يُضيِّفُ إقليم خیبر پختونخوا ما ينيف على 50% من جملة اللاجئين الأفغان في باكستان، البالغ عددهم مليونين وسبعة أعشار المليون (2.7)، يقيم 32% منهم اليومَ في مخيّمات اللّاجئين. ويبقى 68% منهم، يقطنون في خارج المخيّمات، وأكثر ما يقطنون فيه حولَ المراكز الحضرية الكبرى، وأخصُّ أسباب ذلك الحاجَةُ إلى طَرْقِ أبواب المعاش.[i]

الدخول في الاقتصاد والإسهام فيه

يكاد يكون كلُّ لاجئٍ من لاجئي الحضر في باكستانَ داخلاً في بعض أنشطة المعاش. أكثرهم عاملون في ميدان النّقل إلا أنّ حيازتَهم رُخَصَ سِيَاقةٍ أمرٌ غير ممكن، وهذا يجعلهم عرضةً لسهامِ المبتزّين من سلطات النّقل في المدن. والتُّجار الأفغان في مدينة پشاور هم رؤوس التِّجارة في الأحجار الكريمة، وحظُّ تجارتهم من صادرات باكستانَ عظيم؛ إذ جاءَ منها من المال في السنين الخمس الأخيرة 27 مليوناً ونصفَ مليونِ دولارٍ أمريكيّ. ومن قَبِيل ذلك، أنّ اللاجئين الأفغان يديرون أكثر من 70% من صناعة نَسْجِ البُسُط الشهيرة الذِّكر في خیبر پختونخوا. ولهذه الصناعة عظيم إسهامٍ في اقتصاد باكستان، غيرَ أنّ ضرراً كثيراً قد نالها، من إعادة اللاجئين التي جرت حيناً، فأنقصَت من إنتاج البُسُط 5%.

وعلى الرغم من إسهام اللاجئين الأفغان هذا في الاقتصاد الحضري، لم تسمح لهم الحكومة الباكستانيّة إلا أخيراً بفَتْح حسابٍ مصرفيّ تجاريّ إن كان بين يَدَي اللاجئ بطاقة سارية المفعول اسمها بطاقة إثبات التسجيل[ii]. وأما قبل ذلك، فكان الأفغان يَكِلونَ إلى المواطنين الباكستانيّين تسجيلَ أعمالهم التجاريّة أو الصناعيّة وتدبيرَ معاملاتهم الماليّة. حتى إنّ بعض اللاجئين أخذوا في مسالك مصرفيّةٍ غير قانونيّة من أجل الحوالات النقديّة، وبعضهم اتّخذوا من صائِغي الذهب المحليِّين مصارفَ يودعونها ما يكسبون. فهذا الإذن الصادر حديثاً حدثٌ شأنه عظيم من وجوهٍ كثيرة؛ ففائدته لا تنتهي عند رَفْد أعمال الأفغان التجاريّة أو الصناعيّة، بل تمتدّ -وهذا شأنه أهمّ لتقطع مظنّةَ تعرُّضهم للاستغلال على يد مَن ينزلون منزلة وكلائهم.

ويُنظَر إلى لاجئي الحضر في باكستان خطأً على أنهم مجرمونَ، وعلى الاقتصاد ثقيلون. وهذا زعمٌ لا تؤيّده حُجّة؛ فمن عام 2014 إلى شهر سبتمبر/أيلول من عام 2016، عُرِضَ على القضاء في خیبر پختونخوا أكثَرُ من 10 آلافِ قضيّة، فكان عدد القضايا التي دخل فيها اللاجئون الأفغان 134 قضيّة فقط.[iii] وتُجرَى اليومَ بتمويلٍ ألمانيّ دراسةٌ[iv] تقصِدُ إلى تعيين المبلغ الذي بلغته باكستان من إنفاقها على اللاجئين الأفغانيين في إحسانِ ضيافةٍ طالَ أمدها، فإن عُيِّنَ هذا أُلقِيَ الضوء أيضاً على ما أسهمَ اللاجئون بهِ في اقتصاد باكستان

تحدّيات التعليم

لمّا كانت 90% من الأسر الأفغانية اللاجئة انتقلت إلى باكستان بين عامي 1979 و1985، كان أكثر اللاجئين المُسَجّلين، الأطفال والشباب، أفغاناً من الجيل الثاني أو الثالث، وُلِدوا في باكستان. والأطفَالُ اليومَ هم زهاءُ نصْفِ لاجئي الحضر في باكستان، ولذلك وُضِعَتِ التنمية في أوَّل طور الطفولة والتعليم الأساسيّ وتنمية المهارات، على رأس الأولويّات. لكنّ عدد الأطفال الباكستانيّين الذين لا يذهبون إلى المدارس يُطيرُ العقل، فهم 22 مليون طفل، وهذا يتحدّى باكستان في استيعابها اللاجئين.[v]

وأمّا التعليم العالي فحاله أسوأ. إذ تَجُود الحكومة الباكستانية بالمِنَح الدراسيّة على آلاف المواطنين الأفغانيين العائشينَ في أفغانستان، على حين تعطي اللاجئين الأفغان المقيمين في باكستان 14 منحة فقط. ولا يُقبَل طالبوا المنح إلا إذا تخلُّوا عن بطاقة إثبات التسجيل، واستبدلوا بها جواز سفر أفغاني. ويُقصَد من هذا إلى حضّ اللاجئين الأفغان على ترك بطاقة إثبات التسجيل ليحصلوا على جواز سفر أفغاني، ولكنّ التخلي عن بطاقة إثبات التسجيل يعني فقدان حقوق أخرى، والحاصل أنّ طلاب العلم يهجرون أمانيهم في تلقّي التعليم العالي.

ولمبادرة ألبرت آينشتَين الألمانيّة الأكاديمية للاجئين، التي تديرها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، دورٌ ذو شأن في معالجة هذا التحدّي، إذ هي تمنح الطلاب الجامعيين اللاجئين مِنَحاً دراسيّة تستوعب كلّ النفقات الجامعيّة. وبدعمٍ من مانحين شتّى، وبالاشتراك مع اللجنة الوطنية للتعليم المهني والتقني في باكستان، تُمدِّدُ المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، برنامجاً قائماً للتدريب التقنيّ، ليشمل الآلاف من اللاجئين الشباب في كلّ البلد. وهذه الخطوات وما شابهها لا محالةَ منها لمساعدة اللاجئين على الاعتماد على أنفسهم والإسهام في الاقتصاد، ولكن لمّا كان اللاجئون الشباب ذوي عددٍ كثير، اقتضى الأمر مزيداً من العمل.

معالجة توتّر العلاقات

يقع على لاجئي الحضر في باكستان عددٌ من التحدّيات، منها ما بين المجتمع المحليّ المضيف واللاجئين من تعارضٍ واختلاف (بسبب المنافسة في موارد محدودة المقدار)، ومنها أيضاً السأَم من التضييف، وهو ظاهرة شائعة بين حالات التَّهجير التي يطول أمدها. وهذه حالٌ لا رغبة للاجئين ولا للمجتمعات المحليّة فيها.

ولكي يعالج توتّر العلاقات الدائر حول تضييف لاجئي الحضر، ابتدأت الحكومة الباكستانية مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين برنامجاً إنمائياً منقطع النّظير، اسمه برنامج المناطق المتأثرة باللاجئين والمضيّفة إيّاهم. وانطلق هذا البرنامج في عام 2009، ليقوم بالتدخُّل في المجتمعات المضيّفة للاجئين، في قطاعاتها المختلفة، فقطاع الصحة، والتعليم، وتنمية المهارات، والمياه ومرافق الصرف الصحيّ، والبيئة، والحماية الاجتماعية. ولقد أُنفِقَ إلى الآن 220 مليون دولارٍ أمريكيّ، نفعت أكثرَ من 12 مليون إنسان، نسبة الباكستانيّين منهم 85% واللاجئين الأفغان 15%.[vi] ولا عجب أنّ برنامج المناطق المتأثرة باللاجئين والمضيّفة إيّاهم جلب من الإحسان إلى اللاجئين المقيمين في الحضر الشيءَ الكثير.

هذا، وقد ابتكرت أخيراً مفوضيّةُ شؤون اللاجئين الأفغان، وهي الهيئة المسؤولة عن شؤون اللاجئين في باكستان، مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أيضاً، ابتكرَتَا بوَّابة في الشّابكة لإدارة شؤون اللاجئين، تُعِينُ المزاولين والجهات المانحة وصانعي السياسة، على اتّخاذ قراراتٍ إلى البيّنات مُسْتندة. وسيكون من هذه البوَّابة منصّة رَقْميّة لكلّ لاجئي الحضر، تَصِلُهم بمُزوِّدي الخدمات المختلفة، ومنهم مُتِيحو الوظائف والتدريب الداخليّ. ثم إنّ سياسةً للاجئين الشباب تُرْسَمُ اليومَ، ويشترك في رسمها مفوضيّةُ شؤون اللاجئين الأفغان والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، ويُركَزُ همّ هذه السياسة في تمكين اللاجئين الشباب، المقيمين في المراكز الحضريّة، اجتماعياً واقتصادياً وسياسيّاً.

الأفغانُ ناسٌ مُجدُّون أجرياء، وهاتَين الصفتَين تجعلان منهم أصحابَ مشاريعٍ بارعينَ، وإنّ مِن بين قصَصِ أصحاب الأعمال الأفغان قصَصُ نجاح. فإذا دُعِمُ الأفغان دعماً صحيحاً، فسيُحسِنُ أكثرهم الإسهام في باكستان وهم فيها. والقرار الأخير الذي اتّخذته الحكومة الباكستانيّة، فسمح للاجئين الأفغان بفتْحِ حسابٍ مصرفيّ، قرارٌ جيّد، وخطوةٌ في الطريق إلى إدماجهم في الخدمات الماليّة وحمايتهم، غير أنّ الأمر يحتاج إلى مزيد خطواتٍ حتّى يُضمَنَ أن يصل لاجئو الحضر إلى الخدمات الأساسيّة، كالصحة والتعليم والتجارة والأعمال التجارية والصناعيّة. والقاعدة التي يُنطلَق منها اليومَ إلى إدارة شؤون اللاجئين تحتاج إلى إعادة نظر، وينبغي لباكستان تدبُّر اعتماد قانونٍ للاجئين وطنيٍّ، يُمكِّنُ السلطات المختلفة من إدارة شؤون لاجئي الحضر إدارةً مفعولها أنفَذُ. ولقد تكون إنالةُ اللاجئين الأفغان الجنسيّةَ أمراً ما يزال بعيدَ المَرام، ومع ذلك، ينبغي أن يُسعَى ليعيشَ اللاجئون عيشاً نعيماً كريماً.

محمد عبّاس خان comisb@hotmail.com  

مُفوّضٌ، في مفوضيّةُ شؤون اللاجئين الأفغان، بخیبر پختونخوا، في باكستان.

 

[i] UNHCR Pakistan (2017) Mapping of Education Facilities and Refugee Enrolment in Main Refugee Hosting Areas and Refugee Villages in Pakistan, p7

(التّخطيطُ لمنشآتٍ تعليمية وإدراج اللاجئين فيها في الرّئيسِ من مناطق تضييف اللاجئين وقراهم في باكستان)

https://data2.unhcr.org/en/documents/download/62554     

[ii] وهي وثيقةٌ تصدرها الحكومة الباكستانيّة، تُثبِت هُويَّةَ صاحِبها، وتجعل إقامته إقامةً مؤقّتة قانونيّة، وتُطلِقُ حريّة تنقُّله، وهي اليومَ في يد مليونٍ وأربعة أعشار المليون لاجئٍ أفغانيّ (1.4) مُسجَّلٍ في باكستان. 

[iii] Khan I (2017) ‘KP prosecution data gives lie to claims against Afghan refugees’, Dawn, 15 January

(بيانات النيابة العامّة في خیبر پختونخوا تُبيِّن بُطلانَ ما يقال على اللاجئين الأفغان)

 www.dawn.com/news/1308486

[iv] https://www.fafo.no/index.php/en/projects/current-projects/item/socio-economic-impact-of-afghan-refugees-on-pakistan

[v] Ailaan A (2018) Five Years of Education Reforms in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 2013–2015. Wins, Losses and challenges for 2018–2023, p6

(خمس سنين من إصلاح التعليم في خیبر پختونخوا 2013-2015. ما اكتُسِبَ وما افتُقِدَ والتحدّيات في 2018-2023) https://elections.alifailaan.pk/wp-includes/file/KpEducationReport18.pdf     

[vi] https://unhcrpk.org/raha

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Pakistan’s urban refugees: steps towards self-reliance

Although Afghan refugees in Pakistan enjoy considerable freedom of movement and access to livelihoods, the absence of a national legal framework for refugee management creates challenges for urban refugees and local authorities alike.

Pakistan’s northwestern province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa hosts more than 50% of the country’s 2.7 million Afghan refugees, 32% of whom currently reside inside refugee camps. The remaining 68% live outside the camps, mostly in and around major urban centres, primarily because of the need to access livelihood activities.[1]

Economic access and contribution

Almost all urban refugees in Pakistan are involved in some sort of livelihood activity. The majority are engaged in the transport business but cannot obtain driving licences, which leaves them vulnerable to extortion by city transport authorities. Gemstones trading is primarily run by Afghan traders based in the city of Peshawar, and constitutes a considerable part of Pakistan’s export activity, generating US$27.5 million over the last five years. Similarly, Afghan refugees also run more than 70% of the renowned carpet weaving industry in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. This industry has also contributed significantly to Pakistan’s economy and has suffered greatly as a result of the refugee repatriation that has taken place over a period of time, which has reduced carpet production by 5%.

Despite this contribution to the urban economy, it was only recently that the Government of Pakistan allowed Afghan refugees with a valid Proof of Registration (PoR) card[2] to open a commercial bank account. Previously, Afghans used Pakistani citizens as proxies to register their businesses and conduct financial transactions. Some even used illegal banking channels for money transfers and some used local goldsmiths as banks where they would deposit their earnings. This new authorisation is a milestone in many ways: not only will it boost Afghan businesses but also, more importantly, it will put an end to their vulnerability to potential exploitation by those acting as proxies.

Urban refugees in Pakistan are wrongly perceived as criminals and as a burden on the economy. Such claims are unsubstantiated: from 2014 to September 2016, of the more than 10,000 cases that appeared in court in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, just 134 involved Afghan refugees.[3] A German-funded study[4] is currently underway to determine how much Pakistan has spent on its protracted hospitality towards Afghan refugees, which will also highlight the contributions refugees have made to Pakistan’s economy.  

Education challenges

Since 90% of Afghan refugee households moved to Pakistan between 1979 and 1985, the majority of the registered refugee children and youth are second- or third-generation Afghans and have been born in Pakistan. Today, nearly half the urban refugees in Pakistan are children, and early childhood development, basic education and skill development are therefore top priorities. However, with a staggering 22 million Pakistani children out of school, it is a challenge for Pakistan to accommodate refugees.[5]

The situation is even worse in the case of higher education. While the Government of Pakistan is generously offering thousands of scholarships to Afghan nationals who are living in Afghanistan, it offers just 14 scholarships to Afghan refugees living in Pakistan. Afghan refugee applicants can otherwise only be admitted if they surrender their PoR card and replace it with an Afghan passport. The intention is to encourage Afghan refugees to give up their POR card and obtain an Afghan passport – but surrendering the refugee card means losing other rights, and as a result students abandon their dreams of higher education.

The higher education scholarship programme DAFI, run by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR), plays an important role in addressing this challenge, granting fully-funded university scholarships to refugee undergraduates. With the support of different donors and in partnership with Pakistan’s National Vocational and Technical Education Commission, UNHCR is also extending an existing programme of technical training in various skills to thousands of young refugees across the country. Such steps are crucial for helping refugees to become self-reliant and contribute to the economy although, given the sheer numbers of young refugees, much more is needed.

Addressing tensions

Urban refugees in Pakistan face a number of challenges, including friction between host and refugee communities (because of competition over limited resources) and ‘hosting fatigue’, a common phenomenon in cases of protracted displacement. Such a situation is undesirable for both the refugees and the host communities.

In order to tackle the tensions that exist around urban refugee hosting, the Government of Pakistan, with UNHCR, has initiated a unique development programme – the Refugee-Affected and Hosting Areas programme (RAHA). RAHA was launched in 2009 to undertake interventions in refugee-hosting communities across different sectors such as health, education, skills development, water and sanitation, environment and social protection. $220 million has so far been spent, benefiting more than 12 million people, of whom 85% are Pakistani citizens and 15% are Afghan refugees.[6] It is little wonder that the RAHA programme has created a lot of good will for the refugees living in urban areas.

The Commissionerate for Afghan Refugees, the agency responsible for refugee affairs in Pakistan, has, again with UNHCR, recently developed a Refugee Management Portal to help practitioners, donors and policymakers make evidence-based decisions. It will also provide a digital platform for all urban refugees, connecting them with different service providers, including those offering job placements and internships. Moreover, a Refugee Youth Policy is currently being devised jointly by the Commissionerate and UNHCR which will focus on the social, economic and political empowerment of refugee youth living in urban centres.

Afghans are hardworking and enterprising, making excellent entrepreneurs; indeed, there are many success stories among Afghan businessmen. Given the right support, most Afghans would be able to contribute positively during their stay in Pakistan. The recent decision by the Government of Pakistan to allow Afghan refugees to open bank accounts is a positive step towards their financial inclusion and protection, but more such steps are needed to ensure urban refugees have access to some of the very basic services like health, education, trade and business. The current refugee management framework needs to be reviewed, and Pakistan should consider adopting a national refugee law, which would enable the different authorities to more effectively manage urban refugees. While granting citizenship to Afghan refugees may still be a long way off, efforts should be made to enable refugees to live comfortable, dignified lives.

 

Muhammad Abbas Khan comisb@hotmail.com
Commissioner, Commissionerate for Afghan Refugees, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan

 

[1] UNHCR Pakistan (2017) Mapping of Education Facilities and Refugee Enrolment in Main Refugee Hosting Areas and Refugee Villages in Pakistan, p7 https://data2.unhcr.org/en/documents/download/62554     

[2] Issued by the Government of Pakistan, this document provides proof of identity, temporary legal stay and freedom of movement for 1.4 million registered Afghan refugees in Pakistan. 

[3] Khan I (2017) ‘KP prosecution data gives lie to claims against Afghan refugees’, Dawn, 15 January www.dawn.com/news/1308486

[4] https://www.fafo.no/index.php/en/projects/current-projects/item/socio-economic-impact-of-afghan-refugees-on-pakistan

[5] Ailaan A (2018) Five Years of Education Reforms in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 2013–2015. Wins, Losses and challenges for 2018–2023, p6 https://elections.alifailaan.pk/wp-includes/file/KpEducationReport18.pdf      

[6] https://unhcrpk.org/raha/

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview