جوانب القصور للتوظيف كحل دائم

يبدو أنَّ نظام مساعدة اللاجئين السائد حالياً يصر على أنَّ الحل الأمثل أو ربما الأوحد لأوضاع اللاجئين المطوَّلة يتجذر في تحسين سبل الحصول على العمل. لكنَّ هذه المقاربة في النهاية تفيد البعض وتقصي البعض الآخر وفي الوقت نفسه تتجاهل القضايا السياسية والاجتماعية الأكثر عمقاً وإلحاحاً.

يحظى العمل واستثمار رأس المال منذ زمن باهتمام كبير على أنَّهما من الحلول الممكنة لأوضاع اللجوء المطوَّلة. ومن هذا المنطلق، تتوقع هيئات المساعدات من المُهجَّرين قسراً أن يكونوا رائدي أعمال جيدين وأن يعتمدوا على أنفسهم في العثور على العمل أو البدء بمشروعاتهم. لكنَّ ذلك التركيز يلقي بمسؤولية ’النجاح‘ كاملة على اللاجئين. ومع أنَّ ذلك الحل ليس من الحلول الدائمة المعترف بها حتى الآن، يزداد الإدراك بأنَّ الاندماج المحلي يعني القدرة على المشاركة في النشاط الاقتصادي. ولست في موقف التشكيك في أنَّ اللاجئين يطمحون ويرغبون في الوصول إلى وضع الاكتفاء الذاتي ولا أُشَكِّكُ في ضرورة دعم اللاجئين للوصول إلى فرص العمل، لكنني أخشى ما أخشاه التداعيات بعيدة المدى لهذا التغيير في التفكير. ويعزز الاتِّجَاهَ الذي "يوجب على الأفراد مساعدة أنفسهم بدلاً من الاعتماد على الدولة"[1] عاملان رئيسيان في العمل الإنساني المعاصر، أولاهما من خلال زيادة تركيز المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وبعض المنظمات الأخرى على برامج سبل كسب الرزق الاقتصادية والاعتماد على الذات من الناحية الاقتصادية، وثانيهما من خلال زيادة نمو الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص في برامج مساعدة اللاجئين.

ويضع هذا الاتجاه على عاتق اللاجئين مسؤولية إيجاد حل دائم لهم فيما يتعلق بفرص العمل. وضمن هذا الإطار، تصبح الحلول الدائمة الرسمية - التي تستند إلى فكرة تجديد العلاقة بين الأفراد والدولة وإمكانية حصول الأشخاص على حقوق المواطنة- حلولاً بالية قد عفا عليها الزمن. وهكذا، أعيد تعريف حل التهجير من منظور تنموي وأصبح يُنظَرُ إليه على أنه قضية اقتصادية وليس على أنَّه قضية سياسية أو اجتماعية.

وكذلك، تنتهي هذه المقاربة في مساعدة اللاجئين وحمايتهم بمحاولة تحقيق التجانس بين الناس واستبعاد الأشخاص الذين لا يستوفون ’شروط الدخول‘. وبطبيعة الحال، تعد التدخلات القائمة على المساعدات النقدية ودعم اللاجئين من أجل دخول سوق الوظائف (بالرغم من أن معظم فرص العمل المتاحة في سوق العمل غير الرسمي لا تصنفها المنظمات الدولية أنَّها عمل رسمي) من أفضل طرق مساعدة اللاجئين لأنها تحفظ لهم ماء وجههم بدلاً من تلقي مساعدات مادية بحتة ولأنها تمنحهم خياراً، لكنَّ هذه الطريقة ل تساعد إلا عدداً محدوداً منهم. فهناك عدد كبير من الأسباب، سواء أكانت مرتبطة بالأوضاع والخبرات الشخصية أم حالة البطالة الهيكلية قد تحول دون انخراط المرء في العمل.

نزع الطابع السياسي عن حماية اللاجئين

يتجلى تحول المسؤولية في ’النجاح‘ الذي يمكن أن يحققه المرء في وضع لجوئه في بوركينا فاسو التي تقدم لنا مثالاً ملموساً كما يوضحه البحث العرقي الذي أجريته هناك على اللاجئين الحضريين الماليين في بوبو-ديولاسو.

أميناتا لاجئة من مالي تبلغ من العمر 80 عاماً وهي من ذوات الإعاقة الحركية وكانت تعاني من مشكلات صحية وتعيش في منزلها مع حفيدتها. وصنفت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أميناتا على أنها لاجئة مستضعفة حالها في ذلك حال حفيدتها التي صُنِّفت كذلك أيضاً على أساس أنها قاصر تعيش مع جدتها المسنة المريضة. وكانت أميناتا وحفيدتها تتلقيان مساعدة نقدية كل شهر تقريباً واستمر هذا الوضع لمدة ثلاث سنوات ونصف، لكنَّ المساعدات توقفت في يناير/كانون الثاني من عام 2016. وعزت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وبرنامج الأغذية العالمي في بوركينا فاسو سبب توقف هذه المساعدات إلى عدم وجود التمويل وإلى أنَّه لا داعي لتقديم هذه المساعدات إلى اللاجئين الحضريين ولكن لا مانع من تقديمها في حالة وجود تمويل واستعداد كافيين. وعندما اُتُّخِذَ قرار توقف المساعدات، وعد ممثلو المفوضية أنَّهم سيستمرون في تقديمها إلى اللاجئين المصنفين بأنَّهم مستضعفين. ورغم هذا الوعد، ما زالت أميناتا وحفيدتها لا تتلقيان أي مساعدات ولا أي دعم. وفي عمرها هذا وبالنظر لمسؤوليات رعاية حفيدتها المنوطة بها، كيف يمكنها أن تستفيد من "جميع الفرص المتاحة للاجئين في المدن" (وجهة نظر تكررت كثيراً على ألسنة الفاعلين الإنسانيين عندما تناقشت معهم بشأن المساعدة الإضافية التي تأتِ بعد)؟ وهناك تصور عام بأنَّ اللاجئين الحضريين، حتى أولئك المصنفين على أنَّهم مستضعفون، محاطون بفرص العمل خاصةً في مكان مثل بوركينا فاسو حيث يحق للاجئين من مالي العمل، أو حيث يمكن لأحد الأفراد منهم الحصول على عمل في شبكته المغلقة ما يعني قدرته على دعمهم.

وثمة دراسات كثيرة تناولت السبب في عدم نجاح فكرة الإنماء كعامل من عوامل النُّمو الاقتصادي بجميع أشكاله وصوره وخاصة على المدى البعيد بدلاً من الوضع القائم من محاباة أشخاص واستبعاد آخرين وتهميشهم.[2]وقد أصبحت ’مشكلة اللاجئين‘ تنحصر في الوصول إلى سوق العمل بدلاً من اقتصارها على طابع سياسي يتعلق بعدم المساواة، والإقصاء، والنِّزاع، والاستغلال، وعدم تكافؤ علاقات القوى وما إلى ذلك. ومن ثم فقد اُستبدّلَت بالقضايا الإنسانية والاجتماعية والسياسية حلول سوق العمل. وتعزو الرؤية غير المُسيّسة هذه الصعاب التي يواجهها اللاجئون إلى عدم تمكنهم من الوصول إلى الوظائف ولكنَّها لم تتناول على الإطلاق كيف ولماذا أصبح هؤلاء الأشخاص لاجئين في المقام الأول.

وعلى مدى أكثر من عقدين، أثارت دراسات الهجرة القسرية واللاجئين التساؤلات حول فئة ’اللاجئين‘ وكيفية تمثيل وعرض صور الذين صُنَّفوا بالفعل على أنَّهم لاجئون من أجل تسليط الضوء على مدى تأثير هذا الوصف أو هذا التصنيف في حياتهم وتمثيلهم ولغتهم بالإضافة إلى تأثيره أيضاً في الممارسات والسياسات المستمدة من هذه الخطابات. واليوم، هناك ميل بين جموع الباحثين للتركيز على كيفية تمكين اللاجئين من أن يكون لهم القدرة الاقتصادية أو من توفير بيانات حول كيفية دعمهم في الوصول إلى سبل كسب رزق خاصة بهم أيضاً. وما يُنظَرُ إليه الآن بوصفه أقل أهمية رغم أنَّه ما زال بالتأكيد حيوياً للغاية لهو بيت القصيد فيما يتعلق بالحماية ومدى تأثير هذه الخطابات والممارسات الليبرالية الجديدة على حياة اللاجئين.

 

نورا بارديللي nora.bardelli@qeh.ox.ac.uk

مرشحة لنيل درجة دكتوراه الفلسفة،[3] قسم التنمية الدولية في جامعة أكسفورد www.qeh.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] Scott-Smith T (2016) ‘Humanitarian neophilia: the ‘innovation turn’ and its implications’, Third World Quarterly 37(12), p2238 http://tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/01436597.2016.1176856

(’التجديدية الأنسوية: ’نقلة الإبداع‘ ومضموناتها‘، العالم الثالث)

 [2] انظر مثلاً

Rist G (2014) The History of Development: From Western Origins to Global Faith https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/The_History_of_Development.html?id=LnBjDgAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&sou%20%C2%BBrce=kp_read_button&redir_esc=y#v=onepage&q&f=false

 (تاريخ التنمية: من الأصول الغربية إلى العقيدة العالمية)

[3] زميلة، مؤسسة العلوم الوطنية السويسرية

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The shortcomings of employment as a durable solution

The refugee assistance regime that prevails today seems to insist that the best, or only, solution to protracted refugee situations is firmly rooted in improving access to employment. This approach, however, inevitably favours some and excludes others, while also ignoring the deeper political and social issues at stake.

Labour and capital investment are increasingly seen as the solution to protracted refugee situations. Aid agencies expect forced migrants to be good entrepreneurs and to become self-reliant by finding jobs and/or starting businesses. This puts the responsibility of ‘succeeding’ firmly on the refugees’ shoulders. While this is not an official durable solution (yet), local integration (which is) is increasingly understood to mean being able to participate in economic activity. 

I am not questioning the desires and aspirations of refugees to become self-sufficient, nor the need to support refugees to access job opportunities, but I am concerned by the deeper implications of this change in attitude. The “need for individuals to help themselves rather than relying on the State”[1] is promoted by two principal tendencies in contemporary humanitarianism: first, by the increasing emphasis that the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) and other agencies put on economic livelihoods programmes and economic self-reliance and, second, by the growth of public-private partnerships in refugee assistance programmes.

This imposes on refugees the responsibility to create their own durable solution through employment. Within this framework, the official durable solutions – which are all based on the idea of re-creating someone’s link with the State and the possibility of citizenship – become out-dated. The solution to displacement is now re-defined in developmental terms and made into an economic issue rather than a political and social one.

This approach to refugee assistance and protection also ends up homogenising people and excluding those who cannot fulfil the ‘entry requirements’. Of course, cash-based interventions and support to enter the job market (although most jobs in the informal market are not classified as employment by international agencies) seem more dignifying ways of providing aid than delivering purely material assistance in that they give refugees a choice, but this only helps some of the many. A wide variety of reasons – whether linked to personal situations and experiences or structural unemployment – can prevent a person from working.

Depoliticising refugee protection

The shift of responsibility in ‘succeeding’ in one’s refugeehood is already perceptible in Burkina Faso, where I have conducted ethnographic research with Malian urban refugees in Bobo-Dioulasso.

Aminata, a Malian refugee of around 80 years of age, who had physical disabilities and was in frail health, shared her house with her granddaughter. Aminata was categorised as a vulnerable refugee by UNHCR, as was her granddaughter, being a minor living with an old and ill grandmother. They received food and cash assistance nearly every month for three and half years but in January 2016 the assistance stopped. UNHCR and WFP Burkina Faso, who provided this assistance, cited lack of funding and the fact that assistance does not need to be provided for urban refugees but can be provided if there is sufficient funding and willingness. When the decision to stop the assistance was taken, agency representatives promised that it would still be provided to those refugees categorised as vulnerable. Despite this promise, Aminata and her granddaughter did not receive any further support. At her age and with her caring responsibilities, how was she supposed to take advantage of “all the opportunities refugees have in cities” (a widely held view, repeated to me by various humanitarian actors when discussing the help that never came)? It is generally thought that urban refugees, even those qualified as vulnerable, are surrounded by job opportunities – especially in a place like Burkina Faso where Malians have the right to work – or that they have someone in their close network who will have a job and thus be able to support them.

Many studies exist that discuss why an idea of development as economic growth, in all its forms, cannot work, particularly in the long term, serving rather to favour some and exclude and marginalise others.[2] The ‘refugee problem’ has become a matter of access to the job market rather than a political question about inequalities, exclusion, conflict, exploitation, asymmetrical power relations, and so on. The human, social and political issues are replaced by market solutions. This depoliticised vision constructs refugees’ hardships as being due to a lack of access to jobs and does not in any way address how and why people have become refugees in the first place.

For well over two decades, forced migration and refugee studies have questioned the ‘refugee’ category and how those thus labelled are represented and portrayed, in order to highlight the impact on refugees’ lives of labels, representations and language – and the practices and policies that derive from such discourses. Today, there is a tendency for many researchers to focus on showing how refugees have economic agency, or on providing data on how to support them in their economic livelihoods. What seems to be seen as less important now – and yet what is surely still vital – is what this means in terms of protection and what impact such neoliberal discourses and practices have on refugees’ lives.

 

Nora Bardelli nora.bardelli@qeh.ox.ac.uk
DPhil candidate,[3] Oxford Department of International Development, University of Oxford www.qeh.ox.ac.uk


[1] Scott-Smith T (2016) ‘Humanitarian neophilia: the ‘innovation turn’ and its implications’, Third World Quarterly 37(12), p2238 http://tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/01436597.2016.1176856

[3] Doc.Mobility fellow, Swiss National Science Foundation.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview