الهجرة القسرية للمواطنين المُعولَمين

تعني التدفقات المستمرة للأشخاص والمعلومات عبر الحدود في وقتنا الحاضر أن المجتمع الدولي يشعر بوجوب تدخّله عند حدوث حالة للطوارئ، ليس بدافع التضامن فحسب، بل بسبب إمكانيّة تعرّض مواطنيه للخطر.

ومع ذلك،بينما تظهر فكرة رعاية الدول لمواطنيها على أنّها من الواجبات البديهية، فهل من الممكن أن تزيد أفعال هذه الدول الطين بِلّة؟ فالأزمات – التي لا تميّز بين الجنسيّات –تميل إلى جعل الدول الأجنبيّة تتّخذ إجراءات إغاثية خاصة لمواطنيها في الخارج، لكن من غير الواضح إذا ما كانت الدول الأجنبية قادرةً على إيصال ما تنوي أو ما يجب عليها فعله، كما أنّ كون الشخص مهاجر لا يكون بالضرورة عاملاً من عوامل الاستضعاف، كما لا يكون المهاجرون في العادة أكثر الفئات السكانية عرضةً للخطر.

في شهر آذار/مارس من عام 2012، واجهت مدينة سِنداي اليابانية أزمة ثلاثية: فتعرّضت لزلزالٍ وتسونامي وخطر إشعاعيّ. وبما أنها ليست مقصداً أساسياً للسياح أو بوتقة تجارية دولية، فلا يوجد فيها بعثات دبلوماسية كثيرة. وزار المدينةَ تسعة عشر فريقاً قنصليّاً على الأقل من طوكيو، ومن الواضح أن سبب تلك الزيارة كان تقييم حاجات أبناء بلادتلك الفرق. وحيث إنّ تلك المدينة لم تتأثّر كثيراً كما الحال في المناطق الساحليّة، لم تكن التقييمات هي السبب الفعلي لعمليات الإخلاء المتعدّدة التي أُجرِيَت في المدينة خلال الفترة الممتدة بين 13 و20 آذار/مارس، حيث بلغ عدد الأشخاص عدّة آلاف –أُخلِيَ المواطنون المتجنِّسون والأزواج اليابانيّون في بعض الحالات، بينما رُفِضوا في حالاتٍ أخرى.

وتبِع أوّل إخلاء رسمي موجة تهجيرٍ رسيمةٍ وغير رسميّة للأفراد والجماعات، بالإضافة إلى حركاتٍ غطّتها وسائل الإعلام المحليّة والعالميّة على نحوٍ ملحوظ. هناك أمران لا بد من التركيز عليهما. فمن بينالنتائج غير المقصودة لعمليات الإخلاء الرسميةحدوث فوضى بسبب الذعر عندما أتاحت الفرق القنصليّة الفرصة لمغادرة المدينة. والأمر الثاني أن تعبير "أجنبي" مصطلح فضفاض جداً لا يسمح بإضفاء صفة عدم التمييز على الإجراءات المتخذة، مثلما كان هناك تقاريرٌ تفيد بوجود حالاتٍ أُرغِم فيها الناس على المغادرة لأن حكوماتهم كانت تأمرهم بذلك على اعتبار أنَّهم"أجانب".

وأخيراً، تسبب عمليات الإخلاء التي تجريها الفرق القنصلية إرباكاً للبروتوكولات الموضوعة للأعمال الإنسانية بطرقٍ مختلفةٍ كثيرة. فالعمليات التي تنفذها البلدان الأجنبية حيال رعاياها في دول أخرى لا تعني بالضرورة استهدافها لأكثر الأشخاص استضعافاً من مواطنيها أو من غير مواطنيها، كما أن هذه العمليّات تضغط على الموارد النادرة. وغالباً ما يتّجه التركيز على الأجانب خلال الأزمات نحو التعامل مع الرأي العام واللوجستيّات في بلادهم الأصليّة، وليس نحو الأمن الفعليّ للأشخاص الموجودين في المنطقة التي توجد فيها الأزمات.

لا يوجد حلولٌ بسيطة لهذا النوع من الهجرة القسرية على نحوٍ طوعيّ. ويكمن أحد الجذور المهمّة لهذه المشكلة في الفكرة المبالغ بها حول مسؤولية الدولة وفي ضآلةالاهتمام الذي تلقّته فكرة "الانتماء"، بمعنىإمكانيّة أن ينظر المرء لنفسه على أنه فرد من أبناء المجتمع المحلي حتى لو لم يكن مواطناً وأنه بذلك يستحق الحماية في أوقات الأزمات. وفي سياق الحديث عن عالمٍ مُعَولَم، يجب علينا أن نعترفأنَّ حجمالتحرك البشري يجعل الاستجابات التقليديّة للأزمات غير مناسبة في بعض الأحيان.

 

أوسكار أ. غوميز Gomez.Oscar@jica.go.jp باحثٌ في الهيئة اليابانية للتعاون الدولي– معهد البحوث في طوكيو – اليابان. http://jica-ri.jica.go.jp/index.html

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Forcing migration of globalised citizens

Today’s constant flows of persons and information across frontiers mean that, when an emergency occurs, the international community feels it has to get involved not only out of solidarity but because its citizens could be in danger.

Today’s constant flows of persons and information across frontiers mean that, when an emergency occurs, the international community feels it has to get involved not only out of solidarity but because its citizens could be in danger. Yet while the idea that states must take care of their citizens appears an obvious imperative, could their actions cause more harm than good? Crises – which do not distinguish between nationalities – tend to trigger special relief actions by foreign states for their nationals overseas; however, not only is it unclear whether foreign states are capable of delivering what they intend or are requested to do but also being a migrant is not necessarily a vulnerability factor, nor are migrants usually the most endangered population.

In March 2011 Sendai City in Japan faced a triple crisis – earthquake, tsunami and radiation threat. As it is not a major tourist centre or international commercial hub, there are few diplomatic missions in the city. At least nineteen consular teams visited from Tokyo, apparently to assess the needs of their compatriots; since the city was not as heavily affected as the coastal areas, the assessments were not the actual reason for the multiple evacuation operations which took place in the city between 13th and 20th March, totalling several thousand persons — naturalised citizens and Japanese spouses were in some cases evacuated, in others refused.

The first official evacuation was followed by a wave of displacement, both official and unofficial, of individuals and groups, movements which were covered – significantly – by local and international media. Among the unintended consequences of official evacuations was panic flight when the consular teams offered the opportunity to leave the city. Secondly, there were reported cases in which people were coerced to leave because their government was telling them – as ‘foreigners’ – to do so; ‘foreigner’ is too broad a category to merit undifferentiated action.

Finally, evacuations by consular teams distort in many different ways the established protocols of humanitarian action. Foreign operations do not help the most endangered people, not even among their compatriots, and put pressure on scarce resources. The emphasis on foreign nationals during crises is mostly oriented towards dealing with public opinion and logistics back in their home countries, not about the actual security of persons at the area in trouble.

There are no simple solutions to this particular form of voluntarily forced migration. One important root of the problem can be found in the over-stretched idea of the state’s responsibility and how little attention the idea of ‘belonging’ has received, that is, the possibility of considering oneself a member of the local polity, if not the national one, entitled to protection in times of crisis like anybody else. In the context of a globalised world, we should acknowledge that the scale of human mobility is making conventional responses to crises sometimes inappropriate.

 

Oscar A Gómez Gomez.Oscar@jica.go.jp is a Research Fellow at the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) Research Institute, in Tokyo, Japan. http://jica-ri.jica.go.jp/index.html

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview