الحد من مخاطر الكوارث والانتقال

من الخطوات الأساسية لتعزيز إجراءات الحد من المخاطر على الصعيد المحلي تحديد مؤشرات الانتقال جراء التعرض للاستضعاف والتعرف على عوامل اللدونة التي قد تُساهم في قياس مقدار الخسائر البشرية والاقتصادية الناجمة عن الكوارث والسعي لتحجيمها.

تواجهنا علاقة معقدة بين الانتقال والمخاطر والكوارث. فبالفرار يُنقذ الناس أرواحهم وبعض ممتلكاتهم أحياناً ولكنهم في الوقت نفسه قد يعرضون أنفسهم لمخاطر جديدة عندما ينتهي بهم المطاف، على سبيل المثال، في ملاجئ مؤقتة مكتظة. وعلى صعيد آخر، يمثل عدم القدرة على الانتقال في ظل الظروف القاسية في حد ذاته سبباً رئيسياً من أسباب الاستضعاف. ومن الواضح أن الانتقال أيضاً قد يُستخدم بوصفه إستراتيجية وقائية، فهجرة الأيدي العاملة مثلاً قد تساعد في تنوع مصادر دخل الأسرة مما يُعزز من لدونتهم في مجابهة الكوارث.

ومع ذلك، لا يوجد اهتمام يُذكر حتى الآن بالدور المعقد الذي يؤديه الانتقال البشري في فتح فرص معيشية جديدة وفي مناضلة ظروف الاستضعاف والمخاطر. وفي هذا السياق، كيف يتسنى لنا التأكد من أننا لا نعوّل على استجابة رد الفعل الإنسانية وحدها دون أن نسعى في الوقت نفسه في تقليص ممارسات الهجرة القسرية أو حتى منعها تماماً من خلال اتباع إجراءات الحد من مخاطر الكوارث؟

من الخطوات الأساسية لتعزيز إجراءات الحد من المخاطر على الصعيد المحلي تحديد مؤشرات الانتقال جراء التعرض للاستضعاف والتعرف على عوامل اللدونة التي قد تُساهم في قياس مقدار الخسائر البشرية والاقتصادية الناجمة عن الكوارث والسعي لتحجيمها. وفي إطار تحديد مؤشرات المخاطر والانتقال، برزت عدد من القضايا التي ستتطلب اهتماماً خاصاً من المجتمع المحلي للحد من مخاطر الكوارث في العقود القادمة. ومن بينها:

  • إدارة التطوير الحضري ولاسيما تحركات السكان من الريف إلى الحضر لتحاشي افتعال مخاطر جديدة.
  • تسهيل إجراءات الهجرة من الريف إلى الريف وإدارتها لتعزيز سُبل العيش وإتاحة فرص الإدارة المُستدامة للنظم البيئية الهشة (مثل: المجتمعات الرعوية المتنقلة).
  • تحديد الممارسات الفضلى لتحسين جهود الانتقال المُنظم حتى يتسنى لنا تقليص التعرض للمخاطر الطبيعية والتغير البيئي (مثل: المجتمعات المحلية في الدول الجزرية الصغيرة النامية).
  • تحسين آليات مساعدة السكان المستضعفين وحمايتهم (مثل: المهاجرون جراء الأزمات والسكان المحاصرون).

إطار عمل هيوجو الإطار الدولي الرئيسي للحد من المخاطر.[i]وتُعد المفاوضات على نسخته اللاحقة في عام 2015 بمثابة قوة دافعة جيدة لتطوير الأدوات اللازمة لمراعاة تكاليف الانتقال الاجتماعي الاقتصادي ومنافعه من منظور الحد من المخاطر ولضمان الاعتراف بأن الانتقال مكون أساسي من مكونات خطاب الحد من المخاطر.

 

باتريس كيسادا  pquesada@iom.int مسؤول الانتقال والاستشفاء في المنظمة الدولية للهجرة. www.iom.int

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Disaster risk reduction and mobility

An essential step for advancing risk reduction measures at the local level is to define mobility-based indicators of vulnerability and resilience that can contribute to measuring and reducing human and economic losses resulting from disasters.

We are faced with a complex relationship between mobility, risk and disasters. By fleeing, people can save their lives and sometimes some of their assets but they may also expose themselves to new risks, for instance when they end up in overcrowded temporary shelters. At the same time, lacking the capacity to move under extreme circumstances is itself a major cause of vulnerability. It is also apparent that mobility can be used as a preventive strategy; labour migration, for instance, can help diversify a household’s income, thus strengthening resilience in the face of a disaster.

However, little attention has been given so far to the complex role of human mobility in opening up new livelihood opportunities, as well as in driving vulnerability and risk. In this context, how can we make sure that we are not only investing in reactive humanitarian response but also working to decrease and even prevent forced migration through disaster risk reduction measures?

An essential step for advancing risk reduction measures at the local level is to define mobility-based indicators of vulnerability and resilience that can contribute to measuring and reducing human and economic losses resulting from disasters. In the process of identifying risk- and mobility-related indicators a number of issues have emerged that will require special attention from the disaster risk reduction community in the coming decades. These include:

  • managing urbanisation processes, and in particular rural-to-urban population movements, to avoid the creation of new risks
  • facilitating and managing rural-to-rural migration to strengthen livelihoods and allow for the sustainable management of fragile ecosystems  (e.g. pastoralist communities)
  • identifying best practices for improving planned relocation efforts in order to reduce exposure to natural hazards and environmental change (e.g. for communities in Small Islands Developing States)
  • improving assistance and protection of vulnerable populations (e.g. migrants in crises and trapped populations).

 

The Hyogo Framework for Action is the main international risk reduction framework.[1] The negotiations for its successor in 2015 provide good momentum to develop tools to take into account the socio-economic costs and benefits of mobility from a risk reduction perspective and to ensure the recognition of mobility as an essential component of the Disaster Risk Reduction discourse.

 

Patrice Quesada pquesada@iom.int is Transition and Recovery Officer at the International Organization for Migration. www.iom.int

This article has been prepared by the International Organization for Migration in collaboration with the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction. For more information on IOM’s DRR work, see www.iom.int/cms/drr-compendium

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview