المساعدون القانونيون للاجئين

يواجه اللاجئون في كينيا عوائق كثيرة في الوصول إلى حقوقهم. وهنا يتبين الدور المهم الذي يمثله المساعدون القانونيون الذين هم أنفسهم لاجئون والذين يقدَّمون الدعم والتيسير لإنجاز العدالة للاجئين. فهؤلاء المساعدين القانونيين يقدمون خدمة حيوية تعجز عن تقديمها كثير من المنظمات غير الحكومية ذات النطاق والموازنات المحدودة وغير الكافية.

يواجه اللاجئون في كينيا تحديات كثيرة. فإضافة إلى طول المدة التي تستغرقها عملية الاعتراف بصفة اللاجئ أو رفضها، تشتمل هذه التحديات على عدم القدرة على الوصول إلى الوثائق والخدمات بما في ذلك عمليات تسجيل اللاجئين والأعمال وإصدار تراخيص العمل، ونجاح الطلاب، والحسابات المصرفية، وأرقام الضمان الاجتماعي، ووثائق السفر، والاتصالات من خلال الهاتف المحمول. كما يواجه اللاجئون أيضاً مشكلات تتعلق بمضايقات الشرطة وملاحقتها، وعدم الدراية الكافية بموضوعات اللاجئين وقضاياهم، وتفشي المواقف السلبية والتمييزية من السكان المحليين بالإضافة إلى وجود عوائق تحول دون الاعتراف بالمؤهلات الأجنبية.

وللتصدي لهذه المشكلات، دربت منظمة غير حكومية اسمها كيتو تشا شيرا بعض اللاجئين في نيروبي بدعم من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة ليكونوا مساعدين قانونيين يدعمون زملاءهم اللاجئين. والمساعد القانوني هو شخص تلقى تدريباً على المبادئ القانونية أو لديه خبرة قانونية عملية لا بأس بها ويقدم المساعدة القانونية لتيسير إحقاق الحقوق وإنجاز العدالة. وغالباً ما يشرف على عملهم أحد المحامين أو مكتب محاماة أو أي مؤسسة قانونية.

ويرتكز عمل المساعدين القانونيين إلى توعية مجموعات اللاجئين والسلطات العامة بحقوق اللاجئين من خلال منتديات النقاش وورشات العمل وجلسات التدريب والمؤتمرات، كما يساهمون في برامج بناء القدرات للسلطات حتى تتمكن من التعامل الملائم مع قضايا اللاجئين والمُهجَّرين وإيقافهم والقبض عليهم واحتجازهم وكيفية إصدار وثائق اللاجئين والتحقق منها. ويساهم المساعدون القانونيون في نشاطات رفع الوعي لممثلي الحكومة حول قضايا اللاجئين.

ويعمل المساعدون القانونيون على تمكين مجتمع اللاجئين من خلال تبصيرهم بحقوقهم والتزاماتهم وتوعيتهم بكيفية التصرف عند إيقافهم أو القبض عليهم أو احتجازهم وكيفية التواصل مع السلطات بشأن مسائل التوثيق. ويقدم المساعدون القانونيون للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء المعلومات المتعلقة بطلبات اللجوء الخاصة بهم ووضعهم كلاجئين بالإضافة إلى المشورة بشأن قضاياهم وإحالتها ومتابعتها. كما يناصرون إطلاق سراح المعتقلين من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء والمهجرين المحتجزين في مراكز الشرطة، والسجون، وأماكن الاحتجاز، ويرافقون اللاجئين في زياراتهم للمنظمات والمؤسسات لطلب المساعدة في مختلف القضايا الاجتماعية (على سبيل المثال إلى مراكز الشرطة من أجل الإبلاغ عن الجرائم).

وبصفتي محامي، لدي خلفية قانونية ويعني ذلك أنَّه علي واجب مساعدة مجتمعي لذلك أصبحت مساعداً قانونياً للاجئين. ويتمتع المساعدون القانونيون بالقدرة على الاضطلاع بما لا يمكن للمنظمات غير الحكومية الكبيرة الاضطلاع به نظراً لمحدودية موازنتها ومحدودية نطاق عملها. فعلى سبيل المثال، لدي القدرة على التدخل في قضايا اللاجئين (خاصةً فيما يخص اعتقال اللاجئين ومضايقتهم) في أي وقت من الليل أو النهار بما في ذلك العطلات الأسبوعية والإجازات، أما المنظمات الكبيرة فلا يمكنها التدخل سوى في ساعات العمل. ونقدم المشورة للاجئين بشأن قضاياهم ونحيلها ونتابعها ونقدم لهم التعليقات، ما يغنيهم عن دفع تكاليف الانتقال إلى المنظمات غير الحكومية التي تبعد جميع مقراتها ومكاتبها عن المكان الذي يعيش فيه اللاجئون. والأكثر أهمية في ذلك أنَّ المساعدين القانونيين يستقرون في المكان الذي يعيش فيه اللاجئون. فنحن نتعامل مع اللاجئين يومياً لأنَّ أغلبنا لاجئون أيضاً ونعيش معهم بصفتنا جزء من مجتمع اللاجئين. ولقد أنشأنا في المجتمع الذي أعيش وأعمل فيه منتدى يستطيع اللاجئون من خلاله تبادل أفكارهم بشأن الموضوعات القانونية وسبل كسب الرزق.

وفي أثناء عملي بصفتي مساعد قانوني لاجئ، قدمت المساعدة لكثيرٍ من اللاجئين. أذكر منهم أحد اللاجئين الكونغوليين الذي أقام مشروعاً دون استصدار ترخيص بذلك فقُبِضَ عليه بتهمة الإقامة في نيروبي بصورة غير شرعية. وكان قد سبق له أن تقدم لاستصدار ترخيص عمل تجاري لكنَّ السلطات المحلية رفضت لأنها شعرت أنَّ أوراقه الثبوتية الشخصية غير كاملة. ولكني دافعت عنه من أجل إطلاق سراحه من خلال إثبات أنَّ أوراق التسجيل الخاصة به (التي أصدرتها له الحكومة والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين) صدرت له في نيروبي ما يعطيه الحق في العيش فيها. ثم بعد إطلاق سراحه، عَمِلتُ على مساعدته من أجل استصدار الترخيص حتى يستطيع مواصلة عمله بصورة شرعية في نيروبي.

كما ساعدت أيضاً إحدى اللاجئات الصوماليات التي كانت تعيش في مخيم داداب للاجئين من خلال مناصرة قضيتها نيابة عنها أمام الأمانة العامة لشؤون اللاجئين في نيروبي عندما كانت هذه اللاجئة بصدد التعامل مع الطلبات المعقدة من الناحية اللوجستية من أجل استصدار أوراق الاستعداد للالتحاق بوالدتها التي أُعِيدَ توطينها في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وتضمن تدخلي لمساعدتها نيابةً عنها اصطحابها إلى مكتب الأمانة العامة لشؤون اللاجئين وجنبتها بذلك أي تأخير.

وما زالت هناك بعض التدابير والخطوات التي ينبغي اتخاذها لجعل حياة اللاجئين آمنة من الناحية القانونية في نيروبي. ما يفعله المساعدون القانونيون الآن هو محاولة الضغط على حكومة كينيا من أجل تطبيق جميع أحكام قانون اللاجئين الصادر في عام 2006 لضمان حصول اللاجئين على الحماية الكاملة في كينيا.وعلينا مطالبة الحكومة بتيسير الاندماج المحلي وفتح الأبواب أمام اللاجئين لجعلهم يشعرون بالترحاب والسلامة إذ لا يستطيع كثيرٌ منهم العودة إلى بلدانهم الأصلية وفي الوقت نفسه لديهم فرص ضعيفة في إعادة التوطين. ومن إحدى طرق المناصرة تلك وضع برنامج دائم لرفع الوعي لدى رجال الشرطة وغيرهم من موظفي الإدارة العامة من أجل بناء قدراتهم للتعامل مع قضايا اللاجئين إذ ينبغي لكل من اللاجئين والسلطات الحكومية معرفة حقوق اللاجئين كما يجب أن يمتلكوا القوة والمعرفة اللازمة لإحقاق هذه الحقوق. وهذا هو الشغل الشاغل للمساعدين القانونيين للاجئين الذين يعملون على تحقيقه.

 

موسينغا تشيمانكيندا كريستيان laface.musenga07@gmail.com

مساعد قانوني للاجئين، نيروبي

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Refugee paralegals

Refugees in Kenya face multiple barriers to accessing their rights. The work of paralegals who are themselves refugees and who support and facilitate refugees’ access to justice offers a vital service that many NGOs, whose scope and budgets are limited, insufficiently provide.

Refugees in Kenya face multiple challenges. In addition to the long process of recognition or rejection of refugee status, these challenges include lack of access to documentation and services – including refugee registration processes, business and work permits, student pass, bank accounts, social security numbers, travel documentation and mobile communication. Refugees also experience difficulties relating to police harassment, a general lack of knowledge of refugee issues, negative and discriminatory attitudes from local populations and barriers to foreign qualifications recognition.

In order to address this, some refugees in Nairobi have been trained by the non-governmental organisation (NGO) Kituo Cha Sheria, supported by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) and the UN Migration Agency (IOM), as paralegals to support fellow refugees. A paralegal is someone who has either a basic legal training or more extensive practical legal experience, who provides legal assistance to facilitate access to rights and justice. Their work is generally supervised by a lawyer, law office or any legal institution.

Refugee paralegals sensitise refugee groups and public authorities on refugee rights through forums, workshops, training and conferences and also contribute to the capacity building programme of authorities to appropriately handle refugee cases, including how they conduct, stop, arrest and detain forced migrants and on how refugee documents should be issued and verified. They also contribute to awareness-raising activities for government representatives to improve their knowledge of refugee issues.

Refugee paralegals also work to empower the refugee community by providing guidance on their rights and obligations, including how to react when stopped, arrested or detained and how to approach authorities on matters of documentation. They provide refugees and asylum seekers with information regarding their asylum application and their refugee status, offering advice on their cases, making referrals and following up on cases. They advocate for the release of arrested refugees, asylum seekers and other forced migrants at police stations, prisons and places of detention, and accompany refugees on visits to organisations and institutions to seek assistance on various social issues (for example, to police stations in order to report crimes).

As a lawyer, I have a legal background and therefore have an obligation to help my community, so I became a refugee paralegal. Refugee paralegals are able to undertake work that large international NGOs have difficulty with or do not undertake due to their budget limitations and the scope of their work. For example, I am able to intervene in refugee cases (especially arrest and harassment cases) at any time of the day or night, including on weekends and holidays; large organisations only intervene during their hours and days of work. We also advise, refer and follow up on cases, giving feedback to refugees, which means they do not have to pay the costs of transportation to these NGOs, whose offices are all far from where refugees live. Importantly, refugee paralegals are based where refugees live. We deal with refugees on a daily basis as the majority of us are also refugees and live as part of the refugee community. In the community where I live and work we have established a forum where refugees can share their own ideas on legal and livelihoods issues

In the course of my work as a refugee paralegal I have assisted many refugees. One Congolese refugee, who was conducting business without a business permit, was arrested for being in Nairobi unlawfully. He had previously been refused a business permit by the local authorities because they felt he lacked adequate identification. I advocated for his release by proving that his registration papers (from both the government and UNHCR) were issued to him in Nairobi, thereby giving him the right to live there. Following his release I also assisted him to obtain a business permit so that he could continue to do business lawfully in Nairobi.

I also helped a Somali refugee who was living in Dadaab refugee camp by advocating on her behalf with the Refugee Affairs Secretariat (RAS) in Nairobi when she was dealing with logistically complex demands for paperwork during the process of preparing to join her mother, who had been resettled in the United States. My intervention on her behalf, which included accompanying her to the RAS office, helped to avoid a delay in the process.  

There are still important steps that need to be taken to make life legally secure for refugees in Nairobi. Refugee paralegals are currently lobbying the Government of Kenya to apply all the provisions of the Refugee Act 2006 to ensure refugees receive full protection in Kenya. We must also advocate for the government to facilitate local integration, opening doors to make refugees feel welcomed and safe, since many cannot return to their countries and their chances of resettlement are low. One way of doing this would be by establishing a permanent awareness-raising programme for police and other public administration officers in order to build their capacity to handle refugee cases. Both refugees and government authorities must know refugees’ rights and have the power and knowledge to advocate for them. Refugee paralegals in Nairobi are working to make sure this happens.

 

Musenga Tshimankinda Christian laface.musenga07@gmail.com
Refugee paralegal, Nairobi

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview