كوبسيه: تمكين اللاجئين الصوماليين في نيروبي

أنشأ أحد اللاجئين الصوماليين مركز موارد كوبسيه الذي يديره الآن أولاده من بعده لتمكين اللاجئين الصوماليين في إيستلي ونيروبي.

في أوائل التسعينيات، كان أبي واحداً من ملايين اللاجئين الذين فروا من النِّزاع الأهلي الذي اجتاح الصومال. ومقارنةً بكثير من الناس، يعد أبي محظوظاً لأنَّه نال قسطاً من التعليم وتمكن من الحصول على منحة دراسية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية حيث أعيد توطينه. ومن هناك، عمل أبي على إحضار أفراد أسرته الذين كانوا صغاراً ليستقر في نهاية الأمر في تورنتو في كندا. وكان الهروب من النِّزاع العنيف والاستقرار في مجتمع جديد سببي إثارة حماس أبي لمساعدة أبناء مجتمعه الأصلي. وبدأ ذلك كله في عام 1993 عندما ساعد والدي الموجة الجديدة من اللاجئين الصوماليين الذين وفدوا إلى تورونتو فارين من الحرب، وما زال مركز كوبسيه الذي أسسه والدي مستمراً حتى يومنا هذا ليقدم الموارد للمجتمع المحلي في حي إيستلي في نيروبي، كينيا. وفي السنوات اللاحقة للتأسيس، لم تخل مسيرة المركز من تحديات لكنَّه مع ذلك تمكن من النمو والاستمرار. ويكمن سر نجاح مركز كوبسيه في تفاعله مع المجتمع المحلي وقدرته على اكتساب الشرعية والثقة داخل إيستلي.

تعني كلمة كوبسيه بالصومالية ’التمكين‘، ومن هنا جاء مركز كوبسيه لتقديم الموارد لمساعدة المستضعفين (بمن فيهم اللاجئون غير المصطحبين لوثائق رسمية) داخل مجتمع إيستلي كما يوفر لهم التدريبات على المهارات مثل محو الأمية الحاسوبية، والتفصيل، والحياكة، وغيرها من البرامج الأخرى. ويهدف مركز كوبسيه إلى إعداد الأفراد وتزويدهم بالمهارات اللازمة التي سوف تمكنهم من بناء قدراتهم ومن ثم تؤدي بهم إلى الحصول على مزيد من الفرص. ويعمل المركز على تحديد حاجات المجتمع من خلال المشاورات واسعة النطاق مع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين في المجتمع المحلي ويتضمن ذلك تنظيم الفعاليات الضرورية لإدامة مشاركة الشركاء الراسخين في المجتمع المحلي.

وبعد وفاة أبي في 2012، رجعت أنا وأختي إلى نيروبي لنسير على خطاه. والحقيقة أنَّنا استوطنا في كندا كلاجئين في سن مبكرة جداً، وترعرعنا في بيئة تختلف كل الاختلاف عن بيئة بلدنا الأصلية وثقافتها ومجتمعها، وهذا ما جعلنا نشعر بالدهشة في بادئ الأمر عندما لاحظنا وجود طلب كبير على مركز كوبسيه ولمسنا أثره في إيستلي. ورغم إدراكنا جيداً للتحديات التي يواجهها اللاجئون الصوماليون خاصة في كينيا، يبدو أنَّ فهمنا لظروف اللاجئين الحضريين لن يتحقق إلا بعد عملية تعلم مسهبة أهم ما فيها تعلم كيفية وضع برامج فعالة تراعي حاجات الفئات المتنوعة من اللاجئين الصوماليين وتستجيب لها في الوقت نفسه. فإيستلي مجتمع ديناميكي تتعدد خلفيات أفراده وخبراتهم وجميعهم نشؤوا وترعرعوا داخل منطقة حضرية عالية الكثافة السكانية. والتكيف مع حاجات المجتمع وبناء الثقة والشرعية في الوقت الذي نعمل فيه على تنفيذ وصية أبينا جزء من عملية التعلم التي بدأناها.

ولقد ساعدنا اندماجنا في المجتمع واطلاعنا على الموضوعات والمسائل التي تهم أفراده على الاستمرار في تطوير مركز كوبشيا. كما ساعدتنا خبرتنا باعتبارنا من أوائل أسر الجيل الأول من المهاجرين في تكوين رؤية فريدة حول الكيفية التي يمكننا بها استحداث برامج جديدة وإشراك المجتمع المحلي. وتشبه بعض تحديات المرحلة الانتقالية التي يواجهها اللاجئون في كندا التحديات التي واجهها اللاجئون في إيستلي سواء أكان ذلك يتعلق بالوصول إلى الموارد أم التعامل مع الأطر القانونية التي تحكم وجودهم. كما ساعدتنا أوجه التشابه هذه بين خبرات اللاجئين في كندا ولاجئي إيستلي في تركيز كل من برامجنا وموضعنا في المجتمع ككل.

وضع البرامج الملائمة

بالإضافة إلى اشتهار إيستلي بأنَّها مركز تجاري إقليمي، فهي أيضاً وجهة آلاف من اللاجئين الذين يبحثون عن مكان يقيمون فيه مدة طويلة أو الذين يرغبون في الانتقال إلى بلدٍ آخر (البلدان الغربية على وجه الخصوص). فأقام كثيرٌ من اللاجئين مشروعات تجارية مزدهرة واندمجوا اندماجاً تاماً في المجتمع المحلي في حين يكابد غيرهم الحياة خاصة خارج البنية التحتية لمخيم اللاجئين الرسمي. وساعدنا فهم هذه العوامل في إنشاء إطارٍ يمكننا من خلاله فهم أوجه الاستضعاف وإدراكها والاستجابة لها من خلال التركيز على استهداف الأفراد الذين يمكنهم تحقيق أقصى استفادة من برامجنا.

وبسبب انخفاض معدلات التَّعليم الرسمي في إيستلي عن المجتمعات المجاورة الأخرى، انصب جل تركيزنا على تزويد الأفراد بمهارات ملموسة قابلة للتطبيق مثل محو الأمية الحاسوبية والتفصيل والخياطة وأساسيات الثقافة المالية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يهدف برنامج محو الأمية الحاسوبية الذي وضعناه إلى تعريف الطلاب بأساسيات وظائف الحاسوب إذ يمكنهم بعد ذلك من التعرض لمستويات أعلى من التدريب. ونقدم أيضاً برامجاً للتدريب على الحياكة والخياطة التي تكمل بدورها النشاطات التجارية في مجال المنسوجات في إيستلي التي يمكن أن تكون نقطة انتقال إلى فرص عمل محتملة داخل المجتمع المحلي. وعلى مدار السنوات الثماني الماضية من العمل ضمن برامج موثوقة ومتسقة، وفر مركز كوبشيا تدريباً للمهارات المهنية لمئات من الصوماليين.

ومنذ أمد بعيد، ترسخت النظرة السلبية في الأذهان حول اللاجئين الصوماليين في إيستلي،[1] وبلغت حدة التوترات ذروتها بحملات القمع التي مارستها الشرطة ضدهم في عام 2014 فيما عُرِفَ باسم ‘أوسالاما ووتش‘ (المراقبة الأمنية). وكان ذلك تحدياً كبيراً أمام منظمتنا. وتعاملنا مع هذا الوضع بالانتقال من التدريب على التمكين والمهارات إلى المناصرة ورفع الوعي من أجل إيجاد فرصة للحوار للرد على هذه التصورات السلبية والقوالب النمطية التي رسختها الشرطة بحملاتها الأمنية. ونظمنا منتديات للنقاش مع السلطات المحلية والمكاتب السياسية، وحشدنا المسيرات التي تدين وحشية الشرطة، وعملنا على تعزيز التماسك، ونظمنا اللقاءات الثقافية التي تسلط الضوء على مساهمات كل مجتمع في منطقتنا القريبة. كما أصدرنا بعض المطبوعات الأدبية التي تهدف إلى الرد على بعض القصص السلبية والشائعات التي باتت تلاصق فئة اللاجئين الحضريين خاصة الصوماليين منهم. وعلى الرغم من هدوء الأوضاع إلى حدٍ كبير، ما زال وصم الإرهاب ملتصقاً باللاجئين الحضريين وما زالت تلك المفهومات موضع نزاع وتفاوض داخل مجتمع إيستلي.

واستمر أثر مركز كوبشيا في تناميه بفضل رؤية أبي التي كانت خارطة طريق لنا في طريقنا نحو التقدم والتطور. وأنا فخورة للغاية ومحظوظة لأنني تمكنت من المضي قدماً بهذه المنظمة التي تقدم المساعدة والدعم الدائمين للمجتمع الذي انحدر منه.

أفراح حسن afrah.abdullahih@gmail.com

مديرة مركز كوبسيه www.kobciye.org

[1] انظر

Carrier N (2017) ‘What Can We Learn From the “Little Mogadishu” Migrant Hub?’ Refugees Deeply

(’ما الذي يمكننا تعلمه من مركز لاجئي "مقاديشو الصغيرة"؟‘ في نظرة عميقة للاجئين)

https://www.newsdeeply.com/refugees/articles/2017/01/06/what-we-can-learn-from-the-little-mogadishu-migrant-hub

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Kobciye: empowering Somali refugees in Nairobi

Established by a resettled Somali refugee and now under the leadership of his children, Kobciye resource centre works to empower Somali refugees in Eastleigh, Nairobi.

In the early 1990s my father was one of millions of refugees fleeing the civil conflict engulfing Somalia. Relative to many others he was lucky – he was educated and able to secure scholarship opportunities in the United States, where he was resettled. From there he worked to bring over his still young family and to eventually settle in Toronto, Canada. Escaping a violent conflict and settling into a new community sparked my father’s passion to help his native community. It began in 1993, when he helped the new wave of Somali refugees who were arriving in Toronto having escaped war, and it continues today with Kobciye, a community resource centre in the Eastleigh neighbourhood of Nairobi, Kenya, which he established. In the intervening years, and in spite of the challenges of keeping the organisation going, Kobciye has continued to grow. Its success is built on its engagement with the community and ability to gain legitimacy and trust within Eastleigh.

Kobciye, which means ‘empowerment’ in Somali, is a resource centre that assists vulnerable individuals (including undocumented refugees) within the Eastleigh community, and provides skills trainings such as basic computer literacy, sewing and tailoring and other programmes. Kobciye aims to equip individuals with relevant skills that will build their capacities and lead to further opportunities. The organisation identifies the needs of the community through broad consultations with community stakeholders; this includes organising sustained engagement events and working with established community partners.

After my father’s death in 2012, my sister and I returned to Nairobi to try to carry on his legacy. Having settled in Canada as refugees when very young, we had grown up in a completely different country, culture and community and we were initially taken aback by the sheer demand and impact that Kobciye was generating in Eastleigh. Although we were always aware of the challenges facing Somali refugees, particularly those in Kenya, truly understanding the circumstances of urban refugees was a profound learning process. Learning how to effectively create programming that accounts for and responds to the needs of the diverse local refugee population was a large part of this learning process. Eastleigh is a dynamic community of individuals of varying backgrounds, all tightly packed within a dense urban area. Adapting to the needs of the community and personally building trust and legitimacy while building on the legacy of our father was all part of learning on the job.

Integrating ourselves into the community and acquainting ourselves with the issues that individuals care about has helped Kobciye to continue to develop. Our own experiences as part of a family of first-generation immigrants gave us a unique insight into how we can cultivate new programming and community engagement. Some of the transitional challenges that refugees face in Canada are comparable to those faced by refugees in Eastleigh, whether that be accessing resources or navigating the legal frameworks that govern their existence. Drawing these parallels between our experiences and those of refugees in Eastleigh has helped us focus both our programmes and how we position ourselves within the overall community.

Appropriate programming

Alongside being a renowned regional business hub, Eastleigh is also the destination of thousands of refugees who are looking for a long-term home or to relocate to other (particularly Western) countries. Many individuals have set up thriving businesses and integrated fairly well within the local community; others struggle, particularly outside the infrastructure of a formal refugee camp. Understanding these factors has helped us create a framework where we understand vulnerabilities and respond by targeting individuals who will benefit most from our programmes. 

With formal education rates lower in Eastleigh than in neighbouring communities, we focus on equipping our members with tangible and applicable skills, including in computer literacy, sewing and tailoring and basic financial literacy. For example, our computer literacy programme aims to give students a basic knowledge of computer functions, on which they can build with further training. We also provide a sewing and tailoring programme that complements Eastleigh’s thriving textiles business, and which can be a transition point for potential employment opportunities within the local community. Over the course of the last eight years of reliable and consistent programming, Kobciye has provided vocational skills training to hundreds of Somalis.

There has long been a negative perception of the Somali refugee population in Eastleigh,[1] and in 2014 tension peaked with the police crackdown known as Usalama Watch. This presented a significant challenge to our organisation. We responded by moving from empowerment and skills training to advocacy and awareness raising in order to create a dialogue to combat some of the negative perceptions and stereotypes created by the police and security offensive. We held forums where discussions were held with local authorities and political offices, arranged rallies condemning police brutality and promoting cohesion, and organised cultural exhibitions that highlighted the contributions of each community within our immediate region. We also produced literature that aimed to counter some of the negative narratives that have surrounded the urban refugee population, particularly Somalis. Although today the tension has largely receded, there remains social stigma around the urban refugee population that is still being contested and negotiated within the Eastleigh community.

Kobciye’s impact in the community has continued to grow, with my father’s vision serving as a roadmap for our progress and evolution. I am immensely proud and fortunate to be able to lead this organisation, helping the community from which I came and enjoying the continued support of the community which Kobciye serves.

 

Afrah Hassan afrah.abdullahih@gmail.com
Director, Kobciye www.kobciye.org


[1] See Carrier N (2017) ‘What Can We Learn From the “Little Mogadishu” Migrant Hub?’ Refugees Deeply https://www.newsdeeply.com/refugees/articles/2017/01/06/what-we-can-learn-from-the-little-mogadishu-migrant-hub

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview