ارتفاع منسوب المياه والمُهّجرون

على الرغم من أن باكستان وكولومبيا تمتلكان أطراً متقدمة نسبياً لإدارة الكوارث، فلم يكونا مستعدين أو مهيئين لمساعدة المُهّجرين بفعل الفيضانات الأخيرة ولحمايتهم

الكوارث الناجمة عن تغير أحوال الطقس، وخاصة الفيضانات، مسؤولة عن أكبر حركات التهجير بفعل الكوارث الطبيعية سنوياً. وغالباً ما سيُفاقم تغير المناخ من فعل الفيضانات وآثارها على حركات التهجير في العقود القادمة.[i] ففي عام 2010، طالت أيدي الفيضانات المفاجئة في باكستان أكثر من 18 مليون شخص وشردت نحو تسعة ملايين منهم. وعلى صعيد آخر، فبحلول ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2010 جابهت 93% من البلديات في كولومبيا الفيضانات والانهيارات الأرضية وبحلول عام 2011 تأثر قرابة خمسة ملايين شخص وهُجّر آلاف وجاء ذلك أحياناً جراء عدة أحداث أخرى. وعلى نحو ملحوظ، تحدث تلك الفيضانات في دولتين من الدول التي شهدت التهجير المُكثف جراء النزاعات طويلة الأجل والمستمرة التي فاقمت بدورها من ظروف الاستضعاف ومن التحديات.

لدى كل من باكستان وكولومبيا أطر متقدمة نسبياً لإدارة الكوارث وقد كانت مُفّعلة في وقت أن ضربت الفيضانات البلاد. ومع ذلك، ففي كلتا الدولتين قوض ضعف الإمكانيات وآليات التنسيق، ولاسيما على المستوى المحلي، إمكانية تحقيق استجابة أكثر فاعلية وفي الوقت المناسب لحركات التهجير .

ففي حالة كولومبيا، لم يهدف نظام الإغاثة من الفيضانات الجديد ذو الموارد المالية الكبيرة (Colombia Humanitaria) إلى تعزيز جهود الحكومة ولكن إلى تجاوزها والعمل بمفرده. أما في باكستان، فلم تمتلك الهيئة الوطنية لإدارة الكوارث سوى عدد قليل من الموظفين وميزانية محدودة فضلاً عن انعدام سلطتها على الهيئات الإقليمية لإدارة الكوارث. وفي كلتا الدولتين، وقف عدم تنفيذ قوانين إدارة الكوارث وإجراءاتها على الصعيد المحلي عائقاً على نحو ملحوظ أمام توفير الاستجابة المناسبة في ظل أن كانت السلطات المحلية ليست فقط المستجيبة الأولى لتلك الكوارث بل أحياناً الوحيدة أيضاً.

وقد دل واقع توالي الفيضانات في كلتا الدولتين على مدار مدد طويلة على حدوث أنواع مختلفة من التحركات، مثل: الإسعاف والإخلاء الجويين في حالات الطوارئ ورحلات العودة التي قد تتحول أحياناً إلى رحلات إعادة التوطين، في وقت واحد وفي مناطق مختلفة من البلاد. ولكن عموماً، مقارنة بأعداد المُهّجرين الهائلة كان وقت النزوح قصيراً نسبياً، وعاد معظمهم إلى ديارهم خلال عام واحد ولم يقف خطر العنف المستمر عائقاً أمام عودتهم لدرجة أن كثيراً منهم عادوا حتى قبل تبدد مياه الفيضانات. ومع ذلك، لم يراعي المسؤولون معدل العودة السريع عند وضع خطط الاستجابة التي ركزت بوجه عام على تقديم المساعدة للنازحين جراء الفيضانات في مخيمات النازحين المكتظة وحسب. وبحسب قول أحد المسؤولين في الأمم المتحدة: "بمجرد الانتهاء من إنشاء المخيمات، سرعان ما يغادرها قاطنوها".

وفي غضون ذلك، جابهت الجموع العائدة كثير من الاحتياجات إضافة إلى ظروف الاستضعاف نفسها التي كانت السبب في تركهم ديارهم منذ البداية. فقد عاد معظمهم ليجدوا منازلهم وممتلكاتهم قد تلفت أو دُمرت بشدة وهكذا أُجبروا على العيش في مآوي غير آمنة ومؤقتة بجوار مواقع منازلهم الأصلية دون توفر مياه الشرب النظيفة أو مرافق الصرف الصحي لديهم. وقد علق مسؤول الأمم المتحدة نفسه قائلاً: "علينا وضع إستراتيجية "حلول" وليس إستراتيجية عودة".

وبالنظر إلى معدل رحلات العودة السريع، يجب أن تقدم برامج "الإنعاش المبكر" فرصة مهمة لمساعدة النازحين على العودة سيراً على الأقدام بسرعة أكبر وزيادة قدرتهم على مواجهة الصدمات المستقبلية. ومع ذلك، فُصلت مرحلة استجابة الإنعاش المبكر عن مرحلة الاستجابة الطارئة في كلتا الدولتين وتعسر تمويل برامج الإنعاش المبكر وتعرقلت إجراءات تنفيذها. وفي كولومبيا، أثار بطء بناء المآوي القلق في النفوس. فقد اضطرت كثير من العائلات التي فقدت منازلها للنزوح ثلاث أو أربع مرات أثناء انتظار انتهاء المساكن الانتقالية. وأخيراً، فاقم إخفاق الحكومات في معالجة خطر النزوح المُتكرر على نحو مناسب من خلال السماح للناس بالعودة إلى المناطق المعرضة للفيضانات من ظروف استضعافهم ونال من استعدادهم للتعامل مع الأحداث. أما في باكستان، فقد نتجت الفيضانات التي ضربت البلاد في السنة التالية عن نزوح كثير من الأشخاص نفسهم للمرة الثانية على التوالي.

وفي كلتا الدولتين، أُجبر النازحون الذين لم يقبلوا العودة طوعاً على العودة في نهاية المطاف قسراً نظراً لسياسات الحكومة التي تتطلب إغلاق المخيمات والمآوي بعد مرور مدة محددة من الزمن في أعقاب الكارثة ويسري ذلك الأمر على حتى من ليس لديهم مكان بديل ليذهبوا إليه وهكذا يضطرون لرحلات النزوح الثاني.

وفي كولومبيا، تفاوت تأثير الفيضانات على من سبق لهم النزوح بفعل النزاع المسلح الذي دام لعقود في البلاد. ولكن نظراً لامتلاك كولومبيا مؤسسات حكومية مسؤولة عن الاستجابة لمشاكل النازحين بفعل النزاع والنازحين جراء الكوارث الطبيعية، ولأن القانون المعني بالنازحين لا يغطي النازحين بسبب الكوارث الطبيعية، لم تُفعل أي من الإجراءات أو الحقوق أو آليات الحماية التي وضعتها كولومبيا للإغاثة في الطوارئ في حال تسببت الفيضانات في حدوث رحلات النزوح الجماعي. وبدلاً من ذلك كله، يُعّول على مجموعة مؤسسات وإجراءات حكومية مختلفة تماماً أثبتت عدم جدواها.

وفي المقابل، تعتمد باكستان على سلطات معنية بالاستجابة لرحلات النزوح جراء النزاعات أو الكوارث الطبيعية داخل المؤسسات نفسها، مثل: الهيئة الوطنية لإدارة الكوارث على الصعيد الوطني والهيئات الإقليمية لإدارة الكوارث على الصعيد الإقليمي. وقد اتضحت تلك القدرة المؤسسية في الاستجابة للفيضانات التي ضربت خيبر بختون خوا حيث ظهرت خبرة الهيئات الإقليمية لإدارة الكوارث في الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ الإنسانية المستمرة الناجمة عن النزاعات في العمل بالتعاون مع المجتمع الدولي مما أتاح فرصة تحقيق استجابة أكثر تنسيقاً وفاعلية عندما تضرب الفيضانات البلاد.

في الدول المتضررة من النزاعات والكوارث الطبيعية معاً، يُفضل وضع مسؤولية الاستجابة لكل من الكوارث البشرية والطبيعية على كاهل الوزارة أو المؤسسة نفسها مما يُساعد على بناء القدرات وتعزيز إجراءات المساءَلة وتعظيم آليات تخصيص الموارد.

 

أليس توماس alice@refugeesinternational.org مدير برنامج النزوح جراء تغير المناخ، وليندسي بريكل lindsey.brickle@gmail.com زميل غير مقيم في برنامج النزوح جراء تغير المناخ، الرابطة الدولية للاجئين. www.refintl.org/

هذا المقال يستقي معلوماته من الأبحاث والملاحظات التي وضعتها الرابطة الدولية للاجئين بشأن الأوضاع في باكستان وكولومبيا في عامي 2010 و2011. [ii]



[i] مركز رصد النزوح الداخلي، التقديرات العالمية 2012: النازحون بفعل الكوارث

www.internal-displacement.org/publications/global-estimates-2012

[ii] الرابطة الدولية للاجئين (2011) "باكستان: استمرار كفاح الناجون لتحسين أوضاعهم"

Pakistan: Flood Survivors Still Struggling to Recover

 www.refugeesinternational.org/policy/field-report/pakistan-flood-survivors-still-struggling-recover.

(2012) "كولومبيا: تحسن آليات الاستجابة للفيضانات واستمرار التحديات"

Colombia: Flood Response Improves, But Challenges Remain

http://refugeesinternational.org/sites/default/files/032712_Colombia_Response%20letterhead.pdf.

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Rising waters, displaced lives

Although Pakistan and Colombia have relatively advanced disaster management frameworks, they were unprepared and ill-equipped to assist and protect people displaced by recent floods.

Weather-related disasters, especially floods, are responsible for the largest natural disaster-induced displacements each year. Climate change is likely to exacerbate flooding and its impacts on displacement in coming decades.[1] In 2010, flash floods in Pakistan affected more than 18 million people, nine million of whom were left homeless. Meanwhile, in Colombia by December 2010 93% of the country’s municipalities were experiencing floods and landslides, and by the end of 2011 close to five million people had been affected and thousands displaced, sometimes on several occasions. Significantly, these floods occurred in two countries that had extensive displacement from protracted and ongoing conflict which increased vulnerabilities and challenges.

Both Pakistan and Colombia had relatively advanced disaster management frameworks in place at the time the floods hit. Nonetheless, in both countries insufficient capacity and coordination – especially at the local level – undermined the possibility of a more timely and effective response to displacement.

In the case of Colombia, a new flood relief system with significant financial resources (Colombia Humanitaria) did not aim to bolster existing government capacity but rather to bypass it. In Pakistan, the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) had few staff, a limited budget and no authority over the Provincial Disaster Management Authorities (PDMAs). In both countries, lack of implementation of disaster management laws and procedures at the local level significantly hampered the response as local authorities were not only the first, but sometimes the only, responders.

The fact that the floods in both countries rolled out over extended periods meant that different types of movements – including emergency flight and evacuation, return and, to some extent, resettlement – occurred simultaneously in different parts of the country. Yet overall, despite the overwhelming numbers of people displaced, the period of displacement proved to be relatively short-term, with most people returning within a year; people were not precluded from returning by the threat of on-going violence, and many returned even before the flood waters dissipated. However, the quick rate of return was not taken into account in the response which was overly focused on providing assistance to flood-displaced in centralised IDP camps. As one UN official noted, “By the time we finished setting up the camps, they were empty.”

Meanwhile, returning populations faced many of the same needs and vulnerabilities as when they were displaced. Most returned to houses and belongings that were severely damaged or destroyed, and were forced to live in unsafe, makeshift shelters next to their former houses without access to clean water or sanitation. The same UN official added, “We needed a returned strategy, not a return strategy.”

Given the rapid rate of return, ‘early recovery’ programmes should have provided an important opportunity for helping displaced populations get back on their feet more quickly and increase resilience to future shocks. Yet in both countries the early recovery phase of the response was separated from the emergency response phase, and funding for, and implementation of, early recovery programmes proved challenging. In Colombia, the slow pace of construction of shelters was of particular concern. Many families who lost homes were displaced three or four times while they awaited completion of transitional housing. Finally, failure of the governments to adequately address the risk of recurrent displacement by allowing people to return to flood-prone areas increased vulnerabilities and eroded resilience. In Pakistan, flooding the following year displaced many of the same people a second time.

In both countries, IDPs who did not return voluntarily ultimately were forced to do so as a result of government policies requiring that camps and shelters be closed after a certain period of time following the disaster, even for those who had nowhere to go, often resulting in secondary displacement.

In Colombia, the floods disproportionately affected those who had been previously displaced by the country’s decades-long armed conflict. Yet because Colombia has separate government institutions for responding to people displaced by conflict and people displaced by natural disasters, and because Colombia’s IDP law does not extend to people displaced by natural disasters, none of the procedures, rights and protections Colombia has developed for providing emergency relief in the case of conflict-related mass displacements was triggered by the floods. Rather, an entirely different set of government institutions and procedures came into play, which proved far less effective.

In contrast, Pakistan places authority for responding to conflict- and natural disaster-induced displacement within the same institutions –the NDMA at the national level and PDMAs at the provincial level. This institutional capacity was evident in the response to the floods in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, where the PDMA’s experience in responding to ongoing, conflict-related humanitarian emergencies, and in working in cooperation with the international community, allowed for a far more coordinated and effective response when the floods hit.

In countries affected by both conflict and natural disasters, it is preferable to place responsibility for responding to both man-made and natural disasters within the same ministry or institution, thereby building capacity, promoting accountability, and maximising allocation of resources.

 

Alice Thomas alice@refugeesinternational.org is Climate Displacement Program Manager, and Lindsey Brickle lindsey.brickle@gmail.com is Non-Resident Fellow, Climate Displacement Program, with Refugees International. www.refintl.org ‎  

This article draws upon Refugees International’s research and observations in Pakistan and Colombia in 2010 and 2011.[2]



[1] Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre Global Estimates 2012: People displaced by disasters  www.internal-displacement.org/publications/global-estimates-2012

[2] Refugees International (2011) ‘Pakistan: Flood Survivors Still Struggling to Recover’  www.refugeesinternational.org/policy/field-report/pakistan-flood-survivors-still-struggling-recover
(2012) ‘Colombia: Flood Response Improves, But Challenges Remain’ http://refugeesinternational.org/sites/default/files/032712_Colombia_Response%20letterhead.pdf.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview