المُواطنَةُ الحقَّة في أثينا

يُفسِّرُ في هذه المقالةِ أعضاءٌ من مُلتَقى الشباب السوريّ واليونانيّ الواقِع في أثينا كيف يُتِيحُ المُلْتَقى مِنصّةً للمواطنة الحقَّة في المدينة.

أنشأنا مُلْتَقى الشباب السوريّ اليونانيّ في سنة 2018 قاصدينَ إلى دَعْمِ أنشطة بناءِ المجتمع المحليّ التي يقوم بها اللاجئون، وطالبو اللجوء، والجيل الثاني من السوريّين واليونانيّين. وهدفنا البعيد الأمد هو إعانة هؤلاء وغيرهم من المجتمعات المحليّة على أن يصيروا مواطنين ويبلغوا من المواطنة الحقّة تمامها. أثينا هي المكان الذي نعيش فيه ونعمل وننام ونحبُّ ونلعب، وإنّا لَنُعارِضُ بشدّةٍ فكرةَ أنّ اللاجئين ضحايا ضعفاء أو أناسٌ بائسون. نحن مواطنون. اجتمعنا فألّفنا فريقاً من الناشطين، والذي جمعنا هو فَهْمٌ مشترك لأهميّة وعِظَمِ قَدْرِ العمل الجماعيّ في المجتمع، ولا سيّما من خلال بناء المشاريع بِيَدِ المجتمع المحليّ من أجل المجتمع المحليّ. ثم إنّا نجري البحوث ونتّبع أحسن سُنَنِ العمل في الإدماج، ونعمل متضامنين ومتعاونين مع غيرنا من المنظّمات المعنيّة بالمهاجرين والأقليّات ومع مجتمعاتهم المحليّة.

مُجاهَدَةٌ حضريّة

يُكافِحُ عمل المُلتَقى خلفيّةً حضريّة تتجمّع فيها وتتداخل رواياتٌ عن الأزمةمختلفةٌ. وفي غَمْرَةِ حالٍ اقتصاديّةٍ صعبة، وغياب الدولة في أعمال إيصال الخدمات، لا بدّ للجهات الفاعلة المنظّمات الأخرى من أن تتدخَّل. إذ هناكَ نقصٌ في دعم الدولة للتضامن ونشاط الأعمال، ولكنّا نعمل مع غيرها على بناء شِبَاكِ التضامن، وجَمْعِ مَنْظوراتٍ عِدّة ومجالات مختلفة من الأنشطة.

ولطالما كانت أثينا مدينةً يَقْدِمُها كلّ من الذين عبروا الحدود حديثاً، وتاريخيّاً، الذين ينتقلون في حدود اليونان ويهاجرون من مكانٍ إلى آخر. ويشيع سماع الناس يقولون: "ليس من شيءٍ اسمه أثينيُّون أصليُّون"، على حين يقول مثلٌ عربيّ مَن عاشرَ قوماً أربعينَ يوماً صارَ منهم. ومع ذلك، فإغلاق الحدود وتقييد حريّة التنقُّل تُبْقِي الناسَ في المدينة، وهذا يُفْضِي إلى حالٍ تقتضي بَذْلَ جهدٍ لبناء المجتمع والانتماء.

لكنْ لا شكّ أنّ هذه السياسة وشاعريّة الانتماءِ قد قُوبِلَتا بعَداءِ بعض الناس. إذ يتزايد رُهَابُ الأجانب والاعتداءات العنصريّة في هذا البلد الذي يعاني أزمةً ماليّة، ففيه يُجَرّمُ المهاجرون تجريماً عريضاً، ويُضفَى الطابع المؤسسيّ على التنميط العنصريّ والحَجْز.[1] وواصلت الحكومة التي يُطلَقُ عليها اسم الديمقراطيّة الجديدة، منذ انتخبت في منتصف سنة 2019، إخلاءَ الأماكن التي يشغلها اللاجئون شَغْلاً غير شرعيّ، وأقرّت قوانين لجوءٍ تنتهك حقوق الإنسان.

ولكنّ كلّ ذلك يَسْتنهِضُ هِمَمَنا. فلمّا لم يكن هناكَ منظَّمة دوليّة غير حكوميّة لتتوسّط، ظهرت إمكانيّاتٌ جديد للتواصل والتعاون المباشرَين بين البلديّة والمجتمعات المحليّة.

مشاريع النّاشطين

يُشارِكُ مُلتَقى الشباب السوريّ واليونانيّ في مشاريعَ على مستوى المدينة، مثل منظّمة كيورِنْغ ذا لِنْبو (Curing the Limbo) التي تُسهِمُ في ما يُبْذَلُ من جهدٍ لتمكين المجتمعات المحليّة وإعانتها على المُضيِّ قُدُماً لتغلب حالَ عدم الاستقرار وحالَ الحيرة الواقعتان على أكثر طالبي اللجوء.[2] وُملتَقَانَا مجتمعٌ متضامنٌ مُسمّىً في منظّمة كيورِنْغ ذا لِنْبو، ويُشِيرُ إلينا القيِّمون على المنظمة باسم الأثِينيُّون، تقديراً لقيمة العمل المجتمعيّ الذي نقوم به. ولقد عملنا بجدٍّ على وَصْلِ أفراد المجتمع المحليّ السوريّ في أثينا بها وعلى تمكينهم، ثمّ عملنا على تمثيل هذا المجتمع المحليّ في مستويات مختلفة، ففي السياسة المحليّة، وفي اجتماعاتٍ مع ممثّلين من الاتحاد الأوروبي والمفوضيّة السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، في عديدٍ من الأحداث الثقافيّة، وذلك جزءٌ من الحياة اليوميّة في أثينا وداخلَ البلديّة. وقد أنشأنا درجة عاليَةً من الثقة بنا في المجتمع المحليّ السوريّ وفي غيره، وأقمنا مُلتقانا على أساسِ أنّه موردٌ رئيسٌ للسوريّين الذين في أثينا وفي أماكن أخرى باليونان.

وفي المستوى الفرديّ، نتعلّم اللغات ونتلقّى التعليمَ ونُعلِّمُ غيرَنا، فكلُّ هذه، أدواتٌ للمواطنة الحقَّة. ولمّ نَنْفكّ نُعِدُّ برامج تنمية المهارات من أكثر من سنة، والعديد منها جاهزٌ للعمل جارٍ. وإنّنا مُشَاركونَ أيضاً في العديد من المبادرات الأخرى في أثينا، ومن ذلك: مشاركتنا في دورات إدارة الأعمال تدعمها منظّمة التضامن الآن (Solidarity Now) ومشروع أوديسيا (Odyssea) ومنظّمتان مقرّهما أثينا تُركّزان على العمل الاجتماعيّ، ثم مشاركتنا في حملة الإدماج السياسيّ التي ينظمها المنتدى اليونانيّ للاجئين، نتلقّى فيها الإرشاد التيسيريّ والتدريب على المناصرة، ومعلوماتٍ عن القوانين الدوليّة والمحليّة، ثم إدارتنا لوُرَشِ تسجيل صوتيّ وإنتاجنا مسلسلاً إذاعيّاً[3]، ثم إتاحتنا دوراتٍ لاستنهاض الهِمَمِ وتوسيع المدارك، وإلقاؤنا محاضراتٍ وحفلاتٍ موسيقيّة في المدارس والمهرجانات موضوعها الديمقراطيّة والثقافة والاندماج السياسيّ، وإجراؤنا أعمالاً تنظيفيّة بانتظامٍ في الشواطئ والشوارع، ومشاركتنا في المشاريع الزراعيّة، وتوعيتنا المجتمعَ المحليّ بما له صلةٌ بالبيئة من مسائلَ وحلول، وإدارَتُنا مَجْلِسَاً للثقافة ومن بعض ما فيه برنامجٌ للرقص السوريّ، وتنميتنا المهارات الموسيقيّة وتبادلها.

ونعمل أيضاً على كثير من المشاريع الأخرى، ومنها: التخطيط لإخراجِ نموذجِ عملٍ لدَعْمِ الناس الذين يتطلّعون إلى بَدْءِ أعمالهم الخاصّة، وتهيئة قطعة أرضٍ خارجَ أثينا لتكونَ موضعاً لإنتاج غذاءٍ مستدام، وافتتاح مقهى ثقافيّ سيُتبَادلُ فيه أطراف الحديث باللغات الأجنبيّة لتعلُّمها وستُقَامُ العروض الإبداعيّة وستُدَارُ المناقشات الثقافيّة، وإيجاد بيتٍ مشترك لأعضاءِ مُلْتَقى الشباب السوريّ اليونانيّ الذين مضى على عضويّتهم زمن طويل ولحالات الإسكان الطارئ، والعمل مع الأطفال لنوَسِّعَ نطاق عملنا في المجتمع المحليّ، وإتاحة مزيدٍ من دروس صناعة الأفلام والإنتاج الإعلاميّ، وإجراء برنامج للخياطة والحِرَف، وإقامة تدريبٍ على إصلاحِ الآلات الموسيقيّة.

ونحن نقود اليومَ خطةً للاستفادة من أصحاب مهارات البناءِ في المجتمع المحليّ لتجديد المباني المهدومة، وبذلك نُوسِّعُ خيارات إقامة اللاجئين ونُقلِّلُ مشكلة التشرُّد في المدينة. ثم إنّ بيننا وبين وزارة التربية والتَّعليم اتّصالٌ لنحصل منها على إذنٍ لدخول مخيّمات اللاجئين في المدينة، كي نُعِينَ المجتمعات المحليّة هناكَ على إيجاد حلول بدلاً من الإقامة في المخيّمات، ونعمل معاً في الوقت نفسه لتحسين الحال في المخيّمات.

لقد أنشأنا مُلْتَقى الشباب السوريّ اليونانيّ ووصلنا به إلى ما وصلنا إليه اليومَ من غير ميزانيّة، لم يكن بين يدينا إلا حُسْنُ النيّة والتنظيم والاجتهاد والمواظبة والتضامن. ونحن اليومَ بصددِ التسجيل لجَعْلِ ملتقانا منظّمةً غير حكومية، وذلك لنضمن استدامةَ عملنا في وَضْعٍ سياسيّ لا ينفكُّ يتقلّب.

انفتاح المدينة

لمّا كنّا خبرنا ما خبرناه في اليونان، اكتسبنا فَهْماً عميقاً في آثار اللاجئين وتأثيرهم في المجتمع المضيف والعَكْس، ونحن اليومَ نُحوِّلُ هذه المعارف إلى أفعال. وصحيحٌ أنّ عملنا منبثقٌ من المجتمع المحليّ السوريّ، ولكنّه لا يقتصر عليهم. بل إننا نهدف إلى أن نُشرِكَ مجتمعاتٍ محليّة أخرى في نصيبٍ من عملنا ومواردنا، فيُمكِّنُ بذلك بَعْضُنا بعضاً. هذا من جهة، ومن جهةٍ أخرى، فإنّ ما يُنِهِضُ هِمَمَنا في عملنا هذا هو بذل الجهد لأن نُدرَجَ في الحياة السياسيّة والثقافيّة في أثينا، ونعم، هذا يقتضي حقوقاً أكثر، ولكنّهُ يقتضي أيضاً أن نتحمّل مسؤولياتنا ونُسْهِمَ في حُسْن حال المدينة.

ننظُرُ إلى المدينة فنسأل أنفسنا: ماذا يمكن أن نفعل لها من حيث نحن مواطنون؟ هذا فَهمُنا للمواطنة الحقَّة، ولهذا نرى أنّ مُلْتَقى الشباب السوريّ واليونانيّ هو منصّة مواطنة. فنهدف إلى استنهاضِ هِمَمِ الجماعات الأخرى وإلهامهم أن يصيروا جزءاً من المدينة نَشِطاً، وذلك للدفاع عن التنوُّع والاختلاف، فنُمَكَّنَ بذلك جميعاً. ثم إنّنا نعمل على توسيع التضامن وانفتاح المدينة؛ أي إسقاط الحدود التي خُطَّت بينَ المواطنين وغير المواطنين، وبين اللاجئين ومضيفيهم.

كريم القباني kareemalqabany@gmail.com

وائل حبال waelhb707@gmail.com

توم وِسْتِرن thom.western@gmail.com

أعضَاءُ الفريقِ الأساسيّ في مُلْتَقى الشباب السوريّ اليونانيّ

www.facebook.com/SGYF2019

 

[1]في سنة 2012، وسَّعَتْ عمليّةُ إكسِنْيُس زِييُس سُلْطتا الوَقْفِ والتفتيشعند شرطة أثينا، وأفضت إلى زيادة حَجْزِ الناس الذين عبروا الحدود ليصلوا إلى اليونان. انظر:

 Rozakou K (2018) ‘Solidarians in the Land of Xenios Zeus: Migrant Deportability and the Radicalisation of Solidarity’, in Dalaklglou D

(متضامنون في أرض إكسِنْيُس زِييُس: إجازة ترحيل المهاجرين وتطرُّف التضامن)

وانظر:

Agelopoulos G (Eds) Critical Times in Greece: Anthropological Engagements with the Crisis London: Routledge. pp 188–201.

(زمنٌ حرجٌ في اليونان: الارتباطات الأنثروبولوجيّة بالأزمة)

[2] https://curingthelimbo.gr/en/home  

[3] لمزيدٍ من المعلومات انظر https://citizensoundarchive.com

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Active citizenship in Athens

Members of the Athens-based Syrian and Greek Youth Forum explain how it provides a platform for active citizenship in the city.

We founded the Syrian and Greek Youth Forum (SGYF) in 2018 to support community-building activities among refugees, asylum seekers, second-generation Syrians and Greek nationals. Our long-term goal is to help these and other communities become fully active citizens. Athens is where we live, work, sleep, love and play – we actively resist the idea that refugees are vulnerable victims or tragic figures. We are citizens. We came together as a team of activists through a shared understanding of the importance and value of acting as a community, particularly through building projects by the community for the community. We research and implement best practices of inclusion, and work in solidarity and collaboration with other migrant and minority organisations and communities.

Urban struggles

The Forum’s work is set against an urban backdrop in which various narratives of ‘crisis’ gather and overlap. In the midst of a difficult economic situation, and the absence of the State in service provisioning, other actors and organisations have to step in. There is a lack of State support for solidarity and activism, but we work with others to build solidarity networks, bringing together multiple perspectives and different areas of activism.

Athens has long been an arrival city, both for those who have recently crossed borders and, historically, for people moving within Greece’s borders and migrating from elsewhere. It is common to hear people say that “there is no such thing as a native Athenian” – while an Arabic proverb states that if you stay among people for forty days you become one of them. Meanwhile, border closures and restricted freedom of movement keep people in the city, which in turn demands efforts to build community and belonging.

Of course, these politics and poetics of belonging are met with hostility by some. Xenophobia and racist attacks have been on the rise in a country beset by financial crisis, where there has also been broader criminalisation of immigration, and institutionalisation of racial profiling and detention.[1] Since their election in mid-2019, the New Democracy government has pursued the eviction of refugee squats and has passed asylum laws that violate human rights.

Yet this gives us motivation. Where there is no international non-governmental organisation (INGO) in the middle, new possibilities emerge for direct communication and collaboration between the municipality and local communities.

Activist projects

SGYF is involved in city-level projects such as Curing the Limbo, which contributes to efforts to empower communities and help them move beyond the limbo state of uncertainty and inaction that most asylum seekers experience.[2] We are a named solidarity community in the Curing the Limbo project and we are referred to as Athenians by its organisers in recognition of the value of the community work we do. We have worked hard both to connect and empower the Syrian community in Athens, and then to represent this community at various levels: within local politics, at meetings with representatives from the European Union and the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR), at numerous cultural events, as part of everyday life in Athens, and within the municipality. We have developed a high level of trust within and beyond the Syrian community and have established ourselves as a key resource for Syrians in Athens and elsewhere in Greece.

Individually, we are learning languages and both pursuing and providing education: all tools for active citizenship. We have been preparing skills development programmes for over a year, of which several are up and running. We are also involved in various other initiatives in Athens, including: participating in business courses supported by Solidarity Now and Odyssea, two Athens-based organisations focused on social action and solidarity; being part of the Greek Forum of Refugees’ political inclusion campaign, receiving facilitation guidance and advocacy training, and information on international and domestic law; running sound recording workshops and producing a radio series;[3] offering motivation and awareness courses; giving talks and concerts at schools and festivals on themes of democracy, culture and political inclusion; conducting regular beach and street cleaning; participating in agricultural projects; raising community awareness of environmental matters and solutions; running a culture department, including a Syrian dance programme; and developing and sharing music skills.

We are working on many more projects, which include: producing a template business plan to support people looking to start their own businesses; developing a plot of land outside Athens into a site of sustainable food production; opening a cultural café where language exchanges, creative performances and cultural discussions will take place; finding a shared house for long-term members of SGYF, and for emergency accommodation; working with children to expand the scope of our work for the community; offering further media production and film classes; and providing a sewing and craft programme, and training to repair musical instruments.

We are leading a plan to use existing construction skills within the community to renovate ruined buildings, thereby expanding accommodation options for refugees and reducing the problem of homelessness in the city. And we are in communication with the Ministry of Education to obtain permission to enter the city’s refugee camps, in order to help the communities there to find alternative solutions to encampment, and working together in the meantime to improve the situation in the camps.

We have built SGYF to this level with no budget – just goodwill, organisation, hard work and solidarity. We are now in the process of registering as an NGO, to ensure the sustainability of our work in an ever-changing political situation.

Opening up the city

Through our experience in Greece we have gained a deep understanding of the effects and impacts of refugees on the hosting community and vice versa, and are turning this knowledge into action. Our work emanates from the Syrian community, but it is not only for them. Rather, we aim to work and share our resources with other communities, empowering all of us in the process. And this in turn is animated by efforts to be included in the political and cultural life of Athens – demanding greater rights but also embracing our responsibilities and contributing to the well-being of the city.

We watch the city and ask what we can do as citizens. This is what we understand as active citizenship, and this is why we consider SGYF as a platform for citizenship. We aim to motivate and inspire other groups to become an active part of the city, to champion diversity and to empower all of us together. We work to expand solidarities and to open up the city – unmaking borders between citizens and non-citizens, between refugees and hosts.

 

Kareem Alkabbani kareemalqabany@gmail.com

Wael Habbal waelhb707@gmail.com

Tom Western thom.western@gmail.com

Core team members of the Syrian and Greek Youth Forum

www.facebook.com/SGYF2019/

 

[1] In 2012 Operation Xenios Zeus expanded ‘stop and search’ powers for Athens police and led to an increase in the detention of people who had crossed borders to get to Greece. See Rozakou K (2018) ‘Solidarians in the Land of Xenios Zeus: Migrant Deportability and the Radicalisation of Solidarity’, in Dalaklglou D and Agelopoulos G (Eds) Critical Times in Greece: Anthropological Engagements with the Crisis London: Routledge. pp 188–201.

[2] https://curingthelimbo.gr/en/home  

[3] See https://citizensoundarchive.com/ for more information.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview