المصادقة على مؤهلات اللاجئين الجامعية

تمثل شهادات المؤهلات العلمية دوراً محورياً في سوق العمل فهي تساعد في إدماج اللاجئين ذوي الدرجات الجامعية. لكنَّ المصادقة على تلك المؤهلات ما زالت تواجه تحديات كبيرة. إلا أنَّ السويد والنرويج أدخلتا تحسينات إيجابية للتصدي لهذه الصعوبات.

سواء أكانوا أطباء أم معلمين أو مهندسين أو متخصصين في تقنية المعلومات كان اللاجئون من حملة المؤهلات الجامعية ممن قابلتهم في النرويج والسويد وألمانيا بين عامي 2016 و2017 قد اشتركوا في التعبير عن طموحاتهم في الاستمرار في العمل ضمن تخصصاتهم المهنية. ولكي يفعلوا، ذلك كان عليهم تصديق مؤهلاتهم التي حصلوا عليها من خارج البلاد المستضيفة. لكن عملية المصادقة لبعض المهن المحددة مُطَوَّلَة للغاية وتمنع بعض هؤلاء اللاجئين من ممارسة مهنهم لسنوات.

وتختلف آليات الاعتراف بالمؤهلات والمصادقة عليها من مجموعة مهنية إلى أخرى، لكنَّ الفرق الأساسي يحدده القانون بين المهن (مثال ذلك الأطباء والمعلمون) إضافة إلى المهن الأخرى التي لا ينظمها القانون من هذه الناحية (مثل مهندسي تقنية المعلومات). فبالنسبة للأفراد الذين يعملون في مهن لا ينظمها القانون غالباً ما تكون عملية المصادقة على مؤهلاتهم قصيرة الأمد وسهلة.

لكنَّ الأمر يختلف كلياً عند الحديث عن تصديق الدرجات العلمية للمهن المنظمة بالقانون. فلكي يتمكن الأجانب من الاستمرار في مزاولة عملهم على سبيل المثال كأطباء أو معلمين يجب عليهم أن يحصلوا على تراخيص وطنية، وغالباً ما يتطلب ذلك أن يقدموا إثباتاً باكتسابهم للمهارات اللغوية للبلد المستضيف، واجتياز الاختبارات، وحضور الدورات المكملة وغالباً ما يطلب إليهم أن يدخلوا في تدريب عملي لمدة من الزمن.

وأفاد جميع الأطباء والمعلمين الذين شاركوا في مشروعي البحثي ممن تقدموا بطلبات الترخيص للعمل في النرويج والسويد وألمانيا بأنَّهم واجهوا مصاعب متعددة. فقد أشار بعضهم إلى أنَّ الاختبارات المعرفية المطلوبة والتدريب التكميلي كانت قد أهملت معرفتهم السابقة وخبراتهم التي اكتسبوها من قبل، وقد أبدى بعض المتخصصين الطبيين تشككهم من أنَّ رخصة البلد المستضيف توازي المستوى المهني الذي حققوه في بلدهم الأصلي قبل اللجوء. ووجه كثير من الذين شاركوا في البحث انتقادهم على طول الفترة التي تستغرقها عملية الترخيص.

ففي السويد على سبيل المثال يحتاج المعلمون الأجانب ما يقارب خمس إلى ثماني سنوات للحصول على رخصة مزاولة مهنة التعليم. ولكي يتمكن المهاجرون من الدخول إلى مسار أسرع للوصول إلى سوق العمل أسست مديرية خدمات التوظيف الحكومية السويدية بإيعاز من الحكومة السويدية وبالتعاون مع الشركاء في الصناعة برامح المسار السريع.[1]

وقد صمم هذا المسار للمهن التي يعاني فيها سوق العمل من شح في العمالة والخبرة. فأنشئت البرامج الأولى في عام 2015 أما البرامج الموجودة حالياً فهي متاحة للمهاجرين الطباخين والباحثين الاجتماعيين وغيرهم ممن يعملون في المهن المرخصة والمنظمة مثل المعلمين. ويخضع المشاركون في البرنامج إلى عملية المصادقة لمؤهلاتهم ويدخلون في دورات اللغة السويدية المتخصصة في مجالات عملهم، ويُلحَقونَ في التدريبات الميدانية، والدورات النظرية التكميلية. ويشارك المشاركون في هذه النشاطات في آن واحد، وذلك ما يخفض من الوقت الذي يستغرقونه من أجل الحصول على الرخصة الوطنية. وإضافة إلى ذلك، تقدم البرامج للمشاركين الإطار العام المؤسسي الذي يذكر الخطوات التي يحتاجون إليها من أجل أن يصلوا إلى مبتغاهم وهدفهم، ويعرض عليهم الإرشاد والتوجيه في ذلك الطريق.

وكان أحد برامج المسار السريع تلك يمتد على 26 أسبوعاً ويستهدف المعلمين الأجانب في مدينة مالمو السويدية. ويتألف البرنامج من عدة دورات في علم التربية ويتعلق بالمنظومة المدرسية السويدية التي تعلم باللغتين السويدية والعربية (على افتراض أنَّ معظم المشاركين يتحدثون اللغة العربية) ثم يتبعه تدريب ميداني في واحدة من المدارس الحكومية ودورة في اللغة السويدية المخصصة للمعلمين. وتمكن خبرة العمل العملية الفرد من تعزيز مهاراته اللغوية السويدية وتؤسس اتصالاته المهنية الضرورية للسعي وراء الوظيفة المستقبلية. إضافة إلى ذلك، تتولى الهيئة الوطنية السويدية للتعليم مهمة اتخاذ القرار المناسب حول مدى وجوب إخضاع معلم أجنبي ما لأحد برامج التدريب التكميلية لكي يحصل على رخصة مزاولة المهنة، وهذا القرار خضع لإعادة المراجعة حسب أداء ذلك القرد في برنامج المسار السريع.

حيازة الشهادات

لكي يتمكن اللاجئون من حملة الدرجات الجامعية من المصادقة على مؤهلاتهم ينبغي أن يحوزوا على شهادات مؤهلاتهم الأصلية. لَّكن كثيراً من المستجيبين للدراسة ذكروا أنهم فقدوا بعض شهادتهم أو كلها تحت أنقاض بيوتهم المدمرة، أو في أثناء رحلتهم. والحصول على شهادات جديدة من المؤسسات التعليمية التي كانوا يدرسون منها غالباً ما كانت من أكبر المصاعب التي تواجههم، فقد كانت المؤسسات الحكومية غالباً ما ترفض ذلك، أو لا ترغب بإعطائهم هذه الشهادات، بل ربما كان هنالك معوقات قانونية تجاه إصدار شهادات تعليمية للأفراد في الخارج.

وللتصدي لهذه المشكلة، ولتلبية متطلبات وشروط اتفاقية الاعتراف بالمؤهلات المرتبطة بالتعليم العالي في المنطقة الأوروبية، طورت الهيئة النرويجية لضمان الجودة في التعليم إجراء خاصاً بالاعتراف بالأشخاص غير الحاملين للوثائق المصادق عليها (المعروفة أيضاً بإجراءات UVD).[2] ويوجه هذا الإجراء نحو الأفراد من حملة الدرجات الجامعية الذين لا يناسبهم الإجراء الاعتيادي الخاص بالاعتراف إما بسبب ضياع شهاداتهم أو ثبوتياتهم الشخصية أو لعدم كفايتها أو لعدم القدرة على تصديقها أصلاً. وبذلك لا يوجه هذا الإجراء أساساً إلا على اللاجئين والأشخاص الذين هم في وضع شبيه باللجوء. ويتضمن هذا الإجراء رأياً يقدمه واحد أو أكثر من موظفي الهيئة النرويجية لضمان جودة التعليم ممن لديهم الدراية والمعرفة حول المنظومة التعليمية لبلد المتقدم للطلب الأصلي إضافة إلى رأي خبيرين خارجيين لهما الخبرة في الموضوع المحدد ثم يُتَحَقَّقُ من الخلفية التعليمية للمتقدمين من خلال استبيان ومقابلة شفوية وامتحانات كتابية ترتبط بمجال الخبرة لمقدم الطلب.

ومع أنَّ النرويج هي البلد الأوروبي الوحيد الذي لديه هذا الإجراء، هناك دول أخرى أيضاً غيرها مثل السويد التي توظف إجراءات شبيهة بذلك.

فنظراً لارتفاع أعداد اللاجئين ولاستهلاك الوقت الكثير والمصادر في إجراء UVD ونظراً للتوسع الكبير والمستمر في فئة اللاجئين التي لا تستوفي متطلبات التقييم وفقاً لإجراء UVD، طورت الهيئة إضافة إلى مركز معلومات الاعتراف الأكاديمي الوطني في المملكة المتحدة نموذجاً جديداً لإجراء تقييم أسرع وأرخص للأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم أي وثائق قابلة للتصديق. وتضم عملية تقييم المؤهلات للاجئين[3] تقييماً للوثائق المتاحة ومقابلة هيكلية ينفذها موظف الحالات الخبير في الهيئة مع المتقدم بالطلب.

وما هذه المحاولات المذكورة في هذه المقالة إلا أمثلة عن التطورات الإيجابية التي تهدف إلى التصدي للصعوبات التي تواجه الاعتراف بالمؤهلات. ويبقى أن نرى كيف يمكن لهذه البرامج أن تستمر في التطور وكيف يمكن تنفيذها في أماكن أخرى من العالم.

 

كاتارينا موزيتيتش katarina.mozetic@sosgeo.uio.no

زميلة باحثة في مرحلة الدكتوراه، قسم علم الاجتماع والجغرافيا البشرية، جامعة أوسلو

www.sv.uio.no/iss/english/people/aca/katarmo/index.html

 

[1] http://www.government.se/articles/2015/12/fast-track---a-quicker-introduction-of-newly-arrived-immigrants

[2] https://www.nokut.no/en/foreign-education/Recognition-Procedure-for-Persons-without-Verifiable-Documentation

[3]https://www.nokut.no/globalassets/nokut/artikkelbibliotek/kunnskapsbasen/rapporter/ua/2016/malgina_marina_skjerven_stig_arne_nokuts_qualifications_passport_for_refugees_1-2016.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Validating highly educated refugees’ qualifications

Qualification certificates play a central role in the labour market integration of highly educated refugees but validating them presents considerable challenges. Sweden and Norway have introduced some positive developments to address such difficulties.

Whether doctors, teachers, engineers or IT specialists, the highly educated refugees I interviewed in Norway, Sweden and Germany between 2016 and 2017 aspired to continue working within their occupational fields. In order to do so they need to validate their foreign qualifications but the validation process for certain occupations is extremely lengthy, preventing some highly educated refugees from re-entering their professions for years.

Qualifications recognition and validation processes differ substantially between different occupational groups, with the principal division between occupations regulated by law (for instance, medical doctors and teachers) and non-regulated ones (such as IT engineers). For individuals in non-regulated occupations, the qualifications validation process is often simple and short. For those in legally regulated occupations the experience is very different. In order to be able to continue working as, for instance, medical doctors and teachers, foreign professionals have to obtain national licences, usually needing to provide proof of destination-country language skills, pass an exam, attend supplementary courses and (often) undergo a period of practical training.

All of the medical doctors and teachers who participated in my research project who embarked upon these licensing processes in Norway, Sweden and Germany described numerous difficulties. Some felt that the required knowledge tests and supplementary training ignored their existing knowledge and experience, and some medical specialists were sceptical that the destination country licence would equal the professional level they had achieved in their home country. Most of the research participants criticised the long duration of the licensing processes.

In Sweden, for instance, foreign teachers require an estimated five to eight years to obtain a Swedish teaching licence. In order to enable migrants to gain faster access to the labour market, the Swedish Public Employment Service, commissioned by the Swedish government and in cooperation with industry partners, established fast-track programmes.[1]

Designed for occupations that experience labour shortages, the first programmes were initiated in 2015 and programmes currently exist for migrant chefs, social workers and those in regulated occupations such as teachers. The programme participants undergo a qualifications validation process, occupation-specific Swedish language courses, internships and supplementary theoretical courses. Participants take part in these activities simultaneously, thereby reducing the time it takes to get the national licence. Moreover, the programmes provide participants with an institutional framework that sketches out the steps they need to take in order to reach their goal and offers them guidance along the way.

One such fast-track programme is a 26-week programme aimed at foreign teachers in Malmö, Sweden. This consists of courses in pedagogy and about the Swedish school system that are taught in both Swedish and Arabic (since it is anticipated that most participants are Arabic-speaking), an internship at one of the local schools and a Swedish language course that is tailored for teachers. Practical work experience enables the individual to enhance their Swedish language skills and establish the professional contacts necessary for future job seeking. Moreover, the decision about whether an individual must undergo a programme of supplementary training for foreign teachers in order to obtain their teaching licence – a decision taken by the Swedish National Agency for Education upon a request to validate their qualifications – can be re-evaluated depending on how that individual performs in the fast-track programme. 

Physical possession of certificates

In order to be able to validate their qualifications, highly educated refugees have to be in physical possession of their qualification certificates. Many respondents recounted, however, how they had lost part or all of their certificates in the rubble of their bombed homes or on their journeys. Obtaining new certificates from the educational institutions where they studied was often a nearly insurmountable obstacle – state institutions were often reluctant, unwilling or even legally constrained from issuing educational certificates to individuals abroad.

In order to address this problem, and to meet the requirements of the Convention on the Recognition of Qualifications concerning Higher Education in the European Region, the Norwegian Agency for Quality Assurance in Education (NOKUT) developed a Recognition Procedure for Persons without Verifiable Documentation (also known as the UVD-procedure).[2] The UVD-procedure is oriented towards individuals with foreign higher education for whom the general recognition procedure is not appropriate, due to either missing, insufficient or unverifiable educational and/or identity documentation. Thereby, it is directed mainly at refugees and persons in a refugee-like situation. The UVD-procedure includes input by one or two NOKUT employees with knowledge about the educational system in the applicant’s country of origin and two external experts with subject-specific expertise. An applicant’s educational background is verified through a questionnaire, an interview and both oral and written assignments relating to the applicant’s field of expertise. Although Norway is the only European country with the UVD-procedure, a couple of others, including Sweden, employ similar procedures.

Due to increasing numbers of refugees, the time-consuming and resource-intensive nature of the UVD-procedure, and the fact that an ever expanding group of refugees does not fulfil the requirements for evaluation according to the UVD-procedure, NOKUT has, along with the United Kingdom National Academic Recognition Information Centre, developed a new type of faster, cheaper evaluation procedure for those without verifiable documentation. The new Qualifications Assessment for Refugees[3] combines an evaluation of available documentation and a structured interview carried out by an experienced NOKUT case officer with the applicant.

The attempts outlined here are examples of positive developments aimed at addressing the difficulties of qualification recognition. It remains to be seen how these programmes will continue to evolve and how they can be implemented elsewhere.

 

Katarina Mozetič katarina.mozetic@sosgeo.uio.no
PhD Research Fellow, Department of Sociology and Human Geography, University of Oslo

www.sv.uio.no/iss/english/people/aca/katarmo/index.html 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview