تمهيد حول المهاجرين في أوقات الأزمات

عندما يتعلق الأمر بحماية رفاه المهاجرين وحقوقهم، تذخر الساحات بالممارسات النشطة. فثمة كثير من الممارسات الصالحة لأن - ويجب أن - تكون معايير عالمية.

كثيراً ما تتصدر أخبار العثور على أشلاء طالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين الذين يخوضون رحلات محفوفة بالمخاطر سعياً لحياة أفضل العنوانين؛ فالآلاف يلقون حتفهم سنوياً في البحر الأبيض المتوسط وحده. ولا يبذل المعنيون جهداً يُذكر للحد من المخاطر التي تعترض طريق المهاجرين. فالفقر وظروف الاستضعاف والحرب سلع رائجة في أيامنا هذه، أما الشفقة فسلعة شحيحة.

ومن البديهيات أننا نفتقد الإرادة السياسية وربما القدرة على وضع نظام صارم لحماية طالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين الراغبين في عبور الحدود الدولية. ونخشى أن يُزيد ذلك من رحلات الهجرة التي قد تضر بأمننا وأننا ليس لدينا ما يكفي من الموارد لتقديم المساعدة والحماية. ومع ذلك، علينا المثابرة.

ومن المنهجيات التي قد تكون فعّالة تجزئة تحدي الحماية لعناصر يتألف منها ويسهل التعامل معها. فمنذ ثلاث سنوات مضت، على سبيل المثال، طالبت الدول وأصحاب المصلحة بمعاجلة معضلة المهاجرين الدوليين المتضررين بالأزمات ذات البدايات الحادة، مثل: النزاعات في ليبيا وسوريا، وإعصار ساندي في الولايات المتحدة، وتسونامي، والكارثة النووية في اليابان. وفي العام الماضي، تعهدت الولايات المتحدة والفلبين بتحمل عبء وضع إطاراً لفعل ذلك وانضمت لهما حالياً دول أخرى كثيرة. وتعد هذه المبادرة دليلاً على التزامنا بمساعدة أكثر سكان العالم استضعافاً.

فالمهاجرون في مثل هذه الأزمات يتضررون بغياب تطبيق القوانين والالتزامات والمعايير أو بسوء تفعيلها، ولاسيما تلك المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني. وتضاعف الفجوات العملياتية، أو غياب الترابط والموارد، الآثار السلبية للأزمات على المهاجرين. وما زالت الجهود المبذولة من قبل الحكومات والمنظمات الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية لإصلاح أوجه القصور هذه هزيلة جداً.

ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بحماية رفاه المهاجرين وحقوقهم، تذخر الساحات بالممارسات النشطة. فثمة كثير من الممارسات الصالحة لأن - ويجب أن - تكون معايير عالمية.  فعلى سبيل المثال، كانت كل من المنظمة الدولية للهجرة ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين ذواتا أفق واسع عندما تجاوزتا التزاماتهما لحماية المهاجرين المعرضين للمخاطر في ليبيا عام 2012، وكذلك فعلت كثير من المنظمات غير الحكومية الأمر عينه، في حين تحرك البنك الدولي سريعاً لتقديم التمويل اللازم لإجلاء المواطنين البنجلادشيين. ومع احتمالية تضاعف عدد المهاجرين الدوليين في المستقبل القريب، علينا أن نتخذ هذه الممارسات نقطة انطلاق لنا.

ولكن لا تستطيع المنظمات الدولية بمفردها حل جميع المشاكل. وعلينا إيضاح الأدوار المهمة التي يجب أن تؤديها جميع الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية، مثل: دول الموطن الأصلي والدول التي ينتقل إليها المهاجرون، والدول المجاورة والمجتمع المدني وعالم الأعمال.

ومن البديهي أنه يتعين علينا مساعدة جميع المهاجرين الذين يعيشون في ضيق وكرب، وهذا لا يشمل المتضررين من النزاعات والكوارث وحسب، بل يسري على من خلفهم المهربون وراءهم أيضاً، فثمة عدد لا يحصى ممن تركوا طي النسيان لأعوام في دول العبور وملايين آخرون يعملون كالعبيد هناك. وبإمكاننا - أو بالأحرى يتوجب علينا - توسيع المبادئ والخطط التي نضعها لحماية المهاجرين على تخطي المواقف المهددة لحياتهم وذلك بهدف حماية عدد أكبر من المهاجرين المستضعفين.

ولا يجب أن تصيبنا المجموعة الكبيرة من المشاكل التي يعاني منها المهاجرين بالتوتر. فبتجزئة المشاكل إلى عناصرها الأساسية، نجد قضية مثل الهجرة تُحل من تلقاء نفسها وتُطرح أمامنا خيارات تكون أخلاقية في أساسها، وبهذا لا يحتكر المتخصصون أو الاقتصاديون أو علماء الاجتماع حلول المشكلات، وإن كان علينا رغم ذلك الاستفادة من أبحاثهم وإرشادهم. فتعاون مجموعة صغيرة من الدول مع الخبراء والمنظمات الدولية والمجتمع المدني قد يُسفر عن اتخاذ القرار المناسب لوضع الحلول التي قد تصبح بدورها ممارسات عالمية ونموذجاً أيضاً يمكن تطبيقه على المشاكل الدولية الأخرى مما سيساعدنا على معالجة التحديات التي تواجه المهاجرين واحدة تلو الأخرى. ومن خلال بناء ائتلافات صغيرة ونشطة من أصحاب المصلحة الملتزمين، بإمكاننا إحراز تقدم سريع وفعّال في عدد من القضايا الحيوية. ونحن قادرين على فعل ذلك.


 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Foreword on migrants in crisis

When it comes to protecting migrants’ well-being and rights, smart practices abound. There are many practices that can and should become global standards.

The carnage of asylum seekers and migrants making the perilous journey to a better life makes frequent headlines; thousands die every year in the Mediterranean alone. Far too little is done to mitigate the risks such migrants face. Poverty, vulnerability and war are rife in our times, but compassion is in short supply.

It is self-evident that we lack the political will, and perhaps the capacity, to develop a robust system to protect asylum seekers and migrants seeking to cross international borders. We fear this will encourage yet more migration, that it might compromise our security, and that we do not have sufficient resources to provide assistance and protection. Nonetheless, we must persevere.

One approach is to disaggregate the protection challenge into more manageable constituent elements. Three years ago, for instance, I called on states and stakeholders to address the plight of international migrants affected by acute-onset crises such as the conflicts in Libya and Syria, Hurricane Sandy in the US, and the tsunami and nuclear catastrophe in Japan. Last year, the US and the Philippines committed to lead an effort to develop a framework for doing so; they now have been joined by several other countries. This initiative is a proving ground for our commitment to helping the world’s most vulnerable populations.

Migrants in such crisis situations are affected by the absence or inadequate implementation of norms, obligations and standards, notably those relating to human rights and humanitarian law. Operational gaps – or lack of coherence and resources – compound the negative effects of crises on migrants. Efforts by governments, international organisations and NGOs to redress these shortcomings are far too limited.

Yet when it comes to protecting migrants’ well-being and rights, smart practices abound. There are many practices that can and should become global standards. The International Organization for Migration and UNHCR, for example, were imaginative in going beyond their mandates to protect migrants at risk in Libya in 2012, as were many NGOs, while the World Bank acted quickly to provide funds to evacuate Bangladeshi nationals. With the number of international migrants set nearly to double in the foreseeable future, such practices must become reference points for action.

But international organisations alone cannot solve the problems. We need to clarify the critical roles that all key actors – including countries of origin and destination, neighbouring states, businesses and civil society – should play.

It should be self-evident that we need to help all migrants in distress – not only those affected by conflicts and disasters but also those abandoned by smugglers, countless more left in limbo for years in transit countries, and the millions working in slave-like conditions. The principles and plans that we put in place to protect migrants in life-threatening situations eventually could – and should – be extended in order to protect a much broader array of vulnerable migrants.

We need not be overwhelmed by the dizzying array of problems plaguing migrants. Disaggregated into its component elements, an issue like migration resolves itself into choices which are fundamentally moral in character, and not simply the preserve of specialists, economists or sociologists, much though we have to learn from their research and guidance. With small groups of states, experts, international organisations and civil society working together with the necessary resolve to pilot solutions that might become global practices – a model that could also be applied to other international problems – we can address the challenges facing migrants one by one. By building small and nimble coalitions of committed stakeholders we can make fast, effective progress on a range of critical issues. We are not helpless.

 

Peter D Sutherland Peter.sutherland@gs.com is Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for International Migration and Development.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview