الاستثمار في اللاجئين: بناء رأس المالي البشري

الاستثمار في رفاه اللاجئين ينصب في المصلحة العامة العالمية، وينبغي للمجتمع الدولي العمل على خفض سوء التغذية ورفع قدرة اللاجئين على الوصول إلى التعليم ليصبحوا أعضاء مساهمين في بناء رأس المال البشري وتحقيق النتائج الاقتصادية الأفضل للجميع.

كان للطبيعة المطولة للتهجير القسري في العالم أثر كبير في إبراز حاجات اللاجئين الإنسانية بالإضافة إلى التحديات الإنمائية التي يواجهونها. وتنشأ هذه التحديات المقلقة في أربع مجالات حرجة ومترابطة.[1]ويواجه اللاجئون وعلى الأخص منهم الأطفال مصاعب جمة في تلبية حاجتهم في التغذية، والتعليم، والصحة، وسبل كسب الرزق.  وفي دراسة أجرتها مؤخراً المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين تبين أن هناك حالةً من سوء التغذية الحادة في كثيرٍ من مخيمات اللاجئين في كينيا، والسودان، وسيراليون، والتشاد حيث هجر اللاجئون لفترات مطولة من الزمن. وتشير دراسة أخرى إلى أنَّ سوء التغذية الحاد وإن كان منخفضاً نسبياً في الفئات السكنية من اللاجئين السوريين الذين يعيشون في الأردن، والعراق، ولبنان يتلازم مع حالة منتشرة من فقر الدم التي تشير إلى وجود مشكلة صحية عامة خطيرة يعاني منها النساء والأطفال.[2] والتكاليف الاقتصادية لسوء التغذية مرتفعةٌ جداً لأنَّ سوء التغذية يطيل من أمد حلقة الفقر ويعيق النمو بطريقتين رئيسيتين

أولاً، يؤدي ضعف الصحة البدنية إلى انخفاض الإنتاجية وارتفاع معدلات انتشار الأمراض.ويقع في دائرة الخطر في هذا المجال على وجه الخصوص كل من النساء، وكبار السن، والأطفال دون سن الخامسة، إذ يواجهون مخاطر التعرض للأمراض التنفسية والسارية نظراً لاكتظاظ المأوي، وعدم توفر الغذاء المغذي، وضعف مياه الشرب الآمنة، والنظافة الصحية. وقد يعانون أيضاً من الضغوطات الذهنية بعد التهجير، ويؤثر ذلك في رفاههم العام. وثانياً، هناك أدلةٌ تشير إلى أنَّ لسوء التغذية دوراً في ظهور مشكلة تنموية على المدى البعيد خاصة في مجال التعليم، فقد أظهرت الدراسات أنَّ سوء التغذية من العوامل المسببة للتقزم والهزال لدى الأطفال، ويرتبط بنطاق واسع من حالات العوز الإدراكي. وبانخفاض التطور الإدراكي، يفقد الطفل سنوات من التعليم المدرسي، وسنوات من التوظيف عندما يصل رحلة البلوغ.

وتزداد التحديات التنموية لأطفال اللاجئين الذين يدخلون المنظومة التعليمية في البلد المضيف حيث تختلف لغة التدريس عن لغتهم الأم. ولذلك، يتبين أنَّ كثيراً من الطلاب المتميزين في بلدانهم الأصلية غير قادرين على متابعة المقررات الدراسية في البلدان المضيفة بسبب العوائق اللغوية. ويمكن لبيئة التحدي الماثلة أمام التعلم أن تعوق من نجاحهم الأكاديمي، وتزيد من حالة الإحباط لديهم. وهذه الخبرات السلبية إضافة إلى الصدمة التي تلقوها سابقاً تضر بالعنصر الوظيفي الإدراكي والمعرفي لدى الأطفال وتؤثر في أدائهم التعليمي خلال مرحلة المراهقة وصولاً إلى مرحلة البلوغ. وتبين الأدلة أنَّ انخفاض مستويات التعليم يُضعِف الإنتاجية والدخل المالي ويجعل حلقة الفقر أكثر صعوبة. أما الأضرار المعرفية والإدراكية الواقعة على الطلاب من وراء تلقيهم لتعليم ضعيف النوعية، أو لعدم تلقيهم التعليم أصلاً في البيئات المتأثرة بالنزاع، فلا يقتصر أثرها على رفاههم فحسب بل يقوض من إمكانات حصولهم على الدخل في المستقبل.

وبما أنَّ اللاجئين المقيمين خارج أقطارهم غير قادرين على الحصول على فرص العمل مباشرة، لا يُرجَّح كثيراً حصولهم على الوظيفة، ومع طول فترة بطالتهم، تتضاءل فرص عثورهم على العمل لأنَّهم يبدؤون بنسيان مهاراتهم وهكذا ينتهي بهم المطاف إلى الاعتماد كلياً على دعم الدولة. ولذلك نرى كثيراً من هؤلاء اللاجئين يعملون في القطاع غير الرسمي، إما بسبب انخفاض مستويات تعليمهم، أو عدم حصولهم على تصريحات للعمل. ويميل اللاجئون إلى قبول أعمال بأجور أدنى من الأجور التي يتقاضاها العمال المحليون، والمضيفون غير الماهرين، ولا تنحصر آثار ذلك في ضعف تغذيتهم بل تزيد من ضعف الأفراد وعدم قدرتهم على مواجهة الصدمات المستقبلية. ويساهم غياب الوظائف الكريمة وانخفاض المكاسب المالية في عمالة الأطفال وزواج الأطفال بعد أن تصبح العائلات غارقة في الديون تعاني بالانتقال من خيار إلى أخر في سبل كسب الرزق. وبمعنى أخر فقد أصبحوا عالقين في حلقة مفرغة.

وينعكس سوء المخرجات التعليمية والتعليمية وضعف الخدمات الصحية على التكاليف الاجتماعية التي لا تقتصر آثارها على البلد المضيف بل تتعدى ذلك إلى المجتمع العالمي. وهكذا، ترتفع التكاليف المترتبة على عدم الوصول إلى التعليم الجيد[3] وعدم توافر الوظائف الكريمة وتفشي سوء التغذية وتخييم المجهول على المستقبل. وسينتج عن ذلك خسارة في تشكيل رأس المال البشري من ناحية المعارف والمهارات الضرورية والمطلوبة لتعزيز إنتاجية العمل. ولذلك كله تباعات كبيرة على النمو الاقتصادي والتنمية الاقتصادية الإقليمية وعمليات السلام والاستقرار، وإعادة الإعمار على المدى البعيد.

إنَّ الاستثمار في اللاجئين ينصب أولاً وآخراً في المصلحة العامة العالمية، ويتجاوز مجرد مسؤولية البلدان المضيفة. ولذلك لابد من بذل الجهود المتكاتفة الجماعية للتعامل مع هذه التحديات. ولابد من الاستثمار في النواحي التعليمية والصحية للاجئين وعلى الأخص منهم النساء، والأطفال لأنَّ فائدة ذلك لن تنعكس فحسب على الدولة المضيفة والدول المجاورة لها بل سوف تستمر إلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك. وسوف يساعد في إعداد اللاجئين للعودة بترسيخ الأسس المطلوبة من أجل التنمية الاقتصادية والنمو الدامج في بلدانهم الأصلية.

وعلى المجتمع الدولي وصانعي السياسات أن يبذلوا جهوداً أكبر لتوفير الفرصة للاجئين للبقاء على قيد الحياة والنمو. ولا يقل أهمية عن كل ذلك ضرورة رفع مستوى الوصول إلى خدمات الرعاية الصحية والتغذية والماء الآمن، وتيسير مشاركة اللاجئين في سوق العمل (عن طريق الاستثمار بالمهارات من خلال تعزيز التعليم في الطفولة، وتعليم البالغين، والتدريب المهني). وقد أثبتت الدراسات السابقة في علم الاقتصاد وجود روابط قوية تجمع ما بين التعليم ورأس المال البشري وبين رأس المال البشري والنمو والإنتاجية على المدى البعيد. وعلى هذه الروابط أن تشجع المجتمع الدولي وصانعي السياسات على توسيع نطاق التعليم ذي الجودة العالية والتدريب مهارات العمل لتشتمل على الأطفال والبالغين اللاجئين المسجلين وغير المسجلين بعض النظر عن الجندر أو الجنسية.

ليلي متقي lmottaghi@worldbank.org

اقتصادية رئيسية، مكتب رئيس الاقتصاديين، منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، البنك الدولي www.worldbank.org

[1] انظر ديفاراجان ش. ومتقي ل. (2017) أزمة اللاجئين في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا مواجھة تحديات التنمية، البنك الدولي

https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/handle/10986/28395  

[2] Moazzem Hossain S M, Leidman E, Kingori J, Al Harun A and Bilukha O O (2016) ‘Nutritional situation among Syrian refugees hosted in Iraq, Jordan, and Lebanon: cross sectional surveys’, Conflict and Health 10:26

(’الوضع التغذوي بين اللاجئين السورين في العراق والأردن ولبنان/ دراسات استقصائية عابرة للقطاعات‘ في النزاع والصحة)

www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5111203/

[3]سوف يتضمن العدد الجديد من نشرة الهجرة القسرية- المقرر نشره في فبراير/شباط 2019 موضوعاً رئيسياً حول التَّعليم. دعوة للمشاركة بالمقالات:www.fmreview.org/ar/education-displacement

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Investing in refugees: building human capital

Investing in refugees’ well-being is a global public good, and the international community should work to reduce malnutrition and increase access to education for refugees in order to help build human capital and achieve better economic outcomes for all.

The protracted nature of forced displacement worldwide has brought to the fore not only refugees’ humanitarian needs but also the development challenges they face. These daunting challenges emerge in four critical and interlinked areas.[1] Refugees – in particular, refugee children – face tremendous hardship in meeting their basic nutritional, educational, health and livelihoods needs. Recent studies by the UN Refugee Agency, UNHCR, have found acute malnutrition in many refugee camps in Kenya, Sudan, Sierra Leone and Chad where refugees have been displaced for protracted periods of time. Another study indicates that while acute malnutrition is relatively low in the assessed Syrian refugee populations in Jordan, Iraq and Lebanon, the prevalence of anaemia suggests a serious public health problem among women and children.[2] The economic costs of malnutrition are very high, with poor nutrition prolonging the cycle of poverty and impeding growth in two main ways.

Firstly, poor physical health leads to low productivity and high rates of disease. Women, the elderly and children under five, in particular, are at higher risk of respiratory and communicable diseases due to overcrowded shelters, lack of nutritious food, safe drinking water and poor hygiene. They can also suffer from mental stress after displacement, which affects their general well-being. Secondly, there is evidence that malnutrition contributes to a longer-term development problem, especially in education. Studies have shown that malnutrition causes stunting and wasting in children and is linked to a wide range of cognitive deficiencies. Poor cognitive development leads to missed years of schooling in childhood and lost years of employment in adulthood.

Development challenges worsen for refugee children entering the education system of the host country where the official language taught at school differs from their home language. Many students who excelled in their home countries cannot follow the course materials in host countries due to language barriers. The challenging environment of learning can impede their academic success and increase frustration. These negative experiences and the trauma they have already experienced damage children’s cognitive functioning, affecting their educational performance throughout adolescence and into adulthood. Evidence shows that low levels of education reduce productivity and income, which makes breaking the cycle of poverty more challenging. Cognitive damage to children from receiving no or low-quality education in crisis-affected settings not only has an impact on their well-being but also cuts their future earnings. 

Sustainable job opportunities are not readily accessible to refugees residing outside their home country. Consequently, refugees are less likely to be employed, and the longer refugees are unemployed, the more their chances of finding a job diminish as they lose skills and find themselves dependent on State support. Many of these refugees work in the informal sector due to their lower education levels and lack of work permits. Refugees tend to accept lower wages than unskilled host/local workers, and lower incomes not only mean poorer nutrition but also weaken an individual’s resilience to further shocks. Lack of decent jobs and low earnings contribute to increased child labour and child marriage as families become more indebted and struggle to access livelihood options. In other words, they are caught in a vicious circle.

Poor educational learning outcomes and poor health translate into massive social costs not only for the host country but also for the global community. The cost of lack of access to quality education,[3] lack of decent jobs, malnutrition and uncertainty about the future is high. The resulting loss in human capital formation in terms of the knowledge and skills that are crucial for enhancing labour productivity has consequences for economic growth, regional economic development and the long-term processes of peace, stability and reconstruction.

Investing in refugees is a global public good and goes beyond the responsibility of the hosting country. Therefore, collective action is required to address these challenges. Investing in health and education for refugees, especially women and children, will benefit not only the host country and other nearby countries but also those further afield. It will also help prepare refugees for return, laying the foundation for economic development and inclusive growth in their homeland.

The international community and policymakers need to do more to provide an opportunity for refugees to thrive and grow. Increasing access to health care, nutrition and safe water and facilitating the participation of refugees in the labour market (by investing in skills through strengthening childhood and adult education and vocational training) are equally important. The economics literature has found strong links between education and human capital, and between human capital and long-term growth and productivity. These links should encourage the international community and policymakers to extend quality education and job skills training to registered and unregistered children and adult refugees, regardless of gender or nationality.

 

Lili Mottaghi lmottaghi@worldbank.org

Senior Economist, Chief Economist Office, Middle East and North Africa Region, The World Bank www.worldbank.org


[1] See Devarajan S and Mottaghi L (2017) Refugee Crisis in MENA: Meeting the Development Challenge, Middle East and North Africa Economic Monitor, World Bank https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/handle/10986/28395  

[2] Moazzem Hossain S M, Leidman E, Kingori J, Al Harun A and Bilukha O O (2016) ‘Nutritional situation among Syrian refugees hosted in Iraq, Jordan, and Lebanon: cross sectional surveys’, Conflict and Health 10:26 www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5111203/

[3] The February 2019 issue of FMR will include a major feature on Education. Call for articles at: www.fmreview.org/education-displacement

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview