مقارَبةُ إعدادِ برامجَ تشمل المدينة كُلّها في حَضَرِ بنغلاديش

طبّقت منظمة الرؤية العالميّة مقاربةً تشمل المدينة كُلّها لتقلِّلَ من عمل الأطفال ولتحمي حقوقَ الأطفال العاملين في أربع مدن ببنغلاديش. وفي هذه المقاربة دروسٌ لكلِّ المشاركين في إعداد البرامج الحضريّة.

يُقدّرُ أنّ من الأطفال النَّازحين داخليّاً نحوٌ من ثلاثة ملايين وخمس المليون (3.2) يعملون في بنغلاديش. وفي أغلب الحالات، تضطر الأسر النازحة داخليّاً إلى إخراج أطفالها من المدرسة وإرسالهم إلى العمل، لأنها غير قادرة على القيام بكلفة تعليمهم، أو لأنها محتاجةٌ إلى المال حتّى تعيش. ويمكن أن يعمل الأطفال قانونيّاً في بنغلاديش ابتداءً من سنّ 14، وتحظر السياسة الوطنيّة للقضاء على عمل الأطفال، الصادرة سنة 2010، توظيفَ الأطفال الذين هم دون السنّ القانونيّة وتوظيف الأطفال في الأعمال الخطرة، ولكنّ تنفيذ هذه السياسة ما يزال قليلاً ضيّقَ النطاق. ولذلك، يَكْثُرُ أن يعمل الأطفال في أعمال خطرة، ومنها صناعة الملابس، والنّقل، وتحطيم السفن، وصيد الأسماك، والعمل المنزلي، وأعمال البناء، والبيع في الشوارع، ونبش النفايات.

وفي هذه الظروف، استهدفت منظمة الرؤية العالمية في بنغلاديش 88853 طفلٍ نازحٍ داخليّاً (57% منهم بناتٌ و43% منهم بنين) في أربع مدن (وهي دكّا، وشيتاغونغ، سيلهيت، وخولنا) من سنة 2016 إلى سنة 2018. وكان الغرض إبعاد الأطفال عن الأعمال الخطرة، ومحاولة ضمان تمتعهم بحقوقهم الأساسيّة، وذلك بتطبيق المقاربة القياسيّة التي عند منظمة الرؤية العالميّة على كل البرامج الحضريّة؛ وهي مقاربة تشمل المدينة كُلّها تُمَدُّ في مستويات مختلفة من إدارة المدينة لتضمنَ أثراً مستداماً. وتُرسِي هذه المقاربة، استناداً إلى مشاركاتٍ وتعاونٍ، أليّات دَعْم المجتمع المحليّ، ثم تعتمد على المعرفة وعلى وما يرد عليها من تقويم الأداء من الأنشطة في هذه الأحياء، لكي تُقِيمَ المناصرةَ في مستوى سياسات المقاطعات والسياسات الوطنيّة.

في مستوى الحيّ

استُهِدفَ في هذا المستوى الأطفال والآباء والأمهات وأصحاب العمل. فأمّا الأطفال الذين تقع سنّهم بين 5 و14 فقد فُتِحَ لهم سبيل الوصول إلى ما هو بالمجّان من تعليمٍ غير الرسميّ وتعليمٍ أساسيّ قائم على الكفاءة، وإلى أمكنة رياضة الأجسام وغير ذلك من ضروب الترفيه. ولقد اشتُمِلَ على الأطفال المُعوّقين في برامج التعليم غير الرسميّ، وقد رُوعُوا على حسب حاجتهم. وأمّا الشباب الذي تقع سنّهم بين 15 و18، فقد كان لهم التدريب على المهارات المهنيّة، حتّى يستطيعوا أن يجدوا عملاً -غير خطيرٍ- يليق بهم. ولإعانة الأطفال على الاتصال بأصحاب العمل، أُشرِكَ أصحاب العمل المحتمل أن يوظّفوهم، ووُعُّوا في الوقت نفسه بما في اتفاقية حقوق الطفل والقوانين المعنيّة بعمل الأطفالوفد أنشِئَت قاعدَةُ معطياتٍ تُعِينُ على ضمانِ إيصال الخدمات المناسبة إلى الأطفال على حسب حاجاتهم المُعيّنة.

وفوق ذلك، أُتِيحَ بناء القدرات التي لها صلة بتوليد الدّخل، والإدّخار، وريادة الأعمال لأسرٍ عددها 12 ألفاً (كان أطفالها يعملون في أعمال خطرة، وكان دخل أسرهم أقلّ من 35 دولاراً أمريكيّاً في الشهر). وقد قُلِّلَ الدعم النقديّ الذي كان متاحاً لبعض الأسر التي فيها مَواطِنُ ضعفٍ معيّنة، تقليلاً تدريجيّاً، حين أصبحت مشاركةً في أعمالٍ موّلدةٍ للدخل. وفي الوقت نفسه، قصدت برامج توسيع المدارك إلى بناءِ مدارك الآباء والأمهات ليدركوا ما في عمل الأطفال من آثارٍ ضارّة. هذا، ودعمت منظّمة الرؤية العالميّة في بنغلاديش، لضمان المشاركة المجتمعيّة، تأليف المنظّمات الأهليّة التي أدارت خطط الادّخار وأقرضت أعضاءها. وقد أعان العمل مع المنظّمات الأهليّة أيضاً على ضمان مشاركة المجتمع المحليّ في رَصْدِ ما يُنْتَهكُ في عمل الأطفال والتبليغ عنه.

في مستوى المقاطعة

أقامت منظّمة الرؤية العالميّة في بنغلاديش، في هذا المستوى، مشاركات وتعاوناً بينها وبين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة المعنيّين، ومنهم من في القطاع الخاصّ، ومنظّمات المجتمع المدني، وغيرها من مؤسسات في مستوى المقاطعات، وذلك لكي تُناقِشَ المسائلَ الموصولة بالأطفال النازحين، ولكي تُقِيمَ المناصرة مع سلطاتٍ، كمديريةّ التربية والتعليم في المدينة. ومن فضل الجهد التعاونيّ، أن أُلِّفَت لجان حماية عمل الأطفال في المدن الأربع. ففي بنغلاديش، لا تعمل معظم اللجان المحليّة في مستوى الأقسام (وهي أخفض طبقة من طبقات الحكومة المحليّة) لأنها مفتقرةٌ إلى الموارد والاستقلال في اتّخاذ القرار، ولكنّ لجان حماية عمل الأطفال عزّزت قدرتَها من خلال دَعمها بأعمال أمانة السرّ وإعانتها بتيسير الاجتماعات. وقد أنشِئَت مكاتب استفهامٍ وتبليغ مراعيةٌ لحاجات الأطفال، وخطُّ مساعدة، في مراكز الشرطة المحليّة، وذلك لضمان ألا تُنتَهكَ حقوق الأطفال، ولفَسْحِ السبيل للتبليغ عن كلِّ انتهاك.

في المستوى الوطنيّ

ألّفت منظّمة الرؤية العالمّة في بنغلاديش ومنظّمات غير حكوميّة حِلْفاً يَنْصُرُ تغييرَ السياسات في المستوى الوطنيّ، فأدارَ الحِلْفُ عدداً من المناقشات بينه وبين وزارة التربية والتعليم، ووزارة شؤون المرأة والطفل. وكان الغرض من تلك المناقشات ضمان أن يتحسَّنَ تنفيذ السياسة الوطنيّة للقضاء على عمل الأطفال الصادرة سنة 2010، والسياسة الوطنيّة للتعليم الصادرة سنة 2010 أيضاً، وأن يُحَثَّ صانعو السياسات على تغييرها بحيث تُعَالِجُ حاجاتِ الأطفال النَّازحين. فنشأ من هذه المناقشات خطةُ عملٍ موصولة بهذه النقاط، واتفاقٌ على التأثير الذي يحتمل أن يكون لأصحاب المصلحة المعنيّين في الأمر.

التحدّيات وتقليلها

كان من هذه المقاربة التي تشمل المدينة كُلّها، أنّ 70 ألفَ طفلٍ على التقريب إمّا عادوا إلى المدرسة (وهم مَن سنّهم أقلّ مِن 14) أو استمرّوا في العمل ولكنْ في وظائف أفضل (وهم مَن سنّهم أكثر مِن 14). وفي الوقت نفسه، انتفعت أسرهم من التدريب المهنيّ وأنشطة توليد الدّخل. فزاد دَخْلُ أسرهم، في المتوسط، 15%. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من أنّ هذه المبادرات أظهرت نتائج عظيمة، وقعت عدّة تحدّيات على امتداد طريق التنفيذ، وقد يكون لبعض هذه التحدّيات وكيفيّة معالجتها صلةٌ بالعاملين في إعداد البرامج الحضريّة في غير هذه الحالات.

وكانت إحدى التحدّيات البارزة هي طبيعة العيشة الحضريّة التنقُّليّة والديناميّة. إذ يعتمد إيصال الخدمات إلى من يحتاج إليها كَثِيرَ اعتمادٍ على استطاعة الوصول إليهم، ولكنْ قد لا يظلّ النَّازحون في مكان واحدٍ مدّةً طويلة. فأتى وَصْلُ الأُسَر النَّازحة بالمنظمات الأهليّة وحَثُّهم على المشاركة في خطط الادّخار، فجلبَ شيئاً من الأمن، حتّى لا يحتاج النَّازحون إلى الانتقال كما كانوا ينتقلون من قبلُ.

ثمّ كان هناكَ تحدٍّ بارز آخر، وهو تَفْضِيلُ الناس الأكثر استضعافاً من النَّازحين داخلياً، أن يُعطَوا الدعم النقديّ المباشر، لا أن تُبنَى قدرتهم ويُدرّبون على المهارات. ومن أجل ذلك، جاء مُمَثلُو الحكومة المحليّة والقادَةُ الدينيُّون وذوو النفوذ، فحفزوا النَّازحين داخلياً إلى ما في بناء القدرة والتدريب على المهارات من فوائدَ بعيدة الأمد.

على أنّ ما بُذِلَ من جهد في لجان حماية عمل الأطفال لمعالجة الانتهاك (أي انتهاك قانون عمل الأطفال، والإساءة للأطفال جسدياً وجنسيّاً) لم يكن ناجعاً بحيث تحصل الكفاية، في الحالات التي يكون فيها المُنْتَهِكُ صاحبَ نفوذٍ. ولذلك، أُعِيدَ تأليفُ اللجان لتشمل أعضاءً من هيئات إنفاذ القانون، والإعلام، والناس البارزين في المجتمع المدنيّ، حّتى يُستعمَل تأثير كلّ هذه وهؤلاء لبلوغ الغاية.

ونحن نوصي بما يلي لتحسين تطبيق هذه المقاربة:

تخصيص الزمن في مستوى الحيّ: ينبغي، على حسب المقاربة التي تشمل المدينة كُلّها، لهيئة الإعانة (وهي في هذه الحالة منظّمة الرؤية العالميّة في بنغلاديش) أولاً أن تركز همّها في جَمْعِ ما في القاعدة الشعبيّة من بصائرَ، في مستوى الحيّ، ثم إتاحَةِ الخبرة التِّقْنيّة. وينبغي أن تتعاقب البصائر من مستوى الحيّ على مستوى المقاطعة والمستوى الوطنيّ من خلال المشاركات ومبادرات المناصرة، لكي يُولّدَ أثرٌ أعرض. ومع ذلك، أنشأ بَدْءُ التدخُّلات في المستويات الثلاثة (أي مستوى الحيّ ومستوى المقاطعة والمستوى الوطنيّ) في آنٍ معاً بعضَ الإشكال، وقلَّلَ نجوعَ عملنا. فاستخلصنا من ذلك أنّه ينبغي تَخْصِيصُ مزيدٍ من الوقت في مستوى الحيّ، قبل الشروعِ في أعمالٍ في مستوى المقاطعة والمستوى الوطنيّ.

التوعية في التنمية الاجتماعيّة والمؤسّسيّة: التعاون مع سلطات المدينة أو ممثلي الحكومة هو أحدُ أركانِ المقاربة التي تشمل المدينة كُلّها. ومع ذلك، نَجِدُ أنّ رغبة ممثلي الحكومة في بنغلاديش، عموماً، في التعاون على التنمية المباشرة (أي الدعم النقديّ، وتنمية البنية التحتيّة، وغير ذلك) أكثر من رغبتهم في التعاون على التنمية الاجتماعيّة (مثل بناء القدرة وتوسيع المدارك في المجتمع المحليّ) أو التنمية المؤسّسيّة (كبناء قدرة الحكومة المحليّة). ومن ثمّ، كان هناك حاجةٌ لا تزال تُلِحُّ إلى توسيع المدارك بين ممثلي الحكومة وهيئات الخدمات ليدركوا أهميّة التنمية الاجتماعيّة والمؤسّسيّة.

المناصرة والمتابعة: رأى بعض ممثلي الحكومة أنّ معالجةَ حاجات ساكني الأحياء الفقيرة تُثْنيهم عن العودة إلى قراهم، فكان من ذلك أنْ قلّ اهتمامهم بمعالجة تلك الحاجات. فكان ينبغي وَضْعُ إطارِ عملٍ وخطة لمناصرةٍ، غَرَضُها إثارَةُ اهتمام أصحاب المصلحة المعنيّين الأكثر نفوذاً والأقلّ اهتماماً، وكان ينبغي أن يُشرَكَ ممثلو الحكومة من أوّل خطوةٍ في طريق إعداد المشروع. وبعدُ، فإن أُرِيدَ ضمان استدامة هذه المقاربة، ينبغي أن تُعِدَّ هيئات الإعانة والهيئات الحكوميّة إطارَ عملٍ تشترك فيه هذه الهيئات في الرّصد.

 

بِبَاشا دَتَا Bipasha_Dutta@wvi.org

مُنسّقةٌ وطنيّة، في إدارة الإستراتيجيّات والابتكار والمعرفة، بمنظّمة الرؤية العالميّة في بنغلاديش www.wvi.org/bangladesh 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A citywide programming approach in urban Bangladesh

World Vision applied a citywide approach to reducing the prevalence of child labour and to protecting working children’s rights in four cities in Bangladesh. This approach offers lessons for others involved in urban programming.

It is estimated that some 3.2 million internally displaced children are involved in child labour in Bangladesh. In most cases, internally displaced families are forced to take their children out of school and put them to work because they cannot afford their children’s education or because they need the money to enable the family to survive. Children in Bangladesh can be legally employed from the age of 14; the 2010 National Child Labour Elimination Policy prohibits both under-age employment and the employment of children in hazardous work but implementation of this policy remains limited. Consequently, children are frequently engaged in hazardous work including in the clothing industry, transport, shipbreaking, fishing, domestic work, construction, street vending and garbage scavenging

Against this backdrop, World Vision Bangladesh targeted 88,853 internally displaced children (57% girls, 43% boys) in four cities (Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet and Khulna) from 2016 to 2018. The aim was to take children away from hazardous work and to try to ensure that they can enjoy their basic rights by applying World Vision’s standard approach for all urban programming: a ‘citywide’ approach which is rolled out at different levels of city administration to ensure a sustainable impact. Based on partnerships and collaboration, this approach promotes local community support mechanisms and then draws on the knowledge and feedback gained from these neighbourhood activities in order to undertake advocacy at district and national policy levels.

Neighbourhood level

At this level, children, parents and employers were targeted. Children aged 5–14 were given  access to free non-formal education and competency-based basic education, and to sports and other forms of recreation. Children with disabilities were included in the non-formal education programme with care provided according to their needs. Meanwhile, young people aged between 15 and 18 received vocational skills trainings to enable them to find decent – non-hazardous – employment. To help children connect with job providers, potential employers were involved, who were at the same time sensitised on the Convention on the Rights of the Child and on laws pertaining to child labour. A database was created to help ensure delivery of appropriate services to children according to their specific needs.

Furthermore, capacity building – relating to income generation, savings and entrepreneurship – was provided for 12,000 families (whose children were engaged in hazardous labour and whose household income was below US$35 per month). Cash support provided to some particularly vulnerable families was reduced gradually when families became engaged in income-generating activities. Meanwhile, awareness-raising programmes aimed to build parents’ awareness of the harmful effects of child labour. To ensure community engagement, World Vision Bangladesh supported the formation of community-based organisations (CBOs) that ran savings schemes and provided loans to their members. Working with the CBOs also helped ensure community participation in monitoring and reporting of child labour abuses.

District level

At this level, World Vision Bangladesh developed partnerships and collaborations with different stakeholders including the private sector, civil society organisations and other district-level institutions in order to discuss issues relating to displaced children and to undertake advocacy with authorities such as the city’s education department. Thanks to a collaborative effort, child labour protection committees (CLPCs) were formed in the four cities. In Bangladesh, most of the local ward-level committees (the lowest tier of local government) are not functional as they lack resources and autonomy for decision making but the CLPCs strengthened their capacity by providing secretarial support and help with facilitating meetings. Child-friendly enquiry/reporting desks and a helpline were established at local police stations to ensure children’s rights are not violated and to enable reporting of abuses.

National level

World Vision Bangladesh and other non-governmental organisations formed an alliance to conduct policy advocacy at the national level, holding a number of discussions with the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Women and Children Affairs. The purpose of these discussions was to ensure more effective implementation of the National Child Labour Elimination Policy 2010 and the National Education Policy 2010, and to encourage policymakers to introduce policy changes in order to address the needs of displaced children. From these discussions emerged an action plan relating to these points, plus agreement on the potential roles of the different stakeholders.

Challenges and mitigation

As a result of this citywide approach, approximately 70,000 children either returned to school (if aged below 14) or continued to work but in better jobs (those aged 14 or above). Meanwhile, their families benefited from vocational training and income-generating activities. On average, their household income increased by 15%. However, although these initiatives showed significant results, several challenges were faced throughout implementation; some of these challenges, and how they were addressed, might be relevant to those working in other urban programming cases.

One prominent challenge was the mobile and dynamic nature of urban life. The provision of services to those in need depends largely on the ability to reach them but displaced people may not remain for long in one place. Connecting displaced families with the CBOs and encouraging them to join saving schemes provided a certain level of security so they did not need to move on as much.

Another notable challenge was the preference among the most vulnerable internally displaced persons (IDPs) for direct cash support rather than capacity building and skills training. Local government representatives and local religious leaders and influential people were consequently engaged to motivate IDPs on the long-term benefits of capacity building and skills training.

Efforts by the CLPCs to address abuse (both of child employment law, and physical and sexual abuse of children) were not very effective in cases where the abuser was an influential person. The committees were consequently re-formed to include members of law-enforcing agencies, the media and prominent persons of local society to bring more pressure to bear.

We recommend the following to improve application of this approach:

Allocating time at the neighbourhood level: According to the citywide approach, the assistance agency (in this case, World Vision Bangladesh) should first focus on gathering grassroots insights at the neighbourhood level, and then provide technical expertise. Insights from the neighbourhood level should be cascaded at district and national levels through partnerships and advocacy initiatives in order to generate broader impact. However, initiating interventions at three levels (neighbourhood, district and national) simultaneously was somewhat problematic and limited our effectiveness. We conclude that more time should be allocated at the neighbourhood level before carrying forward activities at district and national levels.

Sensitisation around social and institutional development: Collaboration with city authorities and/or government representatives is one of the key aspects of the citywide approach. However, the government representatives of Bangladesh are, in general, more willing to collaborate on direct development (cash support/infrastructure development and so on) than to collaborate on social development (for example, capacity building and awareness raising in the community) or institutional development (such as building local government capacity). There is thus an urgent need to build awareness among government representatives and service-providing agencies of the importance of social and institutional development.

Advocacy and follow up: Some local government representatives felt that addressing the needs of slum-dwellers would discourage them from returning to their villages; as a consequence, they had limited interest in addressing slum-dwellers’ needs. Hence, an advocacy framework and plan should have been developed to generate the interest of the more influential and less interested stakeholders – and government representatives should have been engaged from the very beginning of the project design process. Furthermore, to ensure sustainability of the approach, a framework for joint monitoring by the assistance agency and government bodies should be established.

 

Bipasha Dutta Bipasha_Dutta@wvi.org
National Coordinator, Strategy, Innovation and Knowledge Management, World Vision Bangladesh
www.wvi.org/bangladesh

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview