إدماج اللدونة في جنوب آسيا

يمكن أن تعزز المجتمعات لدونتها بإدماج إجراءات الحد من المخاطر والتكيف مع تغير المناخ والحد من الفقر.

يزيد تعقد دوافع تهجير المجتمعات المخاطر المرتبطة بالكوارث الطبيعية المستقبلية ويفاقم من أوجه الاستضعاف القائمة. ويمكن للمجتمعات تقليص استضعافها بفعل التَّهجير من خلال الاستعداد الجيد للكوارث وتغير المناخ وإذا ما حدث التَّهجير، تقدر المجتمعات الأكثر لدونة أن تحد من المخاطر المرتبطة بالتهجير عن طريق ترميم هياكلها ووظائفها الأساسية بفعالية أكثر. وتختلف مقومات لدونة المجتمع من مكان لآخر بحسب الجغرافيا والمناخ والاقتصاد والسكان وهلم جرا. ولكن ببساطة، كلما زادت لدونة المجتمع، قلت مخاطر التَّهجير وآثاره.

ويتزايد الإجماع على ضرورة إدماج إجراءات اللدونة في سياسات الحد من مخاطر الكوارث والتكيف مع تغير المناخ والحد من الفقر. وفي جنوب آسيا، تُصنف هذه القضايا كل على حدة ويُعهد بكل واحدة منها  إلى مؤسسات مختلفة أو إلى أقسام منفصلة داخل المؤسسات، ونجد أن الفروق المفاهيمية بين الحد من مخاطر الكوارث والتكيف مع تغير المناخ والحد من الفقر عند المجتمعات المعرضة لمخاطر تغير المناخ أكاديمية وحسب. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يصعب على المجتمعات ذات البيئات متعددة المخاطر التعاون مع المنظمات المختلفة التي تعمل منفصلة وتتبع جداول أعمال متباينة. وقد يؤدي العمل "في المكاتب المغلقة" لمعالجة هذه القضايا إلى إحداث تدخلات متناقضة أو ذات نتائج عكسية ويتسبب في ازدواجية الجهود.

وقد تأسست كثير من هيئات إدارة الكوارث أو أعيد بنائها في جنوب آسيا عقب تسونامي المحيط الهندي عام 2004 إلا أنها عمومًا هيئات إدارية في المقام الأول تفتقر إلى السلطة والمكانة اللازمتين للتأثير على جداول أعمال التنمية ووضع الخطط. وعلى معظم هيئات إدارة الكوارث الوطنية ودون الوطنية إقناع الوزارات المعنية بإدماج استراتيجيات الحد من مخاطر الكوارث الفعَّالة ضمن أعمالهم اليومية وتوفير التمويل لها. ويتسبب غياب الموارد والقدرة على التأثير في قصور رؤية هيئات إدارة الكوارث لمهامها وتتحول تباعًا إدارة الكوارث إلى شكل من أشكال الاستجابة للكوارث. ويجب تعزيز هيئات إدارة الكوارث هذه لما لها من قدرة على إدماج الحد من مخاطر الكوارث - لتجنب تكرار أخطاء الماضي - والتكيف مع تغير المناخ - للتنبؤ بالآثار المتوقعة لتغير المناخ والحد منها.

استراتيجيات اللدونة التي تتبعها المجتمعات المحلية

غالباً ما تقلص المجتمعات المتضررة من الكوارث مخاطر التَّهجير بالهجرة. ويحدث ذلك بانتقال أفراد معينين بالأسرة إلى المناطق الحضرية أو إلى خارج البلاد في شكل انتقالات دائرية أو مؤقتة لتنويع أسس أصولهم عن تلك التي تجلبها لهم الزراعة أو يحصلون عليها في المناطق المتضررة بالكوارث.

وتتفاوت مستويات الوعي بالمخاطر ومبادرات اللدونة من مجتمع لآخر. وفي حالات كثيرة، قد تساعد الممارسات والمعارف التقليدية في الحد من المخاطر حتى إن لم تربطها المجتمعات بتغير المناخ. ففي أفغانستان، على سبيل المثال، تمتلك المجتمعات التي سبق لها أن شهدت الفيضانات أنظمة إنذار مبكرة تعتمد على آليات تقاسم الماء حيث يُحذر "ميراب" (حق الاستفادة من المياه) القرى الواقعة في اتجاه مجرى النهر من احتمالية حدوث فيضانات وشيكة. وعلى النقيض من ذلك، يعوز اللاجئون العائدون الوعي بالفيضانات السريعة واستراتيجيات الاستجابة في حالات الطوارئ ويتكبدون خسائر في الأرواح وفي مخزون الغذاء.

وفي حين يجب أن تكون الحلول المجتمعية نابعة من المجتمع المحلي نفسه وأنه يتعين على المجتمعات العمل بفاعلية على تحديد الاحتياجات وأوجه الاستضعاف والحلول، يمكن الاستعانة بالتقنيات الحديثة لزيادة المعارف الحالية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن إكمال نظام "ميراب" أو تعديله بنشر المعارف والخبرات التقنية لتحسين إدارة موارد المياه وخاصة في أوقات الجفاف.

وتعتمد كثير من استراتيجيات اللدونة المجتمعية على تأمين الأصول الموجودة وتنويعها. وبالمثل، على الحكومات تنويع استراتيجيات تمويل أنشطة الحد من المخاطر ووضع آليات تقاسم التكاليف.

مي زو m.zhou@praxis-labs.com ودورين برام d.braam@praxis-labs.com مديرا مختبرات براكسيس والاستشاريان الرئيسيان لها. www.praxis-labs.com 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Integrating resilience in South Asia

Communities can strengthen their resilience by integrating disaster risk reduction, climate change adaptation and poverty reduction measures.

The complexity of the drivers that displace communities increases the risks associated with future natural hazards, while exacerbating their existing vulnerabilities. Communities can reduce their vulnerability to displacement by better preparing for disasters and climate change; if displacement does occur, more resilient communities are able to reduce the risks associated with displacement by a more efficient restoration of their essential structures and functions. What makes a community resilient differs from place to place, considering the geography, climate, economy, politics, people and so on. Put simply: the more resilient a community, the less the risk and impact of displacement.

There is growing consensus that resilience measures need to integrate disaster risk reduction (DRR), climate change adaptation (CCA) and poverty reduction (PR). Across South Asia, these areas of action are usually compartmentalised and separately tasked to different institutions, or in segregated departments within institutions, whereas for communities exposed to climate change risks, the conceptual distinctions between DRR, CCA and PR are academic. In addition, it is confusing for communities in multi-risk environments to engage with different organisations working separately with different agendas. Working in ‘silos’ within these domains can lead to contradictory or counterproductive interventions, and duplication of efforts.

Many disaster management agencies in South Asia were established or re-structured after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami but are generally primarily administrative bodies and often lack the authority and status to influence planning and development agendas. Most national and sub-national disaster agencies have to persuade line ministries to incorporate effective DRR strategies into their day-to-day functioning and provide funding. A lack of resources and influence leads the disaster management agencies to have a limited view of their own tasks, and disaster management effectively becomes a form of disaster response. Such disaster management agencies should be strengthened, as they have the potential to integrate DRR – to avoid repeating past mistakes – and CCA – to anticipate projected effects of climate change and mitigate them.

Community resilience strategies

Communities affected by disasters often mitigate the risks of displacement though migration. Selected members of the family go to urban centres or overseas – in circular movements or temporarily – to diversify their asset base beyond that which is derived from disaster-affected land or agriculture.

Communities vary in levels of risk awareness and resilience initiatives. In many cases, there are traditional practices and knowledge that can help mitigate the risks, even if communities do not link these to climate change. In Afghanistan, for example, communities with previous experience of flooding have early warning systems based on the water sharing mechanisms where a mirab (water master) warns downstream villages of impending floods. By contrast, refugee returnees had no awareness of flash flooding, had no emergency response strategies and suffered loss of lives and food stores.

While community-based solutions are likely to have local ownership and communities must be actively involved in the identification of needs, vulnerabilities and solutions, new technologies can be introduced to augment existing knowledge. The mirab system, for example, can be supplemented or adapted through dissemination of technical knowledge and expertise to improve water resource management, particularly during droughts.

Many community resilience strategies are based on securing existing assets and diversifying them. Similarly, governments should aim to diversify their risk financing strategies and create cost-sharing mechanisms.

 

Mi Zhou m.zhou@praxis-labs.com and Dorien Braam d.braam@praxis-labs.com are Directors and Principal Consultants of Praxis Labs. www.praxis-labs.com

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview