دوافع مختلطة وأسباب معقَّدة في ميكونغ

تستخدم كثير من المجتمعات المتأثرة بالتغير المناخي منذ مدة الهجرة كأداة للتكيف ولمقاومة التحديات الماثلة أمام سبل كسب أرزاقهم وأمنهم. ومن الواضح أنَّ تعزيز الحمايات الحالية المقدمة لجميع المهاجرين سيكون مفيداً في سياق التغير المناخي.

في منطقة الميكونغ الكبرى[1] هناك ترابط قوي بين تصور الناس للتغيرات البيئية السلبية والقرارات المتخذة حول الهجرة. ومع ذلك، من الواضح أيضاً أنَّ هناك عوامل أخرى لا تقل أهمية بل قد تكون ذات أهمية أكبر في اتخاذ القرارات حول الهجرة كما يتضح وجود علاقة متبادلة بين العوامل الاقتصادية والعوامل البيئية.

وفي قرية ما غاي تشاي هتاوت في المنطقة الوسطى الجافة في ميانمار، تتسم الظروف بالجفاف طيلة العام وشح في هطول الأمطار. ويتحدث المقيمون عن معاناتهم من انخفاض معدل هطول الأمطار ومن ارتفاع درجات الحرارة العالية. ويشير شركاء البحوث إيكوديف ومؤسسة التعليم والإنماء إلى أنَّ التغيرات البيئي تؤثر على حياة الناس خاصة من ناحية ارتفاع الديون وانخفاض الدخل وارتفاع انعدام الأمن الغذائي والتأثيرات السلبية على الصحة وانخفاض انتاج المحاصيل كماً ونوعاً.

وبانخفاض الدخل يصبح من الصعب على المقيمين توفير المدخرات اللازمة لتدبير أمورهم في أوقات الشدة في أثناء فترات التقلبات المناخية وشح المياه والتغير البيئي. وحالياً، تحدث الهجرة الخارجية وغالباً ما تكون إلى البلدات المجاورة إضافة إلى بعض الأعداد الأقل من المهاجرين إلى مناطق أبعد، كنتيجة رئيسية لعدم إتاحة الوظائف والتغيرات البيئية والمخاطر الصحية. وذكر عدد لا يُستهان منه من الناس أنَّ التغيرات البيئية كانت من بين أهم الاعتبارات التي دعتهم للهجرة من القرية في حين ذكر عدد مماثل من الأشخاص إلى أنَّ فقدان العمل هو السبب بينما أشار آخرون إلى أن السبب كان ضعف الدخل المادي.

ولوحظ وجود فجوة كبيرة بين الأغنياء والفقراء ما يعكس تعقيد العوامل المسببة للهجرة والدور المحوري للعوامل الاقتصادية في قرارات الهجرة. فقد كان الفقر يحد من استجابات الناس للتغيرات البيئية، وغالباً ما كان الأشخاص الأكثر استضعافاً في المجتمعات عاجزين عن الوصول إلى الهجرة كاستراتيجية لمسايرة الظروف.

وأشار المجتمع المحلي إلى عدد من الحاجات الرئيسية لتمكينهم من مسايرة التغيرات البيئية والآثار المترتبة عليها. وذهب العدد الأكبر من المستجيبين إلى أنهم كانوا بحاجة إلى تنوع أكبر من فرص العمل في القرية التي لا ترتبط ارتباطاً كبيراً بالموارد الطبيعية والزراعية. وتبعاً لذلك، يرغب الناس في الحصول على وصول محسَّن للقروض والمساعدات الحكومية بما يتيح لهم البقاء في مناطق سكنهم الأصلية. والوصول إلى المعلومات عامل معم أيضاً إذ قال بعض المستجيبين إنهم يرغبون في الحصول على معلومات أكبر حول الهجرة لكي يديروا المخاطر المرتبطة بها.

وفي دلتا ميكونغ في فيتنام، يشير شريك البحث مركز الأبحاث والاستشارات للإنماء إلى أنَّ التغيرات البيئية كان لها آثار سلبية على صحة الناس المحليين وعلى جودة المياه والتربة. وقال أغلبية المستجيبين إنَّ التغيرات البيئية كانت تتسبب في تردي نوعية الحياة والدخل وسبل كسب الرزق كما كانت تؤدي إلى تقليص فرص العمل ورفع مستوى الديون والحد من الإنماء الاقتصادي.

تقول إحدى المستجيبات (55 عاماً) وتعمل بالمياومة:

 " تقوم سبل كسب الرزق للمحليين على طول القناة على نوعية مياه الفيضانات وكمياتها  لكنّ الفيضانات في السنوات الأخيرة لسوء الحظ لم تكن بمستوى الجودة المتوقع ما نتج عنه قليلاً من الطمي الضروري لإنتاج المحصول الجيد. والحرارة تجعل الوضع غاية في السوء لدرجة تمنع الجميع من أداء أعمالهم في الحقل في فترات الصباح المتأخر إلى ما قبل العصر. وعلينا أن نعكس روتين الحياة اليومية ما يعني أن نبقى في المنزل طيلة النهار ونذهب لحقل الأرز للعمل في وقت الليل .....وأدى ذلك أيضاً إلى اضطراب ورديات العمل ما يضطرنا إلى تعديل إيقاعنا الحيوي. وفي السنوات الأخيرة......ازداد اضطراب ظروف الطقس."

أما الحاجات الأكثر إلحاحاً في المجتمع المحلي لمسايرة التغيرات البيئية فقد عبر عنها المقيمون بأنها تتمثل في الوصول إلى المعلومات المرتبطة بالقضايا البيئية بما يمكِّنهم من الحصول على فهم أفضل للتغيرات البيئية المتوقعة واتخاذ القرارات المدروسة على ضوئها، وذكروا من بين الحاجات أيضاً توافر الوظائف والتدريب على المهارات في المنزل والمجتمع المحلي.

يجري مركز تنسيق التغير المناخي في مدينة كانتو دراسات للوقوف على العتبة التي لا يمكن للناس أن يتحملوا دونها ظروفهم المحلية وينبغي عندنا أن يضمنوا حصولهم على حياة جيدة. وتهدف الدراسة إلى التأسيس لخطة اجتماعية-اقتصادية للمنطقة بحيث لا يُجبَر الناس في كانتو على مغادرة ديارهم.

ومن المهم جداً بالنسبة لاستجابات السياسات للمجتمعات المتأثرة بالتغير المناخي أن لا تفترض تلقائياً أنَّ الهجرة الدائمة هي الحل الاستراتيجية الأنسب أو الأكثر طلباً للتكيف. وضمن منطقة الميكونغ الكبرى، يتمثل أحد أكثر العوامل الحاسمة في تقوية التعاون الحقيقي حول القضايا العابرة للحدود المرتبطة بالتغير المناخي والهجرة.

جيسيكا مارش jessicajmarsh@gmail.com كانت منسقة التغير المناخي و الهجرة لدى شبكة ميكونغ للهجرة ما بين عامي 2012-2013.

بُنيَت هذه المقالة على أساس بحث أجرته شبكة الميكونغ للهجرة ومركز المهاجرين الآسيويين. البحث الكامل متاح على الرابط التالي: www.mekongmigration.org/CC-M%20Report%20Final.pdf

 

[1] كمبوديا وجمهورية الصين الشعبية (وعلى الأخص في مقاطعة يوننان ومنطقة قوانغشي ذاتية الحكم لقومية تشوانغ) وجمهورية لاو الديمقراطية الشعبية وميانمار وتايلندا وفيتنام.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Mixed motivations and complex causality in the Mekong

Many climate change-affected communities have already been using migration as a means to adapt to and withstand the challenges to their livelihoods and security. Strengthening of existing protections for all migrants is clearly advantageous in the context of climate change.

In the Greater Mekong Subregion[1] there is a strong correlation between people’s perception of negative environmental changes and decisions about migration. However, it is also clear that other factors are equally if not more important in decisions about migration, and that economic and environmental factors are inextricably linked.

In Ma Gyi Chay Htaut Village in Myanmar’s central dry zone, conditions are arid all year round, with limited rainfall. Residents report experiencing lower average rainfall and more extreme warm weather. Research partners ECODEV and the Foundation for Education and Development found that environmental changes are affecting lives, in particular in relation to increasing debt and decreasing income, increasing food insecurity, negative health impacts, and decreasing quality and quantity of crops.

Low income means that it is difficult for residents to accrue savings which could act as a buffer during periods of climatic variability, water stress and environmental change. Currently out-migration – mostly to nearby towns, with smaller numbers migrating further afield – is occurring primarily as a result of a lack of jobs, environmental changes and health hazards. A majority of people cited environmental changes as among the primary considerations in why they would migrate from the village, with equal numbers citing lack of jobs, and many others citing low earnings.

A big gap between rich and poor was noted, reflecting the complexity of causal factors of migration and the central role of economic factors in migration decisions. Widespread poverty was limiting people’s responses in relation to negative environmental changes and the most vulnerable people in the communities were often unable even to access migration as a coping strategy.

The community referred to several key needs if they are to be able to cope with the environmental changes and related impacts. The highest number of respondents stated that they need a wider variety of employment opportunities in the village that are not so heavily tied to natural resources and agriculture. Following this, people desire improved access to credit and government assistance to allow them to survive in their place of origin. Access to information is also an important factor, with some respondents expressing a desire for more information about migration in order to manage the associated risks.

In Vietnam’s Mekong Delta, research partner the Center for Research and Consultancy for Development found that environmental changes were having negative effects on the health of local people, the water quality and the soil quality. A majority of respondents said that environmental changes were causing a decrease in the quality of life, a decrease in incomes and livelihoods, less employment, increasing debt and less economic development.

One resident, a 55 year-old woman working as a daily wage labourer, reflected:

 “The livelihood of local people living along the channel depends much on the quality and quantity of flood water but unfortunately the flood in recent years hasn’t been as good as expected, resulting in little silt, which is needed to have a good crop. And the heat seems so terrible that nobody can do their field work in the late morning and early afternoon. We have to reverse our daily routines, meaning that we stay at home during the daytime and go to the rice field to work at night-time …working shifts are messed up and we must adjust our bio-rhythm. In recent years … weather conditions are much more irregular and disordered.”

The most pressing community needs for coping with environmental changes, as expressed by residents, are access to information regarding environmental issues so that they can better understand the expected environmental changes and make more informed decisions, and availability of different jobs and skills training in the home community.

The Climate Change Coordination Office in Cantho City is undertaking studies investigating the threshold below which people can no longer tolerate their local conditions and must move to ensure their quality of life. It aims to use its research as a basis for a socio-economic development plan for the region so that people in Cantho are not forced to move away.

It is vitally important that policy responses to climate change-affected communities do not automatically assume that permanent migration is an appropriate or desirable adaptive strategy. Within the Greater Mekong Subregion, much stronger genuine cooperation on the trans-border issues of climate change and migration is crucial.

 

Jessica Marsh jessicajmarsh@gmail.com was Climate Change and Migration Project Coordinator with the Mekong Migration Network (MMN) in 2012-13.

This article is based on research conducted by MMN and the Asian Migrant Centre. The original research report is available at: www.mekongmigration.org/CC-M%20Report%20Final.pdf.

 

[1] Cambodia, the People's Republic of China (specifically Yunnan Province and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region), Lao People's Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview