الاقتصادات السورية: أهي طفرة اقتصادية مؤقتة؟

استفاد بعض النازحين ومجتمعاتهم المضيفة اقتصادياً من تبعات النِّزاع في محافظة الرقة في سوريا في الوقت الذي يحتاج فيه نازحون آخرون إلى الدعم علماً أن نوع الدعم وطبيعته يختلفان باختلاف الظروف.

عندما اندلعت الحرب الأهلية في عام 2011، لم تكن الرقة في شمال شرق سوريا ضمن المناطق التي شاركت مباشرة بالنِّزاع، ولذلك لاذ إلى حماها كثير من السوريين من المحافظات الأخرى مثل دير الزور، وحمص، وحماة. واستقر هؤلاء النّازحون في محافظة الرقة التي كانت تؤوي قبل الحرب حوالي 220 ألفاً ولكنَّ هذا العدد ازداد مرتين تقريباً في عام 2012 مع تدفق النَّازحين داخلياً. وأدى ذلك إلى فرض ضغوط هائلة على البنية التحتية الهشَّة في الرقة ولكنَّه أيضاً ساهم في إيجاد فرص العمل لكثير من الناس. وعندما استولت ما يسمى بجماعة الدولة الإسلامية-داعش على محافظة الرقة في عام 2014، شهدت المحافظة طفرة هائلة في النشاط التجاري لمدة قصيرة ويرجع ذلك إلى سببين اثنين أولاهما أنَّ الرقة أصبحت عاصمة منطقة كبيرة جداً من سوريا والعراق خضعت تحت سيطرة داعش، وثانيهما لأنَّ داعش لم تفرض أسعاراً محددة للبضائع ولم تفرض دفع أي ضرائب (باستثناء الزكاة).

لكنَّ هذا الانتعاش الاقتصادي لم يدم طويلاً لأنَّ الغارات الجوية المتزايدة أجبرت كثيراً من المدنيين على الفرار من الرقة إذ فرَّ بعضهم إلى لبنان أو تركيا في حين فرَّ كثيرٌ غيرهم إلى المدن والقرى المجاورة للاستقرار مع أقربائهم. وبدأت بعض المدن مثل المنصورة، والرشيد، والقحطانية، والجرينة تتولى الأدوار الاقتصادية ذاتها التي سبق أن تولتها مدينة الرقة. فزاد عدد سكان هذه المدن، وانتشرت الأسواق الشعبية (البازارات) وحققت المتاجر الصغيرة زيادة في المبيعات وبُنِيَت متاجر جديدة. وفُتِحَتْ أبواب جديدة للدخل لبعض الأسر من خلال تأجير الغرف لإيواء النازحين.

فإلى جانب الفرص الاقتصادية الجديدة التي تأتَّت من خلال وجود النازحين، استفاد الناس أيضاً من غياب السلطة في المنطقة. فطوال عقود عدة، كان بناء متجرٍ صغير يستلزم الحصول على تصريح من الحكومة المركزية في دمشق ولم يكن الحصول على هذا التصريح أو الترخيص بالأمر الهين ولا الرخيص. وقد استفاد الناس، ومنهم أهالي أرياف الرقة على وجه الخصوص، من زوال تلك العوائق فبنوا بيوتهم ومتاجرهم.

وكما أنَّ هناك رابحين فهناك خاسرون في الجانب الآخر، إذ فقد كثير من الأشخاص مصدر دخلهم بسبب الحرب، ومنهم الأشخاص الذين اشتغلوا بالتجارة بين المناطق الريفية والمدينة، والأشخاص الذين كانوا يعتمدون على تأجير الأراضي والعقارات في الوقت الذي اضطر فيه ألاف الأشخاص إلى الفرار من الرقة تاركين خلفهم كل ما لديهم تقريباً باستثناء بعض الأشياء القليلة جداً عدا عن ملابسهم التي ارتدوها. ولم يتلقَ أمثال هؤلاء سوى نذر يسير من المساعدة. فلم تَتَلَقَّ أسر النَّازحين في الجرينة وفي مدن أخرى في محافظة الرقة إلا قليلاً من الدعم المالي مرتين فقط في السنة. ونتيجة لذلك، اضطر الأطفال في هذه الأسر إلى بيع الخضروات والخبز في الشوارع. أما النِّساء اللائي فقدن أزواجهن فهنَّ أكثر الفئات تأثراً لأنهنَّ فقدن معيل الأسرة، فاضطرت كثير من الأرامل إلى الزواج مرة ثانية.

ومنذ انسحاب داعش من الرقة في أواخر عام 2017، انتهى الانتعاش الاقتصادي المؤقت الذي شهدته بعض المدن وتغيرت الأحوال وتبدلت للجميع. ولعل أكبر خطأ ارتكبه المجتمع الدولي إزاء الوضع الإنساني في الرقة يتمثل في أنَّ المساعدة المقدمة اقتصرت على الغذاء والمبالغ البسيطة من المال. وهذا النوع من المساعدات يُستَهلَك بسرعة. وكان الأَوْلَى أن يركز الدعم على إعادة بناء البنية التحتية كالطرق، وأنظمة الري، والمستشفيات، والمدارس (ثم إزالة الألغام التي زرعتها داعش في مدينة الرقة) فعندها سيتمكن الأشخاص من إنتاج ما يحتاجون إليه وسيرسخون سبل كسب أرزاقهم بدلاً من الاعتماد كلياً على المساعدات الخارجية.

أحمد العجلان ahmad.ajlan@uni-bielefeld.de

من محافظة الرقة سابقاً، وهو حالياً باحث في معهد البحوث متعدد التخصصات حول النزاع والعنف، جامعة بيلفيلد www.uni-bielefeld.de/ikg

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Syrian economies: a temporary boom?

Some displaced people and their host communities have benefited economically from the consequences of conflict in Syria’s Raqqa province. Others need support – and the type of support needed will change as circumstances change.

When civil war erupted in 2011, Raqqa in northeastern Syria was not directly engaged in the conflict, and thus many Syrians from other provinces – such as Deir Az Zor, Homs and Hama – fled to Raqqa. They mainly settled in Raqqa city, where the pre-war population of some 220,000 nearly doubled in 2012 with the influx of internally displaced people (IDPs). This created huge pressures on Raqqa’s fragile infrastructure but also created job opportunities for many people. When Raqqa was captured by the so-called Islamic State group – ISIS – in 2014, the city enjoyed a boom in commercial activity for a short time, because of two main factors: firstly, Raqqa became the capital of a very large area of Syria and Iraq controlled by ISIS and, secondly, ISIS did not enforce a specific price for goods, nor did they enforce payment of taxes (except zakat[1]).

But the city’s commercial boom was of short duration. Because of increasing air raids, many civilians were forced to leave the city. Some moved to Lebanon or Turkey but many travelled to nearby towns and villages to stay with relatives. Towns like Al-Mansoura, Al-Rashid, Al-Qahtaniyah and Al-Jurnia took on the economic roles that Raqqa city had previously played. Towns’ populations expanded, bazaars proliferated, small shops enjoyed increased sales, and new shops were built. Some families gained a new source of income by renting rooms to displaced people.

People took advantage not only of the new economic opportunities created by the presence of those who had been displaced but also of the lack of strong authority in the area. For decades, people had had to ask permission from the central government in Damascus even to build a small shop on their own land, and getting that permission had been neither easy nor cheap. People, particularly those in rural areas of Raqqa, took advantage of the removal of these obstacles to build homes and shops.

As well as winners, there were of course losers. Many people had their sources of income cut off by the war, people such as those who conducted trade between the rural areas and the city, and those who were dependent on renting land and property, while thousands had to flee Raqqa with little more than the clothes they were wearing. Little assistance gets through. Displaced families in Al-Jurnia, as in other towns in Raqqa, have received a small amount of financial support only twice in one year. As a result, children in these families have been forced to sell vegetables and bread in the street. Women who have lost their husbands are particularly affected, since this also usually means the loss of the household’s breadwinner, and many widows have been obliged to remarry.

Since the withdrawal of ISIS from Raqqa in late 2017, the short-lived boom is over and the circumstances have changed once again for everyone. The biggest mistake that the international community has made concerning the humanitarian situation in Raqqa now is that the aid provided usually consists of food and a small amount of money. This kind of aid is rapidly consumed. Support should rather concentrate on rebuilding the infrastructure: roads, irrigation systems, hospitals and schools (and, eventually, clearing the landmines planted in Raqqa city by ISIS). Then people will be better able to produce what they need and once more establish livelihoods, rather than be dependent on external assistance.

 

Ahmad Al Ajlan ahmad.ajlan@uni-bielefeld.de

Formerly of Raqqa province, now a researcher at the Institute of Interdisciplinary Research on Conflict and Violence, Bielefeld University www.uni-bielefeld.de/ikg/


[1] Zakat is a form of alms-giving treated in Islam as a religious obligation or tax.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview