الحوكمة العالمية لهجرة الأزمات

لا يوجد أي إطار عام عالمي متماسك أو موحد للتعامل مع مختلف النواحي المندرجة تحت مسمى "هجرة الأزمات". ولا يعني ذلك القول بضرورة توفير البناء المؤسسي الجديد فور ظهور التحديات أو المسميات الجديدة. فالتعامل مع ثغرات الحماية الناشئة مثل تلك المتعلقة بهجرة الأزمات تتطلب إبداعاً في تحسين عمل المؤسسات القائمة على صعيد التنفيذ والمأسسة والاتفاقيات الدولية.

هناك ثغرات لا يمكن تجاهلها في الحماية تعاني منها مختلف مجموعات المهاجرين المستضعفين المتأثرين بالأزمات، وعليه يكون السؤال: إلى أي درجة يُطلب من المؤسسات الدولية الجديدة التعامل مع هذه الثغرات؟ أو كبديل عن ذلك، هل من الواقعي أن نؤمن بقدرة المعايير والمنظمات الدولية الحالية على التكيف أو التوسّع لسد تلك الثغرات والتعامل مع التحديات الناشئة دون الحاجة إلى إجراء إصلاح جذري كامل لها؟ ومن هنا، نطرح مفهومين بسيطين لنتمكن من النظر في كيفية تكيف المؤسسات القائمة مع التحديات الجديدة. وهذان المفهومان هما: "التركيبة المعقدة للمنظومات" و"امتداد المنظومات".

التركيبة المعقدة للمنظومات[i]

يشير تعبير "التركيبة المعقدة للمنظومات" إلى الطريقة التي يمكن للمؤسسات فيها أن تُقحم (بوصفها جزءاً من إطار عام أكبر حجماً) أو أن تكون موازية لغيرها (أن يُعهد إليها التزامات في مجالات مشابهة) أو أن تتداخل مع غيرها (بوجود عدة مؤسسات ذات سلطة واحدة على المسألة ذاتها).[ii] ويُقصَد من هذا المفهوم فهم الطريقة التي انتشرت فيها المؤسسات الدولية والتركيز على الطريقة التي يمكن من خلالها إخضاع مسألة ما إلى حوكمة عدد متفاوت من المؤسسات. ويفيد هذا المفهوم، على وجه الخصوص، في جعلنا نفهم كيف تخضع المجالات "الجديدة" والناشئة ضمنياً لحكم عدد متنوع ومتداخل من المؤسسات. وبالفعل، تَعبُر التركيبة المعقدة للمنظومات من ناحية هجرة الأزمات المؤسسات من خلال عدد من ميادين السياسات كالهجرة وحقوق الإنسان والإنماء وحوكمة الأمن والاستجابة الإنسانية.[iii]

ولتحديد التركيبة المعقدة للمنظومات مضموناتٌ على السياسة الدولية العامة. فهو أولاً يقود إلى الاعتراف بالأشكال الضمنية للحوكمة. وثانياً، يركز على كيفية خضوع بعض مجالات السياسات إلى حكم منظومات متعددة في آن واحد بطرق قد تقود إما إلى ظهور التداخلات أو الثغرات. وثالثا، قد ينشأ عن تلك التداخلات أو الثغرات حاجة لتحسين آليات التنسيق. فهذه التحديات وغيرها من الأرجح أن تكون السمة الأساسية لحوكمة هجرة الأزمات التي –باستثناء مجال اللاجئين- لا تتمتع فيه أي منظمة أو أي منظومة بصفة القيادة الفعلية على أرض الواقع. بل تتسم كثير من المجالات التأسيسية لهجرة الأزمات تنظيمياً بالاستجابات المخصصة غير المنتظمة. ومفاد ذلك وجود تضارب كبير في الاستجابات لهجرة الأزمات ما وراء الحماية التي تقدم للاجئين الفارين من الدول التي تضطهدهم.

وتختلف بنى الحوكمة الضمنية التي تخضع إليها كل واحدة من المجالات المندرجة تحت مظلة هجرة الأزمات التي تضم التهجير العابر للحدود المدفوع بالانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان التي تقع خارج نطاق التفسير السائد للاضطهاد (التي أدعوها في مقالة أخرى "هجرة البحث عن البقاء"[iv]) والسكان "العالقون" أو غير القادرين على الحركة لظروف مانعة أو التحركات المتوقعة و"الهجرة المختلطة". وفي بعض الحالات، سوف تتكيف تلك البنى (أو قد يكون لها القدرة على التكيف) لمعالجة "الثغرات" الرسمية". فالهجرة سعياً للبقاء مثلاً تخضع لحوكمة لمنظومة الهجرة وإطار حقوق الإنسان والاستجابة الإنسانية بالإضافة غلى الشبكات الناشئة، مثل: مبادرة نانسن. وإقراراً بالتعقيدات الضمنية للمنظومة، علينا أن ننظر إلى أي مدى يمكن للحوكمة أن تسد فيها الثغرات.

امتداد المنظومات

يساعد مفهوم "امتداد المنظومات" في الإجابة على ذلك السؤال، فهو يركز على الطريقة التي يمكن للمنظومة فيها أن تتكيف على المستوى الوطني للتنفيذ حتى في غياب التكيف على مستويات التفاوض الدولي أو على مستوى المأسسة. ويتسم هذا المفهوم بأهمية خاصة في عالم تنشأ فيه المشكلات والتحديات بسرعة لا يواكبها إنشاء مؤسسات رسمية جديدة. ومع نشوء المشكلات التي لم تكن ضمن نطاق منظومة ما عند إنشائها، قد لا تتكيف المعايير والمنظمات (حتى في غياب إعادة التفاوض الرسمي) من خلال التفاوض الدولي أو المأسسة فحسب بل أيضاً على مستوى التنفيذ من خلال "امتداد المنظومات". ومثل هذا التغيير المؤسسي لا يحدث مع مرور الوقت فحسب، بل يمكن أن يكون له عدة تجليات وطنية مختلفة في الوقت نفسه.

وهناك ثلاث حالات وقعت حديثاً لاستجابة الحوكمة يمكن الاستشهاد بها كأمثلة على قدرة التركيبة المعقدة للمنظومات على الاستجابة لمختلف العناصر الفرعية لهجرة الأزمات كما أنها تبين الدرجة التي امتد إليها النظام في مختلف المجالات، وهي: الهجرة من أجل البقاء في القرن الإفريقي عام 2011، والمهاجرون الذين تقطعت بهم السبل في ليبيا عام 2011 ومزيج من الهجرة المختلطة والحركة المتوقعة والهجرة من أجل البقاء في زمبابوي بين عامي 2006 و2001. وتُظهِر كل واحدة من تلك الحالات أنَّ المؤسسات القائمة تعمل بفعالية في بعض النواحي لمعالجة جوانب هجرة الأزمات لكنها تُظهر أيضاً أنَّه ما زال هناك حاجة لمزيد من العمل لتحسين أداء المؤسسات القائمة.

ففي حالة التهجير الناتج عن القحط والمجاعة في القرن الأفريقي عام 2011، أفضت القدرة على ربط هجرة الأزمات بنظام اللاجئين (نظراً لطبيعة تشريعات اللاجئين والسياسية المتبعة في كل من كينيا وإثيبوبيا) إلى جعل مهاجري الأزمات خاضعين لولاية مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين، وهكذا تمكن الصوماليون الهاربون من تلقي الحماية كما لو كانوا لاجئين. وفي حين مكَّن ذلك نظام اللاجئين من الامتداد لمعالجة مسألة الفارين من القحط والمجاعة، فقد تسبب في الوقت نفسه بإجهاد نظام اللاجئين إلى درجة تقترب من الانفجار بل أدى إلى ظهور مقترحات لإنشاء "ملاذات آمنة" ضمن الصومال ذاتها كبديل داخلي للفرار.

وفي ليبيا في عام 2011، مثّل وضع العمال المهاجرين الذين تقطعت بهم السبل تحدياً أمام الحوكمة التي كان جلها يقع خارج الاستجابة المؤسسية القائمة. ومع ذلك، يُعد التعاون بين مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، وإن كان ذلك التعاون مبنياً على استجابة مخصصة، بشأن خلية التقييم الإنساني المشتركة في جنيف، مصدراً مهماً للممارسات المثلى المستقبلية في التعامل مع الحاجات الإنسانية للعمال المهاجرين الذين تقطعت بهم السبل. فقد أصبح الغموض يكتنف وضع العمال الليبيين والأجانب على حد سواء من حالة انعدام الاستقرار السياسي في ليبيا، في ظل غياب تحديد صفة اللاجئين لهم. ومع ذلك، فقد سُجلوا ومُنحوا نوعاً من الحماية المؤقتة بحكم الأمر الواقع على الحدود المصرية والتونسية.

لقد أدى العدد المحدود نسبياً من الأشخاص الذين سعوا إلى عبور البحر المتوسط إلى أوروبا نتيجة النزاع، إلى توليد توتر فيما بين دول الاتحاد الأوروبي حيال تشارك الأعباء وظهرت تحديات لاتفاقية شنغن المتعلقة بحرية الحركة ضمن الاتحاد الأوروبي. ومن الناحية النظرية، كان من المفروض أن تمنح الحوكمة الإقليمية في أوروبا الحماية المؤقتة وتشارك الأعباء المتعلقة بها لحماية الأشخاص الفارين من ليبيا. أما على ارض الواقع، فقد جعلت الخلافات السياسية تنفيذ تلك الحماية أمراً مستحيلاً.

ومن جهة أخرى، اتسمت زيمبابوي في الفترة ما بين 2006 إلى 2011 بنوع من "الهجرة المختلطة" ذلك أنَّ تحركات الأشخاص انطوت على نطاق معقد من الدوافع وعدد لا يستهان به من التحركات المتوقعة، ومثال ذلك تحركات الأشخاص بأعداد كبيرة قبل انتخابات عام 2008 ترقباً لاندلاع موجة كبيرة من العنف. ويمكن أيضاً تصنيف كثير من الفارين على أنهم "مهاجرون يبحثون عن البقاء" أي إنهم خارج الإطار العام لاتفاقية عام 1951 ومع ذلك فهم يفرون من انتهاكات جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان وهم بحاجة بذلك إلى الحماية الدولية.

أما دولة جنوب أفريقيا المجاورة فقد سمحت لجميع الزيمبابويين بالعبور إليها بموجب "أذونات طالبي اللجوء" ما أتاح لهم الاستيطان ذاتياً في البلاد مع التمتع بحق العمل بانتظار تقييم طلبات لجوئهم. ومع ذلك، لغاية عام 2009، كانت معدلات الاعتراف باللاجئين الزمبابويين ضعيفة جداً وما إن اكتملت عملية تحديد صفة اللاجئ حتى أصبح الزمبابويين عرضة للاحتجاز والترحيل. وبعد أبريل/نيسان 2009، كان هناك بعض المحاولات لتكييف السياسة وتطبيق التشريعات القائمة، وطُرحت للبحث، على سبيل المثال، احتمالية تطبيق التعريف الأوسع لمصطلح اللاجئ المنصوص عليه في اتفاقية اللاجئين الصادرة عن منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية، ويغطي ذلك التعريف الأحداث التي "تكدِّر لدرجة جسيمة أو تعطِّل النظام العام" في البلد الأصلي.

وهكذا، عَلِقَت مسألة حماية الزيمبابويين في جنوب أفريقيا بين شروخ الولايات المختلفة للمنظمات الدولية. فمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين اعتبرت وما زالت تعتبر معظم الزيمبابويين على أنهم ليسوا لاجئين لكنها بمجرد منحها الأذون الخاصة بطالبي اللجوء لكل من يطلبها فقد وضع ذلك الزيمبابويين ضمن ولايتها واختصاصها. أما في الواقع، فقد تمثلت معظم مصادر الحماية لكثير من الزيمبابويين في المنظمات المحلية غير الحكومية والمنظمات الكنسية ومنظمات الشتات. وغطت بعض استراتيجيات الحماية الذاتية القائمة على المجتمعات المحلية بعض الثغرات التي نشأت إثر غياب الاستجابات الدولية أو الوطنية الكافية.

والخلاصة أنَّ قضية القرن الأفريقي تُبيّن لنا أنه عندما توجد صلة بين منظومة اللجوء وتشريعات اللاجئين الوطنية، يمكن مد تلك المنظومة لتغطية الثغرات. وبالمقابل، تُبيّن الحالة الليبية أنَّ التحديات التي يواجهها العمال المهاجرون العالقون الذين تقطعت بهم الأسباب تطلبت استجابات جديدة أكثر إبداعاً. وفي غضون ذلك، تبين القضية الزيمبابوية أنه عندما أخفقت المؤسسات القائمة في التكيف مع حركات الهجرة المختلطة المعقدة، ظهر عدد متنوع من البنى غير الرسمية وآليات الحماية القائمة على المجتمعات المحلية لسد بعض تلك الثغرات.

السياسة

تسلط هذه القضايا الضوء على التنوع القائم في درجة ملاءمة أو عدم ملاءمة المؤسسات الحالية إزاء مواجهة التحديات التي تفرضها مختلف جوانب هجرة الأزمات. وفي بعض النواحي، تعالج بنى الحوكمة القائمة التحدي الإنساني معالجة كافية. لكنها في نواح أخرى تبقى موجودة نظرياً لكنها تواجه مشكلات في التنفيذ على أرض الواقع. وفي حالات أخرى، يتبين وجود ثغرات لا بد من ردمها.

من أهم الخصائص التحليلية لكثير من المشكلات "الجديدة" العابرة للحدود التي تظهر وتتطلب تعاوناً دولياً أنها تتعلق باختصاص جملة من المعايير والمنظمات القائمة حتى لو لم تكن العلاقة بينها صريحة. وهجرة الأزمات واحدة من مثل تلك المجالات المُدرجة ضمنياً في مجموعة قائمة مسبَّقاً من المؤسسات، فمن باب أولى إذن الشروع بمبدأ تحسين أداء تلك المؤسسات القائمة. وعلى مستوى التنفيذ، هناك عدد من المعايير والبنى القائمة التي وقعت وصادقت عليها الدول حتى لو لم تكن منفذة بالكامل على الدوام. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وقعت الدول على معايير لحقوق الإنسان وصادقت عليها مما له مضمونات مهمة على الكيفية التي يجب أن تستجيب فيها لهجرة الأزمات.

أما على مستوى المأسسة، فهناك طرق يمكن فيها تحسين المعايير أو الممارسات القائمة ضمن الأطر القانونية والسياساتية. فعلى سبيل المثال، تحمل اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة حول حقوق جميع العمال المهاجرين وعائلاتهم مضمونات محتملة تشير إلى حقوق العمال المهاجرين الذين تقطعت بهم السبل في سياق الأزمة.

وعلى صعيد الاتفاقيات الدولية، ما إن تُستنزف احتمالية تحسين المؤسسات القائمة، لا ينبغي عندها لعملية إصلاح الاتفاقيات الدولية أن تنطوي على إنشاء معاهدات أو منظمات جديدة. بل يجب بدلاً من ذلك أن تتضمن عمليات توحيد المعايير الحالية وعمليات التنسيق بما يخص المؤسسات القائمة وتعزيز تماسكها. وقد تقدم أطر القوانين الناعمة وسيلة لتوفير التوحيد السلطوي والتطبيقي للمعايير القانونية والمعيارية. وبالمثل، عندما تُدرج نواحي الموضوع ضمن الأطر التنظيمية، عندها قد يساعد إنشاء بنى التنسيق المحسنة في سد الثغرات.

يمكن فهم إطار الحوكمة القائمة لهجرة الأزمات على أنه يمثل مجموعة واحدة معقدة من المنظومات موجود على المستوى العالمي من ناحية نطاق المعايير والمنظمات الدولية ذات الصلة الفعلية والمحتملة للتعامل مع هجرة الأزمات. ومع ذلك، فهي موجودة أيضاً على مستوى الممارسة العملية حيث يمكن أن يظهر تنفيذ المجمع بتجليات مختلفة بما يتعلق بمختلف الأزمات في مختلف الأماكن.

 

أليكساندر بيتس alexander.betts@qeh.ox.ac.uk أستاذ مشارك في دراسات اللاجئين والهجرة القسرية ويعمل لدى مركز دراسات اللاجئين، جامعة أكسفورد www.rsc.ox.ac.uk



[i] يُقصد بالمنظومات مجموعة الصكوك الدولية التي تُعنى باللاجئين والهجرة القسرية وغيرها.

[ii] آلتر، ك. ج. و ميونير، س (2009) "سياسات البنية المعقدة للمنظومات الدولية"، مجلة: Perspectives on Politics

العدد 7(1):13-24

Alter, K.J. and Meunier, S. (2009) ‘The Politics of International Regime Complexity’, Perspectives on Politics 7(1): 13–24

 

[iii] انظر مقالة جاين مكأدم صفحة ......

[iv] بيتس، أ، (2013) الهجرة من أجل البقاء: الحوكمة المخفقة وأزمة التهجير. مطبعة جامعة كورنيل.

Betts, A. (2013) Survival Migration: Failed Governance and the Crisis of Displacement. Cornell University Press.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The global governance of crisis migration

There is no coherent or unified global governance framework for the different areas that have been subsumed under the umbrella of ‘crisis migration’. This is not to say that when new challenges or labels arise new institution-building is necessarily required. Addressing emerging protection gaps such as those related to crisis migration requires creativity in making existing institutions work better across implementation, institutionalisation and international agreements.

Given that there are significant protection gaps for different groups of vulnerable migrants affected by crises, to what extent are new international institutions required to address these gaps? Alternatively, is it realistic to believe that existing norms and international organisations might adapt or stretch to fill these gaps and address the emerging challenges, without the need for root and branch reform? Two simple concepts – ‘regime complexity’ and ‘regime stretching’ – can help us think about how existing institutions can adapt to new challenges.

Regime complexity

The concept of ‘regime complexity’ refers to the way in which institutions may be nested (part of a wider framework), parallel (having obligations in similar areas) and overlapping (with multiple institutions having authority over the same issue).[1] This concept tries to make sense of the way in which international institutions have proliferated and highlights the way in which an issue may be governed by a disparate range of institutions. It is especially useful for understanding how ‘new’ and emerging areas are implicitly subject to the governance of multiple, overlapping institutions. Indeed, the regime complex for crisis migration straddles institutions from across a number of policy fields: migration, human rights, development, security governance and humanitarian.[2]

Identifying regime complexity has a host of international public policy implications. First, it gives rise to the recognition of implicit forms of governance. Second, it highlights how some policy areas may be simultaneously governed by multiple regimes in ways that may lead to either overlaps or gaps. Third, where there are gaps or overlaps these may create a case for improved coordination mechanisms. These and other challenges are likely to characterise the governance of crisis migration within which – with the exception of the refugee field – no international organisation or regime enjoys de facto exclusive lead status. Many of the constitutive areas of crisis migration are organisationally characterised by ad hoc responses – that is, beyond refugee protection for those fleeing state persecution, there is enormous inconsistency in responses to crisis migration.

Each of the areas subsumed under the umbrella of crisis migration – cross-border displacement caused by serious human rights deprivations that fall outside the dominant interpretation of persecution (what I have called elsewhere ‘survival migration’[3]), ‘trapped’ or involuntarily immobile populations, anticipatory movements, and ‘mixed migration’ – are all subject to different implicit governance structures. In some cases these structures will adapt, or have the potential to adapt, to address formal ‘gaps’. Survival migration, for instance, is subject to governance by the refugee regime, the human rights framework, humanitarian response, as well as emerging networks such as the Nansen Initiative. In recognising implicit regime complexes, we need to consider how far existing governance can fill gaps.

Regime stretching

The concept of ‘regime stretching’ helps to answer that question. It highlights the way in which a regime may adapt at the national level of implementation, even in the absence of adaptation at the levels of international negotiation or institutionalisation. This is a particularly important concept in a world in which new problems and challenges are emerging but where new formal institutions are created at a much slower pace. As problems emerge that were not within the scope of a regime at its creation, the norms and organisations may adapt (even without formal re-negotiation) not only through international bargaining or institutionalisation but also, at the level of implementation, through ‘regime stretching’. Such institutional change not only occurs over time but can have different national manifestations at the same time.

Three recent cases of governance response are examples of whether and to what extent existing regime complexes are able to respond to the different sub-elements of crisis migration – and the extent to which regime stretching has taken place within the different areas: survival migration in the Horn of Africa in 2011, stranded migrants in Libya in 2011, and the combination of mixed migration, anticipatory movement and survival migration in Zimbabwe between 2006 and 2011. Each case reveals that in some areas existing institutions are functioning to address aspects of crisis migration but that more can be done to make existing institutions work better.

In the case of displacement resulting from the drought and famine in the Horn of Africa in 2011, the ability to link crisis migration to the refugee regime – because of the nature of refugee legislation and policy within Kenya and Ethiopia – meant that crisis migrants could fall within the mandate of UNHCR and so fleeing Somalis were able to receive protection as though they were refugees. While this enabled the refugee regime to stretch to address those fleeing the drought and famine, it has, however, strained the refugee regime almost to breaking point and even led to proposals for the creation of ‘safe havens’ within Somalia as an internal flight alternative.

In Libya in 2011, the situation of stranded migrant workers posed a challenge to governance that fell largely outside established institutional responses. However, although based on an ad hoc response, the UNHCR-IOM cooperation on a joint Humanitarian Evacuation Cell in Geneva is a compelling source of future good practice for addressing the humanitarian needs of stranded migrant workers. With both Libyans and foreign migrants fleeing political instability, their exact status was ambiguous in the absence of refugee status determination. Nevertheless, they were registered and given a de facto form of temporary protection at the Egyptian and Tunisian borders.

The relatively limited number of people who attempted to cross the Mediterranean into Europe as a result of the conflict led to political tension over burden-sharing within the European Union (EU) and challenges to the Schengen Agreement on freedom of movement within the EU. In theory, regional governance in Europe should have offered temporary protection and related burden-sharing to protect people fleeing Libya. In practice, however, political divisions made implementation impossible.

Zimbabwe from 2006-11 was characterised by a form of ‘mixed migration’ insofar as the movements involved a complex array of motives and circumstances, and also included a significant number of anticipatory movements, with people leaving in large numbers prior to the elections in 2008, for example, in anticipation of significant violence. Many of those fleeing could also be classified as ’survival migrants’, falling outside the framework of the 1951 Convention but still fleeing serious human rights deprivations and in need of international protection.

Neighbouring South Africa allowed all Zimbabweans access through ‘asylum-seeker permits’, letting them self-settle with the right to work, pending assessment of their asylum claim. However, until 2009 the refugee recognition rate for Zimbabweans was extremely low and once Refugee Status Determination was complete, the Zimbabweans were open to arrest, detention and deportation. After April 2009, there were some attempts to adapt policy and the application of existing legislation; the possibility of applying the broader refugee definition contained in the OAU Refugee Convention covering events which “seriously disturb or disrupt public disorder” in the country of origin was mooted, for example.  

The protection of Zimbabweans in South Africa has fallen between the cracks of different international organisations’ mandates. UNHCR has consistently regarded most Zimbabweans as not being refugees; only the granting of asylum-seeker permits to all who request them has put Zimbabweans within the purview of UNHCR’s mandate. The most relevant sources of protection for many Zimbabweans have been local NGOs, church organisations and diaspora organisations. Community-based self-protection strategies have filled some of the gaps left by the absence of adequate international or national responses.

In summary, the Horn of Africa case shows how, when there is a link to national refugee legislation, the refugee regime may stretch to cover gaps. In contrast, Libya highlights how the challenge of trapped and stranded migrant workers has required new and creative responses. Meanwhile, the Zimbabwean case shows how, when existing institutions have largely failed to adapt to complex mixed migratory movements, a range of informal structures and community-based self-protection mechanisms have filled some of the gaps.

Policy

These cases highlight the variability that exists in the extent to which existing institutions are or are not fit for purpose in relation to the challenges posed by different aspects of crisis migration. In some areas, existing governance structures adequately address the humanitarian challenge. In other areas, structures exist in theory but there are problems of implementation in practice. In still other areas, there are gaps that need to be filled.

An important analytical feature of many ‘new’ trans-boundary problems that emerge and require international cooperation is that they relate to and touch upon the purview of a set of norms and organisations that already exist, even if the relationship is not explicit. Crisis migration is one such area that is implicitly embedded within a pre-existing set of institutions. In such a situation, it makes sense to begin with a principle of making existing institutions work better. At the level of implementation, a range of norms and structures exists; these have been signed and ratified by states, even if they are not always fully implemented. Furthermore, states have signed up to and ratified human rights norms which have significant implications for how they should respond to crisis migration.

At the level of institutionalisation, there are ways in which existing norms or practices might be better incorporated within legal and policy frameworks. For example, the UN Convention on the Rights of All Migrant Workers and their Families has potential implications for the rights of stranded migrant workers in the context of crisis.

At the level of international agreements, once the possibility of improving existing institutions is exhausted, reforming international agreements need not imply the creation of new treaties or organisations. Instead, it may involve processes of consolidation in relation to existing norms and processes of coordination in relation to existing institutions. Soft-law frameworks may offer a means to provide an authoritative and applied consolidation of existing legal and normative standards. Similarly, when issue areas are embedded within organisational frameworks, creating improved coordination structures may help fill gaps.

The existing global governance framework for crisis migration can be understood as a regime complex, that exists at the global level in terms of the range of norms and international organisations of actual and potential relevance to addressing crisis migration. However, it also exists at the level of practice, where the implementation of the complex may have different manifestations in relation to different crises in different places.

 

Alexander Betts alexander.betts@qeh.ox.ac.uk is Associate Professor in Refugee Studies and Forced Migration at the Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford. www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] Alter, K.J. and Meunier, S. (2009) ‘The Politics of International Regime Complexity’, Perspectives on Politics 7(1): 13–24.

[2] See article by Jane McAdam, p10-11.

[3] Betts, A. (2013) Survival Migration: Failed Governance and the Crisis of Displacement. Cornell University Press.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview