تغيير المواقف في فنلندا تجاه تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى

هناك نساء لاجئات سابقات يعملن الآن كمربيات محترفات ضمن مجتمعات المهاجرين واللاجئين في فنلندا للتعامل مع عنصر الجهل بأثر ودرجة تأثير تشويه العضو التناسلي للأنثى.

يهدف مشروع العصبة الفنلندية لحقوق المرأة الكاملة إلى منع تعريض أي فتاة تعيش في فنلندا إلى تشويه عضوها التناسلي في فنلندا أو إخراجها لذلك الغرض. وبالحديث عن تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى من منظور حقوق الإنسان والعدالة والصحة، نركز على تغيير المواقف في المجتمعات المتأثرة ونركز أيضاً على توعية المهاجرين والمهنيين والطلاب حول المجالات المختلفة كالرعاية الصحية ورفاه الأطفال والرعاية النهارية.

وفي هذه الأيام، هناك اعتراف عالمي بأنَّ تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى ممارسة تنتهك حقوق الإنسان كغيره من أشكال العنف وأنها اعتداء على كرامة النساء والفتيات وسلامتهن ومساس بمبدأ المساواة. وإضافة إلى أنَّ كثيراً من اتفاقيات حقوق الإنسان الدولية تحرِّم هذه الممارسة فهي أيضاً مجرَّمة في عدد من الدول. وحققنا واحداً من أول أهدافنا عام 2012 عندما نشرت فنلندا خطة العمل الوطنية لمنع تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للنساء والفتيات (2012-2016) وكانت لنا مشاركة في إعداد محتويات خطة عمل واليوم نرصد تطبيقها ونضغط على السلطات للوفاء بمسؤولياتهم.

واثنتان من مستشارينا لاجئتان من الصومال وإثيوبيا وأصبحتا الأن من المحترفين في حملات رفع الوعي.

سايدو

اسمي سايدو محمد جئت إلى فنلندا طلباً للجوء من الصومال عام 1992. وفي عام 2001، بينما كنت أعمل ممرضة، حضرت دورة تدريب المدربين للمهاجرين والمهاجرات وقدمت الدورة ضمن مشروع المرأة الكاملة.[i] ودار موضوع التدريب حول تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى مع التركيز على العواقب الصحية لهذه الممارسة وعلاقتها بحقوق المرأة وحقوق الإنسان. ومع أنَّني لم أكن مدركة لتلك الظاهرة، أعطتني الدورة التدريبية أدوات جديدة للتعامل مع الموضوع وبدأت بعدها التطوع في مجتمعي لنشر المعلومات حول تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى.

في العقد الأول من القرن الواحد والعشرين، كان الحديث عن تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى أمراً صعباً للغاية في المجتمع الصومالي الفنلندي لكنَّ تغيراً كبيراً جداً حصل في المواقف منذ ذلك الحين. واليوم، يبدي الرجال والنِّساء رغبة في مناقشة تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى على الملأ ويتخذ معظمهم موقفاً قوياً معارضاً لتلك الممارسة. فهم لا يريدون لبناتهم أن يخضعن لتلك الممارسة عدا عن أن الشباب يرغبون بالزواج من النساء غير المختتنات. وقال أحد المشاركين الذكور في إحدى ندواتنا إنَّ تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى لا ينتهك حقوق النساء فحسب بل ينتهك حقوق الرجال أيضاً.

فالنساء والفتيات اللواتي أُخضعن لممارسة تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى يجدن أنفسهن الآن في وضع جديد إذ ينتقلن إلى فنلندا أو أي مكان آخر في أوروبا لا يُمارس فيه تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى. وما كان طبيعياً من الناحية الثقافية في بلدانهن الأصلية فجأة أصبح غير طبيعي في بلد المهجر ما يجعل لقاءهن بالمختصين كموظفي الرعاية الصحية الفنلنديين قد لا يتسبب لهم بالتوتر والخوف فحسب بل بالشعور بالذل أيضاً. وكثير من النساء اللواتي تعرضن لتشويه أعضائهن التناسلية يحاولن تجنب الكشف من قبل اختصاصيي الأمراض النسائية. وسردت إحدى النساء ممن عانين من أحد أشد أنواع تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى [ii] القصة التالية إجابة على سؤالها حول اختصاصيي الأمراض النسائية:

"لقد كانت أسوء تجربة مرت علي في حياتي. سألني الطبيب برعب: "بحق الله ما الذي حدث لك!" وكانت تلك زيارتي الأولى والأخيرة لطبيب النسائية!"

سولومي

اسمي سولومي تيشومي جئت إلى فنلندا كلاجئة عام 1995. لم أكن على دراية بانتشار ممارسة تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى في بلدي أثيوبيا بل صدمت جداً وحزنت لما رأيت في أحد الأفلام الوثائقية التي عرضها التلفزيون الفنلندي حول الموضوع. كنت أعلم بوجود تلك الممارسة لكنني لم أعلم كم من الفتيات والنساء يمتن نتيجة لذلك. وخلال رحلتي القادمة لوطني، قررت أن أستكشف الموضوع، وبالفعل اكتشفت أنَّ تلك الممارسة لم تكن فحسب ممارسة مقبولة ثقافياً في أثيوبيا بل كانت ظاهرة تُمارس في أماكن أقرب لي مما كنت أتخيل إذ مست أقرب الناس إلي من جاراتي وقريباتي ممكن كن ضحايا لتلك الممارسة. لقد غيرت الحقيقة حياتي ومنذ ذلك الحين وأنا أعمل في مناهضة تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى.

ومنذ أن عملت في مشروع المرأة الكاملة أصبحت مدركة لأن:

  • الناس الذين عانوا من هذه الممارس أو كانوا هم من أجراها إنما هم ضحايا لتقليد مؤذٍ بل بالكاد يكون لديهم وعي بما يفعلون أو يحدث لهم. 
  • تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى تجربة شخصية صادمة يتطلب التعامل معها انتهاج أقصى درجات الرعاية والسرية.
  • تأسيس الثقة الشخصية مع الأفراد والجماعات هي الخطوة الأولى من خطوات التخلص من هذه الممارسة.
  • كل حالة يجب التعامل معها على حدة مع الانتباه إلى عدة عوامل مثل الخلفيات الثقافية أو التعليمية للأشخاص.
  • دور "الأشخاص الرئيسيين" مهم جداً وهؤلاء الأشخاص هم من يشارك في مجمعاتنا ويلتزم بالحديث عن الآثار السلبية لتشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى في مجتمعاتهم وشبكاتهم الأسرية.

وفي المجموعات، يمكن للمرء أن يشاهد ويقيس التغيرات في المواقف إزاء تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى. وعقب سلسلة من النقاشات الفردية لبناء الثقة، نظم مجموعات منفصلة من النِّساء والرجال. ثم بعد أن نشعر أن المشاركين جاهزون نجمع الرجال والنِّساء من الأصل ذاته، كما ننظم مجموعات تضم مشاركين من مختلف الأعراض والديانات والثقافات. وهدفنا تغيير المواقف من خلال النقاشات خطوة بخطوة.

ومن خلال واحد من "الأشخاص الرئيسيين" لدينا، التقيت بأحد اللاجئين الأثيوبيين حديثي الوصول وكانت زوجته وبناته ما زلن في أثيوبيا. وعندما عرف أن الممارسة ما زالت متبعة روتينياً في المحيط الحضري في بلده، سارع إلى التواصل مع زوجته التي أخبرته أن أمه كانت تخطط لإجراء تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى على ابنته الصغرى. فما كان من الرجل إلا أن نبّه زوجته وحدثها بالمعلومات التي تعلمها حول تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى فتوجهت المرأة بدورها إلى أمه وأقنعتها بالعدول عن إجراء عملية القص على الفتاة. والآن تعيش الأسرة كلها في فنلندا ونجت الفتاة من تشويه أعضائها التناسلية.

الخاتمة

بصفتنا مهنيون لدينا خبراتنا الطويلة في العمل على مناهضة تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى وبصفتنا نساء لدينا خبرة مباشرة في الهجرة القسرية، نؤمن بشدة أنَّ التدريب المنتظم حول مساوئ تشويه/قطع الأعضاء التناسلية للأنثى والحقوق المرتبطة بذلك يجب أن تقدم لجميع اللاجئين الذين يُعتَزَم نقلهم. فقد أخبرنا عدد من اللاجئين القادمين إلى فنلندا أنهم تعمدوا إخضاع بناتهن لممارسة تشويه الأعضاء التناسلية في مخيمات اللاجئين لأنهم كانوا يعلمون أنَّ هذه الممارسة غير مقبولة في وطنهم الجديد. وهذا الأمر يمكن منعه بل يجب منعه. وإضافة لذلك، يجب إجراء التدريب في البلد المستقبل مباشرة بعد وصول اللاجئين بحيث يقدم التدريب باللغة الأصلية للقادمين الجدد.

وفي كلا الوضعين، ينبغي إقامة مجموعات النقاش للاجئين كما ينبغي إطلاق البرامج اللازمة لتغيير المواقف على مستوى القاعدة الشعبية وكذلك الجلسات الاستشارية لكل واحد على حدة. فبتلقي الأشخاص للمعلومات وحصولهم على فرصة في التفكير بخبراتهم التي مروا بها ضمن جماعات الأنداد سيصبحون ممكنين حتى في الظروف الصعبة. وعندما يصبحون ممكنين سوف يستمرون في إحداث التغيير في مجتمعاتهم.

سايدو محمد وسولومي تيشومي مستشارتان لدى العصبة الفنلندية لحقوق الإنسان www.ihmisoikeusliitto.fi/english

saido.mohamed@ihmisoikeusliitto.fi  solomie.teshome@ihmisoikeusliitto.fi



[i] وقع اختيار مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين على مشروع المرأة الكاملة كمثال للممارسات التشاركية الجيدة. انظر مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين (2014) التحدث من أجلنا سماع أصوات اللاجئين - رحلة نحو التمكين

(Speaking for Ourselves. Hearing Refugee Voices - a Journey towards Empowerment)

www.refworld.org/docid/537afd9e4.html

[ii] النمط الثالث المعروف أيضاً باسم الختان الفرعوني.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Changing attitudes in Finland towards FGM

Former refugee women are now working as professional educators among immigrant and refugee communities in Finland to tackle ignorance of the impact and extent of female genital mutilation/cutting.

The objective of the Finnish League for Human Rights’ Whole Woman Project is that no girl living in Finland be cut in Finland or taken abroad to be cut. Talking about female genital mutilation/cutting (FGM/C) from the perspective of human rights, equality and health, we concentrate on changing attitudes in the affected communities and on educating immigrants as well as professionals and students in areas such as health care, child welfare and daycare.

Nowadays FGM/C is globally recognised as a practice that violates human rights and, like other forms of violence, is an attack on the dignity, equality and integrity of girls and women. In addition to violating many international human rights conventions, the practice has been criminalised in many countries. We achieved one of our earlier objectives in 2012 when Finland published a National Action Plan on the Prevention of Circumcision of Women and Girls 2012-2016; we were involved in preparing the contents of the Action Plan and today we monitor its implementation and lobby the authorities to meet their responsibilities.

Two of our advisors were themselves refugees – from Somalia and Ethiopia – and are now professional educators.

 

Saido

My name is Saido Mohamed. I came to Finland as an asylum seeker from Somalia in 1992. In 2001 while working as a nurse, I attended a training-of-trainers course for immigrant women and men organised by the Whole Woman project.[1] The topic of training was FGM/C – more precisely, its consequences for health and its relation to women’s rights and human rights. Despite the fact that I was not unaware of the phenomenon, the course gave me new tools to approach the issue and I began volunteering in my own community, spreading information about FGM/C.

In the early 2000s, talking about FGM/C was still very difficult in the Finnish Somali community but there has been a tremendous change in attitudes since then. Today men and women are willing to discuss FGM/C openly and most of them are strongly against it. They do not want their daughters to go through the practice, and young men are willing to marry uncut women. A male participant in one of our seminars said that FGM/C violates not only women’s rights but men’s rights as well.

Those girls and women who have themselves undergone FGM/C find themselves in a completely new situation when they move to Finland or elsewhere in Europe, where it is not practised. What had been culturally normal in their country of origin suddenly becomes abnormal; encounters with professionals such as Finnish health-care workers may not only cause stress and fear but also humiliation. Many cut women try to avoid gynaecological examinations. One woman who had experienced the most severe form of FGM/C[2] told the following story when asked about gynaecological examinations:

”It was the worst experience I’ve ever had. The doctor asked, horrified, what the hell has happened to you? That was my first and last visit to a gynaecologist!”

 

Solomie

My name is Solomie Teshome. I came to Finland as a refugee in 1995. Unaware of the prevalence of FGM/C in my own country, Ethiopia, I was shocked and saddened when I saw a documentary about it on Finnish TV. I had known about its existence but I hadn’t known how many girls and women were dying because of it. During my next visit home, I decided to investigate and discovered not only that it had always been considered as a normal practice and was part of Ethiopian culture but also that the phenomenon was closer than I had realised – my neighbours, relatives and friends were also victims of it. The truth changed my life and since then I have been working against FGM/C.

Since working at the Whole Woman project I have come to realise that:

  • people who have suffered the procedure or have themselves performed the procedure are victims of a harmful tradition and their awareness of the topic may be minimal 
  • FGM/C is a traumatic personal experience which needs handling with utmost care and confidentiality
  • establishing personal trust with individuals and groups is the first step to getting rid of the practice
  • each case needs to be approached individually, bearing in mind, for example, people’s cultural and educational backgrounds
  • the role of ‘key persons’ is essential – individuals who participate in our groups and then commit to talking about the negative impacts of FGM/C in their communities and family networks.

In groups one can see and measure changes in attitudes towards FGM/C. After a series of individual discussions to build trust, we organise separate groups for women and men. Then when we feel that the participants are ready, we bring women and men of the same origin together; we also organise groups with people from different ethnic, cultural and religious backgrounds. Our aim is to change attitudes through discussion, step by step.

Through one of our ‘key persons’, I met a recently arrived Ethiopian refugee whose wife and daughters were still in Ethiopia. When he learned that the procedure was still routinely practised in urban settings in Ethiopia, he talked to his wife who told him that her mother was planning to perform FGM/C on their youngest daughter. The man shared his new-found knowledge of FGM/C with his wife, who then convinced her mother to give up the idea of cutting the girl. Nowadays the whole family lives in Finland and the daughter has not been cut.

Conclusion

As professionals with long experience in working against FGM/C and as women with first-hand experience in forced migration, we strongly believe that systematic training on the disadvantages of FGM/C as well as on related rights should be offered to all refugees waiting to be relocated. Some people who have come to Finland as refugees told us that they deliberately had their daughters cut in the refugee camps because they were aware that the practice would not be accepted in their new home country. This can and should be prevented. Furthermore, training should also take place in the receiving country, soon after arriving, in the newcomers’ own languages.

In both situations, there should be discussion groups for refugees, and programmes to change attitudes at the grassroots, as well as one-to-one counselling. By receiving information and having the opportunity to reflect on their experiences in a peer group, people become empowered, even in difficult circumstances. And when empowered, they will continue to make a change in their own communities.

 

Saido Mohamed saido.mohamed@ihmisoikeusliitto.fi and Solomie Teshome solomie.teshome@ihmisoikeusliitto.fi are Advisers with the Finnish League for Human Rights. www.ihmisoikeusliitto.fi/english


[1] The Whole Woman project was chosen as an example of good participatory practice by UNHCR. See UNHCR (2014) Speaking for Ourselves. Hearing Refugee Voices - a Journey towards Empowerment www.refworld.org/docid/537afd9e4.html

[2] Type III, also known as infibulation or pharaonic FGM/C.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview