غير المواطنين العالقين في أوضاع النزاع والعنف والكوارث

عندما يعلق غير المواطنين في الأزمات الإنسانية يصبحون عرضة للاستضعاف ويعانون من عواقبه مثل المواطنين أنفسهم. ومع ذلك، لا تتوفر الأطر والإمكانيات التي من شأنها مساعدتهم وحمايتهم.

في السنوات الأخيرة، هُجّر ملايين من غير المواطنين وتركوا الدول التي كانوا يعيشون بها ويزاولون أعمالهم على أراضيها. ومن أمثلة ذلك من تأثروا بالغزو في لبنان عام 2006، وبالعنف الناجم عن كراهية الأجانب في جنوب إفريقيا عام 2008، وبالثورة في ليبيا عام 2011، وبالحرب الأهلية في ساحل العاج عام 2010-11، وبالفيضانات في تايلاند عام 2011، وبالنزاع الحالي في سوريا.

وقد تأثروا بتلك الأحداث وكأنهم عابري سبيل أو مُستهدفين عمداً. وقد لا يتمكن غير المواطنين من التحدث باللغة المحلية أو فهم ثقافة البلد التي يعيشون بها وقد لا يتمتعون أيضاً بالأمن الوظيفي أو بشبكة الأمان الاجتماعي المحلي. وبالمثل، سيكون أصعب على غير المواطنين المُهجّرين حل مشاكل تهجيرهم ولاسيما إذا عجزوا عن العودة إلى أوطانهم الأصلية أو لم يرغبوا في ذلك أصلاً وإذا ما جابهوا تحديات خاصة في محاولة استعادة ممتلكاتهم القديمة ووثائق هويتهم ووظائفهم التي حصلوا عليها في الدول التي هُجِّروا منها.

ومن المرجح أن يُصبح تهجير غير المواطنين أكثر شيوعاً في المستقبل. فعلى سبيل المثال، أسفر بالفعل توسع المصالح الصينية في إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى عن عمل أعداد كبيرة من المهاجرين في أوضاع غير مستقرة.  فضلا عن أن تغير المناخ قد يُعرض كثيراً من الدول النامية التي ينتقل إليها كثير من المهاجرين بحثاً عن العمل لزيادة وتيرة الكوارث الطبيعية بها. أضف إلى ذلك العنف الموجّه في الوقت الراهن ضد المهاجرين جراء تزايد شعور رهاب الأجانب في كثير من الدول في جميع أرجاء العالم. وباستمرار تصدير الدول الفقيرة والنامية العمال المهاجرين، يتزايد جلياً عبء تقديم المساعدة والحماية أثناء أوقات الأزمات على عاهل المجتمع الدولي نظراً لافتقار تلك الدول المُصدرة للقدرة على حماية مواطنيها في الخارج بفاعلية.

ومع ذلك، مثلما هو الحال في أمثلة الهجرة فراراً من الأزمات، وقعت كثير من حالات غير المواطنين المُهجّرين في ثغرات الحماية مما جعل الاستجابات لهم مؤقتة ومنقوصة. وبازدياد احتمالية إيجاد المهاجرون أنفسهم عالقين في الأزمات، ثمة حاجة إلى استجابة أكثر شمولية ويمكن التنبؤ بها.

الدروس المستفادة والتوصيات

ضرورة إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث تتضمن آليات أفضل لجمع البيانات بهدف التعرف على مدى احتمالية تعرض غير المواطنين لظروف استضعاف معينة في جميع مراحل التهجير المختلفة مع أهمية وضع تقييمات لآليات الاستجابة الإنسانية لقضية تهجير غير المواطنين.

غياب الذكر الواضح لحقوق غير المواطنين أثناء رحلات التهجير: ترد حقوق غير المواطنين المتضررين من الأزمات والمُهجرين بفعلها ضمناً في قانون حقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي الإنساني فضلاً عن أنها غير محددة جلياً في أي قانون أو نص آخر أصلاً. أضف إلى ذلك عدم تعامل الآليات التي تغطي حالات التهجير مع غير المواطنين في حين أن تلك الآليات التي تتعامل مع غير المواطنين لا تتضمن ظروف التهجير. ويزعم بعضهم أن المبادئ التوجيهية للتهجير الداخلي تنطبق على غير المواطنين الذين تركوا منازلهم أو أماكن إقامتهم المعتادة ولكن لا يُغطي ذلك غالباً حالات العمال المهاجرين لمدة قصيرة أو مؤقتة فضلاً عن عدم وضوح ما إذا كانت تلك المبادئ التوجيهية تسري على المهاجرين غير النظاميين أم لا. وبالمثل، لم تأتِ أي من آليات ﻣﻨﻈﻤﺔ اﻟﻌﻤﻞ اﻟﺪوﻟﻴﺔ الخاصة بأحوال العمال المهاجرين أو الاتفاقية الدولية لحماية حقوق جميع العمال المهاجرين وأفراد أسرهم التي وضعتها الأمم المتحدة على ذكر المهاجرين بفعل الأزمات فضلاً عن عدم اشتمالهما على أحكام تضبط ظروف تهجيرهم.

وهكذا، لم ترد حقوق غير المواطنين أثناء رحلات التهجير أو على من تقع مسؤوليات حماية حقوقهم في أي قانون أو نص على الإطلاق. وعلى نحو ضمني، ساعدت المنظمات الدولية عموماً غير المواطنين جنباً إلى جنب مع المُهجرين الآخرين دون تمييز أو وضع في الحسبان احتمالية وجود احتياجات خاصة ومختلفة لغير المواطنين.

ولذا، عند وضع  المعايير الخاصة بحالات التهجير أو عند تحديثها، على المعنيين الإشارة بوضوح إلى حقوق غير المواطنين المُهجرين وإلى الأطراف المسؤولة عنهم. وخذ مبادئ نانسن مثالاً على ذلك، مثلما هو الحال في أعمال لجنة القانون الدولي (2012) الحالية المتعلقة بمعايير "ترحيل الأجانب" و"حماية الأفراد في أوقات وقوع الكوارث".

مسؤوليات حماية غير المواطنين ومساعدتهم في أوقات الأزمات غير محددة بوضوح: لا تُعرّف الأحكام الحالية المسؤولين عن حماية غير المواطنين ومساعدتهم في أوقات الأزمات. وبالرجوع إلى قانون حقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي الإنساني، تنص المبادئ التوجيهية جلياً على أن المسؤول الأول عن ذلك الدولة التي توجهت إليها رحلات التهجير. ومع ذلك، مازال على حكومات الموطن الأصلي للمُهجرّين مسؤولية قانونية ومدنية وأخلاقية تقضي بضرورة حمايتها لمواطنيها وفقاً لما نصت عليه اتفاقية ﻓﻴﻴﻨﺎ ﻟﻠﻌﻼﻗﺎت اﻟﻘﻨﺼﻠﻴﺔ. ولا يوجد أي هيئة من هيئات الأمم المتحدة مخولة بحماية المُهجرين أو مساعدتهم سواء كانوا مواطنين الدولة التي هُجروا منها أم لا. ومع أن المنظمة الدولية للهجرة هيئة الهجرة الرائدة في العالم ولكنها غير مخولة بحماية المُهجرين على الرغم من أنها وضعت مؤخراً الإطار العملي لإدارة أزمات الهجرة الذي هدف إلى التركيز على الهجرة في أوقات الأزمات والذي يجب أن يكون بمثابة أساساً لتعاون دولي على نطاق أوسع.[i]

قد يكون ثمة طريقة لإحالة قضية غير المواطنين المُهجرين إلى المقرر الخاص التابع للأمم المتحدة لمعالجة حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالمهاجرين وإلى المقرر الخاص التابع للأمم المتحدة لمعالجة حقوق الإنسان لجميع الأشخاص المُهجرين عموماً.

ضرورة إيلاء طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين اهتماماً خاصاً: تزداد ظروف استضعاف غير المواطنين المُهجرين في حالة طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين وفاقدي الجنسية الذين يصعب ضمان حقوقهم في أوقات الأزمات مثلما ينص عليها القانون الدولي. ففي حالة لبنان، أضر الغزو بنحو 400000 من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الذي كانوا مستضعفين فعلياً قبله. أما في جنوب إفريقيا، هُجرً غير المواطنين خصوصاً لأنهم كانوا مستهدفين بسبب جنسيتهم مما دفعهم لتقديم طلبات لجوء. وفي ليبيا، سجلت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين نحو 3500 طالب لجوء و8000 لاجئ قبل اشتعال فتيل الثورة بها. وقد أبلغت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين أن ثمة 360000 فلسطيني و94000 عراقي إضافة إلى لاجئين آخرين بحاجة للمساعدة الإنسانية العاجلة في سوريا.

تفاوت قدرات دول المُهجرين الأصلية في تقديم المساعدة في أوقات الأزمات: لا تمتلك جميع الدول الإمكانيات لمساعدة مواطنيها عندما يتضررون جراء الأزمات الإنسانية خارج أراضيها. ففي ميانمار وزيمبابوي، على سبيل المثال، غابت جلياً الإرادة السياسية اللازمة لمساعدة المواطنين المُهجرين في تايلاند وجنوب إفريقيا على التوالي حتى أن بعض العمال المهاجرين من أبناء زيمبابوي تقدموا بطلب للجوء بعد تهجيرهم. وفي حالات أخرى، يعوز الدول الأكثر فقراً ببساطة الإمكانيات لتقديم المساعدة اللازمة، وعلى المعنيين النظر في إمكانية تأسيس صندوق إغاثة دولي في حالات الطوارئ تستفيد منه دول الموطن الأصلي في حال تهجير مواطنيها أثناء أوقات الأزمات.

عدم القدرة على التنبؤ بإمكانية التنسيق بين الهيئات الدولية: ينبغي أن يكون ثمة آليات تنسيق تضمن تحقيق التعاون الفعال بين الهيئات الدولية ذات الصلة بغرض تقديم المساعدة والحماية لغير المواطنين النازحين داخلياً والمُهجرين عبر الحدود في حالات الأزمات. وعلى سبيل المثال، كان التنسيق بين المنظمة الدولية للهجرة ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين أثناء الأزمة الليبية ناجحاً ولكنه بالتأكيد لم يكن ممنهجاً ولم يمكن التنبؤ به أو ضمان إجراؤه في الأزمات المستقبلية. وهكذا، يجب أن يُجرى التخطيط للطوارئ على مستوى ثنائي وإقليمي لضمان تحقيق التعاون الفعال بين الدول أثناء إخلاء غير المواطنين في أوقات حدوث الأزمات.

عادة ما تكون الاستجابات الوطنية غير كافية: من عواقب حقيقة عدم إتيان القوانين الدولية أو الاتفاقيات أو المعايير ذات الصلة على ذكر حقوق غير المواطنين جلياً أثناء حدوث الأزمات تجاهل القوانين والسياسات الوطنية التي تستمد أحكامها من المبادئ التوجيهية الدولية بالمثل لحقوق غير المواطنين في أوقات الأزمات. وعلاوة على ذلك، تفتقر كثير من الدول المتضررة إلى الإمكانيات الأساسية لتنفيذ القوانين والسياسات الحالية أثناء وقوع الأزمات. ومن بين النتائج الرئيسية لتقييم فاعلية الاستجابة الإنسانية لحالات التهجير في جنوب إفريقيا التي حدثت عام 2008 أن ثمة نقصاً في خبرة التعامل مع تلك المواقف وفي الأنظمة القائمة فضلاً عن غياب القيادة الحكومية ولاسيما في المراحل الأولى من الأزمات إضافة إلى تفتت المجتمع المدني والارتباك بشأن حقوق الأجانب المُهجرين.[ii]

وثمة حاجة لوجود إمكانيات وطنية أكبر تهدف إلى توفير الحماية والمساعدة للأفراد النازحين داخلياً بمن فيهم غير المواطنين أثناء أوقات الأزمات بدءاً من وضع إطار استجابة ووصولاً إلى توزيع واضح للمسؤوليات والتشاور مع كل من المواطنين وغير المواطنين المتضررين. وعلى الدول الأصلية للمُهجرين مشاركة الخبرات والتجارب فيما بينها واستضافة الدول التي استجابت لتهجير غير المواطنين في السنوات الأخيرة.

ويجب تشجيع مزيد من الدول على وضع قوانين وسياسات وطنية تراعي حقوق النازحين داخلياً بمن فيهم غير المواطنين. فضلا عن ضرورة تحديث القوانين والسياسات الوطنية لتتضمن إشارة واضحة لحقوق المُهجرين من غير المواطنين. وفي هذا الصدد، يُحتمل أن ترغب الدول أكثر في توسيع نطاق الحقوق الممنوحة في المواقف العادية. وعلى الدول التي تشتمل على أعداد كبيرة من العاملين الأجانب وضع إجراءات عملياتية معيارية بغرض حماية العمال المهاجرين أثناء الأزمات بما في ذلك توفير معلومات مُفصلة بشأن إجراءات الحماية والانتقال والإجلاء والعودة إلى أرض الوطن في وقت الحدث.

إضافة إلى ما سبق: يجب أن يتضمن تدريب ما قبل مغادرة البلاد للعمال المهاجرين التخطيط لحالات الطوارئ لتهيئتهم لمواقف الأزمات إضافة ضرورة مراعاة خطط التأمين متناهي الصغر لمساعدة المهاجرين على التماشي مع حالات الطوارئ.

وأخيراً، يجب تطوير الإمكانيات القنصلية لحماية العمال المهاجرين وعلى الشركات التي توظف أعداداً كبيرة من الجنسيات الأجنبية وضع إجراءات تشغيلية معيارية بشأن حماية العمال وإخلائهم إضافة إلى أهمية تأسيس وحدات تقييم المخاطر وتخصيص وظائف كبير ضباط الأمن.

خالد كوسر k.koser@gcsp.ch عميد أكاديمي ونائب المدير في مركز جنيف للسياسات الأمنية www.gcsp.ch وزميل كبير غير مقيم تابع لمشروع بروكينجز- بيرن المعني بالنزوح الداخلي. www.brookings.edu/about/projects/idp

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Non-citizens caught up in situations of conflict, violence and disaster

When non-citizens are caught up in humanitarian crises, they can be as vulnerable to displacement, and suffer its consequences as acutely, as citizens. Yet frameworks and capacities for assisting and protecting them are lacking.

In recent years, millions of non-citizens have been displaced in countries where they reside and work. Examples include those affected by invasion in Lebanon in 2006, xenophobic violence in South Africa in 2008, revolution in Libya in 2011, civil war in Côte d’Ivoire in 2010-11, flooding in Thailand in 2011, and the current conflict in Syria.

They have been affected as bystanders or deliberately targeted. Non-citizens may not speak the local language or understand the culture, they may lack job security and they may have no local social safety net. Equally, it may be harder for displaced non-citizens to resolve their displacement, especially if they are unable or unwilling to return to their country of origin, and if they face specific challenges in regaining property, identification documents and employment in the countries from which they have now been displaced.

The displacement of non-citizens is likely to become more common in the future. For example, the expansion of Chinese interests in sub-Saharan Africa is already resulting in large numbers of migrants working in unstable states. Climate change may make many of the developing states where more migrants are moving for work susceptible to an increasing frequency of natural disasters. This combines with targeted violence against immigrants as a result of rising xenophobia in many countries around the world at the moment. As poor and developing countries continue to export migrant workers, the burden of providing assistance and protection during times of crisis is likely to continue to fall significantly on the international community, as such sending countries may lack the capacity to protect their own citizens overseas effectively.

Yet as in other examples of crisis migration, in many cases non-citizens who become displaced fall into protection gaps, and as a result responses have been ad hoc and incomplete. As the likelihood for migrants to be caught up in crises increases, a more comprehensive and predictable response is required.

Lessons and recommendations

More research, including better data collection, is required to establish the extent to which non-citizens face particular vulnerabilities at all stages of displacement and evaluations are needed of the humanitarian response to the displacement of non-citizens.

The rights of non-citizens during displacement are not explicitly enumerated: The rights of non-citizens affected and displaced by crises are implicit in human rights law and international humanitarian law but nowhere are they explicitly stated. Instruments that cover displacement do not deal with non-citizens, while those that cover non-citizens do not deal with displacement. It may be argued that the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement apply to non-citizens leaving homes or places of habitual residence but this probably does not include short-term or temporary migrant workers, and neither is it clear whether the Guiding Principles apply to irregular migrants. Equally, neither of the two International Labour Organization instruments relating to migrant workers nor the UN International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and their Families mention migrants in crisis and they do not contain provisions for their displacement.

The rights of non-citizens during displacement are nowhere enumerated, and neither are responsibilities for protecting their rights. One implication is that, on the whole, international organisations have assisted non-citizens alongside other displaced persons without discerning where non-citizens may have particular needs.

Where standards on displacement are being developed or updated they should make explicit reference to the rights of displaced non-citizens and responsible parties. The Nansen Principles are a case in point, as is the current work of the International Law Commission (2012) on standards on the ‘expulsion of aliens’ and the ‘protection of persons in the event of disasters’.

Responsibilities for protecting and assisting non-citizens during crisis are not clearly ascribed: It is not clear from existing provisions who is responsible for protecting and assisting non-citizens during crises. Reflecting human rights law and international humanitarian law, the Guiding Principles clearly assign primary responsibility to the state where the displacement takes place. Yet governments of the country of origin also have a legal, as well as civil and moral, responsibility to protect their own citizens, as stipulated in the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations. No UN agency has a mandate to protect or assist IDPs, whether or not they are citizens of the country where they are displaced. The International Organization for Migration (IOM) is the world’s leading migration agency but it does not have a protection mandate, although it has recently developed a Migration Crisis Operational Framework intended to provide a migration lens on crises and which should provide a platform for greater international cooperation.[1]

There may be a case to refer the issue of displaced non-citizens to the UN Special Rapporteur on the human rights of migrants and the UN Special Rapporteur on the human rights of internally displaced persons.

Asylum seekers and refugees require special attention: The vulnerabilities of displaced non-citizens are heightened for asylum seekers, refugees and stateless persons, whose rights as enshrined under international law may be hard to guarantee during crises. In the case of Lebanon, invasion affected an existing refugee population of some 400,000 Palestine refugees, who were already particularly vulnerable. In South Africa non-citizens were displaced specifically because they were targeted on the basis of their nationality, leading to asylum claims. In Libya there were 3,500 asylum seekers and 8,000 refugees registered by UNHCR before the uprising. UNHCR has reported that 360,000 Palestinians as well as 94,000 Iraqi and other refugees need immediate humanitarian support in Syria.

Countries of origin have varying capabilities to assist in times of crisis: Not all countries have the capability to assist their citizens when they are affected by humanitarian crises while abroad. In the cases of Myanmar and Zimbabwe, the political will to assist citizens displaced in Thailand and South Africa respectively was largely absent; indeed, some Zimbabwean migrant workers applied for asylum upon being displaced. In other cases poorer countries have simply lacked the capacity to assist; an international emergency fund should be considered, for access by countries of origin to fund the evacuation of their citizens during crises.

Coordination among international agencies is unpredictable: A coordinating mechanism should be established to ensure effective cooperation between relevant international agencies to assist and protect non-citizens displaced internally and across borders during crisis situations. Coordination between IOM and UNHCR during the Libyan crisis was a particular success but such coordination has certainly not been systematic, and it is neither predictable nor can it be guaranteed in future crises. Contingency planning should take place at a bilateral and regional level to ensure effective cooperation between states during evacuations of non-citizens from crisis situations.

National responses are often inadequate: One of the consequences of the fact that the rights of non-citizens during crises are not explicitly stated in international laws, conventions or relevant standards is that national laws and policies that often draw on international guidelines are equally mute on the rights of non-citizens during crises. Furthermore, many affected states lack the basic capacity to implement existing laws and policies during periods of crisis. The key findings of an evaluation of the humanitarian response to the displacement in South Africa in 2008 were that there was a lack of experience and of established systems; lack of government leadership especially in the early phases of the crisis; fragmentation of civil society; and confusion regarding the rights of displaced foreigners.[2]

Greater national capacity is required to protect and assist internally displaced persons – including non-citizens – during crises, ranging from establishing a response framework to a clear allocation of responsibilities, and consultation with affected citizens and non-citizens. There is a need to share experiences among states of origin and host states that have responded to the displacement of non-citizens in recent years.

More states should be encouraged to develop national laws and policies on the rights of internally displaced persons, including non-citizens. Existing national laws and policies should be updated to make explicit reference to the rights of displaced non-citizens. In this regard it is likely that states will be most willing to extend rights to those in a regular situation. Countries with large overseas worker populations should develop standard operating procedures for the protection of migrant workers during crises, including detailed information on in situ protection measures, relocation, evacuation and repatriation procedures.

In addition: Pre-departure training for migrant workers should include contingency planning for crisis situations and micro-insurance schemes should be considered to assist migrants cope with emergency situations. And consular capacity should be developed to protect migrant workers and corporations that employ significant numbers of overseas nationals should develop standard operation procedures on protecting and evacuating workers, and establish risk assessment units and senior security officer positions

 

Khalid Koser k.koser@gcsp.ch is Academic Dean and Deputy Director at the Geneva Centre for Security Policy www.gcsp.ch and Non-Resident Senior Fellow, Brookings-LSE Project on Internal Displacement. www.brookings.edu/about/projects/idp

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview