إيواء الحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين

تمثل الحيوانات دوراً مهما في حياة كثير من الناس في وضع التهجير، وعلى المخططين للمخيمات ومديريها أن يراعوا حاجات الحيوانات ليضمنوا استمرار استفادة المهجرين منها.

تتمثل إحدى أهم التحديات التي تواجه الاستجابة في حالات الطوارئ بالتخطيط للدعم بعيد الأمد. لكنَّ الحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين لا تعاني من ضعف هذا الدعم فحسب، بل قد تلقى في بعض الأحيان الإهمال التام خلال الاستجابة الأولية. وليس ذلك مستغرباً، فلا شك أنَّ رفاه  الإنسان له الأولوية على رفاه الحيوان، لكننا لا نستطيع أن ننكر أن الحيوانات أيضاً تساهم برفاه الإنسان.

وفي معظم حالات الطوارئ، يُحضِرُ اللاجئون حيواناتهم معهم إلى المخيمات، أو يبدؤون بشراء الحيوانات والتجارة بها بعد فترة وجيزة من وصولهم إلى المآوي الجديدة.[1] وفي المراحل الأولوية لحالات الطوارئ، قد يركن اللاجئون إلى الاعتماد كلياً على منظمات الدعم، ثم يسعون في الوقت نفسه للبحث عن طرق كسب أقواتهم. وتوفر الحيوانات مساهمةً مهمةً  لسبل كسب رزق الإنسان، سواءً أكان ذلك لأهداف الرعي أم لمن يبيع الحيوانات ويشتري منتجاتها، ويتاجر بها، أو من يوفر العلف والخدمات الأخرى لها، أو من يستخدم الحيوانات للتنقل إضافة إلى نشاطات الأمن والثقافة، أو ربما تحتاج إليها العائلات التي تعتمد على الحيوانات كمصدر للغذاء والدخل. بل يُستَخدم الاستثمار بالحيوانات أيضاً كوسيلة لتوفير رأس المال المادي في غياب الوصول إلى المصارف والبنوك. ومن هنا، تتبين الأهمية القصوى للتعاون بين اللاجئين والمجتمع المضيف، والحكومة المضيفة، ومنظمات الدعم، وذلك من أجل توفير الرعاية اللازمة  للحيوانات. ولا بد أيضاً من النظر في عدد من الجوانب المرتبطة بالمخيمات أو التجمعات البشرية من أجل  ضمان ملاءمتها لإيواء الحيوانات، ويجب أن تضم تلك الجوانب على سبيل المثال الوصول إلى نقاط الشرب وأراضي الرعي والدعم البيطري وكلها من ضرورات صحة الإنسان والحيوان على حد سواء.

أهم الاعتبارات

يفهم اللاجئون أهمية الحيوانات في تأسيس حياتهم الجديدة في المخيمات ومن أمثلة تضحية اللاجئين بالمواد التي تمنح إليهم لبناء مأويهم أنهم يستخدمون تلك المواد في بناء مآوي الحيوانات من أجل أن يوفروا الحماية لها من الطقس المتقلب، ومن الحيوانات المفترسة الأخرى، أو السرقة، وتتضمن تلك الأمثلة اللاجئين المقيمين في مخيم داداب في كينيا، والعائدين الأفغان في عام 2009 إضافة إلى البنجلاديشيين المهاجرين في عام 2009 بسبب نوء آيلة.

لكنَّ حقوق الأرضي مصدر دائم للقلق، لأنَّ اللاجئين، وكذلك النازحين داخلياً، لم تعد لديهم السيطرة على الأرض التي تشغلها حيواناتهم. ولذلك لابد من التخطيط المسبق، وحسن الإدارة، وتوفير سبل التعاون الجيد مع كل أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين لأنها كلها عناصر مهمةٌ في ضمان الوصول إلى الحلول العملية.

وهناك جانب آخر يرتبط بالتقاليد الثقافية المتعلقة بين تفاعلات الناس وحيواناتهم. فبعض الناس يفضلون إبقاء حيواناتهم داخل مناطقهم السكنية، بينما لا يحبذ غيرهم ذلك. كما أنّ لبعض الجاليات قواعدها الثقافية الخاصة ومحظوراتها في التعامل مع أنواع معينة من الحيوانات. وهذه المعلومات مهمة جداً إذا ما أريد بناء تجمعات بشرية ناجحة مع اعتبار تفضيلات المالكين لمواقع حيواناتهم.

ومن المهم جداً أيضاً عدم إغفال جوانب الجندر، والعمر، والوضع الصحي لأفراد العائلة الذين سيتولون رعاية حيواناتهم. فلو كان أفراد الأسرة هؤلاء ممن ينظر إليهم على أنهم مستضعفون، فعندها يجب أن تكون مآوي الحيوانات قريبة إلي مآوي البشر لتسهيل وصولهم إلى الحيوانات. وينبغي موازنة ذلك مع المخاطر المحتملة التي قد تقع على صحة الحيوانات بسبب قرب الحيوانات من مآوي البشر. ومن تلك المخاطر انتقال الأمراض من الحيوان إلى الإنسان.

وتؤثر الظروف المناخية في قرارات التصميم المتبعة بشأن إيواء الحيوانات. ففي المناخات الحارة لابد من توفير التهوية والظل الملائمين للحيوانات، أما البنى والهياكل محكمة الإغلاق فينبغي استخدامها في المناخات الباردة. وتتأثر السلامة الحيوانات أيضاً بموقع الهياكل التي تؤويها، ولذلك قد يكون من المناسب توفير أبواب قابلة للغلق لتلك المآوي في المناطق التي تمثل بها سلامة الحيوانات محوراً مهماً ومصدراً للقلق.

ومن بعض أمثلة مآوي الحيوانات ما توفرها المنظمات الخارجية ضمن الاستجابة الباكستانية لحالة الطوارئ على أعقاب زلزال 2005 فقد وضعت الماشية التي نجت من الزلزال في المآوي المجتمعية بعد تطعيمها من أجل منع انتشار الأمراض، وأسس برنامج جديدٌ أيضاً لإقامة حظيرة مصنوعة من الطين والرمل، والقش، وذلك من الأساليب المتبعة في الإنشاءات المقاومة للزلازل.

ويقدم مخيم الزعتري في الأردن مثالاً مؤخراً حول إحضار اللاجئين لمختلف أنواع الحيوانات إلى مكان سكنهم. فبالنسبة لكثير من القاطنين، تمثل الطيور الداجنة التي اشتروها من سوق المخيم مصدراً للإحساس بالوطن لأن كثيراً من المقيمين اعتادوا على تربية تلك الدواجن في سوريا. حيث يحتفظ الناس بالدجاج كمصدر للغذاء والدخل، وقد يحتفظون بها أيضاً لتوليد إحساس من الألفة والرفقة. وتستخدم الحمير، والخيول لنقل الناس والبضائع. وبنى المقيمون أيضاً مآوي للحيوانات بقرب مأويهم باستخدام الورق المقوى وألواح القماش وهما من المواد المتاحة والمقدور عليها مالياً.

 وقد تغيرت البنية الهيكلية لمخيم الزعتري، كما تغير تصميمه عبر الزمن مع نمو المخيم، وذلك ما يتيح للمقيمين الاحتفاظ بحيواناتهم، وبناء مآوي لهم. أمَّا في مخيم الأزرق الذي بني لأغراض خاصة، وهو ثاني أكبر مخيم للاجئين السوريين في الأردن فلا يسمح للمقيمين فيه بتشييد أي بناء إضافي، ولهذا السبب لا يمكن الاحتفاظ بأي حيوانات سوى الطيور لأنها لا تتطلب أي مساحات إضافية ضمن المآوي المتاحة.

التوصيات

نشر دليل المعايير والإرشادات في الطوارئ الخاصة بالماشية (LEGS) في أوضاع الطوارئ معاييراً وأسساً توجيهية لتصميم التدخلات المعنية بالثروة الحيوانية وتنفيذها وتقييمها.[2] لكنَّ هذه المعايير لسوء الحظ لم تنفذ على أرض الواقع في حالات الطوارئ إما بسبب عدم وجود معرفة بها أو لعدم وجود التمويل اللازم أو لعدم وجود الوقت أو لمجموعة من هذه العوامل. لذلك، لابد من بذل جهود منسقة من أجل توعية المنظمات وعمال المساعدات وأصحاب العلاقة المعنيين وتعريفهم بهذه الأدلة وتقديم الاستشارات في الوقت نفسه للمستخدمين النهائيين حول كيفية تعزيز التطبيق العملي لهذه المبادئ التوجيهية.

وأفضل طريقة لتوفير المساعدة الملائمة للبشر والحيوانات بعد الكوارث هي من خلال تقديم المشورة للناس أنفسهم فهم في النهاية المستخدمون للمساحة والمالكون للحيوانات. ويعرفون تماماً المواد المطلوبة والضرورية لبناء المآوي المناسبة لحيواناتهم كما يعرفون التصميم المفضل لها، بل حتى أنَّ بعضهم قد يتمتع أصلاً بمهارات الأعمال الإنشائية والبناء.

ولا شك في أنَّ بناء مآوي الحيوانات المناسبة سيخفف من احتمالية حدوث المشكلات الصحية ضمن التجمعات. أما عن مستوى التخطيط المُسبَّق الذي يمكن فعله كمتطلبِ من متطلبات مآوي الحيوانات في التهجير، فسوف يعتمد على طبيعة حالة الطوارئ والتعاون مع المجتمع المضيف. ومع ذلك، لابد من التركيز على رفع الوعي بين المالكين تجاه جميع القضايا المرتبطة بصحة حيواناتهم وحاجات مآويهم لأنَّ ذلك سيساعد المُهجَّرين في مخيمات اللاجئين على التعايش مع الحيوانات بطريقة مأمونة وسليمة والاستمرار في الاستفادة من التعامل مع تلك الحيوانات.

 

لارا الشواورة l.alshawawreh@napier.ac.uk

مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، كلية الهندسة والبيئة المبنية، جامعة أدنبره نابير www.napier.ac.uk

 

[1] يركز بحث المؤلفة أساساً على المآوي البشرية، ومع ذلك، ظهرت أدلة تفيد إلى أنَّ الحاجة لتأمين مآوٍ للحيوانات لا يقل أهمية عن الحاجات البشرية.

[2] www.livestock-emergency.net/download/1788/

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Sheltering animals in refugee camps

Animals play an important role in many people’s lives in displacement. Camp planners and managers need to take animals’ needs into greater account in order for displaced people to continue to benefit from this interaction.

One of the key challenges in emergency response is planning long-term support. Animals in refugee camps, however, suffer not only from a lack of long-term support but in most cases are also neglected during the initial response. The welfare of humans is of course the priority – but animals contribute to that welfare.

In most emergencies, refugees will bring their animals with them to the camps or will start buying and trading animals soon after settling into their new shelters.[1] In the initial stages of emergencies, refugees may have to rely heavily on support organisations but in time people start searching for ways of making a living. Animals provide a significant contribution to human livelihoods, whether for pastoralists, those who sell animals or animal products or provide feed and other services, people who use animals for transportation, security and cultural activities, or simply families who are dependent on animals for food or income. Animals are even used as a way of storing financial capital in the absence of access to banks.  Cooperation between refugees, the host community, the host government and support organisations is very important to provide the care that animals need. A number of aspects relating to the camp or settlement need to be considered to ensure its appropriateness for sheltering animals – aspects such as access to water points and grazing land, and the veterinary support that is essential for both their health and human health.

Key considerations

Refugees understand the importance of animals in establishing their new life in camps. Examples of refugees sacrificing the materials they are given for their own shelters to build animal shelters – to provide protection from extreme weather, predators and theft – include refugees in Kenya’s Dadaab camp, Afghan returnees in 2009, and Bangladeshis displaced in 2009 by Cyclone Aila.

Land rights are a frequent concern. Refugees and internally displaced people no longer have control over the land they and their animals occupy. Pre-planning, good management and establishing avenues for good cooperation with all stakeholders are important elements in securing practical solutions.

Another aspect to consider is refugees’ cultural norms regarding their interaction with their animals. Some prefer to keep their animals inside their household plots, while others do not; some communities have specific rules and taboos in dealing with certain animal species. This information is crucial for creating successful settlements, taking into consideration owners’ preferences regarding the location of their animals.

It is also important to consider the gender, age and health status of those family members who are responsible for taking care of the animals. If these family members are individuals usually considered more ‘vulnerable’, then the animal shelters should be close to the human shelters for the sake of secure and easy access. This should be balanced against the potential risks to human health of the close proximity of animals to human shelters – risks such as transmission of disease from animal to human.

Climate conditions affect the design decisions for sheltering the animals. In hot climates, good ventilation and shade are essential, while well-sealed structures should be used in areas with cold climates. The safety of the animals is also affected by their structures’ location; lockable shelter doors may be necessary in areas where animal safety is a concern.

One of the few examples of livestock shelters provided by an external organisation comes from the Pakistan emergency response following the 2005 earthquake. The surviving livestock were put in communal shelters after being vaccinated to prevent spread of disease. and a new programme was established to introduce ‘cob’ – a mixture of clay, sand and straw – as an earthquake-resistant construction technique for livestock shelters.

Za’atari camp in Jordan provides a recent example of how refugees bring different species of animal into their living space. For many residents, caged birds bought at the camp’s market provide a sense of home, as many of the residents used to keep birds back in Syria. Chickens are kept for food and income, and perhaps companionship. Donkeys and horses are used for transporting people and goods. Residents have built animal shelters adjacent or close to their own shelters using corrugated sheets and/or canvas – two of the few available and affordable materials.

Za’atari camp, whose structure and layout have altered over time as the camp has grown, allows residents to have animals and to build shelters for them. In purpose-built Azraq camp, the next largest camp for Syrian refugees in Jordan, residents are not allowed to build additional constructions; there, birds are the only animals allowed in the camp, since they do not require additional spaces within shelters.

Recommendations

The Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards (LEGS) project has published standards and guidelines for designing, implementing and evaluating livestock interventions.[2] Unfortunately, these are not used widely in emergencies, whether from lack of awareness of their existence, shortage of funding and/or time, or a combination of factors. There needs to be a more concerted effort to introduce the guidelines and standards to organisations, aid workers and stakeholders, at the same time consulting the end users on how to enhance the practical application of LEGS.

The best way to provide appropriate aid to humans and animals after disasters is to consult the people themselves – they are the users of the space and the owners of the animals. They know the materials needed to build appropriate shelters for their own animals, as well as the preferred design, and many will already have the necessary construction skills.

Constructing appropriate animal shelters will reduce the possibility of health problems within settlements. The level of pre-planning that can be done for animals’ shelter requirements in displacement will depend on the nature of the emergency and cooperation with the host community. However, raising owners’ awareness of all issues relating to their animals’ health and shelter needs will help displaced people in refugee camps to co-exist with their animals in safety while continuing to benefit from interacting with them. 

 

Lara Alshawawreh l.alshawawreh@napier.ac.uk
PhD candidate, School of Engineering and the Built Environment, Edinburgh Napier University www.napier.ac.uk


[1] The author’s research focuses primarily on human shelters but evidence about the need for animal shelters has tended to emerge alongside the human needs.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview