المكسيك: من المبادئ الإرشادية إلى المسؤوليات الوطنية تجاه حقوق النازحين

تحتاج الحكومة المكسيكية حقائق وأرقام بشأن النزوح الداخلي لتتمكن من حشد المؤسسات الوطنية لتصميم الاستجابات الملائمة.

في 3 أغسطس/آب 2013، سافرت اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان إلى بلدية تلاكوتيبيك حيث أشارت المعلومات التي قدمتها السلطات المحلية إلى نزوح قرابة 700 شخص من مختلف المجتمعات خوفاً من العنف المتصاعد للجريمة المنظمة.

وفي هذه الحالة ومثل حالات أخرى وثقتها اللجنة الوطنية، عندما يُجبر الناس على هجر منطقة أو بلدة أو مكان إقامة ما فهذا يعني بدء رحلة خطرة متعبة وفقدان رأس المال والوقوع في براثن الفقر وكل ذلك في إطار مستقبل مجهول. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يكون النزوح مصدراً للأمل أيضاً أثناء البحث عن الحماية والأمن للفرد، بل قد يكون النزوح وسيلة استباقية للحيلولة دون العواقب الأسوأ.

وفي المكسيك، وثَّقت اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان حالات من النزوح الناتج عن النزاعات ضمن المجتمعات المحلية والكوارث الطبيعية والعنف، كما وثَّقت موجات نزوح محتملة نتجت عن المشروعات الإنمائية الكبيرة التي لم تُحترم بشأنها مبادئ استشارة المجتمعات التي يُنوى إنشاء تلك المشروعات فيها.

ويواجه النَّازحون مباشرة فور نزوحهم حاجة الحصول على المأوى والسكن وماء الشرب والغذاء بالإضافة إلى ضمانات السلامة الجسدية لهم ولأسرهم والتمتع بالنظافة الأساسية وخدمات الرعاية الطبية والنفسية. وفي كثير من الأحيان، بما أنَّ النزوح يحدث فجأة فهذا يعني أنَّ كثيراً ممن هجروا مواطنهم الأصلية لا يحملون وثائق التعريف الشخصية معهم ما يحد من قدرتهم الكاملة على التمتع بحقوقهم المدنية (مثل: العمل والتعليم والرفاه الاجتماعي والممتلكات وغيرها).

وعلى المدى الأبعد، سوف يواجه هؤلاء النَّازحون خيار العودة إلى مواطنهم الأصلية أو الاستقرار في المجتمع المضيف بل الانتقال مجدداً إلى موقع جديد. فإذا اختاروا العودة إلى مجتمعاتهم الأصلية، فسوف يواجهون تحدياً في استكشاف ما حدث إلى ممتلكاتهم أثناء غيابهم (وربما يكتشف بعضهم أنَّه لم يعد لهم وجود مادي أو أنَّ ممتلكاتهم قد احتلها أشخاص آخرون) وعدا عن ذلك، عليهم أن يجدوا لأنفسهم مكاناً مناسباً في الإطار الاجتماعي الجديد. أما إن اختاروا الاستقرار في المجتمع المضيف أو الانتقال إلى مكان آخر، فعليهم أن يندمجوا في مجتمع جديد حيث سيكون من الضروري إنشاء شبكات جديدة أو ربما يواجهون أوضاع الرفض أو التمييز. ويبقى التحدي الأكبر إيجاد حلول نهائية مستدامة للسكان النَّازحين.

ومن هنا، أكَّد أمين المظالم المكسيكي الوطني على أنَّ "على السلطات واجب ومسؤولية توفير الحماية والمساعدات الإنسانية إلى [النَّازحين] الموجودين في أراضيها دون تمييز مهما كان نوعه لأنها مجبرة على إيلاء الانتباه الخاص إلى المستخطرين والمستضعفين كالأطفال والنَّازحين وكبار السن والنساء."[i]

ولتأسيس سياسة عامة حول النزوح، لا بد لكل مؤسسة وطنية أن تحدد مسؤولياتها تجاه النَّازحين ولا بد من إقامة آلية للتنسيق لمنع ازدواجية الوظائف ولضمان الاستجابة الآنية والكفؤة الطارئة.

وفي الوقت الحالي، لا يُعترف بمعظم النَّازحين في المكسيك على أنهم نازحون. وفي معظم الحالات، لا يُوطَّن النَّازحون في مخيمات أو مواقع مخصصة ومعدَّة لهم. وبدلاً من ذلك، يمكث النَّازحون مع الأسر المستضيفة أو في الملاجئ المؤقتة. وتوحي آلية الحركة هذه في أنماط الاستيطان إلى وجود تحديات كبيرة في جمع المعلومات الإحصائية وفي رصد النَّازحين لعدة أسباب ليس أقلها امتناع النَّازحين عن الحديث عن نزوحهم. ونظراً لمقدار الجهود المبذولة من الحكومة الحالية لبناء أدوات تقدم أرقاماً لهذه المشكلة، تُنصح الحكومة المكسيكية بتنفيذ برنامج مخصص على النزوح الداخلي من ضمن الإطار القانوني المكسيكي ووفق نطاق اختصاص الهيئات الوطنية مع عدم إغفال أصوات مؤسسات المجتمع المدني العاملة على هذه القضية وأصوات النَّازحين أنفسهم. وسوف يضمن مثل هذا البرنامج أيضاً تقديم منظور تفصيلي وهذا يعني ضمان رؤية نقاط استضعاف الجماعات والأفراد الذين يتطلبون تحديد الأولويات من ناحية الإجراءات اللازمة لتمكين التلبية الفاعلة والشامل لحقوقهم الإنسانية الأساسية.

وكنقطة البداية في إنشاء هذا البرنامج، من المهم أن تكون هناك عملية وطنية لتحديد الأرقام المتعلقة بالنزوح الداخلي في المكسيك لغايات تحديد أنماط هذه القضية وأسبابها ودرجتها. فإنتاج التشخيصات يفتح الباب أمام الاعتراف بالقضية ويبني أداة أساسية في بناء السياسات والبرامج العامة الفعالة. ولهذه الغاية، لا بد من الدعوة إلى إجراء الدراسات التي تحدد المسائل التي تواجهها العملية خلال النزوح، كما الحال بالنسبة لمن ينظر في العواقب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والقانونية والسياسية لهذه الظاهرة في المكسيك.

وكذلك، ينبغي اعتبار التدابير المتعلقة بالمساعدات القانونية المقدمة إلى السكان النَّازحين لضمان التحقيق بما حدث معهم ولتمكين إعادة حقوقهم المهددة والدفاع عن ممتلكاتهم المتأثرة وتمكين العودة الطوعية إلى الموطن الأصلي وفق ظروف آمنة وكريمة أو إعادة الانتقال إلى أمكان أخرى إذا كان ذلك الخيار مناسباً. وهنا، تمثل مشاركة الدولة والحكومات البلدية في هذا البرنامج دوراً في منتهى الأهمية لأنَّه لا بد من بناء السياسة الضابطة لهذه القضية على أساس الشعور بالتشارك بالمسؤولية الإنمائية.

وأخيراً، بالنظر إلى الموجات الأحدث للنزوح الناتج عن العنف، هناك ضرورة كبيرة لبناء أدوات بناء السلام كشرط أساسي مسبَّق لتحقيق الحلول الدائمة.

فيرناندو باتيستا جيمينيز fbj@cndh.org.mx  المفتش العام الخامس في اللجنة الوطنية المكسيكية لحقوق الإنسان www.cndh.org.mx



[i] راؤول بالسينشافيلانويفا، رئيس اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان. الوثيقة متاحة بالإسبانية فقط على الرابط التالي:

www.cndh.org.mx/sites/all/fuentes/documentos/PalabrasRPV/20120305.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Mexico: from the Guiding Principles to national responsibilities on the rights of IDPs

The Mexican government needs facts and figures on internal displacement and then to mobilise national institutions to design appropriate responses.

On 3 August 2013, the staff of Mexico’s National Commission on Human Rights (CNDH) travelled to the municipality of Tlacotepec where, according to information provided by local authorities, approximately 700 persons had been displaced from various communities as a result of the fear of violence arising from organised crime.

In this, as in other cases documented by the CNDH, being forced to abandon a region, municipality or place of residence means undertaking a dangerous, exhausting journey, the loss of capital, and impoverishment, all within the framework of an uncertain future. However, displacement can also be indicative of hope in the quest for protection and security for the individual, even sometimes undertaken preventively to avoid worse consequences.

In Mexico, the CMDH has documented cases of displacement resulting from communal conflicts, natural disasters and violence, as well as probable displacements caused by major development projects in which the principles of consulting the communities in which they are intended to be carried out are not respected.

Displaced persons are immediately up against the need for shelter and lodging, drinking water and food; guarantees for their physical safety and that of their family; access to basic hygiene, along with medical and psychological services. Frequently, as a result of having abruptly abandoned their place of origin, they do not have any identity documents with them, which limits full access to enjoyment of their civil rights (work, education, social welfare and property, amongst others).

In the longer term, they will be faced with the choice of whether to return to their place of origin, establish themselves in the host community, or even move further on to a new location. If they choose to return to their communities of origin, they will face the challenge of discovering what has happened to their properties during their absence (this may even include finding that they no longer physically exist, or that they have been occupied by someone else), as well as having to fit into a new social framework. If they decide to settle in the host community or to relocate, they must integrate into a new society, where it will be necessary to create new networks and, possibly, to face situations of rejection or discrimination. The greatest challenge will be to find lasting and sustainable solutions for the displaced population.

Hence the Mexican national ombudsman has stressed that “the authorities have the duty and responsibility to provide protection and humanitarian assistance to the [displaced] population found within the territory, with no discrimination whatsoever, being obliged to provide special attention to those at risk of vulnerability, such as children, disabled persons, elderly people and women.”[1]

In order to establish a public policy on internal displacement, it is necessary for each national institution to identify its responsibilities towards IDPs and for a coordination mechanism to be established in order to prevent the duplication of functions and to ensure prompt and efficient emergency response.

At present, most of the internally displaced persons in Mexico are not recognised as displaced and in most cases are not settled in specifically designated and equipped camps or locations. Instead, they are settled with host families, or in temporary shelters. These dynamics of mobility in the settlement patterns imply significant challenges in the collection of statistics, and also in the monitoring of displaced persons, not least because of the reluctance of displaced persons to talk about their displacement. Given the scale of the efforts being made by the present government to develop tools to quantify this problem, it would be advisable for the Mexican state to carry out a specific programme on internal displacement from within the Mexican legal framework and in accordance with the competences of national entities, taking into account the voices of civil society entities working with the issue, as well as the displaced persons themselves. Such a programme should also ensure a disaggregated perspective, that is, ensure the visibility of specific vulnerabilities of groups and individuals that require prioritising in terms of actions to enable the effective and comprehensive realisation of their fundamental rights.

As a starting point in the creation of this programme, it is important for there to be a national process to determine figures on internal displacement in Mexico in order to identify the patterns, causes and extent of the issue. Producing diagnostics opens the door to recognition of the issue and constitutes a fundamental tool in building effective public policies and programmes. To this end, studies identifying issues confronted during displacement should be promoted, as should those looking into the social, economic, legal and political consequences of this phenomenon in the country.

Measures must also be considered in terms of legal aid for the displaced population in order to guarantee investigation of what occurred, the restoration of threatened rights, defence of affected property, and voluntary return to the place of origin in safe and dignified conditions, or, if appropriate, relocation. Such a service programme should be designed with activities and indicators to enable the programme to be monitored. The participation of state and municipal governments in this programme is of fundamental importance, as policy on the issue must be built upon a feeling of shared responsibility for development.

Finally, given the most recent waves of displacement due to violence, there is an imperative need for the development of tools for building peace as a necessary precondition for the achievement of lasting solutions.

 

Fernando Batista Jiménez fbj@cndh.org.mx is the Fifth Inspector General of the Mexican National Commission on Human Rights (CNDH). www.cndh.org.mx

 

[1] Raul Plascencia Villanueva, president of the National Commission on Human Rights. www.cndh.org.mx/sites/all/fuentes/documentos/PalabrasRPV/20120305.pdf (Spanish only)

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview