اللاجئون والمجتمعات المضيفة في سوق العمل الراوندي

في رواندا، يتمتع اللاجئون الكونغوليون بالحرية نفسها التي يتمتع بها السكان الأصليون للبلد في الحركة والعمل لكنَّ الخبرات والنشاطات الاقتصادية للمجموعتين مختلفة تماماً.

يمثل اللاجئون من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية اليوم 45% من اللاجئين المسجلين رسمياً في رواندا الذين يبلغ عددهم الإجمالي 164 ألفاً و500 لاجئ. وقد اتبعت الحكومة الرواندية مقاربة سياسية متقدمة نسبياً لدعم إدماج اللاجئين، وأصبح اللاجئون يتمتعون بحرية الحركة والتنقل خارج مخيماتهم المخصصة لهم كما أصبحوا يتمتعون بحق الانخراط في نشاطات العمل بأجر أو العمل الحر. وتساعد هذه البيئة التمكينية على زيادة التفاعل الاقتصادي والاجتماعي بين اللاجئين والسكان المحليين ونتيجة لذلك من المتوقع أن تتوافر فرص العمل في المنطقة المحيطة بالمخيمات يمكن أن يصل إليها بحرية كل من السكان المحليين واللاجئين على حدٍ سواء.

ومع ذلك، بتحليل خبرات اللاجئين والسكان المحليين المتمايزتين، يُسَلَّطُ الضوء على العوامل الحركية المتغيرة وفرص العمل لكلتا الفئتين بالإضافة إلى التحديات التي تواجههم. وضمن المشروع الذي نعمل عليه بشأن دراسة تأثير اللاجئين الكونغوليين في المجتمعات المضيفة في رواندا،[1] أجرينا في مايو/أيار 2016 دراسات استقصائية للأسر في ثلاثة من أكبر المخيمات وهي مخيم جيهمبي، وكيزيبا، وكيجيمي مع السكان المحليين الذين يعيشون بالقرب من هذه المخيمات. وبالنسبة لمخيم كيجيمي، فقد آثرنا التنويع في اختيار الأشخاص الذين سنجري معهم المقابلات إذ أجرينا مقابلات مع أشخاص يعيشون بالقرب من المخيمات بما لا يزيد عن عشرة كيلو مترات ومع أشخاص يبعدون عن المخيمات بما يزيد عن عشرين كيلو متراً من أجل الوقوف على مدى تأثر السكان المحليين بالعيش في جوار اللاجئين والتعامل معهم في أمور الحياة اليومية. ونظمنا عدداً من المناقشات المنفصلة التي تجريها مجموعات التَّركيز بين لاجئين من جميع المخيمات وبعض الأفراد من السكان المحليين الذين يعيشون على بعد مسافات مختلفة من المخيمات. وتتمثل إحدى النتائج الرئيسية التي خلصت إليها هذه المناقشات في أنَّ اللاجئين الكونغوليين يتمتعون رسمياً بحق العمل لكنَّ خبراتهم في سوق العمل تختلف اختلافاً تاماً عن خبرات السكان الروانديين.

ومن المرجح أن يكون اللاجئون الكونغوليون أكثر عرضة بكثير عن السكان المحليين للتعطل عن العمل ويرجع السبب الرئيسي في ذلك حسبما أدلى به اللاجئون أنفسهم إلى عدم اعتراف السكان المحليين بحق اللاجئين في العمل. ووفقاً لما أدلى به المشاركون في مجموعات التَّركيز فإنَّ العثور على عمل خارج المخيمات أمر نادر لافتقار اللاجئين للأوراق الثبوتية الشخصية التي يطلبها أصحاب العمل. يقول أحد المشاركين في الدراسة من مخيم كيزيبا "... فأصحاب العمل غالباً ما يطلبون بطاقة إثبات الهُوِيَّة للتأكد من أنَّك مواطن رواندي. لذلك، إن لم يكن بحوزتك بطاقة إثبات الهُوِيَّة، لا يمكنك الحصول على فرصة عمل." ويعني ذلك أنَّ مجرد إتاحة حق العمل لا يكفي بل لا بد من إخضاع ذلك الحق للمتابعة. بل لا بد من توضيح الصورة للجميع عن طريق إصدار وثائق هوية خاصة للاجئين يعترف بها أصحاب العمل المحليون ويقبلونها و/أو إطلاق حملة إعلامية تستهدف أصحاب العمل من أجل توعيتهم بحقوق اللاجئين في العمل التي يكفلها القانون.

وذكر المشاركون في مجموعات التَّركيز أيضاً أنَّ معظم فرص العمل متوفرة في المراكز التجارية المحلية البعيدة عن المخيمات التي يترتب على الوصول إليها تكاليف باهظة للتنقل بالإضافة إلى انخفاض الأجور ما يجعل اللاجئين يحجمون عن السعي وراءها. لذلك، فتوفير وسائل مواصلات أرخص قد يسهل الأمر على اللاجئين ويزيد من رغبتهم في السعي للحصول على فرصة عمل ما وراء المناطق المحيطة بالمخيمات.

الوظائف والمهارات في المخيمات

مما يذكر أنَّ فرص العمل للاجئين خارج المخيمات محدودة جداً، أما داخل المخيمات أنفسها فتُوظَّفُ منظمات غير حكومية ودولية عدداً لا بأس به من اللاجئين. ومع ذلك، فمن البديهي أنَّه ليس بمقدور هذه المنظمات استيعاب جميع اللاجئين وتلبية حاجاتهم في الحصول على فرصة عمل. ويثير هذا الوضع أيضاً مسألة اعتماد اللاجئين على المنظمات الإنسانية فيما يتجاوز الحماية والاحتياجات الأساسية. ويبدو واضحاً أنَّه كلما زاد عدد اللاجئين القادرين على الاندماج في الاقتصاد الرواندي الأوسع نطاقاً وكلما تجاوزوا إطار الانكفاء على الذات داخل المخيمات، كانوا أفضل حالاً على المدى البعيد.

ولا غرابة أن وجدنا أنَّ خبرات اللاجئين المتعلقة بالعمل تختلف حسب مستوى المهارة، فاللاجئون الذين يجدون حرفة ما أو الحاصلون على شهادات في وضع مميز عن غيرهم من ذوي المهارات الأفل. وكما أخبرنا أحد المشاركين من مخيم كيزبيا "هناك [لاجئون] معلمون بالإضافة إلى مقدمي الخدمات الصحية، أمثال هؤلاء يجدون فرصاً للعمل أما الأشخاص العاديون فلا يجدون." وينبغي الأخذ بعين الاعتبار هذا التنوع ووضعه نصب الأعين عند تصميم سياسات من شأنها تعظيم مشاركة اللاجئين في سوق العمل المحلي.

السكان المحليون في سوق العمل

وقفنا في هذا البحث على أدلة تفيد بحدوث تحول عن زراعة الكفاف بين السكان المحليين في المجتمعات المضيفة. وعلى وجه التحديد، وجدنا أنَّ الأشخاص في سن العمل الذين يعيشون على بعد 10 كيلومترات من المخيم أكثر أرجحية للعمل في الأعمال بأجر (أي العمل لدى صاحب عمل بأجر ثابت) من العمل في الزراعة أو الإنتاج الحيواني. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لُوحِظَ أنَّ فرصة النِّساء اللواتي يعشن بالقرب من المخيمات في العمل الحر أكبر بكثير من اللائي يعشن بعيداً عن المخيمات ما يوضح ضرورة الأخذ في الاعتبار للجانب الجندري لهذا التعديل في سوق العمل المحلية.[2]ومجدداً، كشفت نقاشات مجموعات التَّركيز على نتائج أكثر توضيحاً لدرجة الاختلاف. فعلى سبيل المثال، كثيراً ما ذُكِرَ أنَّ اللاجئين من مخيم جيهمبي يملكون متاجر صغيرة وصالونات لتصفيف الشعر خارج المخيم ويوظفون فيها السكان المحليين كما يُوظَّف السكان المحليون للعمل في المخيمات في المشروعات الإنشائية. يقول أحد المشاركين من جيهيمبي "منذ وصول [اللاجئين] هنا، زادت النشاطات الاقتصادية. إذ بُنيَ الكثير من المنازل وتضاعفت نشاطات البيع. وأُنشئَت مراكز مختلفة للتسوق خصيصاً لتخدم المخيمات."

وفي نهاية المطاف، سلطت المناقشات الضوء على الآثار المرتبطة بالتوزيع على السكان المحليين بشأن من المستفيد من وجود اللاجئين. فعلى سبيل المثال، أكد المشاركون الذين يعيشون بالقرب من مخيم كيجيمي وجود اختلافات في التفاعل الاقتصادي القائم على الظروف الشخصية ولا سيما أنَّهم يميلون إلى أن يكونوا أفضل حالاً من الناحية المالية من مجتمعهم الذي انخرط في أعمال التجارة والذي يُفترَض أنَّه استفاد من هذا التفاعل.  وعوداً على بدء، يدل هذا الوضع على ضرورة الأخذ بعين الاعتبار لعدم التجانس داخل المجتمع المضيف عند محاولة فهم إلى أي مدى يمكن أن يؤثر وجود اللاجئين على السكان المحليين.

وعلى الجانب الإيجابي، وجدنا أنَّ أنشطة سوق العمل المحلية لا يبدو أنَّها تأثرت سلباً بوجود اللاجئين بل العكس تماماً إذ وفر النشاط الاقتصادي المحلي الأكثر حركية فرصاً متزايدة للحصول على فرصة العمل بأجر والعمل الحر. وعلاوة على ذلك، لم نعثر على أي دليل قد يؤكد وجود تنافس في سوق العمل بين السكان المحليين واللاجئين أو استياء السكان المحليين وامتعاضهم نتيجة وجود اللاجئين. بل العكس، ضُرِبَ التفاعل الاقتصادي والاجتماعي بين الفئتين من السكان (المحليين واللاجئين) كمثال توضيحي للعلاقة الطيبة بين المجموعتين.

ومع ذلك، فبالنسبة للاجئين الكونغوليين، كانت خبراتهم أكثر اختلاطاً. ومنح اللاجئين الحق في العمل ومن ثم الوصول إلى سوق العمل المحلية لا يكفي لتعزيز الاعتماد على الذات المستدام ولا بد من وضع استراتيجية شاملة لتوفير فرص عمل لفئة اللاجئين الأوسع نطاقاً. ويمكن أن تتضمن هذه الاستراتيجية إصدار وثائق هوية موحدة للاجئين، وتوفير المعلومات اللازمة لأصحاب العمل المحليين، وتوفير وسائل مواصلات أفضل خارج المخيمات. ونأمل أن تساعد هذه الملاحظات في توجيه وإرشاد الجهات الفاعلة ذات الصلة في رواندا وأن تكون مصدراً تستنير به حكومات البلدان الأخرى المستضيفة للاجئين في تبني تدابير فعالة لتعزيز الدمج الاقتصادي والاجتماعي لصالح اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة على حد سواء.

أوزجي بيلغيلي  o.bilgili@uu.nl

بروفيسورة مساعدة، مركز البحوث الأوروبي للهجرة والعلاقات العرقية، جامعة ،أوتريخت www.ozgebilgili.com

كرايغ لوشمان c.loschmann@maastrichtuniversity.nl

زميل باحث، كلية ماسترخت للدراسات العليا في الحوكمة، جامعة ماسترخت www.maastrichtuniversity.nl 

[1] بتمويل من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين.

[2] انظر أيضاً

Bilgili Ö, Loschmann C and Siegel M (2017) ‘The Gender-Based Effects of Displacement: The Case of Congolese Refugees in Rwanda’, KNOMAD working paper 21 www.knomad.org/publication/gender-based-effects-displacement-case-congolese-refugees-rwanda

(’الآثار القائمة على الجندر للتهجير: دراسة حالة اللاجئين الكونغوليين في رواندا‘)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Refugees and host communities in the Rwandan labour market

In Rwanda, Congolese refugees have the same freedom of movement and right to work as Rwandans but the experiences and economic activities of these two populations are very different.

Of the approximately 164,500 officially registered refugees residing in Rwanda today, 45% are from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). The Rwandan government has adopted a relatively progressive policy approach to support the integration of refugees, and refugees have the freedom to move outside their designated camps and the right to engage in wage-earning or self-employed activities. This enabling environment helps increase the economic and social interaction between refugees and local populations, and as a result one might expect the areas around the camps to have a labour market freely accessible to locals and refugees alike.

Analysis of the experiences of refugees and locals, however, brings to light the varying dynamics, opportunities and challenges for both groups. As part of a project examining the impact of Congolese refugees on host communities in Rwanda,[1] in May 2016 we conducted household surveys with refugees in three of the largest camps – Gihembe, Kiziba and Kigeme – and with locals living nearby. For the latter we differentiated our sample between those living within 10km of the camps, and those living more than 20km away, in order to identify the highly localised effect of being in contact with the refugee population on a daily basis. We also organised a number of separate focus group discussions among refugees from each camp as well as with host community members living at various distances from the camps. A key finding is that although Congolese refugees officially have the right to work, in reality their experiences in the local labour market differ considerably from that of local Rwandans.

Congolese refugees are significantly more likely to be unemployed than locals, and a major reason for this, given by the refugees themselves, relates to local employers’ lack of knowledge of the refugees’ right to work. According to the focus group participants, finding a job outside the camp is rare due to the fact that they do not have the appropriate identity papers requested by potential employers. As one participant from Kiziba camp said, “They mostly ask if you have an identity card to prove that you are a Rwandan citizen. So, if you do not have an identity card then you can’t get a job.” It is not sufficient simply to provide the right to work; there needs to be practical follow-through. This may mean issuing specific identity documents to refugees that local employers recognise and accept and/or an information campaign targeting employers to help make sure the refugees’ legal rights are clear to all.

Focus group participants also mentioned that most work opportunities were in local commercial hubs far from the camps, and that the considerable travel costs involved and low earnings often deterred them from taking these jobs. Providing cheaper transportation can make it more viable for refugees to find employment well beyond the immediate camp areas.

Jobs and skills in camps

Job opportunities for refugees are quite limited outside the camps but within the camps themselves non-governmental and international organisations employ a significant number of refugees. It is clear, however, that these organisations cannot address the employment needs of all refugees. This situation also raises the question of refugees’ dependency on humanitarian organisations beyond basic protection and needs. It seems evident that the more refugees are able to integrate in the wider Rwandan economy and not remain within the confines of the camp-based setting, the better off they will be in the long term.

Unsurprisingly, we found that the work-related experiences of refugees differ also by skill level. Those refugees with professions and who have diplomas are in a more advantageous position than others with fewer skills. As one participant from Kiziba said, “There are [refugee] teachers and even health providers but … ordinary people have nothing to do.” Keeping this heterogeneity in mind is key when designing policies to facilitate greater participation in the local labour market.

Locals in the labour market

Our research finds evidence of a shift away from subsistence agricultural activities among locals in the host communities. More specifically, working-age individuals within 10km of a camp are more likely to be engaged in wage employment (that is, working for an employer with steady pay) than in farming or livestock production. In addition, we observed that females living near a camp are more likely to be self-employed than those residing further away, illustrating an important gender-specific dynamic to this adjustment in the local labour market.[2] Focus group discussions again uncovered more nuanced findings. For instance, it was often stated that refugees from Gihembe have small shops or hairdressing salons outside the camp that employ local people, while locals are also hired in the camps for construction projects. As a participant from Gihembe said, “Since [the refugees] arrived here, economic activities have increased. Many houses were built and selling activities multiplied. There are different market centres which were created because of the camp.”

Finally, the discussions also shed light on some distributional effects among the local population with regard to who benefits from the presence of refugees. Participants who live near Kigeme, for example, emphasised differences in economic interaction based on personal circumstances, in particular that it tends to be the financially better-off from their community who engage commercially with refugees and who presumably benefit from that interaction. Again, this demonstrates the need to consider heterogeneity within the host community as well, when trying to understand how a refugee camp may influence local populations.

On a positive note, we found that locals’ labour market activities do not seem to be negatively affected by refugees; indeed, the resulting, more dynamic local economy provided increased opportunities for wage-earning jobs and self-employment. Moreover, we did not find evidence of either increased competition in the labour market or resentment from local people due to the presence of refugees. On the contrary, the economic and social interaction between groups was given as an explanation for the good relations between the two populations.

For Congolese refugees, however, the experiences were more mixed. Being granted the right to work and thus to access the local labour market is not sufficient to promote sustainable self-reliance, and a more comprehensive strategy is needed to provide opportunities for the wider refugee population. This strategy could incorporate standardised identity documents for refugees, information provision for local employers, and better transportation provision outside the camps. We hope that these observations can guide not only the relevant actors in Rwanda but also the governments of other refugee-hosting countries in adopting effective measures to promote economic and social integration for the benefit of refugees and host communities alike.

 

Özge Bilgili o.bilgili@uu.nl
Assistant Professor, European Research Centre on Migration and Ethnic Relations (ERCOMER), Utrecht University www.ozgebilgili.com

Craig Loschmann c.loschmann@maastrichtuniversity.nl
Research Fellow, Maastricht Graduate School of Governance / UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University www.maastrichtuniversity.nl  


[1] Funded by the UN Refugee Agency, UNHCR.

[2] See also Bilgili Ö, Loschmann C and Siegel M (2017) ‘The Gender-Based Effects of Displacement: The Case of Congolese Refugees in Rwanda’, KNOMAD working paper 21 www.knomad.org/publication/gender-based-effects-displacement-case-congolese-refugees-rwanda

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview