إقامة برامج سبل كسب الرزق وأثرها في الهجرة الثانوية

لا بُدَّ من تحسين فرص الوصول إلى العمل بالإضافة إلى وضع برامج سبل كسب الرزق ذاتها إذا ما أريد تحسين حياة اللاجئين الإريتريين في إثيوبيا، وتحسين سبل كسب أرزاقهم.

سعياً وراء الحصول على قدر أكبر من الحرية والفرص، فرَّ آلاف الإريتريين من بلادهم في السنوات الأخيرة الماضية وعبر كثير منهم الحدود نحو إثيوبيا. ووفقاً لإحدى تقييمات المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في عام 2016 وصل عدد اللاجئين الإريتريين المسجلين المقيمين في إثيوبيا حوالي 800 ألف. لكن غيرهم لم تتوقف رحلتهم هناك بل كانت الهجرة الثانوية لكثير من الإريتريين من إثيوبيا من المسارات المدروسة إذ هناك من الأدلة ما يشير إلى أن ثلثي الإريتريين المقيمين في إثيوبيا استمروا في رحلتهم في الهجرة في عام 2015.[1]

وقد دأبت المنظمات الإنسانية منذ أمد بعيد على تقديم برامجها الخاصة بسبل كسب الرزق في مخيمات اللاجئين في إثيوبيا، إذ كانت تقدم رأس المال لمساعدة المشاركين في تأسيس مشروعاتهم الصغرى أو رفدهم بالمهارات المهنية في قطاع معين مثل الخياطة أو مهارات الحاسوب، أو المهارات التعليمية الأساسية مثل الحساب. ومع أنَّ مثل هذه التدخلات سعت إلى تحقيق النتائج الإنسانية والإنمائية (بتوليد التحسينات في رفاههم المشارك)، هناك مسوغات كبيرة تقدم باسم الرقابة على الهجرة، وعلى الأخص الرغبة في منع استمرار تنقل اللاجئين وهجرتهم الثانوية. ومن خلال المقابلات التي وصل عددها 63 مقابلة عقدناها مع الإريتريين عبر مختلف المواقع في إثيوبيا، نظرنا في الدرجة التي تؤثر بها مثل هذه التدابير على الطريقة التي يخطط الناس لمستقبلهم.[2]

الأسس المنطقية لبرامج سبل كسب الرزق وقيودها

تعد برامج سبل كسب الرزق مثالاً على إحدى تدابير السياسات المصممة من أجل توجيه اتخاذ القرار بالهجرة على المستوى الفردي. ومن أهم أهداف برامج سبل كسب الرزق منع الحركة من الحدود بناء على الافتراض بأن توفير مزيد من الفرص الاقتصادية والأمن للأشخاص الذين يعيشون في البلدان المرسلة للاجئين سوف يُمَكِّنُ من إيجاد بديل عن الهجرة (التي إن حدثت غالباً ما تكون غير نظامية) على أمل أن تصبح الهجرة أقل جاذبية نسبياً.

ولا بد من الإشارة أولاً إلى أن بحثنا اقتصر في دراسته على عينة واحدة من أنواع محددة من البرامج (تركزت أساساً على مبادرات الإقراض والتدريب المهني) وعلى ضوء ذلك تشير الأدلة التي جمعناها بالدراسة إلى أن هذه التدخلات وإن كانت قادرة على مساعدة الناس في تلبية حاجاتهم يبدو أنها أقل أثراً في التغيير التحويلي في سبل كسب أرزاق الناس أو خطط هجرتهم.

وقد تحدث بعض المستجيبين في هذه الدراسة في مخيم عدي هروش الواقع شمال البلاد عن الدعم المالي الذي تسلموه من المنظمات غير الحكومية، وقد استخدموا ذلك الدعم لإنشاء مشروعاتهم الصغرى مثل المتاجر الصغيرة ضمن المخيم، أو شراء الماشية ورعيها. وأبدى كثير منهم ترحيباً لهذا الدعم، إذ قال أحد الرجال على سبيل المثال إنه أصبح الآن لديه عربة يقودها حصان ويقدم من خلالها خدمة التنقل بعد أن حصل على قرض أولي لتمويلها، فيما قالت أمٌّ عزباء إنها تمكنت من خلال الدعم المقدم من المنظمة غير الحكومية تمويل مزرعة للدجاج وأن أمورها على ما يرام فيها.

لكنَّ غيرهم من الذين خضعوا للمقابلة ذكروا أيضاً أنَّ هذه البرامج لا تخلوا من قيود. ومثال ذلك إحدى النساء التي استخدمت القرض الذي حصلت عليه لتأسيس متجرها الصغير ضمن المخيم فكانت مشكلتها الرئيسية الإشباع في السوق الذي جعل من الصعب تحقيق الأرباح أو التوسع في المتجر. والفكرة هنا أن المخيمات وإن كانت قادرة على إنشاء اقتصاداتها الخاصة، فمن الواضح تماماً أن الأسواق ضمنها غالباً ما كانت محدودة النطاق، وأن الفرص التي تقدمها ضئيلة جداً في تجميع المنافع المعقولة.

ولاحظنا نمطاً مشابهاً للتدريب المهارات والأعمال المهنية، فغالباً ما عبر المستجيبون عن امتنانهم ورضاهم بالخبرة التي حصلوا عليها، لكنهم في الوقت نفسه قالوا إن ذلك لم يكن له أثر قوي على المدى البعيد. ويشير بحثنا إلى عدم قدرة اللاجئين على ترجمة المهارات المكتسبة إلى واقع عملي بحيث يستخدمونها في البيئة الأوسع، وتُعزَى هذه العوائق أساساً إلى التشريعات القائمة. فقد وصف لنا أحد الرجال أنه قد خطط للحصول على رخصة للقيادة والبدء بالعمل كسائق لسيارة الأجرة قبل أن يسمع من إدارة شؤون اللاجئين والعاملين ورفاقه الإريتريين أنه كلاجئ لا يحق له المشاركة في الاقتصاد الرسمي، وأنه لا يسمح له قيادة سيارات الأجرة. أما غيره، فيقولون إن نطاق برامج التدريب المتاحة حالياً لا يفي باهتماماتهم وتطلعاتهم، وذلك ما يعيق الإقبال عليها.

وفي نهاية المطاف، نلاحظ أن هذه الأشكال من دعم سبل كسب الرزق لا تعالج إلا الأعراض بدلاً من أن تعالج المشكلات الهيكلية الضمنية للفقر والتهميش الاقتصادي اللذين يواجهان اللاجئين الإريتريين، وهناك احتمالية بأن يدفع ذلك كثيراً منهم للرغبة في المضي قدماً نحو هجرة ثانوية. وتتضمن هذه العوامل الضمنية على وجه الخصوص فقدان اللاجئين لحقهم في الحصول على وظيفة رسمية تمنح أجوراً أفضل وتطلب مهارات أكبر. فقد أخبرتنا إحدى النساء قائلة: "في هولندا تستطيع أن تحصل على الوظيفة بأجور أفضل فيخبرني زوجي إنَّ هناك فرصة أفضل للوصول إلى خدمات البنية التحتية الأساسية في هولندا أكثر مما عليه الحال في إثيوبيا [....] أنا أعرف أنه من الصعب أن أسافر إلى هولندا." وأوضح رجل آخر الأمور التي تمنعه من الاستمرار قدماً قائلاً: "عندما لا أعمل يستنفد ذلك صبري، وقد أسعى إلى المضي قدماً في تحركات خطرة نحو أوروبا لكنني آمل أن أحصل على وظيفة وألا أحتاج إلى المخاطرة تلك" فما لم تستحدث تحسينات ملموسة في وصول اللاجئين إلى العمل الكريم ذلك العمل الذي يمكن الاعتماد عليه، والذي يتحصلون منه على أجر كاف، ويستخدمون فيه مهاراتهم، لن يتمكن الدعم الذي تقدمه برامج سبل كسب الرزق من تخفيض الهجرة الثانوية بأي شكل من الأشكال.

تحسين برامج سبل كسب الرزق

لكي تصبح تدخلات سبل كسب الرزق أكثر مواءمة لحاجات المستفيدين المقصودين ولعوامل التغيير في البيئة المحلية، لا بد من بذل الجهود لتقييم (أو إعادة تقييم) ما إذا كان التدريب المقدم له صلة بالحاجات، وما إذا كان بالإمكان توسيع نطاق الأعمال التي يسمح للاجئين بالمشاركة فيها. إضافة إلى ذلك، لا بد من بذل مزيد من الجهود لتوفير التوجيه والإشراف للاجئين الذين تلقوا القروض والتدريب لمساعدتهم في تعظيم مكاسبهم المحتملة. لكننا في الوقت نفسه علمنا من أحد موظفي برامج المنظمات غير الحكومية أن إدارة وضع البرامج الفعالة على المدى البعيد من الأمور الصعبة وذلك تحديداً نتيجة طبيعة بيئة التنفيذ. ففي سياق الهجرة الثانوية المرتفعة، تصمم تدخلات عن قصد بحيث تكون سريعة وبسيطة، وتهدف إلى تشجيع الالتحاق بهذه البرامج، وذلك ما يحد من مجال الإبداع ويشجع عدم المرونة، وذلك بدوره يفرض عوائق واضحة على المسؤولين عن التصميم والتنفيذ.

وإذا وضعنا مسائل هذه البرامج جانباً بقي أن نركز على أن قدرة اللاجئين على بناء حياة ناجحة وكريمة ما زالت تعتمد على قدرتهم على الوصول إلى العمل الكريم. وتلك مسألة مهمة لأنَّها تؤكد على التحدي الذي يواجهه الناس من أجل البقاء في إثيوبيا بالإضافة إلى وجود عزم في التحرك في هجرة ثانوية لدى كثير من اللاجئين. ومع أنه ما من ضمانة بأنَّ أمن سبل كسب الرزق سيتبعه مباشرة الانتقال إلى سوق العمالة الرسمية خاصة في البيئات الحضرية التي تعاني من ارتفاع في معدلات البطالة، تشير النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أن الناس قد يصبحون أكثر رغبة في البقاء في بلد اللجوء نتيجة تحسن وصولهم إلى أنماط أفضل من العمل.

الخطوات التي اتخذتها الحكومة

تشير المستجدات الحديثة على السياسات إلى أنَّ أثيوبيا بدأت تغير اتجاهها وأصبحت أكثر ميلاً لمنح اللاجئين حق العمل. ففي سبتمبر/أيلول 2016 أعلنت الحكومة عن تسع تعهدات بتحسين حقوق اللاجئين في البلاد وتحسين الخدمات المتاحة إليهم. ثم تطورت هذه التعهدات لتأخذ شكل خارطة ‘طريق وطنية’ تضم ستة موضوعات ذات أولوية، أحدها يركز على العمل وسبل كسب الرزق، وسيتضمن منح تصاريح العمل للاجئين، وزيادة في برامج سبل كسب الرزق، وإنشاء الحدائق الصناعية. وتعد هذه الحدائق عنصراً أساسياً في عقد الوظائف الأثيوبي الذي أُطلِقَ رسمياً في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2017 بقيمة خمسمائة مليون دولار أمريكي، وفقاً لاتفاقية وقعتها الحكومة الإثيوبية مع المانحين الخارجيين بهدف إيجاد مئة ألف وظيفة جديدة (ثلثها تقريباً سيخصص للاجئين).[3] وفي الواقع، نفذت مثل هذه المبادرات في دول أخرى من أكبر الدول المضيفة للاجئين مثل الأردن حيث صممت المبادرات لتحسين الوصول إلى العمل لكل من اللاجئين وأفراد المجتمع المضيف.

وبناءً على بحثنا، يبدو أنَّ تلك خطوة إيجابية نحو الاتجاه الصحيح، لكنَّ قدراً كبيراً من نجاح خارطة الطريق والعقد سوف يعتمدان في نهاية الأمر على تفاصيل تصميمهم وتنفيذهم. ولهذه الغاية نقدم خمسة مقترحات لصانعي السياسات:

أولاً، يجب أن تكون المعلومات المقدمة عن أي مبادرة شفافة وواضحة ومتاحة الوصول للجميع لتمكين اللاجئين من اتخاذ قراراتهم المستنيرة حول خياراتهم. ولا ينبغي توعية المشاركين المحتملين وعياً كاملاً بمعايير الأهلية فحسب، بل ينبغي أيضاً تزويدهم بالمعلومات المتعلقة بما يمكن توقعه إزاء شروط العمل المعروض، وطبيعته وعوائده المتوقعة.

وثانياً، قد يرفض بعض اللاجئين الوظائف في الحدائق الصناعية، إما لأن هذه الوظائف لا تتلاءم مع خلفياتهم واهتماماتهم، أو لأسباب تتعلق بالموقع، فالتحليلات الأخيرة حول العمل المقدم في بعض المناطق الاقتصادية الخاصة في الأردن على سبيل المثال تشير إلى أنَّ انخفاض قبول اللاجئين السوريين للوظائف غالباً ما تعلق بموقع المعمل والمصنع إذ أبدى الناس عدم رغبتهم في الالتحاق بعمل بعيد الموقع يتطلب منهم السفر في رحلات طويلة، أو الانفصال عن أسرهم لهذه الغاية.[4]وسيتأثر قرار قبول الوظائف بالطريقة التي يتصور فيها المستهدفون طبيعة الوظائف، فهل ينظرون إليها على أنها تقدم لهم العمل الكريم، أم أنهم يرونها مُحِطَّةٌ بالكرامة الإنسانية ولا تخلو من الاستغلال؟

وثالثاً، ينبغي توقع سياسات تخصيص الوظائف ووضعها في الحسبان، فالبطالة في المناطق الحضرية في أثيوبيا تبقى مرتفعة معدلاتها عبر كل شرائح المجتمع، وكذلك الاقتصاد فيعاني من تباطؤ في النمو منذ عدة سنوات. وفي سياق تتأثر به أعداد لا يستهان بها من الأثيوبيين بالفقر والاستضعاف، من الأرجح أن تؤثر طريقة تأطير إجراءات تخصيص الوظائف وتنفيذها في طبيعة العلاقات الاجتماعية القائمة بين مجتمع ’اللاجئين‘ والمجتمع ’المضيف‘.

ورابعاً، ينبغي أن يكون هناك تناسق وتناغم بين سياسات اللاجئين والحقائق المعاشة في أسواق العمل المحلية، فمع انتشار التوظيف في القطاع غير الرسمي في أثيوبيا، قد تظهر التحديات أمام أي محاولة من أجل تنظيم الوظائف للاجئين. وبذلك ينبغي الانتباه والحرص لجدوى الحدائق الصناعية واستدامتها المستقبلية وذلك على ضوء البيئات الاقتصادية الأوسع في البلاد.

وأخيراً، بدلاً من التركيز حصراً على الكوتا والحصص وعدد تصريحات العمل الصادرة لا بد للتعهدات وآليات الرصد المرتبطة بها من أن تنظر في الدرجة التي تعمل فيها السياسات وتدخلات مثل عقد الوظائف على تحسين حياة اللاجئين والمضيفين وسبل كسب أرزاقهم.

ريتشارد ماليت r.mallett@odi.org
باحث مشارك

جيسيكا هاغن-زانكر j.hagen-zanker@odi.org
زميلة باحثة رئيسية

كلير كمنغز c.cummings@odi.org
زميلة باحثة

معهد الإنماء وراء البحار www.odi.org 

نسيم مجيدي nassim.majidi@samuelhall.org
مدير مشارك

صمويل هول www.samuelhall.org

 

[1] منظمة العمل الدولية (2016) التصدي للأزمة العالمية للاجئين: من التملص عن المسؤولية إلى تقاسمه

اhttps://www.amnesty.org/download/Documents/POL4049052016ARABIC.PDF

[2] Mallett R, Hagen-Zanker J, Majidi N, Cummings C with Sturge G, Schaefer K and Vidal P (2017) Journeys on hold: How policy influences the migration decisions of Eritreans in Ethiopia ODI Working Paper 506

(رحلات مُعلَّقَة: كيف تؤثر السياسة في نقاشات هجرة الإريتيريين في أثيوبيا)

www.odi.org/sites/odi.org.uk/files/resource-documents/11336.pdf

[3] World Bank (2017) Program-for-results information document (PID) concept stage

(مرحلة المفهومات لوثيقة معلومات البرنامج مقابل النتائج)

http://documents.worldbank.org/curated/en/580241499855149882/pdf/PID.pdf

[4] Barbelet V, Hagen-Zanker J and Mansour-Ille D (2018) The Jordan Compact: lessons learnt and implications for future refugee compacts

https://www.odi.org/publications/11045-jordan-compact-lessons-learnt-and-implications-future-refugee-compacts

(العقد مع الأردن: دروس مستفادة ومضمونات لعقود اللاجئين المستقبلية)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Livelihoods programming and its influence on secondary migration

Improving access to work, as well as livelihoods programming itself, is required if the lives and livelihoods of Eritrean refugees in Ethiopia are to improve.

In search of greater freedoms and opportunities, thousands of Eritreans have fled their country in recent years – many directly across the border to Ethiopia. One estimate by the UN Refugee Agency, UNHCR, in 2016 put the number of registered Eritrean refugees residing in Ethiopia at nearly 800,000. But for many the journey does not stop there. Secondary migration of Eritreans from Ethiopia is considerable, with some evidence suggesting that as much as two thirds of the Eritrean population in Ethiopia moved onwards in 2015.[1]

Humanitarian organisations have long been delivering livelihoods programming in Ethiopia’s refugee camps, providing capital to help participants establish micro-enterprises or equipping them with vocational skills in a particular sector, such as tailoring or computing, and/or basic educational skills such as numeracy. Although such interventions attempt to achieve humanitarian and developmental outcomes (by generating improvements in participants’ well-being), they are also increasingly justified in the name of migration control – and more specifically the prevention of onward movement. Through 63 interviews with Eritreans across three different sites in Ethiopiawe examined the extent to which these measures actually influence the way people plan for their futures.[2]  

The logics and limits of livelihoods programming
Livelihoods programming is an example of a policy measure designed to steer migration decision making at the individual level. Part of the objective of livelihoods programming is to prevent movement before it occurs, based on the assumption that by providing greater economic opportunity and security to people living in ‘sending’ countries, it is possible to create a viable alternative to (primarily irregular) migration. It is hoped that the option of migration is then seen as relatively less attractive.

With the caveat that our research looked only at a sample of certain types of programming (mainly lending initiatives and vocational training), our evidence suggests that while such interventions are capable of helping people to meet basic needs, there appears to be little meaningful effect on more transformative change in people’s livelihoods or migration plans.

A number of respondents in Adi Harush camp in the north of the country described how they had received financial support from non-governmental organisations (NGOs), which they used to start up their own micro-enterprises such as small shops within the camp or buying and raising livestock. Many welcomed this support: one man, for example, was now running a successful horse and carriage transport service, having received an initial loan; a single mother told us that her NGO-funded chicken farm was doing well.

However, many interviewees also discussed the limitations of these programmes. Although one woman had used her loan to establish a small shop within the camp, her main problem was one of marketplace saturation, which made it hard to make a profit and expand. The point here is that although camps form their own economies, it is evident that the markets within them are often limited, creating little opportunity to accumulate reasonable profits.

We observed a similar pattern for skills and vocational training: while respondents often expressed gratitude for, and satisfaction with, the experience, they reported little significant or long-term impact. Our research points to refugees being unable to put newly acquired skills to use in their wider environment, primarily as a result of existing legislation. One man described how he had planned to get a driving licence and start working as a taxi driver, before hearing from the Administration for Refugees and Returnee Affairs and from fellow Eritreans that he – as a refugee barred from engaging in the formal economy – would not be allowed to do this. For others, the range of training programmes currently available are simply not relevant to their interests and aspirations, which deters take-up altogether.

Ultimately, these forms of livelihoods support are addressing the symptoms rather than the underlying structures of poverty and economic marginalisation facing Eritrean refugees – which are likely tobe driving the desire among so many for secondary migration. In particular, these underlying factors include refugees’ lack of rights to formal, better paid and higher skilled employment. One woman told us: “In the Netherlands you can get a job with better wages. My husband tells me that it is also much better to access the basic infrastructure services in the Netherlands than in Ethiopia. […] I know it is possible to travel to the Netherlands.” Another man illustrated what might prevent him making a similar onward move: “If I am not working, I will run out of patience and I may attempt the dangerous move to Europe but I hope I can get a job and will not need to risk this.” Without meaningful improvements in refugees’ access to decent work – work that is reliable, adequately paid, and makes use of their skills – the support provided by livelihoods programming simply cannot be expected to reduce secondary migration in any significant sense.

Improving livelihoods programming
To better align livelihoods interventions with both the intended beneficiaries’ needs and the dynamics of the local context, efforts should be made to (re)evaluate the local relevance of the training that is offered and to expand the types of work in which refugees can participate. Further to this, more could be done to provide ongoing mentoring and supervision for those refugees who have received loans and training, to help them maximise their potential gains. At the same time, however, NGO programme staff told us that administering effective long-term programming is difficult precisely because of the nature of the implementing environment. In a context of high secondary migration, interventions are intentionally designed to be quick and simple, purely to encourage enrolment; this limits innovation space and encourages inflexibility, thus placing obvious constraints on those responsible for design and implementation.

Putting questions of programming to one side, refugees’ ability to build successful, dignified lives will largely hinge on their capacity to access decent work. This is fundamental, underpinning both the challenge of survival in Ethiopia, as well as the resolve (formed by many) to move on. Although there are no guarantees that livelihood security automatically follows from moving into the formal labour market (particularly in urban contexts of generalised high unemployment), our findings suggest that people may become more inclined to remain as a result of improved access to better forms of work.  

Government steps

Recent policy developments suggest that Ethiopia is shifting its stance on the right to work. In September 2016, the government announced nine pledges to improve the rights of, and services available to, refugees in the country. These pledges have now been developed into a national ‘roadmap’ with six thematic priorities; one of these is work and livelihoods, which will include work permits for refugees, an increase in livelihoods programming and the creation of industrial parks. These parks are a key element of the Ethiopian Jobs Compact which was officially rolled out in December 2017 – a US$500 million agreement between the Ethiopian government and external donors to create 100,000 new jobs (roughly one-third of which will be allocated to refugees).[3] Such initiatives, already implemented in some major refugee-hosting countries such as Jordan, are designed to improve access to work for both refugees and members of the host community.

Based on our research, this seems a positive step in the right direction. However, much of the success of both the roadmap and the compact will ultimately depend on the detail of their design and implementation. To that end, we offer five suggestions to policymakers:

First, information about any initiative must be transparent, clear and accessible in order for refugees to make informed decisions about their options. Not only should potential participants be made fully aware of eligibility criteria but they should also be provided with information about what to expect regarding the terms, nature and returns of the work on offer.

Second, some refugees may reject jobs in industrial parks because the jobs either do not align with their backgrounds and interests or for reasons of location: recent analysis of work provided in special economic zones in Jordan, for example, shows that low take-up among Syrian refugees is often related to factory location, with people reluctant to take on long journeys or be separated from family.[4] Take-up will also be influenced by the way in which these jobs are perceived by those at whom they are targeted: are they seen to offer ‘decent’ work, or is the activity considered demeaning or exploitative?

Third, the politics of job allocation must be anticipated and taken into account. Urban unemployment in Ethiopia remains high across all groups in society, and economic growth has slowed in recent years. In a context where significant numbers of Ethiopians are also affected by poverty and vulnerability, the way in which allocation procedures are framed, conveyed and implemented is likely to affect the nature of social relations between ‘host’ and ‘refugee’ communities.

Fourth, refugee policies should be consistent with the realities of local labour markets. With widespread informal employment in Ethiopia, attempts to formalise refugee employment might be challenging. The feasibility and future sustainability of industrial parks thus need to be carefully considered in light of the country’s broader economic environment.

Finally, rather than focusing exclusively on quotas and number of work permits issued, pledges and related monitoring mechanisms should consider the extent to which policies and interventions – such as the Jobs Compact – are actually improving the lives and livelihoods of refugees and hosts.

 

Richard Mallett r.mallett@odi.org
Research Associate

Jessica Hagen-Zanker j.hagen-zanker@odi.org
Senior Research Fellow

Clare Cummings c.cummings@odi.org
Research Fellow

Overseas Development Institute www.odi.org 

Nassim Majidi nassim.majidi@samuelhall.org
Co-Director

Samuel Hall www.samuelhall.org


[1] Amnesty International (2016) Tackling the global refugee crisis: from shirking to sharing responsibility https://www.amnesty.org/en/documents/pol40/4905/2016/en/

[2] Mallett R, Hagen-Zanker J, Majidi N, Cummings C with Sturge G, Schaefer K and Vidal P (2017) Journeys on hold: How policy influences the migration decisions of Eritreans in Ethiopia ODI Working Paper 506 www.odi.org/sites/odi.org.uk/files/resource-documents/11336.pdf

[3] World Bank (2017) Program-for-results information document (PID) concept stage http://documents.worldbank.org/curated/en/580241499855149882/pdf/PID.pdf

[4] Barbelet V, Hagen-Zanker J and Mansour-Ille D (2018) The Jordan Compact: lessons learnt and implications for future refugee compacts
https://www.odi.org/publications/11045-jordan-compact-lessons-learnt-and-implications-future-refugee-compacts

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview