ارتفاع عدد السكان العالقين

مع ازدياد التشديد على أمن الحدود وجعلها أقل اختراقاً، بدأت الهجرة عبر الحدود تواجه مصاعب ومخاطر متزايدة ونتج عن ذلك زيادة في عدد الأشخاص العالقين في بلدانهم أو في بلدان العبور وكذلك عدد الأشخاص المجبرين على التجول عبر المناطق الحدودية دون أن يكونوا قادرين على الوصول إلى الحماية القانونية أو سد حاجاتهم الأساسية.

على المستوى الدولي، كانت أجندة الأمن الحدودي مدفوعة من أوروبا وأمريكا بناء على تصور أنَّ الهجرة العامة عبر الحدود تمثل تهديداً محتملاً يجب إيقافه والسيطرة عليه أو منعه. لكن البلدان في كثير من المناطق الأخرى تتتبع سياسة إغلاق حدودها بوجه "غير المرغوب بهم". وينشأ عن "تخريج الحدود" على وجه الخصوص أثراً متموجاً للبلدان التي تشدد السيطرة على حدودها نتيجة الضغوط الدبلوماسية الممارسة بهدف اجتثاث تدفقات اللاجئين. فالاتحاد الأوروبي على سبيل المثال يمارس ضغوطاً على دول غرب أفريقيا وآسيا الوسطى لإحكام السيطرة على حدودها لمنع المهاجرين من الوصول إلى أوروبا.

وانتشرت - بهدف منع المهاجرين- سياسة إغلاق الحدود عبر البلدان الأوروبية وفي الشرق الأوسط وغرب إفريقيا وشمالها وكذلك في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، في حين تبقى أمريكا الجنوبية المنطقة الوحيدة التي ما زالت نشاطاتها المتعلقة بتشديد الحدود في حدها الأدنى في العقود القليلة السابقة.

لكنَّ الضوابط الحدودية لا تفعل شيئاً في حل مشكلات المواطنين ضمن البلدان نفسها بل تزيد من صعوبة توظيف الاستراتيجية القائمة على العمر بوصفها وسيلة للهرب من الخطر أو الظروف المعيشية الصعبة. وحتى لو كانت ظروف المهاجرين تقع ضمن أطر الحماية القانونية، فسوف يردي التشدد في الضوابط الحدودية في غالب الأحيان إلى عدم وصول هؤلاء المواطنين إلى الحماية وسيعلقون في "الجانب الخطأ" من الحدود. ونتيجة ذلك، يصبح الناس عالقين في الحدود أو منجرفون بين حدود لا يمكن اختراقها دون أن يكون لديهم سبيل في أغلب الأحيان للفرار إلى البلدان الأكثر أمناً أو الحصول على المساعدة أو الحماية القانونية. وقد يكون هناك كثير من النقاط الساخنة حيث تجد مجموعات مركزة من الناس نفسها عالقة بسبب الأمن الحدودي مثلما هو الحال في شمال فرسنا وجنوب غرب تركيا وشمال بنغلاديش وكوريا الشمالية وغالباً ما يتجمعون في "مخيمات غير رسمية للمهاجرين" وبسيناريوهات متماثلة في مختلف أنحاء العالم.

هؤلاء المهاجرون العالقون مستضعفون ومعرضون للانتهاكات والإساءات التي يشيع التعرض لها عند الانتقال من بلد إلى آخر بطريقة غير رسمية، وتتضمن تلك الإساءات والانتهاكات حرمانهم من تحقيق حاجاتهم الأساسية والتمييز والإساءة على خلفية الأصل الأجنبي والوضع غير النظامي والإتجار بالبشر (الذي يعرض المهاجرين للقسر والخداع والإساءة الجسدية والجنسية) والعمالة الخطرة أو القسرية وسرقة الأعضاء. وغالباً ما يكون وجود الأمن على الحدود نفسه سبباً في ظهور المخاطر الكبيرة، مثل: الإضرار الجسدي أو الوفاة نتيجة تماس المهاجرين بالأسوار المكهربة أو نتيجة تعرضهم للإساءة والعنف على يد حرس الحدود. وهناك أيضاً روايات تتحدث عن أنّ حرس الحدود يدفعون المهاجرين إلى العودة إلى الوراء أي إلى البحر أو الصحراء التي آتوا منها كما الحال في شمال أفريقيا أو المكسيك حيث ترتفع فيها مخاطر الموت. وبما أنَّ المهاجرين يسعون في أغلب الأحيان إلى تجنب التفتيش أو قد يسعون إلى الاختفاء بين السكان المستوطنين أو يفتقرون الاحترام والاعتراف من السكان أو السلطات المحلية نتيجة صفتهم غير النظامية، فذلك يعني أنَّ هناك ملايين المهاجرين في العالم ممن لا يتحدث عن معاناتهم أحد.

أما التغير المناخي فيتوقع أنه سيؤدي إلى تغيير العوامل السكانية وزيادة الهجرة عبر العالم كما سيؤدي التوجه الحالي لإغلاق الحدود إلى إثارة مشكلات كبيرة بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يسعون إلى الحصول على أماكن أكثر أمناً وأصلح للعيش فيها. فمنطقة الساحل على سبيل المثال بدأت تعاني من ارتفاع التصحر وانخفاض نسبة الهطول وتغير في أنماط هطول الأمطار علماً أن الهجرة تُستخدم بالفعل كاستراتيجية منطقية للتكيف مع الظروف استجابة للتغير المناخي وآثاره المعقدة في هذه المنطقة. ومع ذلك، أصبحت الحدود الوطنية في المنطقة -كما الحال بين المغرب والجزائر وكذلك بين موريتانيا ومالي – أكثر مناعة وخطراً إزاء المهاجرين الراغبين بعبورها خاصة أن التقارير تفيد بإطلاق حرس الحدود النار على الذين يقتربون من الحدود والتسبب في بعض الأحيان في قتلهم.

وسوف تجد فئات كبيرة من السكان المتأثرين بالتغير المناخي نفسها مجبرة على السعي وراء الانتقال إلى أماكن أكثر سلامة وقابلية للعيش فيها لكنهم سيُمنعون من ذلك. ويبدو أنَّ أمن الحدود سوف يستمر في الارتفاع من ناحية تنفيذ التقنيات والطرق ومن حيث الاتساع الجغرافي. ورغم تلك الزيادة، لم تحظ هذه الظاهرة على المستوى العالمي بالاهتمام العالمي إن حصلت على أي منه أصلاً في المحافل الإنسانية بل السياسية أيضاً. ونظراً للتهديد الحاصل في الارتفاع العالمي للسكان العالقين، لا بد من إجراء البحوث حول كيف وأين يمكن للمهاجرين الوصول إلى منظومات اللاجئين وإلى تحديد الفئات السكانية العالقة وحمايتها. ويجب أيضاً تحديد المناطق الساخنة التي سوف تعمل قوات حرس الحدود فيها على قمع تدفقات الهجرة المتزايدة لدواع أمنية.

إذا ما أريد دعم سبل الأمن على الحدود، علينا أن ننشئ منهجية مشتركة وفاعلة وفعالة بحيث يمكن تطبيقها لحصول المهاجر على صفة اللاجئ قبل وصوله إلى البلد المقصد المرغوب. وسوف يتيح ذلك لكثير من المستضعفين طلب اللجوء دون قسرهم على تجشم المعاناة في الرحلات الطويلة الشاقة أو وقوعهم عالقين في أوضاع خطرة وتعرضهم لعدد من إساءات حقوق الإنسان سعياً وراء الوصول إلى بلدان أكثر أمناً وسلامةً.

 

أبريل ت. همبل april.humble1@gmail.com مساعدة فنية لمؤسسة إيرثليغ

www.the-earth-league.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The rise of trapped populations

As border security increases and borders become less permeable, cross-border migration is becoming increasingly difficult, selective and dangerous. Growing numbers of people are becoming trapped in their own countries or in transit countries, or being forced to roam border areas, unable to access legal protection or basic social necessities.

Internationally the border security agenda has been mainly pushed forward by Europe and the US, based on the perception of all cross-border migration as a potential threat that must be intercepted and controlled or blocked. However, in many other regions, countries are following suit in closing their borders to the ‘undesired’. ‘Border externalisation’ in particular creates a ripple effect of countries further afield tightening their borders, as a result of diplomatic pressure to stem the flow of migrants; the EU, for example, puts pressure on states from West Africa to Central Asia to tighten their borders to prevent migrants reaching Europe.

The closing off of borders to migrants has spread across Europe, the Middle-East, West and North Africa, Central Asia, South Asia, South-East Asia and the US. South America is the only continent that has seen minimal activity in terms of heightened border security in recent decades.

Border controls do nothing to solve the problems citizens are subjected to within countries. Border controls do however increase the difficulty of employing the age-old strategy of migration as a means to flee from danger or difficult living conditions. Even if migrants’ circumstances fall within legal protection frameworks, strict border controls mean they often cannot access protection and are trapped on the ‘wrong side’ of the border. The result is people becoming stuck at, or drifting between, impenetrable borders, often with no way to escape to safer counties or to access help or legal protection. There are many hotspots where concentrated groups of people become trapped due to border security – such as in northern France, north-west Turkey, northern Bangladesh and North Korea – often congregating in informal ‘migrant camps’, with many similar scenarios worldwide.

These trapped migrants are vulnerable, exposed to the violations and abuses that are typical for those moving through countries irregularly, including: not having access to basic necessities; discrimination and abuse because of their foreign origin and irregular status; human trafficking (which exposes migrants to coercion, deception and physical and sexual abuse); dangerous or forced labour; and organ theft. The very existence of border security also often poses grave threats such as injury or death from electric fences or being violently abused by border guards. Accounts have also been told of migrants being pushed back from borders by guards – back into the sea or into desert areas such as in North Africa or Mexico where risk of death is high. As migrants often try to avoid detection, or attempt to disappear among the settled population, or due to their irregular status are not recognised or respected by local populations or authorities, the struggles of millions of migrants worldwide go unaccounted for.

Climate change is predicted to result in changing demographics and increased migration across the globe and the current trend of sealing off borders is going to present serious problems for those seeking safer and more habitable areas to live. For example, the Sahel region has begun to experience increased desertification and both a decrease in precipitation and a change in precipitation patterns. Migration is already being used as a logical coping strategy in response to climate change and its complex effects in this area. However, national borders in the region – such as between Morocco and Algeria and between Mauritania and Mali – are becoming increasingly impermeable and dangerous for migrants to cross, with reports of migrants approaching the borders being shot at, sometimes fatally, by border guards.

Large proportions of populations affected by climate change will be forced to try to move into safer and more habitable areas but will be prevented from doing so. It seems that border security is set to continue increasing in terms of the implementation of technologies and methods as well as in geographical expanse. Despite this increase, this phenomenon at a global level is seeing little or no attention in academic, humanitarian or even political spheres. Given the threat of a global surge in trapped populations, research is needed in areas such as how and where migrants can access asylum systems; ways to identify and safeguard trapped populations; and hotspots of where potential future increased migration flows will be blocked by securitised borders.

Bolstered border security means we need to create a commonly adopted, functioning and effective method for migrants to apply for refugee status prior to reaching their desired destination country. This would allow many vulnerable people to seek asylum without being forced to embark on long and arduous journeys, or becoming trapped in dangerous situations and being exposed to multiple human rights abuses, in the attempt to access safer countries. 

 

April T Humble april.humble1@gmail.com is the Technical Assistant to the Earth League. www.the-earth-league.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview