برامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية

في السنوات الأخيرة، انتشرت برامج "المساعدة على العودة الطوعية" أو "المساعدة على العودة الطوعية وإعادة الإدماج" في جميع أرجاء أوروبا والعالم الصناعي الغربي. وعلى الرغم من أن برامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية الأفضل على نحو جلي للترحيل، كان للمنظمات غير الحكومية والأكاديميين على حد سواء تحفظات قديماً على تلك البرامج من حيث تصنيفها المُضلل وغياب مبدأ الطوعية الحقيقية بها.

في السنوات الأخيرة، انتشرت برامج "المساعدة على العودة الطوعية" أو "المساعدة على العودة الطوعية وإعادة الإدماج" في جميع أرجاء أوروبا والعالم الصناعي الغربي؛ فقد ارتفع عددها من خمسة برامج في عام 1995 إلى 35 برنامجاً في عام 2011. وتُيسر تلك البرامج، التي يُدير غالبيتها المنظمة الدولية للهجرة، عودة طالبي اللجوء المرفوضين (وحتى المهاجرين غير النظاميين أيضاً في بعض البلدان) إلى أوطانهم الأصلية. وتوفر تلك البرامج على نحو نموذجي رحلات عودة جوية وبدالات نقدية وأحياناً المساعدة على إعادة الإدماج إثر العودة إلى أرض الوطن في بعض الحالات، وعادة ما تشتمل تلك البرامج أيضاً على حظر عودة مؤقت. وتُتيح تلك البرامج فرصة "العودة المنظمة" للمهاجرين المرفوضين بدلاً من استخدام آليات الإكراه المباشر. 

 وعلى الرغم من أن برامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية الأفضل على نحو جلي للترحيل، كان للمنظمات غير الحكومية والأكاديميين على حد سواء تحفظات قديماً على تلك البرامج من حيث تصنيفها المُضلل وغياب مبدأ الطوعية الحقيقية بها. وتدرك المنظمة الدولية للهجرة أن العودة القسرية الحل البديل الوحيد لبرنامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية والمتاح لكثير من الأفراد، وتعترف بعض الحكومات بصراحة بأن التهديد بالترحيل يزيد معدلات المشاركة في برامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية.

وضعت المملكة المتحدة أول برنامج للمساعدة على العودة الطوعية في عام 1999. وتقع حالياً مسؤولية "الترحيلات القسرية" و"الترحيلات الطوعية" على عاتق إدارة شؤون العائدين في وحدة إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة التابعة لهيئة الحدود البريطانية، ويُستخدم كلا الطريقين لزيادة العدد الإجمالي للعائدين سنوياً. وعلى الرغم من اضطلاع فاعل آخر بتنفيذ برنامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية (حالياً هيئة العمل من أجل اللاجئين، منظمة غير حكومية)، تقع مهمة الإشراف الرئيسي على إجراءات العودة بنوعيها تحت مظلة مؤسسية واحدة. 

وبمقارنة برامج العودة الطوعية في مختلف دول أوروبا وفي جميع أرجاء العالم، نجد أن اختيار المملكة المتحدة للنظام المؤسسي يعكس فكراً تنموياً أوسع نطاقاً. ففي حين تُدار برامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية وبرامج العودة القسرية في الدول التي وضعت برامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية خلال السبعينات أو الثمانينات (مثل: ألمانيا وبلجيكا) من قبل إدارات حكومية منفصلة، تميل الدول التي وضعت برامج مماثلة في الآونة الأخيرة (مثل: كندا وأستراليا ومعظم بلدان أوروبا الشرقية) إلى إتباع النموذج البريطاني وإلقاء مسؤوليات الإشراف على برنامجي العودة على كاهل السلطات المحلية نفسها.

قد يُرحب المهاجرون الراغبون في العودة إلى أوطانهم بخيار برنامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية، ولكن عندما تُلوح في الأفق برامج العودة "القسرية" جنباً إلى جنب مع برامج العودة "الطوعية"، يتقلص مفهوم الطوعية. ولذلك، فالطريق الوحيد لتجنب النظر لبرنامج المساعدة على العودة الطوعية على هذا النحو وإدراك فوائده المحافظة على انفصاله مؤسسياً عن هيئة العودة القسرية. وتُنصح الحكومات الملتزمة بحماية اللاجئين من العودة القسرية بمراعاة ذلك عند وضع برامج جديدة للمساعدة على العودة الطوعية.

آن كوخ koch@transnationalstudies.eu مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في كلية برلين العليا للدراسات العابرة للقوميات.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Assisted voluntary return schemes

In recent years, ‘assisted voluntary return’ (AVR) schemes have spread across Europe and the Western industrialised world. While AVR is clearly preferable to deportation, NGOs and academics alike have criticised these schemes for being misleadingly labelled and lacking genuine voluntariness.

In recent years, ‘assisted voluntary return’ (AVR) or ‘assisted voluntary return and reintegration’ (AVRR) schemes have spread across Europe and the Western industrialised world – from five in 1995 to 35 in 2011. These schemes, the majority of which are administered by the International Organization for Migration (IOM), facilitate the return of rejected asylum seekers (and also, in some countries, irregular migrants) to their countries of origin. They typically provide return flights, offer cash allowances and in some cases also provide reintegration assistance upon return; they also usually entail a temporary re-entry ban. Such schemes allow for the ‘orderly return’ of unwanted migrants in that they avoid the use of outright coercion. 

While AVR is clearly preferable to deportation, NGOs and academics alike have in the past criticised these schemes for being misleadingly labelled and lacking genuine voluntariness. IOM acknowledges that for many individuals the only alternative to AVR may be forced return – and some governments openly admit that the threat of deportation is used to increase participation in AVR schemes.

The UK first established an AVR scheme in 1999. Responsibility for ‘enforced removals’ and ‘voluntary removals’ now lies with the Returns Department of the UK Border Agency’s Immigration Enforcement unit – and both channels are used to increase the overall number of returns per year. Despite AVR being implemented by another actor (currently the NGO Refugee Action), the central oversight for both types of return measures is thus subsumed under one institutional umbrella.

When comparing voluntary return schemes in different countries in Europe and across the world, it becomes apparent that the UK’s choice of institutional design reflects a broader development. Whereas in countries that established AVR schemes during the 1970s or 1980s (e.g. Germany and Belgium) assisted voluntary returns and enforced returns are administered by separate governmental departments, countries that have established similar schemes more recently (e.g. Canada, Australia and most Eastern European countries) tend to follow the British example and assign oversight responsibilities for both pathways to the same domestic authority.

AVR can constitute a welcome option for migrants wishing to return home but when ‘forced’ and ‘voluntary’ returns are pursued in combination, the notion of voluntariness becomes compromised. It follows that the only way to shield AVR from this and to realise its beneficial potential is to keep it institutionally separate from forced returns. Governments committed to the protection of vulnerable individuals against forced return would be well advised to bear this in mind when establishing new AVR schemes.

 

Anne Koch koch@transnationalstudies.eu is a PhD Candidate at the Berlin Graduate School for Transnational Studies.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview