الأزمة السورية : النزاع في المُجمَّعات السورية واستضعاف اللاجئين الفلسطينيين

في سوريا، يجد اللاجئون الفلسطينيون أنفسهم منجرفين مجدداً في دائرة النزاع والتهجير التي تُفاقم استضعافهم وتُعظم أهمية البحث عن حلول دائمة.

قبل اندلاع النزاع، كانت سوريا توفر للاجئين الفلسطينيين عموماً أفضل أوضاع اللجوء مقارنة بالدول الأخرى في الشرق الأوسط. وطالما تمتع الفلسطينيون بالحريات نسبياً بما في ذلك التمتع بالخدمات الاجتماعية التي تقدمها الحكومة. ومع ذلك، تعكس مؤشرات التنمية هشاشة اجتماعية واقتصادية بالنظر إلى كثافة السكان الكبيرة في سوريا.

ومن بين 12 مخيماً عتيقاً من مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في سوريا الذين تدعمهم هيئة الأونروا (هيئة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى)، دخلت سبعة مخيمات، كانت قائمة في قلب العاصمة دمشق وحولها في الجنوب وفي شمال حلب، دائرة النزاع. فقد تأذى على نحو مباشر الغالبية العظمى من نحو 529000 لاجئ فلسطيني من المسجلين في الدولة جراء العنف المنتشر في البلاد. ونتج عن الاشتباكات المسلحة واستخدام الأسلحة الثقيلة داخل تلك المخيمات وحولها عن أضرار بالغة في المنازل والمدارس ومراكز الرعاية الصحية والبنية التحتية الإدارية ولقي كثير من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين وثمانية من موظفي الأونروا حتفهم.

وفي إطار استجابة الأونروا، تقدم الهيئة المساعدات المالية والغذائية وغير الغذائية والماء وخدمات الإصحاح والخدمات الصحية والتعليمية الطارئة والمأوى والحماية للاجئين الفلسطينيين، وآليات السلامة والأمن لموظفي الأونروا، وأعمال التصليحات في حالات الطوارئ للبنية التحتية القائمة. وسعياً لضمان استمرار تعليم 67000 طالب من المقيدين في نظام مدارس الأونروا في سوريا، خصصت الهيئة مناطق تعليمية بديلة وآمنة لهذا الغرض، منها: الاستخدام المؤقت للمدارس الحكومية في مدة دراسية ثانية عقب انتهاء اليوم الدراسي الأصلي، والاستفادة من آليات التعلم عن بعد، والصفوف الافتراضية المتطورة عن طريق قناة تلفزيونية رقمية، وإدماج الطلاب الفارين من سوريا ضمن النظام المدرسي الأوسع في الدول المجاورة. ونتيجة للإغلاق المؤقت لنحو 23 مركزاً من مراكز الرعاية الصحية الأولية لقربهم من مناطق النزاع، أنشأت الأونروا مراكز رعاية صحية جديدة ونقلت خدمات الرعاية الصحية إلى مناطق جديدة يقطنها اللاجئون الفلسطينيون المُهّجرون.

مُهجرون مجدداً

هُجِّر اللاجئون الفلسطينيون كثيراً في سوريا. فمن بين أسوأ الأحداث التي شهدوها في أواخر أبريل/نيسان 2013 في مخيم عين التل في حلب التهجير القسري لجميع قاطني المخيم البالغ عددهم 6000 فلسطينياً في يوم واحد فقط عقب أشهر من الاشتباكات المسلحة المتفرقة. أما ساكنو مخيم اليرموك في جنوب دمشق الذين بلغ عددهم نحو 160000 لاجئ، فقد تضاءل عددهم إلى 30000 لاجئ فقط عقب التهجير الجماعي في ديسمبر/كانون الأول لعام 2012.

وهكذا، صار نحو 235000 لاجئ فلسطيني حالياً نازحين داخل سوريا. ومن بينهم قرابة 18000 لاجئ ذهبوا للعيش في مخيم آخر من مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الأكثر أمناً حتى وقتنا الحالي. ولكن في تلك المخيمات، مثلما هو الحال في جميع أرجاء العالم، فهيئة الأونروا وغيرها من المنظمات الأخرى، مثل: مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين، غير قادرة على توفير الأمن الشخصي للاجئين في المخيمات وتعتمد على الدولة (والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى) في ذلك. أما مخيم حمص في قلب سوريا الذي يبلغ عدد قاطنيه الأصليين نحو 22000 لاجئ ويضم حالياً 6500 نازح من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، الذين قدموا من ريف حلب ودمشق وحمص، فسرعان ما وقع فريسة بين ضرسي القتال بين الحكومة وقوات المعارضة ما زاد من احتمالية النزوح الجماعي المستقبلي. ومن بين المُهجّرين خارج الحدود السورية، 93000 لاجئ فلسطيني جاءوا من سوريا وسجلوا أسمائهم لدى هيئة الأونروا في لبنان، وأكثر من 45000 لاجئ كانوا يعتمدون بصورة مستمرة على الخدمات الإنسانية التي تقدمها الهيئة. في حين وصل نحو 8500 لاجئ إلى الأردن. أضف إلى ذلك وصول نحو 1000 لاجئ فلسطيني إلى غزة عن طريق مصر، بينما هربت أعداد قليلة بعيداً حتى وصلوا إلى ماليزيا وإندونيسيا وتايلاند.

لجئت الغالبية العظمى من الفلسطينيين الذين غادروا سوريا إلى لبنان ليعيشوا في واحد من 12 مخيماً من مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين القائمة هناك. وقد أسفر اكتظاظ المخيمات وتهالك بنيتها التحتية وسوء الظروف الصحية بها إلى تحملها والخدمات بها أكثر من طاقتها في حين يظل تمويل  الأونروا ضعيف جداً ولا يقوى على دعمها. وهكذا، ينخرط اللاجئون الجدد في منافسة للحصول على مساكن محدودة وغير مناسبة، وهكذا تجد عائلات تصل إلى عشرة أفراد يتشاركون في غرفة واحدة يتراوح إيجارها الشهري ما بين 200-400 دولار أمريكي. ومع بداية العام الدراسي 2013-14، التحق 32213 طالباً من أبناء اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المقيمون هناك بالتعليم، وكان من بينهم أكثر من 5000 طالب إضافي جاؤوا من سوريا.

ولذا، يجد اللاجئون الفلسطينيون الجدد أنفسهم غارقين في الصراع ليس مع الفلسطينيين المقيمين هناك أصلاً فحسب على فرص توليد الدخل المحدودة، ولكن مع 677000 لاجئ سوري من الذين قدموا إلى البلاد مؤخراً أيضاً. وبعكس المواطنون السوريون، لا يحق للاجئين الفلسطينيين القادمون من سوريا العمل في لبنان فضلاً عن أنهم لا يمتلكون أصلا الخبرة التي اكتسبها العمال المهاجرون لعقود مثل تلك التي يتمتع بها المواطنون السوريون. وقد انخرط نحو 40% من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في سوق العمل بوصفهم عمال غير ماهرين فضلاً عن عدم تمتعهم بالمهارات الخاصة.

أما في الأردن، فقد قلص القرار الحكومي العام الصادر في يناير/كانون الثاني 2013 بشأن غلق الحدود الأردنية أمام الفلسطينيين الفارين من أحداث العنف في سوريا تدفق وصول اللاجئين إلى 8500 فرد فقط. ويعيش بضعة آلاف من الفلسطينيين حالياً في مجتمعات على المناطق الحدودية في جنوب سوريا التي مازال النزاع يشتعل بها. وتعكس أوضاعهم القانونية المقلقلة هناك ما يواجهونه من صعوبات تتعلق بالإجراءات المدنية، مثل: تسجيل المواليد، والحصول على الخدمات، وعدم قدرتهم على إيجاد عمل، ومجابهة استراتيجيات البقاء مرتفعة الخطورة، والعيش في خطر مستمر جراء احتمالية الترحيل القسري. ولذا فمن حق الفلسطينيين الشعور بالمساواة في المعاملة وعدم التمييز في تطبيق القانون الدولي بما في ذلك حمايتهم من الترحيل القسري. وعلى صعيد آخر، تستمر الأونروا في إشراك أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين للتوسط لدى السلطات بشأن القضايا الفردية ومناشدة الحكومة لمنحهم المعاملة الإنسانية نفسها التي سبق أن منحتها من قبل للاجئين الآخرين والسماح لهم بدخول الأردن دون تمييز.

خوض اللاجئين الفلسطينيين تجربة التهجير القسري تلك مجدداً أمر مؤلم يُعيد تذكيرهم بما عانوه قديماً لمدة 65 عاماً. ومع أن تلك المدة أطول أوضاع التهجير زمناً على الإطلاق، يُدين استضعاف اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في دول الشرق الأوسط التي تزداد بها الأوضاع غير المستقرة المجتمع الدولي أكثر من ذي قبل ويضع على كاهله عبء ضمان رعايتهم وحمايتهم ويحمله مسؤولية الوصول لحل عادل ودائم لمعاناتهم.

 

غافن ديفيد وايت g.white@unrwa.org مسؤول العلاقات الخارجية والاتصالات في الأونروا www.unrwa.org. جميع الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال آراء الكاتب ولا تعكس بالضرورة وجهة النظر الرسمية لمنظمات الأمم المتحدة، بما فيها الأونروا. أرقام اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الواردة في هذه المقالة صحيحة وفقاً لتاريخ 1 سبتمبر/أيلول 2013.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

SYRIA CRISIS - Conflict in Syria compounds vulnerability of Palestine refugees

Palestine refugees in Syria find themselves once more engulfed in a cycle of conflict and displacement that exacerbates their underlying vulnerability and highlights the ongoing need for durable solutions.

Before the outbreak of conflict, Syria was generally seen to afford the best conditions for Palestine refugees among the nations of the Middle East. Palestinians benefited from relative freedoms, including access to social services provided by the government. Nonetheless, development indicators reflect a socioeconomic frailty compared with the wider Syrian population.

Of the 12 long-established Palestine refugee camps in Syria supported by UNRWA (the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East), seven of the camps – largely in and around Damascus in the south and Aleppo in the north – are now caught up in the conflict. The vast majority of the some 529,000 Palestine refugees registered in the country have been directly affected by the unfolding violence. Armed clashes and the use of heavy weapons in and around these camps have resulted in extensive damage to homes, schools, health centres and the administrative infrastructure, and scores of Palestine refugees, together with eight UNRWA staff, have lost their lives.

In response, UNRWA is providing cash assistance, food aid, non-food items, water and sanitation services, emergency health and education, shelter and protection for Palestine refugees, safety and security for UNRWA staff, and emergency repair of existing infrastructure. Seeking to ensure continuity of education for the 67,000 students enrolled in UNRWA’s school system in Syria, the Agency has designated alternative safe learning zones including the temporary use of state schools on a second-shift basis; employed distance learning materials; developed virtual classes for its digital television channel; and integrated students fleeing Syria within its wider school system in neighbouring countries. And with the temporary closure of a number of its 23 primary health care centres due to their proximity to conflict, UNRWA has established new health points, relocating health services to newly displaced Palestine refugee populations.

Displaced again

Palestine refugees in Syria have been widely displaced. One of the most serious single incidents occurred in late April 2013 in Ein el Tal Camp in Aleppo, with the forced displacement of all 6,000 camp residents in a single day following months of sporadic armed engagements. The population of Yarmouk Camp in southern Damascus, which once numbered some 160,000, has dwindled to a mere 30,000 inhabitants following mass displacements in December 2012.

A total of 235,000 Palestine refugees are now internally displaced within Syria. Of those, 18,000 have sought refuge in other Palestinian refugee camps that for now afford a greater level of safety. But here, as around the world, UNRWA and other agencies such as UNHCR are not able to provide physical security and are reliant on the state (and other actors) to ensure the security of refugee camps. Homs Camp in central Syria, with an original camp population of 22,000 and now hosting 6,500 Palestinian IDPs from Aleppo, Damascus and the Homs countryside, finds itself on an emerging frontline between government and opposition forces, making further mass displacement likely. Of those displaced beyond Syria’s borders, of 93,000 Palestine refugees from Syria who made themselves known to UNRWA in Lebanon, over 45,000 were consistently relying on the Agency’s humanitarian services. Meanwhile, some 8,500 individuals have reached Jordan. In addition, around 1,000 Palestine refugees have reached Gaza via Egypt while small numbers have fled as far afield as Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.

The majority of Palestinians from Syria in Lebanon have sought refuge within one of the  12 existing Palestine refugee camps. Overcrowded, with ageing infrastructure and challenging environmental health issues, these camps and services in them are being stretched beyond capacity, while UNRWA remains chronically under-funded. The new refugees compete for both limited and unsuitable accommodation options, with families of up to ten persons sharing a single room at a monthly cost of US$200-400. With the start of the 2013-14 academic year, an existing Palestine refugee student population of 32,213 pupils has been joined by over 5,000 additional students from Syria.

Newly arrived Palestine refugees find themselves competing not only with the existing Palestinian population for limited income-generation opportunities but also with some 677,000 newly arrived Syrian refugees. Unlike Syrian citizens, Palestine refugees from Syria do not have the right to employment in Lebanon, nor do they have the decades-old experience of working as labour migrants, as many Syrian citizens do. With 40% of the Palestine refugee population having been engaged as unskilled labourers in Syria, they also lack transferable skills.

In Jordan, the government’s public confirmation, in January 2013, of its decision to close Jordan’s borders to Palestinians fleeing violence in Syria has limited the flow of arrivals to some 8,500 individuals. A few thousand Palestinians currently reside within communities in border areas in southern Syria, where conflict is still raging. Their precarious legal status means they face difficulties in relation to civil processes such as registration of births and in access to services, are often unable to work and are left extremely vulnerable to high-risk survival strategies, and are at constant risk of refoulement. Palestinians are entitled to equality of treatment and non-discrimination in the application of international law, including protection from refoulement. UNRWA continues to engage key stakeholders to intercede with authorities on individual cases and to appeal to the government to provide the same humanitarian consideration it has provided to other refugees and allow them to enter Jordan without discrimination.

This secondary forced displacement of Palestine refugees is a painful reminder of what they have endured for 65 years. While this remains the most protracted of displacement situations, the vulnerability of Palestine refugees within an increasingly unstable Middle East charges the international community more than ever with the duty to ensure their care and protection, and the responsibility to reach a just and durable solution to their plight.

 

Gavin David White g.white@unrwa.org is External Relations and Communication Officer with UNRWA www.unrwa.org .The views reflected in this article are personal and do not necessarily reflect those of the UN, including UNRWA. Palestine refugee figures correct as of 1 September 2013.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview