جودة العمل للاجئين السوريين في الأردن

تحتل تصريحات العمل وضعاً مركزياً في حوار السياسات المرتبط باستضافة اللاجئين السوريين في الأردن. وينبغي لهذه المقاربة أيضاً أن تعنى بضمان ظروف العمل الكريمة للجميع.

لقد كان إنجازاً بحد ذاته إصدار أكثر من مائة ألف  تصريح عملٍ للاجئين السوريين في الأردن ابتداء بشهر مايو/أيار 2018 عقب التزام مشترك بين الحكومة الأردنية والمجتمع الدولي. لكنَّ تصريحات العمل يمكن أن تكون مؤشراً خادعاً لأنها تقيس شرعنة التوظيف وتنظيمه، لكنَّها لا تشير بالضرورة إلى إنشاء الوظائف الحقيقة ولا تعني بالضرورة توفير جودة العمل. وهناك أدلة من تقييم الأثر السريع لمنظمة العمل الدولية في عام 2017 تشير[1] إلى أنَّ الحصول على تصريح العمل ليس إلا خطوة أولى تجاه تنظيم عمل العمال السوريين، ويجب على السياسات أن تحسن ظروف العمل أيضاً.

الحماية الاجتماعية والعمل الكريم

مع وجود بعض الاستثناءات، يطلب إلى أصحاب العمل في الأردن إشراك موظفيهم في الضمان الاجتماعي بغض النظر عن جنسياتهم، ويفرض عليهم القانون فعل ذلك بمجرد إصدار تصاريح العمل للعمال غير الأردنيين. لكن الأمر يختلف في قطاع الزراعة إذ يسمح للعمال السوريين بالحصول على تصاريح العمل من خلال الجمعيات التعاونية. وذلك من شأنه أن يفصلهم عن الكفيل ويغنيهم عن ضرورة الامتثال لشروط إدراج صاحب العمل للسوريين وتسجيلهم في منظومة النظام الاجتماعي. وكذلك الأمر في قطاع الإنشاءات إذ يسمح للسوريين الحصول على تصريح للعمل من خلال الاتحاد العام لنقابات عمال الأردن. ووفقاً لخطة الاتحاد، ليس على العمال أن يتسجلوا في منظومة الضمان الاجتماعي الوطنية، بل يجب عليهم بدلاً من ذلك أن يحصلوا على وثيقة تأمين تكلف ما يقارب خمسة وأربعين ديناراً أردنياً (65 دولاراً أمريكياً سنوياً).

ولم تتضح بعد مضمونات حماية الأعداد الكبيرة من العمال السوريين من خلال برامج التأمين ضد إصابة العمل، مع أنَّ هذه البرامج لا تقدم الحد الأدنى من تغطية الحماية الاجتماعية وفقاً لتعريف اتفاقية منظمة العمل الدولية رقم 102 المتعلقة بالمعايير الدنيا للضمان الاجتماعي.[2] إضافةً إلى ذلك، في حين تقتطع منظومات الضمان الاجتماعي مساهمات من أجور العمال للمساهمة في صندوق الضمان الاجتماعي الوطني، لا يجب ذلك الأمر في برامج التأمين. وتكتسب قضية حماية العمال السوريين من خلال الضمان الاجتماعي أهمية كبرى ليس لمجرد توفير المساواة في المعاملات، بل يتجاوز الأمر ذلك لأهمية توسعة الحماية الاجتماعية ضد البطالة لتغطي الأردنيين المتعطلين عن العمل والمتقاعدين ذلك أن العمال غير المسجلين يزيدون من عرض العمالة غير المحمية في حين يخفضون من حصة العمال المساهمين في الضمان الاجتماعي.

ولم يذكر أكثر من 20% من العمال السوريين الخاضعين للمقابلات ممن حصلوا على تصريحات العمل أنهم حصلوا على التغطية بالضمان الاجتماعي، في حين لم يعرف 13% منهم ما إذا كانوا ضمن هذه التغطية أم لا، ولم يعرفوا ما هي الفوائد التي تقدمها خطط الضمان الاجتماعي. أما من ناحية أصحاب العمل الأردنيين فكثيراً ممن خضعوا للمقابلة خلال تقييم الأثر السريع لم يعتقدوا بأنه يطلب إليهم أن يسجلوا العمال السوريين بالضمان الاجتماعي حتى في القطاعات التي كان القانون بالفعل يفرض عليهم ذلك.

ومنذ اتباع نظام تصاريح العمل الخاصة التي لا ترتبط بصاحب عمل ولا بمهنة محددة، انتقلت مسؤولية التأمين ضد الإصابة في العمل إلى أصحاب التصاريح أنفسهم. وتشير نقاشات مجموعات التركيز التي أقيمت مع العمال السوريين في قطاع الإنشاءات ممن حصلوا على الوظيفة من خلال مراكز خدمة التوظيف التابعة لمنظمة العمل الدولية في الأردن إلى تفاعلِ إيجابي على العموم تجاه التأمين (ولم يكونوا ينظرون إلى الكلفة على أنها تمنعهم من ذلك) لكنهم كانوا يفتقرن إلى المعرفة والدراية بأحكام التأمين ومزاياه. ومن غير الواضح أيضاً إذا ما كان العمال السوريون الشباب الذين يتمتعون بصحة جيدة سيرغبون في الاستثمار في وثائق التأمين، فلعلهم لا يتصورون أنَّ مخاطر المرض أو الإصابة أو الموت تمثل أي تهديد لهم.

التفتيش العمالي

يشير بحثنا إلى أنَّ مفتشي العمل يبدو بأنهم يضعون الأولويات على التحقق من أن جميع العمال الأجانب بمن فيهم العمال السوريون لديهم تصاريح العمل المطلوبة لكنَّ المفتشين لم يبذلوا الاهتمام ذاته للتحقق مما إذا كانت ظروف العمل كريمة أم لا. ومن بين العمال السوريين الخاضعين للمقابلات ممن كانت لديهم تصريحات العمل لم يُبلِغْ أكثر من 8% عن أي تفقدات حدثت على ظروف العمل التي يعيشونها ولا على تصريحات العمل خلال التفتيشات العمالية. ولذلك يبدو أنه لا يوجد أي مؤشرات على تحسن ظروف العمل بعد تنظيمها بالقانون. وعلى العموم، يذكر السوريون الحاصلون على تصاريح العمل أنَّ احتمالية توثيق عملهم من خلال العقود أصبحت أفضل، لكنَّ الأجور المدفوعة بالساعة، وأحكام السلامة العامة، والعلاقات مع أصحاب العمل لم تتحسن بالضرورة. وتشير الأدلة التي جمعناها في هذا البحث إلى أن السوريين الحاصلين على تصاريح العمل يعملون حالياً لفترات تتجاوز الحد الأعلى المسموح به للعمل الأسبوعي وهو أربعون ساعة، مع أن أحدا منهم لم يذكر أنه حصل على تعويض إزاء ذلك العمل الإضافي. أمَّا نقاشات مجموعات التركيز، فأظهرت صورة أكثر تعقيداً. فقد أراد بعض العمال السوريين العمل لساعات أكثر لكي يتمكنوا من زيادة دخلهم حتى لو أنهم عرفوا أنهم قد لا يدفع لهم أصلاً إزاء ذلك العمل الإضافي. وهناك أخرون مع أنهم حصلوا على إحاطة بإجراءات السلامة والصحة المهنية فضلوا عدم ارتداء معدات الوقاية الشخصية لأنهم وجدوها تعيقهم في أثناء عملهم. وذكر أصحاب العمل أيضاً أنَّ الغرامات الحاصلة لعدم الامتثال لم تكن قوية، أو لم تطبق على الدوام، وأنَّ أحكام الصحة والسلامة المهنية لم تخضع للتفتيش خلال الجولات التفتيشية، وتحدثوا أيضاً عن وجود حالة من غياب التناغم في إنفاذ قوانين العمل.

العثور على التوازن الصحيح

لقد سعت الحكومة الأردنية إلى تسهيل توظيف العمال السوريين ولأجل ذلك الغرض اتخذت خطوات استباقية بتحويل توافد اللاجئين السوريين إلى فرصة إنمائية. ويجب على سياسات الحكومة  أن تستمر في الترويج لظروف العمل الكريمة التي يجب أن تضمن أيضاً آليات تسعى تدريجياً إلى إدخال العمال ضمن منظمات الحماية الاجتماعية الوطنية. وفي بعض القطاعات، قد يستفاد من وضوح المعلومات المتعلقة بالنواحي المتأتية من تغطية الضمان الاجتماعي أو التأمين على العمل بالإضافة إلى مستحقات العمال. ولابد أيضاً من توفير الاتصالات الواضحة حول ما يتعلق بمنظومة الكفالة الاجتماعية ككل وحول اعتمادها على مساهمات العمال. وينبغي للتفتيش العملي أن يمثل دوراً أكثر بروزاً في الترويج للعمل الكريم إذا ما وُجِّه المفتشون إلى الطريقة التي تمكنهم من تقديم التوصيات المهمة لأصحاب العمل والعمال لمساعدتهم في الامتثال بالنواحي التنظيمية والمعايير بدلاً من أن يقتصر دور المفتشين على دور الإنفاذ. ولا شك أنَّ العقوبات المعقولة، والخاضعة للتنظيم القانوني عند الضرورة قد تمثل دوراً طيباً في تشجيع الامتثال.

ويمكن الاستفادة أيضا من تطبيق مراجعة شاملة لتصاريح العمل على ضوء معايير العمل الدولية واجبة التطبيق[3] لأنَّ ذلك سيأتي بالفائدة على العمال وأصحاب العمل وممثلي الحكومة أيضاً. ولا بد من بذل مزيد من الجهود لتحديد التحديات التي يواجهها السوريون في الحصول على التصاريح العمل، ولا يقل أهمية عن ذلك تقديم الدعم للحكومة الأردنية لإيجاد التوازن الصحيح بين الحوافز والعقوبات التي سوف تخدم مصالح أصحاب العمل والمواطنين الأردنيين والعمال السوريين على حد سواء.

مها قطاع kattaa@ilo.org

منسقة مشروع الاستجابة لأزمة اللاجئين السوريين في عمَّان

ميريدث بيرن byrne@ilo.org

مسؤول فني في مجال الهجرة العمالية

منظمة العمل الدولية  www.ilo.org

 

[1] منظمة العمل الدولية (2017)، تصاريح عمل اللاجئين السوريين وتشغيلهم في الأردن: نحو تنظيم عمل اللاجئين السوريين

http://www.ilo.org/beirut/publications/WCMS_559711/lang--ar/index.htm

بني هذا التقييم على أساس استبيان أجاب عليه 450 عاملاً سورياً (نصفهم ممن يحملون تصريحات العمل ونصفهم لا يحمل هذه التصريحات) في قطاعات الخدمات والزراعة والأعمال الإنشائية إضافة إلى مجموعتي تركيز.

[2]http://www.ilo.org/dyn/normlex/en/f?p=NORMLEXPUB:12100:0::NO::P12100_INSTRUMENT_ID:312247

[3] ILO (2016) Guiding principles on the access of refugees and other forcibly displaced persons to the labour market. Principle 14 (d)

(المبادئ التوجيهية لتمكين وصول اللاجئين وغيرهم من المهجَّرين قسراً إلى سوق العمل، المبدأ 14 (د))

http://ilo.org/wcmsp5/groups/public/@ed_protect/@protrav/@migrant/documents/genericdocument/wcms_536440.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Quality of work for Syrian refugees in Jordan

Work permits have been at the centre of the policy debate on the hosting of Syrian refugees in Jordan. This approach needs also to involve ensuring decent working conditions for all.

The issuing of over 100,000 work permits to Syrian refugees in Jordan as of May 2018 – following a joint commitment by the Government of Jordan and the international community – is in itself an important achievement. However, work permits can also be a deceptive indicator because they measure the legalisation and formalisation of employment but not necessarily actual job creation nor the quality of work. Evidence from a 2017 International Labour Organization (ILO) rapid impact assessment[1] suggests that obtaining a work permit is only the first step towards formalising Syrian workers. Policies must also improve working conditions.

Social protection and decent work

With few exceptions, employers in Jordan are required to enrol their employees in social security, irrespective of nationality, and must do so for new employees soon after their work permits are issued. In the agriculture sector, however, Syrian workers are permitted to obtain work permits through cooperatives. This de-links them from a sponsor and thereby also bypasses the requirement for employers to register Syrians in the social security system. Similarly, in the construction sector, Syrians may obtain a work permit through the General Federation of Jordanian Trade Unions (GFJTU). Under the GFJTU scheme, workers are not required to register with the national social security system but must instead obtain an insurance policy, costing approximately 45 Jordanian dinar (US$65) annually.

The implications of protecting a large number of Syrian workers through work injury insurance schemes are not yet clear, although insurance schemes do not provide minimum social protection coverage as defined by ILO’s Social Security Convention No. 102.[2] Furthermore, while social security systems deduct contributions from workers’ wages to contribute to national social security funds, insurance schemes do not operate in the same way. Protecting Syrian workers through social security is important not only for securing equality of treatment but also for extending social protection coverage to unemployed and retired Jordanians – because unregistered workers increase the supply of unprotected labour, while decreasing the share of workers making contributions to social security funds.

Only 20% of interviewed Syrian workers who had work permits reported being covered by social security; 13% did not know whether they were covered, nor what benefits social security provided. Many Jordanian employers interviewed during the rapid impact assessment did not believe that they were required to register Syrian workers in social security, even in sectors where they were in fact required to do so.

Since the adoption of non-employer and non-profession specific work permits, the responsibility of insuring against injury at work has shifted to the permit holders. Early focus group discussions held with Syrian construction workers who had obtained employment via ILO Employment Service Centres across Jordan indicate a generally positive reaction to having insurance (and that they do not consider the cost prohibitive) but that there is a lack of awareness of the provisions and benefits of insurance. It is also unclear whether Syrian workers who are young and in good health will want to invest in insurance policies as they may not perceive the risk of illness, injury or death as being relevant to them.

Labour inspection

Our research suggests that labour inspectors appear to prioritise verifying that all foreign workers, including Syrian workers, have the required permits but pay less attention to decent work conditions. Of those interviewed Syrian workers who had permits, only 8% reported that their working conditions, as well as work permits, were checked during labour inspections. It would seem therefore that not all indicators of decent work have improved with formalisation. Overall, Syrians with work permits do report an increased likelihood of having written work contracts; however, hourly wages, safety provisions and relations with employers are not necessarily any better. Our evidence suggests that Syrians with permits are actually working in excess of the standard 40-hour work week, although none reported receiving overtime compensation. Focus group discussions, however, showed a more complex picture. Some Syrian workers wanted to work more hours so that they could increase their income, even though they knew they might not be compensated for the additional work. Despite having been briefed on occupational safety and health (OSH) procedures, others preferred not to wear protective gear, finding that it got in the way of their work. Employers reported that fines for non-compliance were not substantial or evenly applied, that OSH provisions were not usually checked during inspections, and that there was a general lack of consistency in the enforcement of labour laws.

Finding the right balance

By facilitating the employment of Syrian workers, the Government of Jordan has taken proactive steps to turn the arrival of Syrian refugees into a development opportunity. Government policies must continue to promote decent work conditions which should include mechanisms that gradually bring workers into national social protection systems. In some sectors, clear information on the benefits of social security coverage or employment insurance, as well as workers’ entitlements, may be of use. Clear communication is also needed around the social security system as a whole and its reliance on workers’ contributions. Labour inspection could also play a more prominent role in promoting decent work if inspectors were better equipped to provide relevant recommendations to employers and workers to help them comply with regulations and standards, rather than only playing an enforcement role. Reasonable and well-regulated penalties can, when necessary, play a part in encouraging compliance.

A comprehensive review of work permits’ accordance with applicable international labour standards[3] could be of use for workers, employers and government representatives. More work needs to be done to identify the challenges Syrians face in obtaining work permits but of equal importance is to support the Jordanian government to find the right balance of incentives and sanctions that serve the interests of employers, Jordanian citizens and Syrian workers alike.

 

Maha Kattaa kattaa@ilo.org
Syria Response Coordinator in Amman

Meredith Byrne byrne@ilo.org
Technical Officer in Labour Migration

International Labour Organization www.ilo.org


[1] International Labour Organization (2017) Work permits and employment of Syrian refugees in Jordan: toward formalising the work of Syrian refugees
http://www.ilo.org/wcmsp5/groups/public/---arabstates/---ro-beirut/documents/publication/wcms_559151.pdf
This assessment was based on questionnaires completed by 450 Syrian workers (half of whom had work permits and half of whom did not) in the service, agriculture and construction sectors, and on two focus groups.

[3] ILO (2016) Guiding principles on the access of refugees and other forcibly displaced persons to the labour market. Principle 14 (d) http://ilo.org/wcmsp5/groups/public/@ed_protect/@protrav/@migrant/documents/genericdocument/wcms_536440.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview