نيو أورلينز: درس في لدونة ما بعد الكوارث

هناك عوامل عدة تعزز من التماسك في المجتمعات، مثل: الشبكات طويلة الأمد المتشارك بها والهوية المجتمعية المشتركة والتنظيم المركزي الذي يتمسك به المجتمع والثقة الراسخة، وقد حُددت تلك العوامل على أنها محورية في تحقيق اللدونة والاستشفاء في مرحلة ما بعد الكوارث.

 

غمرت الفيضانات مدينة أورلينز في شهر سبتمبر/أيلول عام 2005 خلال إعصار كاترينا ونتج عنه التهجير الدائم للمواطنين الذين كان معظمهم من الأمريكيين ذوي الأصول الأفريقية والإناث منهم على وجه الخصوص. وفقد معظم الذين أُخلوا قبل الإعصار وبعده القدرة على العودة إلى نيو أورلينز.[1]

وحددت الحكومة الأمريكية رسمياً مواطني نيو أورلينز الذين غادروا المنطقة قبل الكارثة أو أثناءها أو بعدها على أنهم "مُجلون" فقد حرصت الحكومات المتعاقبة على مقاومة إضفاء صفة "اللجوء" على أولئك الأشخاص خوفاً من أن يكون في ذلك سبباً في دفعها إلى أن تقدم لضحايا الكوارث الطبيعية الحمايات والتدخلات ذاتها التي تقدمها للاجئين السياسيين. ومن هنا، يظهر أنَّ مصطلح "المجلون" أقل حساسية بل يشير إلى انخفاض الطلب على الحكومة في إجراء التدخلات وتقديم المساعدات.

لكنَّ الكوارث قد تكون سبباً في واقع الحال في إيجاد فرصة جديدة للدول وأصحاب رأس مال المشروعات للاستفادة من تهجير السكان المهمشين بل ربما يمكنها أن تؤبد ذلك التهجير.[2] ففي نيو أورلينز بعد إعصار كاترينا، خضعت ثلاثة قطاعات حيوية للخصخصة وهي: الإسكان والتعليم والرعاية الصحية. وصوت مجلس المدينة عام 2007 بالإجماع على إزالة 4500 وحدة سكنية عامة لأصحاب الدخل المتدني (من اصل 5100 وحدة قبل الإعصار) وهذا ما أدى إلى إلغاء احتمالية تقديم الإسكان العام لمعظم عائلات الدخل المحدود التي هُجرت قسراً. أما نظام المدارس العام فقد أعيد تنظيمه بالكامل وأصبح الآن أكثر من نصف الأطفال في سن المدرسة يذهبون إلى المدارس الخاصة.

ومن ناحية الرعاية الصحية، لم يكن هناك سوى مستشفى حكومي واحد فقط في نيو أورلينز يخدم حاجات المواطنين من ذوي الدخل المنخفض. ومع أن ذلك المستشفى لم يكن في البداية بمنأى عن الفيضانات، فقد عُدَّ أنه من المناسب إعادة افتتاح المستشفى بعد أن نظفته القوات العسكرية الأمريكية. لكنَّ مجلس جامعة ولاية لويزانا التي كانت تمتلك المبنى رفضت السماح بإعادة افتتاحه ما ترك المواطنين من ذوي الدخل المنخفض محرومين من خدمات الرعاية في المستشفى. وأدى ذلك على أرض الواقع إلى منع مهجَّري الكوارث من ذوي الدخل المنخفض من العودة إلى نيو أورلينز بسبب توقف المساعدات الحكومية في القطاعات الثلاثة المذكورة. وبغض النظر عن الآثار الفعلية على الناس، نُظر إلى تلك التغيرات على أنها وسيلة لحماية رفاه المجلين "لمصلحتهم" بما في ذلك أي مسألة تتعلق بحقوق المواطنين واللجوء إلى العدالة.

ونتج عن استشفاء ما بعد الكارثة في نيو اورلينز أيضاً تهجيراً قسرياً لمجتمعات برمتها من خلال عملية عرفت "بالتوسعة الخضراء" التي انطوت على تحديد المنظمين الحضريين للمناطق المستضعفة لذوي الدخل المنخفض ثم تحويلها إلى حدائق عامة غير سكنية. ورغم الفشل الذي لاقته تلك الخطط في النهاية، فقد ثُبّطت همم كثير من المجتمعات من ناحية إعادة البناء. ومع ذلك، رفضت إحدى المجتمعات المحلية على قبول أي مسوّغ لإعادة الانتقال وعادت بالفعل لإعادة بناء مجتمعها.

وقبل ذلك بعقود، في عام 1975 كان الكاثوليكيون المهاجرون من فيتنام الشمالية المحتجزون في مخيمات اللاجئين في الولايات المتحدة قد تلقوا دعوة من مطرانية نيو اورلينز لتأسيس مجتمع محلي لهم. ونتيجة لذلك، تأسست أبرشية جديدة عام 1980 أُطلق عليها نيو أورلينز إيست لتضم قرابة 6000 فيتنامي. وتركزت النشاطات على كنيستها المركزية وهي كنيسة مريم الملكة لفيتنام. ولم تُلق غالبية الفيتناميين بالاً لقرار مجلس المدينة في تحويل نيو أورلينز إيست إلى منطقة خضراء غير سكنية، بل عادوا إلى بيوتهم في أقل من خمسة أشهر بعد الإعصار. وأظهر كاهن الكنيسة المحلية الأب فين وطواقم كنيسته قيادة حكيمة في العمل دون كلل أو ملل لتحقيق هدفهم عبر الفوضى التي عمت المدينة وتغلبوا على البيروقراطية المحلية والفدرالية لتأمين عدد كبير من الأذونات والتصاريح والتمويلات اللازمة لإعادة بناء مجتمعهم المحلي. أما أبناء ذلك المجتمع الهادئ والمتوافق فقد تحولوا إلى ناشطين رافضين لتحديد منطقتهم على أنها منطقة خضراء غير سكنية  وبدأوا فور عودتهم إعادة البناء بأيديهم. والأهم من ذلك أنَّ عملية إعادة البناء كانت محصورة على حاجات المجتمع المحلي ورغباته في تطور ما كان بالإمكان تحقيقه فعلاً إلا على أيدي أبناء ذلك المجتمع نفسه. ولم يضاهي ذلك المجتمع المحلي أي مجتمع محلي آخر في نيو أورلينز لا من حيث العودة ولا من حيث إعادة البناء ذاتها وفقاً لشروط أبنائها، مقارنة في الجانب الآخر "بالمشاركة" غير الفاعلة في خطط مجلس المدينة.

أما الثقة الاجتماعية التي كانت عنصراً جوهرياً في تحقيق لُحمة هذه الشبكة المجتمعية قبل كارثة إعصار كاترينا وبعدها على حد سواء فقد تبين أنَّها تكاد تقوَّضت بالكامل بعد إعصار كاترينافي كثير من المجتمعات المحلية الأخرى التي يعاني قاطنوها من الحرمان ومن ضمنها المجتمعات التي يقطنها سكان متجانسون عرقياً. وهذا المجتمع الفيتنامي المحلي الذي تميز بلُحمة كبيرة جداً عبر أجيال من العائلات اللاجئة التي هاجرت إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية تشاركت بشبكات بعيدة الأمد مثلما تشاركت بهوية مجتمعية مشتركة. وبالإضافةإلى ذلك، تعززه اللحمة المجتمعية بانفصال المجتمع المحلي الذي ساعد انفصاله ومركزيته حول كنيسة واحدة في ترسيخ الهوية المجتمعية وإنشاء الثقة. فهي بذلك تمثل المقومات التي تميز مجتمع نيو اورلينز إيست عن غيرها من المجتمعات المتأثرة في نيو أورلينز وربما كانت تلك المقومات عاملاً ضرورياً لتحقيق لدونتها الملحوظة في الاستشفاء ما بعد الكوارث.

 

بول كاديتسpaulkadetz@gmail.com أستاذ مساعد ومقرر لبرنامج الصحة العامة العالمي في الكلية الجامعية لجامعة لايدن www.lucthehague.nl وهو باحث مشارك في مركز دراسات اللاجئين، جامعة أكسفورد. rsc@qeh.ox.ac.www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 



[1] بني هذا المقال على مقابلات مفصلة شبه منظمة تضمنت عينة قصدية لأصحاب المصلحة وأُجربت عبر مدة سنتين.

[2] كلاين، ن (2007)، عقيدة الصدمة: ظهور رأسمالية الكوارث. نيو يورككهينري هولت.

(The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism)

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

New Orleans: a lesson in post-disaster resilience

Factors that foster social cohesion in communities – such as shared long-term networks and shared community identity, central organisation to which the community adheres, and established trust – have been identified as critical for post-disaster resilience and recovery.

The flooding of the city of New Orleans in September 2005 during Hurricane Katrina resulted in the permanent displacement of primarily poorer, and often female, African-American residents. Many of those who were evacuated before and after the hurricane were unable to return to New Orleans.[1]

The US government officially designated the residents of New Orleans who left the area before, during or after Hurricane Katrina as ‘evacuees’. The designation of ‘refugee’ has often been resisted by governments due to the fear of consequently needing to offer the same protections and interventions to disaster victims as those reserved for political refugees. The term ‘evacuee’ sounds less urgent and suggests a lesser need for state intervention and assistance.

Disasters can effectively create a blank slate for states and venture capitalists to take advantage of, and potentially make permanent, the displacement of marginalised people.[2] In post-Katrina New Orleans three crucial sectors were privatised: housing, education and health care. The City Council unanimously voted in 2007 for the destruction of 4,500 low-income public housing units (of the total of 5,100 pre-Katrina units), thereby eradicating the possibility of public housing for a majority of low-income forced migrant families. The public school system was dramatically reorganised and now more than half of school-age children attend privatised schools.

In terms of health care, there had been a single public hospital in New Orleans to serve the needs of low-income residents. Though initially flooded, the hospital was deemed fit to reopen after the US military thoroughly cleaned it. However, the Board of Louisiana State University, which owned the building, refused to allow the hospital to re-open, effectively leaving lower-income residents without a hospital. Thereby, low-income forced disaster migrants dependent on public assistance were effectively prohibited from returning to New Orleans due to the cessation of public assistance across these key sectors. Regardless of the actual effects on people, these changes were rationalised as a means to protect the well-being of evacuees “for their own good”, subsuming any question of citizen rights and recourse to justice.

Post-disaster recovery in New Orleans also resulted in the forced migration of entire communities through a process known as ‘green-spacing’, whereby city planners designated vulnerable low-lying residential areas as non-residential park areas. Although the plans ultimately failed, many communities were discouraged from rebuilding. However, one community refused to accept any rationale for relocation and did return to rebuild their community.

 In 1975, Catholic North Vietnamese who were being held in refugee camps in the US were invited by the Archbishop of New Orleans to form a community. As a result, in 1980 a new parish – called New Orleans East – was formed with approximately 6,000 Vietnamese residents. Activity centred around its central church, Mary Queen of Vietnam. Disregarding the City Council ordinance to turn New Orleans East into a non-residential green zone, the majority of Vietnamese residents returned to their homes less than five months after the hurricane. The priest of the local church, Father Vien, and his church staff displayed tenacious leadership, working tirelessly to make their way through the morass of city, state and federal bureaucracy to secure the mass of permits and funds required for rebuilding their community. The members of this hitherto quiet and compliant community were converted into community activists refusing their green-space designation and almost immediately upon return, they took the rebuilding of their community into their own hands. More importantly, the rebuilding of their community was specific to the needs and the desires of the community, a development that could only be effectively executed from within the community. No other community in New Orleans went to such lengths not only to return but to rebuild itself on its own terms, as opposed to passively ‘participating’ in the City Council’s plans.

The social trust that has been essential to the cohesiveness of this community network both before and after the disaster was found to be seriously eroded after Katrina in many other communities with disenfranchised residents, including in similarly ethnically homogeneous communities. This highly cohesive Vietnamese community of three generations of refugee families migrated to the US together and have shared long-term networks and a shared community identity. Furthermore, cohesiveness was fostered by the insularity of a community whose central engagement with one church helped to reinforce community identity and establish trust. Thus, these assets of the Vietnamese community of New Orleans East, that differentiate it from the other affected communities of New Orleans, may have been essential for its marked resilience in post-disaster recovery.

 

Paul Kadetz paulkadetz@gmail.com is an assistant professor and convenor of the global public health programme at the University College of Leiden University. www.lucthehague.nl  He is also a research associate of the Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford. www.rsc.ox.ac.uk



[1] This article is based on 155 in-depth semi-structured interviews with a purposive sample of stakeholders conducted over a period of two years.

[2]  Klein, N (2007) The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism. New York: Henry Holt.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview