من لاجئ إلى موظف: الدمج في العمل في المناطق الريفية في الدانمارك

أطلقت جمعية الصليب الأحمر الدنماركية برنامج المسار السريع الذي يركز على توظيف اللاجئين في مرحلة مبكرة ويقدم الفرصة لاستكشاف العلاقة ما بين التوظيف المحلي للاجئين واستدامة الحياة الريفية.

منذ عام 2015، حوَّلت الدانمارك توظيف اللاجئين إلى استراتيجية وطنية. فمن خلال التوقيع على اتفاقية ثلاثية الأطراف مع اتحاد أصحاب العمل الدانماركيين والحكومة المحلية في الدنمارك (نقابة البلديات) سرعان ما انتشرت هذه الطريقة المختلفة في التفكير حول الاندماج في جميع أنحاء البلديات والشركات في الدنمارك.

ومثال على ذلك مبادرة أساسية أطلقتها ثمانية من بلديات كوبنهاجن لتأسيس برامج التدريب الميداني للاجئين ووزعت لهذا الغرض المنشورات الترويجية في كل أنحاء العاصمة كوبنهاجن. كما تأسست مبادرات التوظيف المستهدفة للاجئين في الشركات الكبرى مثل آي بي إم، ومايكروسوفت ودانفوس وجراندفوس وأريفا وإن سي سي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لتسهيل عمل تقييم أسرع لكفاية اللاجئين في العمل، رعت الحكومة خطاً هاتفياً ساخناً لتقدم من خلاله المساعدات للسلطات البلدية خاصةً لمساعدة الموظفين، ومن ذلك على سبيل المثال توفير خدمات ترجمة وثائق اللاجئين الثبوتية إلى اللغة الدانماركية لإتاحة الفرصة أمام الوقوف على فهم أفضل لخلفية لاجئ معين.

وهناك ارتباط كبير بين كثير من هذه المبادرات فيما بينها وبين برنامج أطلق حديثاً موجه بالممارسات وبمبادرة من الحكومة ويُعنَى بالتعليم التوظيف، أو ما يسمى برنامج تعليم الاندماج الأساسي الذي يضم مجموعة من برامج التدريب المدرسية والعملية ويهدف على وجه الخصوص إلى محاذاة كفايات اللاجئين مع الطلب الموجود في سوق العمل الدنماركي. لكنَّ هذا البرنامج وإن كان موجهاً نحو اللاجئين المعترف بهم فإنه يبدأ بمرحلة طلب اللجوء. 

برنامج المسار السريع

برنامج المسار السريع واحد من الجهود الرامية إلى تسهيل وصول اللاجئين المبكر إلى سوق العمل المحلي في أثناء انتظارهم في مرحلة طلب اللجوء، وقد اختبر هذا البرنامج ونفذ في خمس بلديات دنماركية ما بين عامي 2015 و2017. وعادة ما يوزع اللاجئون في الدانمارك بين 98 بلدية، ما يؤدي بالنتيجة إلى عزل المنطقة المحلية التي طلبوا فيها اللجوء عن المنطقة المحلية التي قدموا إليها ليعيشوا فيها كلاجئين. أما في برنامج المسار السريع، فيوقع طالب اللجوء على دخوله في البرنامج في مركز للجوء تديره جمعية الصليب الأحمر الدانماركية، ثم تضع سلطة الهجرة المشارك إذا ما مُنِحَ صفة اللجوء في المجتمع المحلي الذي تقدم فيه بطلب للجوء فيه. وعندما لا يكون طالب اللجوء شخصاً عابراً خلال الدولة إلى دولة أخرى بل لديه احتمالية بأن يبقى لاجئاً فيها، فعادة ما يحفز ذلك السكان المحليين واللاجئين على حد سواء بالاستثمار في بناء علاقتهم المتبادلة فيما بينهم.

ويستعد طالبو اللجوء للمسار السريع عن طريق خضوعهم لتقييم خاص بمهاراتهم. ويدوم برنامج المسار السريع ثمانية أسابيع ثم يقدم للمشاركين تدريب عملي تعريفي بالثقافة الدنماركية والمهارات اللغوية والتدريب المهني، ويقدم لهم أيضاً فرص التدريب الميداني المحلي ومقدمة حول أساليب البحث عن الوظائف والمعلومات الخاصة بثقافة العمل المحلية وبناء الشبكات واستدامة التحفيز. وإذا ما قدمت هذه الجهود كلها معاً فإنها تمثل جهداً كاملاً شمولياً يهدف إلى ربط إدماج التوظيف بالانتماء المحلي. وخلال أشهر الانتظار في مراكز التقدم بطلبات اللجوء، تسهل هذه العملية وجود الإحساس المهم بالغرض. وقد يكون للمقيم الجديد وظيفة أو تدريب داخلي يرغب في الاستمرار به عندما ينتقل إلى المجتمع المحلي، وهذا ما يجعل عملية الانتقال من وضع طالب اللجوء إلى صفة اللجوء نفسها عملية أكثر ديمومة واستمراراً بدلاً من أن تكون سلسلة من البدايات الجديدة.

وفي السابق، كانت البلديات في الغالب تشير إلى أن اللاجئين كانوا يصلون حاملين معهم توقعات غير واقعية حول فرص السكن والوظائف. لكنَّ إحدى التعليقات التي جاءت من كلا مجتمعي البلديات واللاجئين تفيدنا أن اللاجئين الذين دخلوا برنامج المسار السريع أقل إحباطًا وأكثر واقعية عدا عن أنهم على العموم أقل ارتباكاً وأكثر حافزية وأكثر ثقة في بداية حياتهم الجديدة في المنطقة المحلية التي أصبحت معروفة جيداً لهم.

ومن بين المشاركين الذين بلغ عددهم سبعين مشاركاً عبر هاتين السنتين ممن حصلوا على صفة اللجوء أصبح 61% منهم يعيلون أنفسهم بأنفسهم، و9% انتقلوا إلى بلديات أخرى لأسباب مختلفة، و4% الآن في إجازة الأمومة، و26% استمروا في تدريباتهم الداخلية التي تجهزهم الآن للحصول على الوظائف.

تنفيذ البرنامج في المجتمعات الريفية ومجتمعات الجزر

في عام 2015، نَفَّذَ فريق من علماء الإنسان من جامعة كوبنهاجن بحثاً حول المواجهات بين مراكز اللجوء والمجتمعات الريفية[1] وتبين لهم وجود حالات من القلق التي اعترت المجتمعات وتخوفاتهم من وقوع الجرائم وانخفاض أسعار البيوت، لكنَّهم في الوقت نفسه أبدوا تفاؤلاً محلياً مدهشاً إزاء كل هذه المخاوف. وفي المناطق الريفية التي تشكل فيها مراكز اللجوء جزءاً ناجحاً من النسيج الاجتماعي إضافة إلى حضانات الأطفال، والمدارس، والمتاجر الكبرى، والجمعيات المحلية، فقد نظر إليها على أنها جانب معزز للاستدامة المحلية.

وهناك تغيرات تطرأ على مقاربة الدنمارك في التعامل مع توظيف اللاجئين وقد بدأت تحدث ضمن جزء من الحوار المتنامي حول هجرة سكان الريف في الدانمارك بما فيها مجتمعات جزرها. فجزيرة بورنهولم على سبيل المثال فقدت قرابة 20% من حجم سكانها منذ عام 1965. أما جزر سامسو وأيرو ولايسو وتجمع الجزر الدانماركية الصغيرة فقد أصبحت بعد ذلك نشطة في الترويج لأنفسها على أن تكون مواقع جذب مناسبة لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين.

وفي مارس/آذار 2018 بدأ برنامج المسار السريع في جزيرة بورنهولم وهي جزيرة مستضعفة من الناحيتين الاقتصادية والاجتماعية يقطن فيها 40 ألفاً، وتقع بعيداً عن الدانمارك الحضرية في بحر البلطيق. ونتج استضعاف هذه الجزيرة لعدة أسباب ليس أقلها الهجرة منها وغياب العمالة الماهرة. ومن خلال المقابلات التي أجريناها في جزيرتي بورنهولم وسامسو في عامي 2016 و2017 تبين لنا ثلاث نتائج تحدد التحديات التي تنتظر الجزيرتين. وبينما أجريت المقابلات على ضوء مبادرة المسار السريع، فقد تركزت أكثر على العموم على الاستفسار عن المواجهة التي كانت بين اللاجئين والإدماج وسوق العمل المحلي.

وغالباً ما كان التحدي الأكبر والأكثر تكراراً هو التحدي اللغوي، ولا غرابة في ذلك، فمع أن اكتساب قليلاً من اللغة الدانماركية بما يكفي للتفاهم مع الغير في مكان العمل عنصر مهم لضمان استقرار الوظيفة للاجئين هناك حاجة ضرورية لاستمرار التطوير اللغوي إذا ما أراد اللاجئ أن يحقق التقدم في المسار المهني إضافة إلى توسيع مستوى التفاعلات بينه وبين الناس في إطار العمل.

أما التحدي الثاني فكان يتعلق بعدم وضوح ما إذا كان اللاجئون سيبقون في المجتمع المحلي بعد انتهاء مدة تصنيفهم الإجبارية لثلاث سنوات. وبالنسبة للمنطقة البلدية المحلية هناك فرق مهم وكبير بين طالب اللجوء واللاجئ. ومع أن الدولة تتولى مسؤولية جميع النفقات المرتبطة بطالبي اللجوء تبقى النفقات المرتبطة باللاجئين مسؤولية البلديات المحلية. وفي المقابلات التي أجريناها مع ممثلين مع بلدية سامسو كان أهم سؤال مطروح يعكس المخاوف حول الكيفية التي سيتمكن فيها الاستثمار المحلي في توظيف اللاجئين في الوقت نفسه من أن يكون جزءاً من مقاومة الهجرة من الريف.

وثالثاً هناك حجم أماكن العمل وأنماطها، فهي من العناصر المهمة في تسهيل الاندماج. وعادة ما تكون أماكن العمل كبيرة الحجم قادرة على إيكال موضوع توظيف اللاجئين إلى بعض الموظفين، وغالباً ما يكون ذلك على أساس طوعي ضمن مهمة متخصصة في المنظمة. أما أماكن العمل صغيرة الحجم، فمن الواضح أنها لا تتمتع بالوسائل التنظيمية نفسها للعمل مع اللاجئين. وإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك طلب جاد على العمالة الماهرة وليس على العمالة غير الماهرة. ويعني ذلك أنَّ اللاجئين عندما يأتون كعمال مهرة فإنهم يمثلون دوراً محورياً في الاستدامة المحلية، أما اللاجئون الآخرون الذين يبحثون عن الأعمال التي لا تتطلب مهارة فهم في خانة المنافسة مع الدانماركيين المحليين. لكنَّ الحاجة ما زالت قائمة لإجراء مزيد من البحوث من أجل إدراك وجهات نظر المواطنين المحليين واللاجئين.

وكذلك ينظر إلى البلدية التي تحقق أداء إحصائياً أفضل من ناحية إدماج اللاجئين في سوق العمل على أنها قصة نجاح فيما يتعلق بالإدماج. أما عند الحديث عن الريف، فاللاجئون في الأرياف عادة ما يكونون بأعداد ليست ذات دلالة إحصائية ولذلك تُهمَل هذه الأعداد من الدراسات الاستقصائية. ومثال ذلك بلديات جزيرتي سامسو وأيرو اللتين أبديتا مشاركة كبيرة مع اللاجئين وتأثرتا بهم، ومع ذلك لا تظهران في خرائط المقارنة عند الحديث عن توظيف اللاجئين في الدنمارك. ويعني ذلك تغييب الجزيرتين والدروس المستفادة منهما في النقاشات الدائرة حول الإدماج. وإضافة إلى ذلك تفترض الإحصاءات في أغلب الأحيان أنَّ الوظائف المستقرة والإدماج الناجح غالباً ما يرتبط أحدهما بالآخر، لكننا لا نكاد نعرف شيئاً عما إذا كان هذا الارتباط ينعكس واقعاً ملموساً وكيفية وقوعه. ومن هنا، يعرض برنامج المسار السريع الفرصة لاستكشاف الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة.

مارتن ليدستروب ledstrup@sdu.dk

باحث لمرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه، مركز دراسات الشرق الأوسط المعاصرة، جامعة جنوب الدانمارك  www.sdu.dk

ماري لارسن marl@redcross.dk

 مستشار تنموي، الصليب الأحمر الدانماركي http://bit.ly/DanishRedCross-asylum

 

[1] Larsen B R, Whyte Z and Fog Olwig K (2015) Den nye landbefolkning: Asylcentrenes betydning og konsekvens for lokale fællesskaber i danske landdistrikter, Institut for Antropologi, Københavns Universitet

(السكان الريفيون الجدد: أهمية مراكز اللجوء وتأثيرها على المجتمعات المحلية في المناطق الريفية الدانماركية)

http://antropologi.ku.dk/Forskning/nyeste_publikation/den-nye-landbefolkning/Rapport__Web_Den_nye_landbefolkning_2015.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

From refugee to employee: work integration in rural Denmark

The launch of Red Cross Denmark’s Fast Track programme, which focuses on early refugee employment, offers an opportunity to explore the relationship between local employment of refugees and the sustainability of rural life.

Since 2015 Denmark has turned the employment of refugees into a national strategy. Through a tripartite agreement with the Confederation of Danish Employers and Local Government Denmark (the union of municipalities) this reconfiguration of thinking about integration has reverberated throughout municipal and corporate Denmark.

For example, a major initiative was set up by the eight municipalities of Copenhagen to establish refugee internships, for which promotional posters have been distributed around the capital. Employment initiatives aimed at refugees have also been established in larger companies such as IBM, Microsoft, Danfoss, Grundfoss, Arriva and NCC. In addition, in order to facilitate quicker assessment of refugees’ work competence, the government has sponsored a phone hotline to provide assistance to municipal authorities, in particular to help employees – for example, by providing translation of a refugee’s documentation into Danish – to understand the educational background of a particular refugee.

Many of these initiatives are tied together by a newly launched, practice-oriented and state-initiated programme of employment education, the ‘Integrationsgrundsuddannelse’ (IGU), or ‘basic integration education’, which – through a combination of formal schooling and practical internships – is aimed specifically at aligning competencies of refugees with demand in the Danish labour market. But while the IGU is oriented towards recognised refugees, the new Red Cross initiative begins in the asylum phase. 

The Fast Track programme

The Fast Track programme is an effort to facilitate early access to the local labour market for refugees while they are still in the asylum phase, and it has been tested and implemented in five Danish municipalities between 2015 and 2017. Normally refugees in Denmark are distributed across its 98 municipalities, in effect detaching the locality of where they claimed asylum from the locality where they come to live as refugees. With Fast Track, however, the asylum seeker signs up for the programme at a Danish Red Cross-run asylum centre and the immigration authority places the participant, if granted refugee status, in the local community in which they have claimed asylum. When the asylum seeker is not someone in transit but has the potential to remain as a refugee, it naturally motivates both local people and refugees to invest in their mutual relations.

Asylum seekers prepare for Fast Track by undertaking a skills assessment. The eight-week Fast Track programme then provides participants with a hands-on introduction to Danish culture, language skills, vocational training and potential local internships, techniques for job search, information about local work culture, network building and sustaining motivation. Taken together, these represent a holistic effort to link employment integration and local belonging. Throughout the months of waiting in asylum centres, this facilitates a crucial sense of purpose. The new resident might have a job or internship to continue when moving into the local community, thus making the transition from asylum seeker to refugee more a continuous process than a series of new beginnings.

Previously, municipalities often reported that refugees arrived with unrealistic expectations about housing and employment opportunities. But according to feedback from both municipalities and refugees, we have found that refugees who have been through the Fast Track programme are less disappointed and more realistic, as well as, generally speaking, less confused, more motivated and altogether more confident in beginning their life in a locality that is already well known to them.

Of the 70 participants over these two years who were granted refugee status, 61% are now self-supporting, 9% have moved to other municipalities for various reasons, 4% are on maternity leave, and 26% have continued internships that are preparing them for mainstream jobs.

Implementation in rural and island communities

In 2015 a team of anthropologists from the University of Copenhagen concluded research on the encounters between asylum centres and rural societies.[1] They found anxieties about crime and declining house prices, but at the same time these familiar concerns were entangled with a surprising local optimism. In rural areas where asylum centres successfully form part of the social fabric, alongside nurseries, schools, supermarkets and local associations, they were seen as a much-needed boost to local sustainability.

Changes in Denmark’s approach to refugee employment are taking place as part of a growing conversation about the depopulation of rural Denmark, including its island communities. The island of Bornholm, for instance, has lost nearly 20% of its population since 1965. The islands of Samsø, Ærø, Læsø and the Association of Danish Small Islands have therefore actively been promoting themselves as locations that are particularly suitable for asylum seekers and refugees.

In March 2018 the Fast Track programme began on Bornholm, a socio-economically vulnerable island of 40,000 inhabitants, located far away from urban Denmark, in the Baltic Sea. Bornholm’s vulnerability is due not least to depopulation and lack of skilled labour. Our interviews on the islands of Bornholm and Samsø, conducted in 2016 and 2017, presented three main findings that identify the challenges that lie ahead. While the interviews were conducted in light of the Fast Track initiative, they concentrated more generally on asking about the encounter between refugees, integration, and the local labour market.

The first and most often repeated challenge, perhaps unsurprisingly, is language; although having sufficient Danish to function in the workplace is key to stable employment for refugees, continuous language development is needed for career advancement as well as to extend interactions beyond the context of work.

The second challenge relates to the uncertainty around whether refugees will stay in the local community after the mandatory three-year placement period. For the local municipality, there is an important difference between asylum seekers and refugees. While the state is responsible for all expenses connected with asylum seekers, those expenses connected with refugees are the responsibility of local municipalities. In interviews with representatives from the municipality of Samsø, the most important question raised was rooted in deeper concerns about how local investment in refugee employment can at the same time be part of the struggle against depopulation.

Thirdly, the type and size of workplaces are significant in terms of facilitating integration. Typically, larger workplaces are able to assign refugee employment to certain employees, often on a voluntary basis, as a specialised task within the organisation. Smaller workplaces obviously do not have the same organisational means to work with refugees. In addition, there is an acute demand for skilled labour but not for unskilled labour. This means that when refugees come as skilled workers, they play a crucial role in local sustainability, but when refugees search for unskilled jobs they compete with local Danes. More research is needed, however, in order to understand more fully the resulting perspectives of locals and refugees.

A municipality that performs statistically better in terms of including refugees in the labour market is also seen as a success with regard to integration. But because rural refugee populations are often too small for statistical research, they are often not included in surveys. For instance, while the island municipalities of Samsø and Ærø have been deeply engaged with and affected by refugees, they are not included on comparative maps of refugee employment in Denmark. This means that the islands and what we can learn from them do not form part of discussions around the question of integration. In addition, stable employment and successful integration are often assumed in statistics to be mutually dependent but we know nearly nothing about whether and how this connection unfolds in daily life. The Fast Track programme offers an opportunity to explore just that.

 

Martin Ledstrup ledstrup@sdu.dk
Postdoctoral researcher, Centre for Contemporary Middle East Studies, University of Southern Denmark
www.sdu.dk

Marie Larsen marl@redcross.dk
Developmental consultant, Danish Red Cross http://bit.ly/DanishRedCross-asylum


[1] Larsen B R, Whyte Z and Fog Olwig K (2015) Den nye landbefolkning: Asylcentrenes betydning og konsekvens for lokale fællesskaber i danske landdistrikter, Institut for Antropologi, Københavns Universitet http://antropologi.ku.dk/Forskning/nyeste_publikation/den-nye-landbefolkning/Rapport__Web_Den_nye_landbefolkning_2015.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview