الهجرة غير الشرعية في إقليم ساندربانز الهندي

يتوقع أن تؤدي حالات ارتفاع منسوب البحر في المستقبل إلى فرار بضعة ملايين من البنغاليين إلى الهند، ما يفاقم النزاعات المستمرة بين الهند وبنغلاديش. ونتيجة لذلك، سوف يتصدر الأمن البشري جدول أعمال العلاقات الهندية البنغلاديشية خلال العقود القادمة.

أصبحت الأزمة البيئية والآثار المتزايدة للتغيرات المناخية في بنغلاديش من أهم أسباب الهجرة العابرة للحدود إلى منطقة الساندربانز الهندية التي تمثل فيها خسارة الأراضي والموائل مشكلتين رئيسيتين نتيجة ارتفاع منسوب البحر خلال السنوات الماضية. فسكان المناطق الشاطئية يعيشون في هجرة مستمرة من جزيرة إلى أخرى بحثاً عن الغذاء والمأوى. وهناك تدفق مضطرد للمهاجرين البنغاليين إلى تلك المنطقة فيما يمكن تسميته "بمهاجري الأزمات" الذين يدخلون الإقليم بصورة غير مشروعة ترقباً للأخطار التي سوف تحيق بحياتهم في بلادهم والتي سوف تتحول في النهاية إلى أزمة إنسانية.

فقد كان للفيضانات المتكررة والأعاصير الاستوائية والعواصف العاتية أثر هائل على البنغاليين الذين يعيشون في المناطق الشاطئية. ودفع تقلص الأرض وحت ضفاف الأنهار ودخول المياه المالحة إلى الحقول الزراعية المزارعين إلى البحث عن أراض جديدة. ويسبب ذلك كله انتشار ظاهرة فقدان الأراضي وتفشي البطالة وتفاوت مستوى الدخل وتدهور الموئل البشري، ويزداد الأثر بعدم وجود أي برنامج لإعادة التأهيل وبضعف شديد لمشاركة السكان بالقرارات التي تؤثر على حياتهم.

وفي هذا الإطار، تظهر فئتان من الأشخاص المهاجرين نتيجة العوامل البيئية وهما تحديداً: 1) القاطنون في إقليم ساندربان الهندي الذين يهاجرون من جزيرة إلى أخرى و2) البنغاليون المتسللون من خلال نقاط الحدود غير الشرعية الذين لا تعترف بهم حكومتهم في بنغلاديش على أنهم مواطنين ولا الهند على أنهم "لاجئون بسبب تغير المناخ ". فالحكومة البنغالية لا تصد تدفق المهاجرين لكنها لا تستقبل كل من يُحدد على أنه لاجئ غير شرعي. ومن هنا، تمثل الهجرة القسرية رمزاً لإخفاق التكيف الرسمي مع التغير المناخي فمسائل الهجرة ليس معممة حالياً بفعالية ضمن سياسة التغيرات البيئية أو إدارة الكوارث أو التغيرات المناخية، ولذلك ما من سياسة لها للتصدي لمشكلة اللاجئون بسبب تغير المناخ.

ونظراً لرخص العمالة القادمة من بنغلاديش، تشجع الجهات السياسية في الولايات الهندية المحاذية لبنغلاديش هذا الاختراق غير المشروع للحدود. لكنَّ المخاوف الإنسانية ما زالت كبيرة لكل من الهند وبنغلاديش. وما زال نشاط تهريب الأشخاص مزدهراً بسبب توسع شبكات المهربين على طرفي الحدود.

التوصيات على مستوى السياسات

  • قد يكون فتح قناة قانونية للهجرة الخيار الأكثر جدوى لأنه يتيح دخول المهاجرين ورفدهم بإذن العبور اللازم لمنحهم الحق في الحد الأدنى للأجور وغير ذلك من الحقوق الأخرى التي يتمتع بها العمال الهنود. ونسوق في هذا الصدد مثالاً من تايلاند التي لديها مذكرات تفاهم مماثلة مع كل من بورما وكامبوديا ولاوس التي تمنح العمال المهاجرين في تايلاند الحق في المساواة في الأجور والمزايا.
  • يتطلب التكيف مع التغيرات المناخية تقييم الضعف والتخطيط الملائم للحد منها لتقليص آثار ارتفاع منسوب البحر. ففي عام 2005، تبنت بنغلاديش سياسة المناطق الشاطئية التي أرست دعائم البنية التحتية الإدارية اللازمة لتحسين إدارة تلك المناطق.
  • على الهند أن توفر المساعدات الإنسانية للذين أصبحوا فاقدين للجنسية بحكم الواقع من خلال التفاوضات الثنائية مع بنغلاديش. ويمكن التوصية بأن تستوعب الهند بعضاً من مهاجري الأزمات تلك أو منحهم صفة اللاجئين.
  • على كل من الهند وبنغلاديش العمل معاً على حل هذه المشكلة. وسيكون الجانب الصعب من المهمة على عاتق الهند التعامل مع البنغال الذين يبقون في الهند. وهناك صعوبة أخرى تتمثل في إقناع البنغال أيضاً بأن تعترف أن الهجرة غير الشرعية هي مسألة لا غنى عن معالجتها.
  • على الهند وبنغلاديش العمل معاً على التكيف مع التغيرات المناخية للمحافظة على غابة المنغروف في إقليم ساندربانز فيها التي تعد أكبر غابات المنغروف في العالم.

لقد زادت مسألة الهجرة غير الشرعية من سوء العلاقات بين الهند وبنغلاديش مراراً وتكراراً. وعلى المجتمع الدولي أن يزيد من الدعم المقدم للاجئين المناخيين وأن يساعدهم في الحصول على صفة الحماية بموجب القانون الدولي.

ساهانا بوز sahanadona@gmail.com أستاذ مساعد في جامعة مانيبال، كارناتاكا، الهند http://manipal.edu

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Illegal migration in the Indian Sunderbans

It is expected that due to sea-level rises in the future many millions of Bangladeshis will flee to India, exacerbating further the ongoing disputes between India and Bangladesh. Human security will be the most important agenda item for Indian-Bangladeshi relations in the coming decades.

Environmental crisis and the increasing impacts of climate change in Bangladesh have become important causes of cross-border migration to the Indian Sunderbans Region (ISR) where loss of lands and habitats are the two major issues due to sea-level rise in recent years. The coastal populations are constantly migrating from one island to another in search of food and shelter. There is a steady influx of Bangladeshi migrants into this region who could be termed ‘crisis migrants’, entering into ISR illegally in anticipation of threats in their own country and eventually becoming trapped by humanitarian crisis.

Frequent floods, tropical cyclones and storm surges have had a colossal impact on Bangladesh’s coastal population. Shrinkage of land area, river bank erosion and intrusion of saline waters into the agricultural fields have pushed farmers in search of new lands. These are causing widespread landlessness, unemployment, income disparities and degradation of human habitat. No rehabilitation programmes exist and there is extremely poor participation of the majority of the people in decisions that affect their lives.

Two types of climate-induced migrants are found: 1) Indian Sunderban dwellers constantly migrating from one island to another and 2) rural Bangladeshis infiltrating through the porous border – recognised neither by their government as Bangladeshi citizens nor by India as ‘climate refugees’. The Bangladesh government does not stem the flow of migrants and does not take back those identified as illegal migrants. Such forced migration from Bangladesh symbolises the failure of official adaptation to climate change; at present, migration issues are not effectively mainstreamed with Bangladesh’s environmental, disaster management or climate change policy, and there are therefore no policies for climate refugees.

Because of the supply of cheap labour from Bangladesh, political parties in the Indian border states encourage this illegal infiltration. However, the humanitarian concerns are overwhelming for both India and Bangladesh. People smuggling is flourishing, with a deeply entrenched network on both sides of the border.

Policy recommendations

  • The opening of a legal channel of migration may be the most feasible option, allowing entry of migrants and providing them with a pass that would entitle them to receive the minimum wage and other entitlements of Indian workers. Thailand has such Memoranda of Understanding with Burma, Cambodia and Laos that entitle migrant workers in Thailand to receive equal wages and benefits.

 

  • Climate change adaptation requires assessment of vulnerability and proper mitigation planning to minimise the impacts of sea-level rise. In 2005 a Coastal Zone Policy adopted in Bangladesh laid the foundations for the management infrastructure on which better coastal management can be built.

 

  • India must offer humanitarian assistance to these effectively stateless people through bilateral negotiations with Bangladesh. India may absorb some of these crisis migrants or give them the status of refugees.

 

  • India and Bangladesh should work bilaterally to solve this issue. The difficult part for India will be to deal with the Bangladeshis who remain in India. The difficulty also lies in persuading Bangladesh to accept that illegal migration is an issue that needs to be addressed.

 

  • India and Bangladesh should work jointly on climate change adaptation to preserve the world’s largest mangrove forest in the Sunderbans.

 

The issue of illegal migration has embittered Indian-Bangladeshi relations time and again. The global community needs to extend support to climate refugees and assist them in obtaining protected status under international law.

 

Sahana Bose sahanadona@gmail.com is Assistant professor, Manipal University, Karnataka, India. http://manipal.edu

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview