طالبو اللجوء السياسي المكسيكيون

هكذا، فالتكاتف معاً استجابة لوضع ذي خطورة مماثلة يمنح الناس القوة والثقة ويزودهم بالدعم العاطفي والاجتماعي إضافة إلى الدعم القانوني والسياسي فوق كل شيء.

أثار النزاع العسكري ضد عصابات المخدرات في المكسيك الذي بدأ في 2008 زيادة غير مسبوقة في انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان ضد السكان الذين وجدوا أنفسهم عالقين بين مطرقة المجرمين وسندان القوات المسلحة والشرطة. وأدى ذلك بدوره إلى رحلات تهجير جماعي لنجد أن نحو 230000 فرد غادروا المنطقة الحدودية بين عامي 2007 و2010 وهُجر نحو 20000 أسرة. حتى إنَّ بعض أولئك النازحين جاءوا من أماكن مختلفة في المكسيك وعادوا إلى منازلهم الأصلية إثر ذلك النزاع.

ومعظم حالات ما يُقدر بنحو 124000 من أولئك النازحين أو أكثر، الذين قرروا الانتقال عبر الحدود للعيش في ولاية تكساس بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، لم يكن لديهم النية للهجرة إلى الولايات المتحدة قبل وقوع ذلك النوع من العنف ولكنّ الخوف أجبرهم على الفرار إلى هناك.

وعادة ما يُثير عبور الحدود قضايا قانونية لا يضعها طالبوا اللجوء المؤقت في حسبانهم. وتكمن أهمية ذلك في ضوء المناقشات الساخنة الحالية في المكسيك بشأن النزوح الداخلي الناتج عن العنف في البلاد. ولا يُعد عبور الحدود خياراً مدروساً ولكنه خياراً عملياً يعتمد على القرب الجغرافي. إلا أن ذلك العبور يتسبب ببساطة في اختفاء هؤلاء المُهجرين من إحصاءات النازحين داخلياً ويجعلهم يبدون وكأنهم انضموا لملايين المكسيكيين الذين هُجروا على مدى عقود كثيرة بفعل الفقر والانفلات الأمني. وبهذا، يُقلل من شأن مشكلة التهجير القسري ويُحيِّدها.

وفي عام 2009، طلب نحو 254 مكسيكي اللجوء إلى الولايات المتحدة. وزاد عددهم في 2010 إلى 2973 طالب لجوء وفي 2011 إلى 6133 طالب لجوء، إلا أن السلطات لم تمنح سوى 104 منهم فقط حق اللجوء، أي نحو 2% من إجمالي الطلبات.

وفي منتصف 2012، تشكلت جماعة في الولايات المتحدة تطلق على نفسها "المكسيكيون في المنفى". فقد قرر نحو 160 مكسيكياً، إثر فرارهم من الاغتيالات والقهر وحالات الاختفاء والخوف، بدلاً من البقاء في عزلة ومحاولة التواري عن الأنظار، أن السعي العلني والواضح للجوء السياسي على أساس أن قضاياهم ذات بعد سياسي إستراتيجية أفضل. وهكذا، فالتكاتف معاً استجابة لوضع ذي خطورة مماثلة يمنح الناس القوة والثقة ويزودهم بالدعم العاطفي والاجتماعي إضافة إلى الدعم القانوني والسياسي فوق كل شيء.

وتمكن جماعة "المكسيكيون في المنفى" أعضاءها من تجاوز المطالبات الشخصية بالحصول على العدالة الدولية في حالتهم اعترافاً بالفرق بين الهجرة جراء الخوف والسعي لطلب اللجوء السياسي.

ليتيشيا كالديرون تشيليوس lcalderon@mora.edu.mx معلم/باحث في معهد مورا، المكسيك. www.institutomora.edu.mx

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Mexicans seeking political asylum

Banding together in response to a situation of this seriousness gives people strength and confidence, and provides emotional, social and – above all – legal and political support.

The militarised struggle against drug cartels in Mexico that began in 2008 triggered an unprecedented increase in human rights violations against the population which found itself caught between the criminals and the armed forces and police. This in turn led to a mass exodus, with 230,000 people leaving the border region between 2007 and 2010 and some 20,000 dwellings abandoned. Many of these people had come from other parts of Mexico and returned to their home areas.

An estimated 124,000 people or more of those who decided to move crossed into Texas in the US; in the great majority of cases they had no intention of immigrating into the US before this episode of violence but were forced to flee from fear.

Crossing the border opens up legal issues that people seeking temporary refuge do not imagine. This is important in light of current heated debates in Mexico over internal displacement resulting from violence in the country. Crossing the border seems not to be a strategic choice but a practical one based on geographical proximity. Yet by doing so these people simply disappear from the IDP statistics, seeming to have joined the millions of Mexicans who have emigrated over many decades because of poverty and insecurity. In this way the problem of forced displacement is minimised and neutralised.

In 2009, there were 254 Mexican asylum seekers in the US. In 2010 there were 2,973, and in 2011 6,133 of whom only 104 – 2% of those requesting it – were granted asylum.

In mid-2012 a group formed in the US calling themselves ‘Mexicans in Exile’. Some 160 people decided that, having fled assassinations, extortion, disappearances and fear, rather than remain isolated and maintain a low profile a better strategy would be to publicly and visibly seek political asylum on the grounds that their cases had political bases. Banding together in response to a situation of this seriousness gives people strength and confidence, and provides emotional, social and – above all – legal and political support.

Mexicans in Exile empowers its members and allows them to transcend the personal, demanding international justice for their situation in recognition of the difference between migrating out of fear and seeking political asylum.

 

Leticia Calderón Chelius lcalderon@mora.edu.mx es Profesora/investigadora del Instituto Mora, México. www.institutomora.edu.mx

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview