سياسات حُسن الضيافة والعداء في الأرجنتين

في أعقاب زلزال هايتي عام 2010، أخذت الأرجنتين ودول أمريكا الجنوبية الأخرى على عاتقها استقبال الهايتيين لأسباب إنسانية.

 

إثر الزلازل الذي ضرب هايتي عام 2010، بدأت دول اتحاد أمم أمريكا الجنوبية[1] في استقبال الهايتيين على أرضها. وقد ارتبط الدافع وراء الهجرة بآمال تحسين معيشتهم في وضع دُمرت به جميع الاحتمالات والفرص بفعل الزلازل. ووفقاً للهايتيين الذين أجريت معهم مقابلات في بوينس آيرس: "عقب الزلازل، لم يتبق أي شيء ...".

وعندما تعهدت الأرجنتين باستقبال الهايتيين "لأسباب إنسانية" لم تكن بحاجة للوائح أو مواد محدده تنظم ذلك نظراً لأن قانون الهجرة رقم 25,871 لديها كان ينص فعلياً على محددات تلك الاحتمالية (خلافا لما حدث في بلدان أخرى، مثل: البرازيل أو تشيلي).[2] ومع أن القانون لم يضع حداً زمنياً لاستقبال الهايتيين، إلا أنهم منذ نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2012 بدءوا يواجهون مصاعب في الحصول على حق الحماية. وبحلول 2013 صار من المستحيل تقريباً عليهم المطالبة بأي حقوق بموجب هذه المادة. ويجري الأمر عينه في البرازيل وتشيلي والإكوادور التي تضيق بدورها خناق سياسات الهجرة لديها على المُهجرين الهايتيين.

ومن ناحية هؤلاء المُهجرين، فمن غير المُحتمل أن تكون الأرجنتين وجهتهم المنشودة لولا سهولة دخول حدودها والسماح المجاني بالانخراط في الدراسة الجامعية. ومع ذلك، يواجه الهايتيون في الأرجنتين مشاكل تخص العمل والسكن والوثائق والتعليم والثقافة والتمييز على نحو يناقض التزام القانون بهدف تعزيز إدخالهم وإدماجهم في المجتمع الأرجنتيني وبضرورة التعامل معهم على أنهم مهاجرون نظاميون[3] فضلاً عن دعوته في جميع مكاتب الدولة لمساندة المبادرات الداعية لإدماج الأجانب في مجتمع إقامتهم.

مبدئياً، "السماح بدخول" المهاجرين إلى دولتك يفرض عليك تحمل مسؤولية هؤلاء الأفراد بأن توفر لهم المأكل والمسكن والصحة النفسية، ويسري ذلك على كل من الدولة والمجتمع. ولكن السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه: كيف للمجتمع المُضيف أن يُدخل من شهدوا خبرات صادمة ويحتضنهم ويُدمجهم فيه متبعاً سياسات حُسن الضيافة وليس العداء تجاه "الآخر".

 

إيرين دافارد إيفانجليستا ireneduffard@yahoo.com.ar باحثة في اللجنة الكاثوليكية الأرجنتينية للهجرة. http://migracionesfccam.org.ar/

 


[3]قانون الهجرة رقم 25,871، المادة 3، النقاط هـ) و ح)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

On policies of hospitality and hostility in Argentina

Following the Haiti earthquake of 2010, Argentina and other South American countries undertook to receive Haitians.

Following the Haiti earthquake of 2010 the countries of the Union of South American Nations[1] undertook to receive Haitians in their countries. The motivation to migrate was linked to the hope of improving their lives in a context where all possibilities and opportunities had been destroyed by the earthquake. According to interviewees with Haitians in Buenos Aires: “After the earthquake there was nothing left...”.

For Argentina to make a commitment to receive Haitians for ‘humanitarian reasons’, no specific regulations or clause were needed, as provision was already made for such an eventuality in Migrations Law 25.871 (unlike in other countries such as Brazil or Chile).[2] With the open-ended commitment in law there was no time limit involved, yet from November 2012 Haitians started having difficulties in obtaining this protection status and by 2013 it was almost impossible for them to claim rights under this heading. Similar situations are occurring in Brazil, Chile and Ecuador, which are also tightening their migration policies toward this population.

For this particular population group, it is unlikely that Argentina would have been a destination of migration were it not for the ease of entry and the free access to university study. However, Haitians in Argentina face problems in work, housing, documentation, education, culture and discrimination, despite the law’s commitment to the objective of promoting the insertion and integration into Argentine society of persons admitted as regular migrants[3] and its call on all offices of the state to favour initiatives tending toward the integration of foreigners in their community of residence.

In principle, for both state and society, ‘allowing entry’ to migrants to your country implies taking responsibility for these persons, for their food, housing and psychological wellbeing. The question that then arises is how, having been through traumatic experiences, they can be taken in, included and integrated into the host society with policies of hospitality and not of hostility to ‘the other’.

 

Irene Duffard Evangelista ireneduffard@yahoo.com.ar is Investigator in the Fundación Comisión Católica Argentina de Migraciones. http://migracionesfccam.org.ar/

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview