التعاون مع المنظمات الإجرامية في كولومبيا: عائق يحول دون الانتعاش الاقتصادي

ينبغي للساعين إلى دعم التنمية الاقتصادية للنازحين داخلياً في كولومبيا إدراك كيف ولماذا يتعاون كثيرٌ من النَّازحين داخلياً مع المجموعات المسلَّحة والمنظمات الإجرامية.

حتى يومنا هذا، سجلت الحكومة الكولومبية ما يزيد على 7 ملايين و 300 ألف ضحية للتهجير القسري نتاج سنوات طويلة من غرق الشعوب في النِّزاعات.[1] وبما أنَّ التَّهجير القسري يؤدي، كما هو معروف، إلى ارتفاع مستويات الفقر المدقع (الذي يؤثر بدوره في 85% من المهجَّرين من المناطق الريفية إلى المناطق الحضرية[2]) تصبح التنمية الاقتصادية على رأس الأولويات. ويعد تعاون النَّازحين داخلياً مع المجموعات المسلَّحة والمنظمات الإجرامية عاملاً مهماً ضمن عوامل كثيرة أخرى تؤدي إلى ظهور تحديات أمام الانتعاش الاقتصادي لضحايا النِّزاع في كولومبيا رغم أنَّه لا يُؤخّذ في الاعتبار كما ينبغي.

ولهذه الجماعات المسلَّحة، ومنظمات حرب العصابات، والجماعات شبه العسكرية، وعصابات المخدرات، وعصابات المافيا المحلية أثرها المأساوي في الاقتصاد المحلي لمجتمعات المهجَّرين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يؤدي التعاون مع الجماعات المسلَّحة إلى تقويض جهود الأطراف الأخرى التي تهدف إلى تعزيز التنمية الاقتصادية من خلال إيجاد وتأسيس أنشطة جديدة مدرة للدخل والسعي إلى تحقيق العمل النظامي. ولذلك، من الأهمية البالغة أن يعي المعنيون في التنمية الاقتصادية مع الكولومبيين النَّازحين داخلياً كيف ولماذا يتعاون أولئك النَّازحون داخلياً مع الجماعات المسلَّحة والمنظمات الإجرامية على وجه الخصوص.

ثمة عوائق عدة تعيق دراسة هذه الظاهرة نذكر منها على وجه الخصوص مخاطر الأعمال الانتقامية التي يواجهها كل من الباحثين وعينة البحث. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعيش النازحون في أماكن متنوعة للغاية وأحياناً نائية جداً ولذلك ينبغي أن يكون البحث واسع النطاق أيضاً. وفي أثناء إجراء هذا البحث، قابل كاتب المقالة 15 فرداً من قادة المجتمعات المحلية والعاملين في المنظمات غير الحكومية في ثلاث مدن رئيسية (ميديلين، وبوغوتا، وقرطاجنة) وجماعتين من المجتمعات الريفية الصغيرة (في منطقة قرطبة وكاوكا).

أشكال التعاون

بسبب عزلة تجمعات النَّازحين داخلياً واستضعافهم الاقتصادي وغياب الرقابة الحكومية والشرطة، يُنظَرُ إلى هذه التجمعات على أنَّها بيئة مواتية للجريمة المنظمة. ويُعرَفُ النّازحون داخلياً بتعاونهم مع الجماعات المسلحة سواء بصورة مباشرة أم غير مباشرة؛ فالبعض ينخرط معهم مباشرةً في الأنشطة غير المشروعة وأبرزها الإتجار في المخدرات وابتزاز الأموال على سبيل أغراض الحماية (وهو ما يسمى محلياً بالڨاكوناس (حرفياً: المطعومات)) بينما يساعدهم آخرون من خلال تزويدهم بالمؤن واللوازم أو نقل البنزين إلى الذين يزرعون محاصيل غير مشروعة.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تسيطر الجماعات المسلَّحة، في بعض المجتمعات، على موارد المياه وبيع المواد الغذائية الأساسية مثل البيض والأريبا (غذاء رئيسي كولومبي مصنوع من دقيق الذرة). كما يسيطرون أيضاً على وسائل المواصلات داخل المخيمات وخارجها. وفي ظل هذه الظروف، يُستقطَبُ البائعون المحليون، والسائقون، وأخرون ممن بحاجة إلى الماء للانخراط بدرجات متفاوتة من التواطؤ والإذعان لهذه الجماعات المسلحة.

أسباب التعاون

من المهم أن نفهم سبب تعاون النَّازحين داخلياً مع العصابات لأنَّه بدون هذه الفهم، ستذهب جهود التنمية الاقتصادية سدى وقد تُعرِّضُ المنظمات أنفسها والذين يسعون إلى المساعدة إلى الخطر لأنَّ أنشطتهم سوف يُنظَرُ إليها على أنَّها تهدد الجهات الفاعلة غير المشروعة. فالأسباب التي تدفع بالنَّازحين للتواطؤ أو الانخراط مباشرةً مع الجماعات المسلحة في أنشطتهم أكبر تعقيداً مما يعتقد كثير من الناس.

والسبب الرئيسي هو الندرة الشديدة للفرص الاقتصادية إذ يشير كثيرٌ من الأشخاص الذين أُجريَت معهم المقابلات إلى أنَّه إذا وجد النّازحون داخلياً - على الأقل - من يعيل أسرهم فسوف يثنيهم ذلك عن الانخراط في الأنشطة الإجرامية. كما أكد  الأشخاص الذين أُجريَت معهم المقابلات على أنَّ السب يتمحور حول إغراء المال سهل الكسب‘. وتلخص ماريا إسبيرانزا[3] (باحثة اجتماعية تعمل في تنمية المجتمعات المحلية القائمة على العقيدة في بوغوتا) العوامل الحركية السائدة كما يلي:

"تعد المجتمعات المهمَّشة والمستبعدة والمعزولة أرضاً خصبة لإخفاء الجريمة المنظمة. فالإتجار غير المشروع وعوز هذه المجتمعات الاقتصادي وثقافة المال السهل تجعل [النَّازحين داخلياً] يميلون إلى الانخراط في الأعمال غير المشروعة."

فلا شك أنَّ ثقافة المال السهل جاءت نتيجة تضافر مجموعة من العوامل نذكر منها تأثير عصابات المخدرات وحركيات الاعتماد على الغير والتبعية التي أوجدتها فيهم الحكومة والمساعدات غير الحكومية.[4] ولكن عند الدمج بين هذه الثقافة وواقع الأجور المنخفضة أو هامش الربح المنخفض لكثير من أعمال الإنتاج الزراعي، يتضح لنا السبب وراء انخراط النَّازحين مع العصابات الإجرامية.  وكما يقول جورج ميجيل (راعي أبرشية ورئيس إحدى المنظمات التي تعمل في مجال التنمية المحلية):

"المسوغ هو .... [بما] أن 2 كيلو جرام من الكوكة يباع بحوالي 4 ملايين و600 ألف بيزو، سوف أتجه إلى تكريس كل جهودي لزراعة الكوكة بدلاً من الذرة. وهم يسوغون ذلك لأن سعر الذرة غالباً ما يكون زهيداً جداً والفلاحون ....غالباً ما يخسرون."

قد يجد النَّازحون داخلياً من ذوي الانخراط غير المباشر أو المحدود الذي يقتصر على أدوار داعمة فقط أنَّه من السهل تسويغ انخراطهم لأنَّهم لا ينتجون أو يبيعون المخدرات مباشرةً.

ولا شك أنَّ الخوف أحد الأسباب الأكثر تكراراً وذكراً التي تدفع بالنَّازحين إلى التواطؤ مع العصابات الإجرامية أو دعمهم في مجتمعاتهم. ويضرب هذا الخوف بجذوره في نفوس النَّازحين داخلياً ليس بسبب الخطر الذي تمثله الجماعات المسلَّحة فحسب بل بسبب الشعور الذي يخالج النَّازحين داخلياً بأنَّ الحكومة والشرطة قد تخلوا عنهم. وعلى حد تعبير سوزانا، باحثة اجتماعية في مشروع تنموي مع النَّازحين داخلياً خارج ميديلين:

"كثيرٌ منهم خائفون ......يشعرون ...... كأنَّ أفضل شيء يفعلونه كي يبقوا سالمين التزام الصمت. ولكن آخرين يرون هذه الحياة أسهل ما يكون نظراً لعدم اكتراث الدولة ... ونظراً لأنه ليس لديهم من يحميهم، وليس لديهم من يسمعهم وإذا حدث وسمعهم أحد فسوف يشي بهم [إلى المجموعات الإجرامية]."

ومما يزيد الطين بلة بالإضافة إلى تخلي الدولة حقيقة أنَّ جمعيات الأحياء المحلية غالباً ما تدفع الناس للامتثال لطلبات الابتزاز التي تطلبها منهم الجماعات الإجرامية بل قد يصل الأمر في بعض الأحيان إلى أن يجمعوا المال لهم.

لكنّ الخوف والفقر ليسا العاملين الوحيدين. فإلى حدٍ ما، تعمل الجماعات الإجرامية على حفظ النظام في كثير من هذه المجتمعات المحلية المهمَّشة إذ تؤدي دور الحكومة المحلية في ظل غياب الشرطة وممثلي والحكومة وتفرض عقوبات على من ينتهك قواعد المجتمع العامة. تضيف سوزانا:

"لقد اعتاد الناس على وجود [الجماعات الإجرامية] بل أكسبوها طابعاً شرعياً ومنحوها شرعية معينة بطريقة معينة، فعندما يحدث لهم أمر ما كانوا يبحثون عن [أفراد الجماعة] لكي يحلون لهم المشكلات، ويعني ذلك تولي العصابات لدور القضاة."

ونظراً لأنَّ عصابات المافيا والجماعات الإجرامية تسد فراغ الحكم، يرى النّازحون داخلياً أنَّ التعاون معهم أكثر شرعية مما قد يعتقد منهو خارج الصورة الكاملة.

وأخيراً، قد يختار النّازحون داخلياً التعاون مع الجماعات الإجرامية المعارضة أو حتى الانخراط معهم كرد فعل ضد العنف الذي تعرضوا له على أيدي جماعة مسلحة أخرى. وبهذه الطريقة، يشعرون أكثر بالأمان ويصبحون قادرين على الانتقام والثأر لأنفسهم. تضيف أنجيليكا بينيّا موسوسو:

"إذا طردتني الجماعات شبه العسكرية، سأصبح عدواً لها وسأتودد إلى جماعات حرب العصابات. [أو] إذا كانت جماعات حرب العصابات هي التي طردتني وأنا على حالي هذه من النَّزوح والاستضعاف، فسينتهي بي الحال إلى الانضمام إلى الجماعات شبه العسكرية سعياً وراء تحقيق ما لم تستطع الدولة تحقيقه أو توفيره."

الآثار المترتبة على العمل التنموي

كل ذلك إنما يؤكد على حقيقة أنَّ المنظمات التي تركز على التنمية الاقتصادية للنازحين داخلياً في كولومبيا بحاجة إلى تبني عقلية التحالف وتنسيق جهودها مع المنظمات التكميلية. ونظراً لأنَّ الدوافع الاقتصادية ليست سوى جزء صغير من أسباب انخراط النَّازحين داخلياً مع العصابات الإجرامية، فالجهود المبذولة لإبعاد النَّازحين عن التمادي في الانخراط مع هذه الجماعات ينبغي أن تأخذ بعين الاعتبار عوامل أخرى؛ ومن المرجح أن يتجاوز هذا العمل نطاق منظمات التنمية الاقتصادية النموذجية ومن ثم ستكون هناك حاجة إلى تضافر الجهود والتعاون مع المنظمات الحكومية، والمنظمات غير الحكومية، والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة.

وبما أنَّ بعض العوامل التي نوقشت تتعلق بغياب دور الدولة وضعف قيادات المجتمعات المحلية فمن ثم ينبغي إيلاء الاهتمام إلى التنمية الاقتصادية التي ينبغي أن تسير جنباً إلى جنب مع وجود حكومي أكثر قوة وحضور شُرَطِيُ في المجتمعات المحلية بالإضافة إلى مبادرات المساعدة لزيادة الوعي الذاتي المدني والسياسي للمجتمعات المحلية. وبالمثل، بقدر ما ترتبط بعض العوامل بالمسائل الأخلاقية والنفسية، يمكن تناولها ومعالجتها أفضل بالتَّعاون مع المجتمعات الدينية المحلية والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة بالإضافة إلى المنظمات غير الحكومية التي تقدم الرعاية النفسية.

وفي حين أنَّه لا شك أنَّ هذا التعاون سيكون معقداً، فتقدير العوامل غير الاقتصادية وإدراكها جيداً لأنَّها تحفز التعاون مع الجماعات الإجرامية وتعيق التنمية الاقتصادية المشروعة أمر بالغ الأهمية إذا ما أُريِدَ العمل على تعزيز الانتعاش الاقتصادي للنازحين داخلياً.

كريستوفر م هايس cmhays@gmail.com

بروفيسور مشارك، المؤسسة الجامعية لمعهد دراسات الكتاب المقدس في كولومبيا، ميدلين، مدير مشروع ’الإرساليات التبشيرية المتكاملة والازدهار الإنساني للنازحين داخلياً في كولومبيا‘[5]

[1] Registro Único de Víctimas (2018) Informe General

www.unidadvictimas.gov.co/es/registro-unico-de-victimas-ruv/37394

[2] Carrillo A C (2009) ‘Internal displacement in Colombia: humanitarian, economic and social consequences in urban settings and current challenges,’ International Review of the Red Cross 91, no 875

(’النُّزوح الداخلي في كولومبيا: التبعات الإنسانية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية في البيئات الحضرية والتحديات الثقافية‘ في المجلة الدولية للصليب الأحمر)

https://www.icrc.org/ar/international-review/displacement         

[3] جميع الأسماء الواردة في هذه المقالة مستعارة

[4] انظر

 Thoumi F E (1999) ‘Relación entre corrupción y narcotráfico: un análisis general y algunas referencias a Colombia’, Revista de economía de la Universidad del Rosario 2, no 1: 24,28.

(’العلاقة بين الفساد والإتجار بالمخدرات: تحليل عام وبعض الإشارات المرجعية لكولومبيا‘ في مجلة الاقتصاد في جامعة روزاريو)

http://revistas.urosario.edu.co/index.php/economia/article/view/982

[5] ما كان من الممكن إنجاز هذا المشروع لولا المنحة التي قدمتها مؤسسة تمبلتون الخيرية العالمية إنك. جميع الآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة تعبر عن رأي الكاتب فقط ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن آراء مؤسسة تمبلتون الخيرية العالمية ولا المؤسسة التي يتبع لها المؤلف.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Collaboration with criminal organisations in Colombia: an obstacle to economic recovery

Those seeking to support economic development for internally displaced people in Colombia need to understand how and why many IDPs collaborate with armed groups and criminal organisations.

To date, the Colombian government has registered over 7,300,000 victims of forced displacement as a result of the nation’s many years of conflict.[1] Given that forced displacement is known to result in high levels of extreme poverty (affecting 85% of those displaced from rural to urban environments[2]), economic development is a priority. Among the many factors which create challenges for the economic recovery of victims of the Colombian conflict, one that is often not sufficiently taken into consideration is the incidence of collaboration by internally displaced persons (IDPs) with armed groups and criminal organisations.

These armed groups – guerrilla organisations, paramilitary groups, drug cartels, and local mafia and gangs – have a dramatic impact on the local economy of displaced communities. Furthermore, collaboration with armed groups can significantly undermine third-party efforts to foster economic development through the creation of new income-generating activities and the pursuit of formal employment. It is therefore vital that those involved in economic development with Colombian IDPs appreciate how and especially why IDPs collaborate with armed groups and criminal organisations.

Numerous obstacles impede the study of this phenomenon, in particular the risk of reprisals facing both the researcher and the research population. Additionally, displaced people settle in highly diverse and sometimes remote locations, and so research must be similarly wide-ranging. In undertaking this research, the author interviewed 15 community leaders and NGO workers in three major cities (Medellín, Bogotá and Cartagena), two municipalities (Tierralta and Puerto Libertador, in Córdoba) and two small rural communities (in the regions of Córdoba and Cauca).

Forms of collaboration

Given their isolation and economic vulnerability, and the lack of government and police presence, IDP settlements are seen as conducive to organised crime. IDPs are known to collaborate with criminal groups both directly and indirectly; some will engage directly in the illegal activities of the criminal groups, most prominently drug trafficking and the extortion of protection money (called vacunas, ‘vaccinations’), while others will provide the groups with support, for example, providing supplies or transporting gasoline to those cultivating illicit crops.

Additionally, armed groups in certain communities will control the supply of water and the sale of basic foodstuffs such as eggs and arepas (a Colombian staple, made from maize dough). They also control transportation in and out of the community. Under such conditions, local vendors, drivers and anyone who needs water are all drawn into various degrees of complicity with or submission to the criminal groups.

Reasons for collaboration

It is essential to understand why IDPs collaborate. Without such understanding, economic development efforts can founder, and agencies may put themselves and those they seek to help in danger, should their activities be perceived to threaten illegal actors. The reasons that IDPs are complicit with or directly participate in the activities of armed groups are far more complex than many appreciate.

One reason given is the perceived lack of economic opportunities. Interviewees report that, at least for some IDPs, having an alternative way to support one’s family would dissuade them from engaging in criminal productive activities. Interviewees also highlight the inducement of ‘easy money’. María Esperanza[3] (a social worker with a community development faith-based organisation in Bogotá) summarises the dynamics as follows:

“Marginalised, excluded, segregated communities are an excellent environment for hiding organised crime. The trafficking and the fact that these communities have such needs, especially economic ones, and the culture of easy money make it very likely that they [the IDPs] will resort to illicit businesses.”

The culture of ‘easy money’ is no doubt the result of a combination of factors, chief among which are probably the influence of drug cartels and the dependency dynamics created by government and non-governmental aid.[4] But when one combines that culture with the realities of low wages or the low profit margins of much agricultural production, one begins to see why collusion with a criminal organisation becomes attractive. As Jorge Miguel (a pastor and the leader of a community development organisation which works with IDPs) puts it:

“The justification is that … [since] 2 kg of coca is worth around 4,600,000 pesos, then I am going to dedicate myself to cultivating coca and not corn. They justify it because the price of corn often goes through the floor, and the farmers … almost always lose.”

IDPs whose involvement is limited to supporting roles, such as transportation, may find it easier to justify their collaboration since they are not producing or selling narcotics directly.

Fear is unsurprisingly one of the most frequently cited reasons why IDPs go along with or support the work of criminal organisations in their communities. This fear is rooted not only in the danger that the armed groups represent but also in a feeling that IDPs have been abandoned by the government and the police. In the words of Susanna, a social worker leading a development project with IDPs outside of Medellín:

“Many are afraid… They feel like … the best thing that they can do is keep quiet. But there are others to whom this seems like the easiest life, especially given the abandonment by the State… they don’t have anyone to protect them, they don’t have anyone to hear them, or if someone hears them, they will be denounced [to the criminal groups].”

The perception of having been abandoned by the State is compounded by the fact that the local neighbourhood assemblies often push people to comply with extortion requests by the criminal groups, even sometimes directly collecting for them.

But fear and poverty are not the only factors. To a certain degree, criminal groups maintain order in many of these marginalised communities, functioning – in the absence of police and government representatives – as local government and meting out punishment for violations of community norms. Susanna explains:

“People have grown accustomed to [the criminal group’s] presence there and have legitimated it in a certain way, because, when something happens to them, they go and seek out [the group members], so that they can solve things, so they can play the role of the judges.”

Because local mafia and criminal groups fill the governance void, cooperation with them can be seen by IDPs as more legitimate than an outsider might appreciate.

Finally, IDPs may choose to collaborate with or even join an opposing criminal group as a reaction against the violence they suffered at the hands of a different armed group. In this way, they feel a greater sense of security and are able to extract a sort of vengeance. Angélica Pinilla Mususú elaborates:

“If the paramilitaries expelled me, I become an enemy of the paramilitaries and close to the guerrillas. [Or] if the guerrillas were the ones who expelled me, and I am a displaced person and a victim, I end up being part of the paramilitary groups, in pursuit of a justice that the State has not been able to give, in pursuit of a reparation that the State has not been able to provide.”

Implications for development work

All of this underscores the reality that agencies focusing on the economic development of IDPs in Colombia need to adopt an alliance mentality, coordinating their efforts with complementary organisations. As economic motivations are only a small part of why IDPs end up working with criminal entities, efforts to direct IDPs away from criminal groups need to take account of other factors; this is likely to be beyond the scope of a typical economic development organisation and therefore will require cooperation with government agencies, non-governmental organisations and faith-based organisations.

Since some of the factors discussed relate to the absence of the State and the weakness of local community leadership, attention to economic development should also go hand-in-hand with a more robust governmental and police presence in the communities, along with initiatives to help raise the communities’ civic and political self-awareness. Similarly, insofar as some factors relate to ethical and psychological issues, they can be best addressed in cooperation with local religious communities and faith-based organisations, as well as with NGOs that provide psychological care.

While such cooperation would undoubtedly be complex, an appreciation of the non-economic factors that stimulate cooperation with criminal groups and impede legitimate economic development is vital when working to foster the economic recovery of IDPs.

 

Christopher M Hays cmhays@gmail.com 

Associate Professor, Fundación Universitaria Seminario Bíblico de Colombia, Medellín; director of the project ‘Integral missiology and the human flourishing of internally displaced persons in Colombia’.[5]


[1] Registro Único de Víctimas (2018) Informe General

www.unidadvictimas.gov.co/es/registro-unico-de-victimas-ruv/37394

[2] Carrillo A C (2009) ‘Internal displacement in Colombia: humanitarian, economic and social consequences in urban settings and current challenges,’ International Review of the Red Cross 91, no 875 www.icrc.org/eng/assets/files/other/irrc-875-carrillo.pdf

[3] All names have been changed.

[4] See Thoumi F E (1999) ‘Relación entre corrupción y narcotráfico: un análisis general y algunas referencias a Colombia’, Revista de economía de la Universidad del Rosario 2, no 1: 24, 28.

http://revistas.urosario.edu.co/index.php/economia/article/view/982

[5] This project was made possible through a grant from the Templeton World Charity Foundation, Inc. The opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Templeton World Charity Foundation, Inc or the author’s institution.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview