إدماج اللاجئين في سوق العمل التركي

مَنحُ اللاجئين السوريين في تركيا حق الوصول إلى العمل الرسمي كان خطوة أولى نحو تحقيق اندماجهم الاقتصادي، لكنَّ عدداً من التحديات ما زالت قائمة. وبدعم من المجتمع الدولي، تتخذ الحكومة التركية إجراءاتها للتغلب على بعض هذه التحديات وتذليلها.

تستضيف تركيا قرابة 3.3 مليون لاجئ مسجل معظمهم من سوريا، وأبدت البلاد درجة يحتذى بها من الانفتاح وبذلت جهوداً لا يستهان بها لتقديم الدعم للسوريين رغم ما شكل ذلك من ضغوطات على الخدمات الاجتماعية فيها. وسهَّلت وصول اللاجئين السوريين إلى الخدمات العامة الحرجة بما فيها الخدمات الصحية والإسكان والتعليم والمساعدات الاجتماعية.

ثم أدركت حكومة تركيا أنَّ اللاجئين لا يمكنهم الاعتماد اعتماداً كاملاً على المساعدات الاجتماعية فقررت وقتها سن تعليمات في يناير/كانون الثاني 2016 تسمح بموجبها للاجئين السوريين[1] الحصول على أذونات رسمية بالعمل. وكان الهدف المنشود مساعدة اللاجئين السوريين على تحقيق الاستقلال الاقتصادي والخروج من نظام المساعدات الاجتماعية والمساهمة في الاقتصاد التركي.

وتختلف التنمية الاقتصادية اختلافاً كبيراً من منطقة لأخرى داخل تركيا بل قد تصل لمستوى الاختلاف الكبير بين الأقاليم نفسها إذ ازدادت تلك الاختلافات خلال السنوات الماضية القليلة. ونظراً لارتفاع معدلات البطالة العامة (بلغت ذروتها 13% في أوائل عام 2017) ومعدلات البطالة بين الشباب السائدة (وصل المعدل الوطني حوالي 19%)[2] فذلك يؤكد أنَّ عدد الوظائف المتاحة لا يكفي لاستيعاب جميع الباحثين عن العمل.

وتزداد الأمور سوءاً عندما نرى أنَّ كثيراً من المحافظات التي تقطن فيها أعداد كبيرة من السوريين مقارنة بأعداد السكان المحليين ومقارنة بإجمالي عدد اللاجئين السوريين في تركيا من الأكثر تهميشاً والأقل حظاً نتيجة معاناتها من انخفاض بالموسم في كثافة الأعمال الرسمية وانخفاض صافي إنشاء الوظائف الرسمية وانخفاض عدد السكان المتعلمين وانخفاض مساهمة القوى العاملة وارتفاع معدلات البطالة إلى أرقام تفوق المعدل الوطني. وفي هذا الصدد، تشير الإحصاءات التي جمعتها وزارة العمل والأمن الاجتماعي التركية إلى أنَّ ما لا يقل عن نصف السوريين في عمر العمل الذي يزيد عددهم على مليونين يعملون في القطاع غير الرسمي. والغالبية العظمى من هذه النسبة من الرجال أما نسبة النساء العاملات فمنخفضة تصل ذروتها 7% من النساء في الفئة العمرية 30 إلى 44 عاماً.

عوائق تواجه الاندماج الاقتصادي الرسمي للاجئين

يواجه اللاجئون الذين يتلقون حالياً الدعم النقدي من برنامج الحوالات النقدية الذي يموله الاتحاد الأوروبي (المساعدات الاجتماعية) خطر فقدان المنافع المتأتية لهم إذا ما عملوا في القطاع الرسمي. وإضافة إلى ذلك هناك التمايز المرتبط في المواقع؛ لأنَّ الموقع الذي يتسجل فيه اللاجئ يحدد المكان الذي يمكن له أن يسعى إلى البحث عن فرصة عمل رسمية. ولذلك نجد أنَّ كثيراً من السوريين الذين انتقلوا إلى الأسواق الأكثر نشاطاً عمالياً مثل إسطنبول وأنقرة وأزمير لا يمكنهم البحث عن فرص العمل الرسمية هناك إلا إذا غيروا موقعهم المسجل ويتضمن ذلك خوضهم في إجراءات إدارية متعبة ومكلفة مادياً.  

أما انخفاض المستويات التعليمية وضعف البيانات المتعلقة بأنواع المهارات والخبرات التي يتمتع بها السوريون الذين يعيشون بتركيا فذلك عائق إضافي يمنع من تسهيل عملية توظيفهم. وتبين البيانات ما قبل الحرب أنَّ التحصيل التعليمي للسوريين في المحافظات المقاربة والمحاذية للحدود التركية كانت منخفضة مقارنة بمستويات التعليم لدى نظرائهم الأتراك إذ لم تتجاوز نسبة المتعلمين في التعليم الثانوي وما بعد الثانوي 20% (من حلب وإدلب). وتنخفض هذه النسبة وفقاً للأرقام التقديرية إلى 15% لأهالي الرقة وترتفع 40% لسكان اللاذقية. وفي المقابل، نجد أنَّه في المعدل هناك ما يقارب 45% من الناس ممن أكملوا التعليم الثانوي وما بعد الثانوي. ويرتبط انخفاض معدلات التحصيل العلمي لدى اللاجئين السوريين وعدم حصولهم على وثائق رسمية تثبت مهاراتهم بانخفاض إصدار تصاريح العمل الرسمية.

ولذلك، تتعاون وزارة العمل التركية ومؤسسة الخدمات العامة والبنك الدولي والاتحاد الأوروبي في برنامجين مشتركين من أجل تكييف الخدمات المتاحة حالياً للمواطنين الأتراك لدعم التوظيف من خلالها. وصمم هذان البرنامجان عام 2017 واشتملا على برنامج دعم التوظيف للسوريين ضمن الحماية المؤقتة ودعم المجتمعات المضيفة وتعزيز الفرص الاقتصادية للسوريين بموجب الحماية المؤقتة والمجتمعات المضيفة في تركيا. وهدفت نشاطاتهما على التوالي إلى التصدي للتحديات المتعلقة بناحية العرض (المرتبطة بقابلية التوظيف) وتحديات الطلب (المرتبطة بالنشاط التوظيفي والنشاط الاقتصادي) وسوف ينفذ هذان البرنامجان في الفترة ما بين 2018 إلى 2021. وخلال المرحلة التجريبية الحالية لكل مشروع، يتمثل الهدف في توفير الخدمات والوظائف إذا أتيح ذلك إلى قرابة 15 ألف شخص علماً أنَّ المنظومات التي تقام الآن سوف تتيح الخدمات وفرص العمل لبضعة آلاف إضافية من الأشخاص.

نشاطات العمل في جانب العرض

تتصدى النشاطات في ’جانب العرض‘ في حالة اللاجئين السوريين في تركيا للتحديات التي تعيق من وصولهم إلى العمل الرسمي (وعلى وجه التحديد الوصول إلى تصاريح العمل) بالإضافة إلى التحديات التي تواجه قابلية توظيفهم التي تمنعهم من تسكينهم الوظيفي. وتتضمن النشاطات التدريب على اللغة التركية وإعداد المنظومات اللازمة لتقييم المهارات وتقديم المشورة والمساعدة في البحث عن العمل باللغة العربية إضافة إلى عدد متنوع من الحوافز المالية والدعم. ويمكن إحالة المستفيدين أيضاً إلى سلطة المؤهلات المهنية للمصادقة على الأوراق الاعتمادية الأجنبية أو تقييم مستواهم التعليمي وخبرتهم العملية.

ولا بد من توفير فهم أفضل للباحثين عن العمل حول كيفية الحصول على تصريح للعمل ولا بد من إحداث التحسينات على عمليات تقديم الطلبات التي ما زال معظمها يدوياً وإصدارها. وكانت وزارة العمل والاجتماع قد أصدرت للاجئين السوريين 15022 تصريح عمل ما بين يناير/كانون الثاني 2016 ونوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2017 وكان ذلك العدد أقل مما كان متوقعاً، ويشير إلى وجود عوائق في المعلومات التي واجهها اللاجئون وأصحاب العمل ناهيك عن المشكلات المتعلقة بمنظومة تقنية المعلومات التي تعيق من عملية معالجة تصريحات العمل. ويركز دعم الوظيفة للسوريين بموجب برنامج الحماية والمجتمعات المضيفة على إطلاق الحملات الإعلامية من خلال مختلف القنوات المتعددة وبمختلف اللغات وذلك من أجل تحسين المستوى المعرفي بالعملية وتحسين نظام تقنية المعلومات.

وإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك كثير من الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية والإنمائية المختلفة التي بذلت جهوداً كبيرة في توفير المهارات اللغوية والمهنية الفنية للاجئين السوريين منذ السنوات الأولى لوصولهم إلى تركيا. وثبت نجاعة بعض هذه الجهود وفاعليتها في منح اللاجئين مهارات قيمة ساعدت كثيراً منهم على دخول الاقتصاد مع أنَّ معظمهم فعلوا ذلك في قطاع العمل غير الرسمي. لكن كثيرًا من البرامج المطروحة كانت محدودة الحجم وغالباً ما صممت خارج نطاق المؤسسات الحكومية، بل كانت تعتمد اعتماداً شبه كامل على التمويلات الخارجية، ولم تبن على المنظومة الحالية لدمج العمل المستخدم للسكان المحليين. ونتيجة لذلك، لم تحصل كثير من الدورات التدريبية المقدمة على اعتراف رسمي من المنظومة التعليمية الوطنية التركية وصَعَّبَ على اللاجئين تأمين الثبوتيات والشهادات اللازمة أو أي شيء رسمي يثبت حصولهم على هذا التدريب.

وضمن هذا البرنامج، أوكلت إلى هيئة التوظيف التركي (ISKUR) مهمة مساعدة اللاجئين في الدخول إلى سوق العمل الرسمي مستفيدة من خبرتها التي حققتها في توفير خدمات دعم التوظيف لأكثر من ثلاثة مليون مواطن تركي سنوياً.[3] وتعمل هذه الهيئة على تصميم أداة لتقييم المهارات اللغوية والمعرفية والفنية لدى اللاجئين. وبهذه المعلومات، يمكن لهيئة التوظيف التركية أن تساعد اللاجئين السوريين في العثور على الوظائف وتحديد الأشخاص منهم ممن يحتاجون إلى مزيد من التدريب الإضافي قبل إدماجه في سوق العمل. وكما الحال بشأن السكان المحليين، سوف يتولى تقديم برامج التدريب للاجئين مقدمو خدمات التدريب من القطاع الخاص المرخصون من وزارة التعليم الوطني، وسوف يتضمن ذلك منح مياومات مالية للمشاركين.

وهناك جهود تبذل الآن لإحداث تعديلات على برامج سوق العمل النشطة في هيئة التوظيف التركية من أجل المواطنين الأتراك، وتتضمن التدريب في مكان العمل، وتدريب رائدي الأعمال وبرامج النقد مقابل العمل، ويأتي هذا التعديل أيضاً لتوفير تلك الخدمات للسوريين. وخلال التدريب في مكان العمل، يُوَظَّفُ المشارك في البرنامج الذي يمول له الحد الأدنى الصافي من الأجور، ويغطي أقساط التأمين على الحوادث في العمل، والأمراض المهنية، والتأمين الصحي. وإذا ما تلقى المستفيدون التدريب في مكان العمل وحصلوا على خبرة العمل التركي فسوف يفيدهم ذلك في البقاء في عملهم، أو قد يسهل ذلك انتقالهم إلى وظيفة أخرى.

أما بالنسبة للأشخاص الأقل اقتداراً على التوظيف فسيكون برنامج النقد مقابل العمل أكثر ملاءمة لهم مع أنه لن يكون إلا الملاذ الأخير لأنَّه لا يمكن أن يؤدي وحده إلى تحقيق التوظيف الدائم. وتتضمن الفئات المستهدفة النساء والشباب واليافعين في الفئة العمرية 15-29 المقيمين في مختلف البلديات المختارة. وتمول هيئة التوظيف التركية إجمالي الحد الأدنى للأجور وتكاليف تصاريح العمل لهؤلاء العمال. أما لمن يشارك في برامج النقد مقابل العمل، فيمنحون دعماً كبيراً وذلك بهدف رفع الألفة لديهم بمكان العمل وتعزيز حافزيتهم وبناء شبكاتهم. وسوف يقدم للباحثين عن العمل من اللاجئين الدعم المستمر من خلال الإرشاد والمساعدة في البحث عن عمل ودعمهم عندما يبدؤون عملهم الجديد، ويقدم هذه الإرشادات مرشدون من هيئة التوظيف التركية بدعم من المترجمين الشفويين عند الحاجة.

نشاطات العمل في جانب الطلب

هناك واحد من أهم التحديات التي يواجهها جميع أصحاب العلاقة المعنيون المستثمرون في تدريب المهارات، وهو وجود ثغرة في المعارف الخاصة بالمهن والمهارات التي تشهد العرض الأكثر من أصحاب العمل خاصة في المواقع التي يقيم فيها السوريون. ومثلت محدودية توافر المعلومات الموثوق بها عائقاً أمام مقدمي التدريب منعهم من تصميم برامج المهارات اللازمة لتشجيع التوظيف المستدام. ومن هنا، جاء النشاط الأول من نشاطات برنامج تعزيز الفرص الاقتصادية للسوريين بموجب برنامج الحماية المؤقتة والمجتمعات المضيفة في تركيا الذي يسعى إلى إنشاء نظام من قاعدة البيانات التي يمكنها أن تُقَيِّمَ العرض من أصحاب العمل للمهن والمهارات بالتركيز على وجه الخصوص على المحافظات التي تعيش فيها الأعداد الأكبر من اللاجئين. ويمكن للمعلومات المتحصل عليها من خلال هذا النشاط أن ترشد مقدمي التدريب ورصد التغيرات والتقلبات التي تحدث على العرض على الدوام.

أما تعزيز النشاط الاقتصادي والأعمال الريادية فيبقى ذلك في صلب نشاطات جانب العرض من العمل أيضاً. ويعمل على تصميم هذه النشاطات البنك الدولي بمشاركة الحكومة التركية بغية تعزيز الأعمال الريادية وشركات الأعمال الناشئة وإنشاء الأعمال الرسمية بين اللاجئين السوريين والمواطنين الأتراك الذين يعيشون في المجتمعات المحلية المختارة.

أما النساء السوريات وعلى الأخص منهن القادمات من المحافظات الحدودية حيث يشيع انخفاض مستويات التعليم، فمن غير المرجح أن يصبحن نشطات اقتصادياً في عملية التوظيف الاعتيادية في القطاع الخاص. ومن هنا، جاء مشروع دعم الأعمال الريادية ضمن التدخلات المتعلقة بالطلب على الأعمال ليتضمن في مكوناته نشاطاً يستهدف النساء المقيدات بموقع جغرافي معين (إما خلال بيوتهن أو مدينتهن) لأسباب ثقافية أو أسرية. ويسعى هذا المشروع للترويج لإنشاء المؤسسات الاجتماعية والشركات الصغيرة التي تنتج السلع لبيعها. وتتضمن النشاطات تقديم المساعدة الفنية لدعم الحكومة والسلطات المحلية في تطوير وتنفيذ نموذج أعمال مستدام للمشروعات الاجتماعية التي تخص نساء يعملن لحسابهن الخاص. وتتضمن النشاطات أيضاً توفير الدعم المالي لإنشاء المشروع الاجتماعي والدعم المتعلق بالأعمال ودعم توثيق خبرات المشروعات الاجتماعية بغية تشجيع المبادرات المماثلة. وسوف يضع النموذج على رأس أولويته الاستدامة اللازمة لكي تصبح النساء نشطات اقتصادياً بعد الاستثمار الأولي في المشروع.

ومنذ عام 2017، أسس السوريون قرابة ستة آلاف مشروع رسمي في تركيا ويرتفع هذا الرقم إلى عشرين ألفاً إذا ما احتسبنا المشروعات غير الرسمية.[4]وضمن البرنامج وبدعم من الشركاء الإنمائيين، تصمم منح مصغرة بالشراكة مع الحكومة من أجل تشجيع رائدي الأعمال السوريين على تأسيس مشروعاتهم الجديدة وتسجيلها أو تسجيل مشروعاتهم غير الرسمية الحالية لتصبح رسمية. كما أنَّ هناك خطة لمنح مصغرة أخرى تصمم لاستهداف المشروعات الرسمية التي يملكها السوريون أو الأتراك والموجودة في المناطق التي تقيم فيها أعداد كبيرة من السوريين وذلك من أجل توسيع طاقتهم الإنتاجية لتوظيف عمال جدد. وسوف تمكن المرحلة التجريبية من المشروع قياس الأثر الواقع على الأعمال الجديدة وإنشاء الأعمال.

الأدلة والرصد

خلال مرحلة إعداد مختلف البرامج، اعتمدت فرق الخبراء على الأدلة التي أتاحتها لهم تركيا والدول الأخرى في العالم. لكنَّ غياب التقييمات وتقييمات الأثر للبرامج المرتبطة بالعمل التي تستهدف اللاجئين حدت من قدرة الفريق على التأسيس على خبرة سابقة سواء أكان ذلك في تركيا أم في سياقات مشابهة. ولحسن الحظ، وافق جميع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيون على أهمية التعلم من هذه الخبرة للمضي قدماً في العمل المستقبلي في تركيا وفي أنحاء أخرى من العالم. ومن هنا صممت الفرق إطاراً عاماً قوياً للرصد والتقييم وسوف تجري تقييماتها الدورية. وحتى هذا التاريخ ظهر لنا درسان يستفاد منهما.

الدرس الأول أنَّه من المهم جداً تحديد العوائق السياقية التي تواجه التوظيف وقابلية التوظيف منذ البداية وقبل أي شيء أخر إذا ما أريد التعامل معها والتصدي لها في مرحلة مبكرة. وهناك ميزة واضحة تتمثل في الوقوف على معرفة مبكرة حول المزايا والتمايزات المقدمة للمؤسسات للترويج للتوظيف الرسمي ولأصحاب العمل لعرض الوظائف الرسمية وللعمال للبحث عن الوظائف الرسمية وذلك من أجل تحديد توقعات واقعية للتغيرات التشريعية والاستثمارات وللعمل الاستباقي قبل حدوث أي سلوكات غير متوقعة (سلبية).

أما الدرس الثاني فهو أنَّه لا بد من الاستثمار في خدمة الناس بطريقة مستدامة وبطريقة ترفع من كفاءة الإنفاق وفعالية استخدام الموارد. وينبغي للفاعلين في أبكر وقت ممكن السعي نحو ضمان تعزيز المنظومات الوطنية بدلاً من إنشاء بنى هيكلية منفصلة تعتمد على الدعم المالي والفني الخارجي. وبذلك يمكن للمزاولين الإنمائيين أن يدعموا الحكومات في تعزيز منظوماتها المؤسسية لتوفير الخدمات الحرجة وضمان استدامة الاستثمارات وتحسين دعم اللاجئين في عملية انتقالهم نحو الاكتفاء الذاتي وليصبحوا مساهمين في الاقتصاد.

 

هيمينا ڨ ديل كاربيو xdelcarpio@worldbank.org
قائدة البرامج، الإدماج الاجتماعي

سيرما دمير سيكير sdemirseker@worldbank.org
باحثة اقتصادية، الحماية الاجتماعية والوظائف

أحميت ليڨينت ينير alyener@worldbank.org
متخصص رئيسي، التغذية الصحية والسكان

البنك الدولي www.worldbank.org

 

[1] تشير إليها تركيا رسمياً بعبارة ’تحت الحماية المؤقتة‘ لكنَّنا لغايات التسهيل نشير إليها ’باللاجئين‘. وينظم هذه الحماية القانون رقم 6458 حول الأجانب والحماية الدولية المتبنى في عام 2013 واللائحة التنظيمية رقم 29153 حول الحماية المؤقتة للسوريين التي دخلت حيز النفاذ في عام 2014. واشتملت الحماية المؤقتة بأثر رجعي على كل سوري دخل البلاد بعد 27 أبريل/نيسان 2011.

[2] www.turkstat.gov.tr

[3] التقرير السنوي (2017) لهيئة التوظيف التركية   http://bit.ly/ISKUR2017

[4] Karasapan O (2017) ‘Syrian businesses in Turkey: The pathway to refugee integration?’, Brookings Institution www.brookings.edu/blog/future-development/2017/10/03/syrian-businesses-in-turkey-the-pathway-to-refugee-integration/

 (منشآت الأعمال السورية في تركيا: الطريق نحو إدماج اللاجئين؟)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Integrating refugees into the Turkish labour market

The granting to Syrian refugees in Turkey of the right to access formal work was a first step towards their economic integration but a number of challenges remain. With support from the international community, the Turkish government is taking action to overcome some of these. 

Turkey hosts nearly 3.3 million registered refugees, mostly from Syria. The country has shown exemplary openness, and has made considerable efforts to support Syrians despite the strain on social services. It has facilitated their access to critical public services including health, housing, education and social assistance.

Recognising that refugees cannot rely solely on social assistance, however, the government of Turkey passed a regulation in January 2016 to allow Syrian refugees[1] to obtain formal work permits. The goal was to help Syrian refugees be economically independent, graduate from social assistance, and contribute to the Turkish economy.

Economic development varies widely across Turkey and in some cases divergence between regions has increased over the last few years. Rising general unemployment (peaking at 13% in early 2017) and persistent youth unemployment (with a national average of around 19%)[2] highlight that the number of jobs available is insufficient to absorb all job seekers.

Ominously, many of the provinces with a large population of Syrians relative to the local population and to the total Syrian refugee population in Turkey are among the most disadvantaged, having significantly lower density of formal businesses, low net formal job creation, a less educated population, lower labour force participation and higher unemployment rates than the national average. Statistics compiled by Turkey’s Disaster and Emergency Management Agency, the Ministry of Health and the World Health Organization suggest that at least half of the over two million working-age Syrians work informally. Of these, most are men; the percentage of women working is low, peaking at 7% among women aged 30 to 44.

Barriers to formal economic integration of refugees

Refugees currently receiving cash support from the EU-financed cash transfer (social assistance) programme risk losing benefits if they work formally. There are also location-related disincentives since the place in which a refugee is registered determines where they can seek formal work. Therefore, many Syrians who have moved to more dynamic labour markets such as Istanbul, Ankara and Izmir cannot seek formal employment there unless they change their registration location – a cumbersome and costly administrative procedure.   

Low education levels and limited data on the types of skills and experiences of Syrians living in Turkey are further barriers to facilitating their employment. Data from before the war show that in the provinces near the Turkish border, Syrians’ educational attainment was low compared with that of Turkish people. Around 20% (from Aleppo and Idleb) were educated to secondary- or post-secondary levels. Estimated figures are lower (15%) for people from Raqqa and higher (40%) for those from Lattakia. In Turkey, on average around 45% of people have completed secondary or post-secondary education. Syrian refugees’ lower levels of education and lack of recognised or formally documented skills are associated with the low issuance of formal work permits.

The Ministry of Labour (MoLSS), Turkish Public Employment Services (ISKUR), the World Bank and the European Union are collaborating on two joint programmes to adapt services that are already available to Turkish citizens in order to support Syrians. These programmes, Employment Support for Syrians under Temporary Protection and Host Communities, and Strengthening Economic Opportunities for Syrians under Temporary Protection and Host Communities in Turkey, were designed in 2017. Their activities are aimed, respectively, at addressing supply-side challenges (relating to employability) and demand-side challenges (relating to employment and economic activity) and will be implemented from 2018 to 2021. During the current pilot phase of each project the aim is for services – and, where possible, jobs – to be provided to around 15,000 people; the systems now being set up will later provide for thousands more.

Labour supply-side activities

‘Supply-side’ activities in the case of Syrian refugees in Turkey address challenges which hinder their access to formal work (namely, access to a work permit), as well as employability challenges that hinder job placement. Activities include language training, setting up systems for assessing skills, counselling and job search assistance in Arabic, and a variety of financial incentives and support. Beneficiaries can also be referred to the Vocational Qualification Authority for validation of their foreign credentials or assessment of their educational level and work experience.

There is a need for better information to be provided to job seekers about how to obtain a work permit, and for improvements to the still largely manual application and issuance processes. 15,022 work permits were issued by MoLSS to Syrian refugees between January 2016 and November 2017, which was fewer than expected and is indicative both of information barriers faced by refugees and employers and of IT system-related issues hindering the processing of permits. The Employment Support for Syrians under Temporary Protection and Host Communities programme focuses on conducting outreach campaigns via multiple channels and languages to improve knowledge of the process, and on improving the IT system.  

Many efforts to provide language and vocational skills for Syrian refugees have been made by various humanitarian and development actors from the first years of their arrival. Some of these efforts were effective in imparting valuable skills that helped many refugees enter the economy, albeit mostly informally. However, many of the programmes offered were limited in scale, designed largely outside government institutions, almost fully dependent on external funds, and not built on the existing system of labour integration used for the local population. As a result, many training courses delivered were not formally recognised by the Turkish national education system, making it difficult for refugees to secure relevant credentials or formal credit for such training.

As part of the programme, ISKUR has been mandated to help refugees enter the formal labour market, building on its experience of providing employment support services for over three million Turkish citizens annually.[3]It is designing a tool to assess refugees’ language, cognitive and technical skills; with this information, ISKUR can help Syrian refugees find jobs, and identify those who require additional training prior to being integrated into the workplace. As with the local population, the training programmes to be offered to refugees will be delivered by public training providers or private training providers certified by the Ministry of National Education, accompanied by a financial stipend for participants.

ISKUR’s active labour market programmes for Turkish citizens – such as on-the-job training, entrepreneurship training and cash-for-work programmes – are also being modified in order to be provided to Syrians. During on-the-job training, the participant is employed, with the programme financing the net minimum wage and covering insurance premiums for accidents at work, occupational diseases and health insurance. Receiving on-the-job training and obtaining Turkish work experience can help beneficiaries remain employed or facilitate their transition to another job.

For those who are the least employable, cash-for-work programming is more suitable, although it is the last resort because it does not, alone, lead to permanent employment. The target populations are women and young people aged 15–29, residing in selected localities. ISKUR finances the gross minimum wage and work permit costs for these workers. Those taking part in cash-for-work programmes are given extensive support to develop familiarity with the workplace, increase motivation and build their networks. Refugee job seekers will be provided with continual support through counselling, job-search assistance, and support when starting a new job, delivered by trained counsellors from ISKUR, and supported by interpreters when needed.

Labour demand-side activities

An important challenge faced by all stakeholders investing in skills training is the gap in knowledge of the occupations and skills most in-demand by employers, especially in locations where most Syrians reside. The limited availability of reliable information has hindered training providers from designing and imparting appropriate skills programmes to encourage sustainable employment. The first activity as part of the Strengthening Economic Opportunities for Syrians under Temporary Protection and Host Communities in Turkey programme is the creation of a data-based system that assesses employers’ demand for occupations and skills, with a special focus on provinces with the greatest numbers of refugees. The information gleaned from this exercise can guide training providers, with changing demands being continuously monitored.

Promoting economic activity and entrepreneurship is also at the core of the demand-side activities. Such activities are being designed jointly by the World Bank and the Government of Turkey to promote entrepreneurship, business start-ups and formal job creation among Syrian refugees and Turkish citizens residing in selected local communities.

Syrian women, particularly those coming from border provinces where very low levels of education are common, are unlikely to become economically active in standard private sector wage employment. Thus, the social entrepreneurship support project within the wider demand-side interventions includes an activity targeting women who are bound to a specific location (either within their home or their city) for cultural or family reasons. It promotes the creation of social enterprises to produce goods for sale. Activities include technical assistance to support the government and local authorities to develop and implement a sustainable business model for social enterprises engaging self-employed females, financial support for the creation of the social enterprise, business-related support, and support to document the experiences of social enterprises for scaling-up similar initiatives. The model will prioritise sustainability to ensure that more women become economically active after the initial investment.

About 6,000 formal businesses were established by Syrians in Turkey as of 2017, a figure rising to 20,000 when informal businesses are included.[4] As part of the programme, and with the support of development partners, a micro-grants scheme is being designed jointly with the government to encourage Syrian entrepreneurs to set up and register new businesses or to formally register currently operating informal businesses. A second micro-grant scheme is being designed to target existing Syrian- or Turkish-owned formal businesses located in areas where large numbers of Syrians reside to enlarge their production capacity in order to hire new workers. The pilot phase of the programme will enable the effect on new business and job creation to be measured.

Evidence and monitoring

During the preparation of the various programmes, expert teams relied on the evidence available from Turkey and around the world. However, the lack of assessments and impact evaluations of labour-related programmes targeting refugees limited the team’s ability to build on previous experience, either in Turkey or in similar contexts. Fortunately, all stakeholders agreed on the importance of learning from this experience to guide future work in Turkey and elsewhere. The teams have therefore designed a strong monitoring and evaluation framework and will undertake periodic assessments. Two lessons have emerged to date.

First, it is critical to identify contextual barriers to employment and employability from the outset in order to address them early on. There is a clear advantage to having knowledge early on about the disincentives for institutions to promote formal employment, for employers to offer formal employment, and for workers to seek formal employment, in order to set out realistic expectations of regulatory changes and investments, and to preempt unexpected (negative) behaviours.

Second, investments to serve people should be made in such a way that they are sustainable and increase the efficiency of spending and effective use of resources. As early as possible, actors should seek to ensure the strengthening of national systems rather than create separate structures that depend on external financial and technical support. In so doing, development practitioners can support governments in strengthening their institutional systems for the provision of critical services, ensuring the sustainability of investments, and better supporting refugees in their transition to self-reliance and to becoming contributors to the economy.

 

Ximena V Del Carpio xdelcarpio@worldbank.org
Program Leader, Social Inclusion

Sirma Demir Seker sdemirseker@worldbank.org
Economist, Social Protection and Jobs

Ahmet Levent Yener alyener@worldbank.org
Senior Specialist, Health Nutrition and Population

World Bank www.worldbank.org   


[1] Officially referred to by Turkey as ‘under temporary protection’ but for ease of reading referred to here as ‘refugees’. Law No. 6458 on Foreigners and International Protection, adopted in 2013, and Regulation No. 29153 on Temporary Protection of Syrians, which entered into force in 2014, regulate their protection. Syrians who entered the country after 27 April 2011 were retroactively placed under temporary protection.

[3] ISKUR (2017) Annual Report  http://bit.ly/ISKUR2017

[4] Karasapan O (2017) ‘Syrian businesses in Turkey: The pathway to refugee integration?’, Brookings Institution www.brookings.edu/blog/future-development/2017/10/03/syrian-businesses-in-turkey-the-pathway-to-refugee-integration/ 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview